PlayStation 4™ Community Official Thread | V15, PlayStation 4™ Pro AVAILABLE NOW

EternalC
post Dec 15 2016, 11:34 AM

Take what you can, give nothing back
845 posts

hi, about to get a new ps4 slim and a new comer to ps world.

so wanna know a few things before i kick ass with my ps.

1. i know i need to get a PSN (or was it PS plus?) to play mp online with other people. but do i need it if i just want to stay connected with other people online? ie friendlist, join community, chats, stream, etc etc.

2. ps4 can connect to wifi or must it be a wired connection?

3. what is a season pass? how does it work? does it expires?

pls guide tongue.gif

This post has been edited by EternalC: Dec 15 2016, 11:52 AM
EternalC
post Dec 15 2016, 01:42 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Capel @ Dec 15 2016, 12:23 PM)
1. Ps plus is required if you want to play multiplayer & co-op. The benefit of ps plus is you get a free games every month and a discount  if you want to purchase game in the ps store. Other than that as your stated above, non ps plus user can join the stream, hats, community etc.

2. Both.You can connect either via wifi or wired. But if you have a weak wifi connection, I reccomend use wired connection.

3. Season pass is a whole package dlc of a video game. Example, if you purchase Star Wars : Battlefront normal edition, you can purchase either a seperate dlc or buy the season pass to have all the dlc's in the package in the ps store.
1. ok. after reading the t&c, i'm starting to think that you dont actually own the free games but rather you are renting it since you're paying a fee and if you stop paying you cant play it tongue.gif oh well

2. nice. thanks!

3. so the season pass is usually cheaper than all the dlc combined? and does it have expiry period?

sorry many questions lol
EternalC
post Dec 15 2016, 02:16 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Capel @ Dec 15 2016, 02:05 PM)
1. Yes, correction. tongue.gif

3. Yes, the season pass is quite costly but it's actually cheaper if you combine the price of all the separate dlc. Can you elaborate more about the expiry period? If you purchase season pass by online, it automatically redeem all the dlc so there's no expire date. Unless if you buy the physical disc, certain games give you a  bonus item, skin or whatsoever via code. That code have the expire date for certain period. Hope that give you the answer smile.gif
3. because i saw some game have a season pass but the dlc are yet to come out. so i was worried if the season pass would last like a period of time and then any dlc coming out after that will need to buy again?

yes i'm getting a disc. in short, i'm getting the ps4 ffxv luna version which come with the disc lol. so i think it doesnt include season pass in it.
EternalC
post Dec 15 2016, 03:08 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Capel @ Dec 15 2016, 03:00 PM)
Ah I see. There's no expiry date if you buy the season pass at the ps store online. Once you already bought it, you have the access of all the dlc even some of them didn't release yet. Like if the dlc game have just release, your account automatically download the dlc.

Your FFXV game is Deluxe Edition, it doesn't have the season pass, but there are few bonus item in game that you have to redeem the code.
nice, thanks for info biggrin.gif
EternalC
post Jan 9 2017, 01:14 PM

845 posts

guys, how you keep your ps4 slim cool?

i noticed it heats up when playing ffxv after awhile
EternalC
post Jan 9 2017, 01:26 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(pokchik @ Jan 9 2017, 01:20 PM)
ps4 slim also hot ka? my PS4 (standard version one) have this problem, and i use..

i shit you not..  laugh.gif

always a problem with uncharted 4 - jet engine sound + 1 time kena blue notification screen "your PS4 is too hot, bla bla bla"

either you play in an air-conditioned room or just ensure your PS4 have room to breathe..
oh, and don't forget to clean the air vents once in a while.

2 games i play nowadays : MGSV & UC4, only UC4 heats up the system significantly.
hence the table fan.  thumbsup.gif
yeah ps4 slim also heats up. but if you're asking whether it is over heating then i'm not sure laugh.gif

its kinda hot but not too hot. but hot enough to trigger a thought of whether or not should i buy a cooling fan for this thing.

i usually play it in air conditioned room, but thing is the ps itself is in a square cabinet (place where you put your dvd player under the tv cabinet) so airflow is not much i suppose. so i'm looking for ideas on how to cool it down without moving it out
EternalC
post Jan 9 2017, 02:24 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(pokchik @ Jan 9 2017, 02:10 PM)
@ben explained about the 'overheating' situation in the previous pages..

from my layman point of view, the console will still run hot.. i mean, there's a lot of graphic processing running inside of it..
whether it's overheating or not - i'm sure that there are already failsafe built inside to avoid overheating and should be safe to use.

however, if you play the game and suddenly the game pauses, with the warning "your PS4 is running too hot, please turn-off bla bla bla",
then that is surely a sign that your system is indeed overheating.

another thing to point - i also put it in the tv cabinet, where air is restricted.
hence, i need the help from my trusty table fan to 'stir things up' for the console to let it cool down better.

before this, i put the PS4 on top of the cabinet with a vertical stand, it can run slightly less noisy
and no issue with the overheating warning.
i get what you mean there

i'm thinking that a lower temperature will increase its life span. and i do not have a table fan, just air conditioning.

maybe buy a mini fan cucuk usb port let it run at the back? lol
EternalC
post Jan 10 2017, 01:34 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(t0ya @ Jan 10 2017, 01:23 PM)
Ipoh Sony Centre seems to be fine. I think they already fulfilled some of the pre-orders from November. I ordered early December and it seems I m next in the queue but their "temporary receipt" seems shady. Is issuing a temporary receipt a standard procedure for all sony centres? Also, what if they suddenly tell you "the SRP is now RM2000 so you have to top up RM200"?
temporary receipt are used because you have not yet received your goods but already paid.

when you receive your goods, they should issue you the official receipt.

if you paid in full, they cannot charge additional price to the goods you paid.

that is wat i understand in business law la
EternalC
post Jan 10 2017, 02:14 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(NixiN-7hieN @ Jan 10 2017, 02:01 PM)
I know how you feel, I saved up for months as a student to be able to afford the pre-order and now I can't even get my hands on it. Now I have to save up for a higher amount because my preorder was void and I can't even get a PS4 Slim or something to replace it for the time being because I can't even get my money back. So in essence, spending nearly Rm4K on a Pro.
how come become 4k??
EternalC
post Jan 10 2017, 03:54 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(t0ya @ Jan 10 2017, 03:25 PM)
Make sense. Also, I would get slim too if not for my insecurity issues. Its for a stupid reason called "better safe than sorry". In two, three years time I would most probably question myself - why did I get the pro instead of the slim? I had a vita and i regretted buying it. I just hope they wont fuck up final fantasy vii remake and delay it for PS5 like they did XV for PS3. Anyway sorry for your case with that preorder bro, fuck those people. Hope u get to make a police report soon.
fuuu dont la

1 ff per console gen meh

gila weh

i wont play anymoarrrr
EternalC
post Jan 10 2017, 04:20 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(NixiN-7hieN @ Jan 10 2017, 04:16 PM)
It was why I supported the Pro initially. If it meant getting rid of console generations. Like on the PC you can play most if not all the FF and in the future won't have to buy another console to play the next generation of games, just upgrade the specs. But Sony's not confident with allowing developers make use of the extra hardware without patches and by forcing arbitrary rules about enhancements makes me look towards the Xbox side. On the Xbox One I can play all my games from OG Xbox up until the One and Scorpio. But sadly I feel Sony made a number of missteps towards that future so we will have to see how Microsoft handles mid-gen upgrades.
the only reason i bought the ps4 was to play ff lol

pc most likely will need to wait like years before they can play that.
EternalC
post Jan 11 2017, 08:43 AM

845 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Jan 10 2017, 05:09 PM)

hm..... the ps4 stand dont hv white color??
anyone here knows got cheap 3rd party stand for ps4slim for sale?
fuuuu limited edition ke?
can buy and display weh lol
else easily stained

QUOTE(t0ya @ Jan 11 2017, 08:40 AM)
Haha i guess they probably wont delay it much, since it is episodic. Just hope they wont make first bombing mission = 1 episode. Worst come to worst, we can play FFXII HD remaster while waiting for it haha. FFXII is a good FF imo.
i dont really like the concept of the ff xii, somehow it feels very un-ff like laugh.gif

just my 2 cents haha
EternalC
post Jan 11 2017, 09:59 AM

845 posts

QUOTE(NixiN-7hieN @ Jan 11 2017, 09:53 AM)
My question for this is, did FFXV feel like a FF game? My opinion now is that FFXIV is the most FF game because of the monsters, job classes and grand story. Will be honest that XII felt more Tactics (on GBA) mixed with MMO.

Edit: I would love a Vagrant Story remake/sequel.
haha. i guess to each his own then tongue.gif

EternalC
post Jan 11 2017, 11:38 AM

845 posts

QUOTE(NixiN-7hieN @ Jan 11 2017, 10:06 AM)
Controversial answer. Favorite FF is FFXIII.
man i hate the world travelling system. made no sense to me, i mean for xii-2

QUOTE(t0ya @ Jan 11 2017, 10:23 AM)
Haha while majority will agree certain FF titles like VII, VI or IX is good, the opinion on FFXII has always been very divided. Maybe even more than FFXV. I liked FFXII cause amidst modernization of FF games, it is still able to retain the turn-based element of JRPG and made sense. Battle still feel quite fluid. Too bad FFXV is meant not just for the japanese, but mainstream market so they pretty much cant make the way "old fans" like it.

On a unrelated note, felt like FF lost huge chunk of the magic ever since Nobuo left.

Edit: This has become a FF thread lol
haha give and take i suppose. yeah i can say that ffxv isnt at its best form
EternalC
post Jan 11 2017, 12:08 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(NixiN-7hieN @ Jan 11 2017, 11:53 AM)
I can't stand XIII-2, stopped after 2 hours.
right right

the so called "world" is soo freakin linear lol
EternalC
post Jan 13 2017, 04:01 PM

845 posts

guys, what is the HDR options inside the display ps4 setting?

must have 4k tv to enable?

or full hd also can?
EternalC
post Jan 13 2017, 04:11 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(truthosis @ Jan 13 2017, 04:09 PM)
It depends on your TV mode. Your TV must be HDR able to utilize PS4 HDR capability

Most 4k have this function available, but not all.
so usually only 4k have hdr?

full hd no?

0.1347sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:25 PM