6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Collectibles The Ultimate Comics Thread, Not Manga, sorry...

Sauron76
post May 23 2010, 12:20 PM

32 posts

Many comics fans here..

I stop collecting comics in 2002. But in 2006, I started bought TPB/HC for those comics that I like. (TPB cost is much cheaper than single comics..Kinokuniya is my best friend biggrin.gif)

Current fav:
Any Bendis stuff (Avengers,Siege etc)
Invincible Iron Man
Captain America
Green Lantern
Thor
Daredevil
Sauron76
post Jul 3 2010, 09:40 PM

32 posts

So, rajin you all bought comics weekly. I quit that 5-6 years ago. Right now, just bought TPB/HC of which comics I think is best read. (I 'download' it first whistling.gif , buy which one is worth it)

This post has been edited by Sauron76: Jul 3 2010, 09:40 PM
Sauron76
post Jul 16 2010, 01:31 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(evoHahn @ Jul 11 2010, 08:28 PM)
I was reading this ..

when i saw this...

rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
thumbup.gif Faham perasaan kau, bro..dulu nama aku pernah masuk Comic Shop News. Masa Annual readers awards..bangga giler...

BTW, today kopak RM200+ beli Blackest Night HC, BN Green Lantern HC & BN Green Lantern Corps HC. Nasib baik Kinokuniya bagi 25% untuk each HC.

Sauron76
post Jul 16 2010, 03:39 PM

32 posts

Both Marvel & DC fast releasing HC but for those wants TPB, not sure how long DC gonna release TPB for the same title. For Marvel, if they release HC today, 3 months from now, you can expect the TPB version.

3 month from HC to TPB for Marvel, dunno when for DC.

If you buy Extremis HC during the Iron Man 2 month in Kinokuniya, you'll get 25% discount but already too late bro.

This post has been edited by Sauron76: Jul 16 2010, 03:40 PM
Sauron76
post Aug 17 2010, 01:02 PM

32 posts

I no longer have any monthly subscriptions. Download free comics every week. Comic/storyline that I like, I get the HC or TPB. But currently Green Lantern, Green Lantern Corps, Daredevil, Captain America, Thor, Marvel's big event (excluding Jeph Loeb's big event --his big events sucks..), New Avengers & Invincible Iron Man is a must buy.

DC's big event -- depends. If Geoff Johns or Grant Morrison writes, I buy.
No Image or any other publisher for me except for Groo or Tag & Bink TPB.

This post has been edited by Sauron76: Aug 17 2010, 01:04 PM
Sauron76
post Aug 18 2010, 09:09 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(evoHahn @ Aug 18 2010, 12:52 AM)
There's no such things as free downloadable comics. The release of TPB are based upon if the single issues are selling well. If the single issues or a particular story arc didnt sell well, then i doubt the publisher will release a TPB for it.

http://www.multiversitycomics.com/2010/02/...k-pirating.html
LOL..you don't know that there is a hell lot of free downloadable comics? Yeah..it's piracy but it's still 1) Free 2)Downloadable 3)It's Comics.

As for TPB, it's Marvel's policy that they release TPB or HC for each 6 issue comics. Same with DC but DC is more into HC. Other publishers based on the sales.

This post has been edited by Sauron76: Aug 18 2010, 09:13 AM
Sauron76
post Aug 18 2010, 12:19 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(evoHahn @ Aug 18 2010, 09:44 AM)
I know about the scanned comics - got lots of torrents site - yes, that i know.

Just read bout the link i posted about comic piracy.

bout the TPB, DC just collect story arcs - not continuous issues. Marvel collects continuous issues (like ASM TPB that i bought). But not all series have the TPB, HC treatment.

From CBR forum i read that the top selling comics only selling 100K plus copies compared to 300K copies ten years ago. Titles with less than 20K copies sold - will be gone. Comics are now sold in specialty shops, infact in the US, its hard to find news stand that is selling comics. So what do they do to compensate? Marvel is pushing for USD3.99 cover price, most of DC still have USD2.99 but imho they will follow suit.

With the price hike, again from i read at the CBR forums, people are cutting down their pull list (I'm cutting mine also). People there predicted once digital sales are profitable (both DC and Marvel now offer comics online)- they will convert to digital completely.

I know this an expansive hobby, but i know friend who only buys 2 title per month(thats less than RM30 per month), the rest he just read from wikipedia and forums. If you want preview, DC and Marvel now offers the first 5 page that is viewable online.

good for you that you still buy TPB - but those people who torrent the comics and didnt buy the physical copies?
Well..we cant change people's mind. Most people with only choose which is free.

As for downloadable comics, there is disclaimer said that "If you like it, buy the comics..if you like, delete it"..well..most people don't follow that. tongue.gif
BTW, there is nothing better to read comics like Green Lantern by holding the books. It just didn't feel the same read on PC.

I've been collecting comics since 1998. Been members of Mind Shop & Comics Corner. But no more..right now..every Wednesday/Thursday..it's Kinokuniya's time. Reading TPB/HC now is much better than single comic.

And for tight budget like me, read online first can avoid so many crap comics that not worth the price. Now, I can choose which ones I want to buy instead of regret buying a comic which are sucks. (been there, done that)

This post has been edited by Sauron76: Aug 18 2010, 12:19 PM
Sauron76
post Aug 18 2010, 03:27 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(kingscorgon @ Aug 18 2010, 02:29 PM)
Ok, cool! Thanks. Will do!

Btw, do u guys know that  some of the local bookstores were selling miniature comic books printed from India? It was RM2.90 per book.

The size was about half the original comic book size. Was sold last yr and they stopped cos they said not much ppl were buying it. I'll post the pix tomorrow.
The paper quality of those India comics . . . sucks.. tongue.gif

Sauron76
post Aug 19 2010, 10:08 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(eric.tangps @ Aug 18 2010, 09:51 PM)
Sorry to sound non-pro DL, the artist is paid crap to draw and we can't be certain how true that DL-er will buy but buying TPs/HCs is not actually contributing to the actual comics as certain comics would be pull-out if sales drop below certain printing numbers.

TPs/HCs only comes much later which by then, editorial mandate of killing the title is already issued.

Yes, we do get some crappy comics but then, isn't it that we learn which team is contributing to the comics before we buy?
Artists paid crap? Malaysian scene - yes. US scene - are you kidding? Do you know how much DC paid David Finch just for draw covers?? (more than my 1 year salary!)

This post has been edited by Sauron76: Aug 19 2010, 10:11 AM
Sauron76
post Aug 19 2010, 12:22 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(kingscorgon @ Aug 19 2010, 10:27 AM)
yup, I know but still better than paying RM12 [or more?] per comic! Here is the pix of the comic size.
Yeah it's cheap..but some comics are worth to collect. The cheapest way is to get TPB. (RM50 for 6 part storyline means if each comic RM12x6=72..you save RM22 plus Kinokuniya have 20% discounts of new released)
Sauron76
post Aug 19 2010, 02:50 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(eric.tangps @ Aug 19 2010, 01:04 PM)
If you are Jim Lee or David Finch - yes.

How about others non-superstars ??? Could they command so much per page ?  And can Jim Lee draw like 6 comics a month ??  With so many books in publications, surely newbies would have chance to draw and they are paid well?
Well..those in DC & Marvel surely been paid well..if not, why they still in the industry? If one day you met Tan Eng Huat, ask him how much he get paid for his artwork.

For small companies, it's standard in every industry, small company paid small la..same with footballers. Even if you young stars like Bebe..you've been paid more than superstar in South American clubs.
Sauron76
post Aug 19 2010, 04:28 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(kangaxx @ Aug 19 2010, 04:11 PM)
eh Billy Tan is local ar?
Yep. But live in US

Sauron76
post Aug 22 2010, 01:18 PM

32 posts

My latest haul

user posted image user posted image

This post has been edited by Sauron76: Aug 22 2010, 01:20 PM
Sauron76
post Aug 25 2010, 08:59 AM

32 posts

Not only expensive..the story didn't finish..damn Joe Mad!
Sauron76
post Aug 25 2010, 11:18 PM

32 posts

You know for new title, Kinokuniya give 20% discount right?
Sauron76
post Aug 26 2010, 01:32 PM

32 posts

Just wants to share. The last page of Soul Saga #6 (one of those comics that we never see the ending - crap!)

Sauron76
post Aug 30 2010, 02:13 PM

32 posts

BTW, this week..finally..Superman Secret Origins #6. Nice read but Birthright is much better.

BTW,
Hope they didn't kill Murdock. & Marvel theme for this issue "Who Is The New Man Without Fear?"

This post has been edited by Sauron76: Aug 30 2010, 02:28 PM
Sauron76
post Sep 8 2010, 12:40 AM

32 posts

Street Fighter 6 : Final Round (Street Fighter)-US-
- - normal comic book size or small size?
Sauron76
post Sep 25 2010, 02:09 AM

32 posts

My latest haul..

Wolverine: Old Man Logan TPB

This post has been edited by Sauron76: Oct 3 2010, 05:18 PM
Sauron76
post Oct 3 2010, 05:16 PM

32 posts

Latest haul:

Captain America: Reborn TPB