[V30] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

jasmineivan
post Nov 10 2017, 08:20 PM

Ivan Lee
1,774 posts

QUOTE(pspslim007 @ Nov 9 2017, 08:52 PM)
guys, any place for me to get replacements for Steelseries M800 keycaps and also the switches ?
are you doing it for customization or broken part replacement?

I think SS do offer FOC part replacement within warranty period.

If it is for customization, I think that will be difficult, such a niche keycap market. Even found it somewhere else definitely cost a bomb
jasmineivan
post Nov 10 2017, 08:27 PM

Ivan Lee
1,774 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Nov 8 2017, 10:25 AM)
Hi all sifus, can I ask what is good and cheap mechanical keyboard for typing? The keyboard I have for typing at work kinda sucks so I need something with a nice feel to it for typing. Initially, I wanted to get the Logitech Orion G610 but I don't want to leave such an expensive keyboard at the office. Any budget ones about with the same feel like the Cherry MX Brown switches which wouldn't be extremely painful if someone like swiped it off my office?
I think some models with those extra ports (usb, 3.5mm) are catchy. My tenkeyless ducky in offic with blank keycaps, backlit 100% off all the time looks like rm20 keyboard from far.
jasmineivan
post Nov 10 2017, 09:39 PM

Ivan Lee
1,774 posts

Anyone can give thorough comparison for cherry switches and SteelSeries QS1, haven't get to try them out yet.
jasmineivan
post Nov 16 2017, 02:36 PM

Ivan Lee
1,774 posts

anyone know where to source cherry switches in small volume for faulty part replacement with reasonable price. Checking it for friend, if expensive might as well just get a new board.
jasmineivan
post Nov 17 2017, 08:10 PM

Ivan Lee
1,774 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Nov 17 2017, 09:03 AM)
Any guy know where can i find Corsair K70 PBT kaycaps locally? Has been looking up and down but seem like only Corsair online store has it but didn't ship to Malaysia.
You are looking for it's original keycap? what's the point having the same 1? It's with cherry switches right, just can whatever else keycap with any profile and material easily
jasmineivan
post Nov 17 2017, 08:24 PM

Ivan Lee
1,774 posts

QUOTE(d3ck @ Nov 16 2017, 06:35 PM)
Hi guys,

I'm about to get mkb. Previously only using cheap logitech keyboard. My budget around RM200-300. Currently looking at Magicforce Crystal 108 Keys Gateron roughly RM200 at Taobao. It is a good buy? Or any other recommendation? Also, when I test out mkb, I feels like I love blue switch. The click click sound. But I I get that Magicforce one, there is only red & brown switch available. Which one should I get?
Pricing is always based on supply and demand, so if you gonna try any 'rarer' switch, then will be more costly. Generally speaking, cheapest option around definitely blue/red switches. It's necessary to reach some shop with display unit, try to type with the switches then you know which 1 is your favourite. I like tactile key since long time ago, blue switch felt so impressive to me when I first touch them. However, eventually they are just too soft and and not feel solid to me. I am using green and black switch for daily keyboard for home and work now, I type way faster with black switch then blue.

Conclusion, try to type properly with the keyboard for some typing test and wpm count, see which 1 you actually can feel the and do every keystroke with better 'confidence level' under pressure. Seriously, spending extra 50 or even 100 may seem reckless, still way better than you get something just to fit budget and feel like upgrade anytime soon.

0.0859sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:46 AM