125 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Bottom

[V30] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

antaras
post Feb 28 2018, 03:40 PM

196 posts

Topre and MX is 2 different feeling altogether. You really need to test it out to feel it.
TSquovadis123
post Feb 28 2018, 03:44 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(antaras @ Feb 28 2018, 03:40 PM)
Topre and MX is 2 different feeling altogether. You really need to test it out to feel it.
Hi antaras!

(post unnecessary in order to reach V31 ASAP bangwall.gif )

This post has been edited by quovadis123: Feb 28 2018, 03:50 PM
myd51rl21v
post Feb 28 2018, 04:01 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Feb 28 2018, 03:39 PM)
Get type-s 2nd hand from other enthusiast is the fastest way, and cheaper this way. Many let go their HHKB over the year.

Note: Order online will take weeks because shipping from the Japan (PFU company) to Malaysia, held by custom etc. I'm the owner of Store Uni, handling a lot of the Topre keyboards..

--

Topre is capacitive type of mechanical switch, it's different from the Cherry mx compatible switch in terms that, topre will provide smoother actuation.
Topre in the market have 3 kinds of weight: 30g, 45g, 55g. PFU HHKB only have 45g though. 30g and 55g are in the Topre Realforce model, including variable weight.

And HHKB is different typing feel even compared to Leopold Topre. Since, HHKB is using case mount, while other keyboard using plate mount (steel plate).
So, HHKB will provide the most cheap, lightweight, case cracking sound when you type on it. The solid board don't apply to HHKB.
However, hhkb still provide best typing compared to steel plate.

--

The question me to you, why get Type-S instead of normal ? Because you need the silencing?
Reasons bolded above is why I wanted to avoid sourcing online in the first place. Maybe I will PM you for more information if I am dead set on getting one soonest.

I have my own reasons for getting the type S.
Initially I was opting for the normal HHKB, and after watching several videos on Youtube and getting a gist of how the normal HHKB vs type S sounded like, I wanted the type S to avoid inconveniencing others around me.

I do data entry (300 data per day, policy numbers, phone numbers, etc) for more than 8 hours a day and I myself sometimes get annoyed by my clicky blues after a prolonged usage. So to avoid that I think a type S will suit me much more better.

I understand it does sound weird in the first place using a 60% keyboard for data entry purpose, but I sorta got the hang of it and there has been no difference in typing speed interchanging from full size to 60%. The main reason I used smaller keyboards now are just to avoid bumping the mouse with the numpads lol. Full size keyboard are just long for me at work, although I do not have anything against it just that I prefer TKL and 60% more nowadays

QUOTE(antaras @ Feb 28 2018, 03:40 PM)

Reasons bolded above are one of my concerns as well. I do understand that there are slight differences but I have ingrained in my mindset that I will be buying a rubber dome board. rather than a mechanical one lol
myd51rl21v
post Feb 28 2018, 04:02 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Feb 28 2018, 03:44 PM)
Hi antaras!

(post unnecessary in order to reach V31 ASAP  bangwall.gif  )

Wah kaw kaw poison me! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
horns
post Feb 28 2018, 04:29 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Feb 28 2018, 12:18 PM)
Need some photos to boost motivation in our forum.
QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Feb 28 2018, 12:31 PM)
agree
haha

later i will share a little bit of budget-style keyboard pr0ns lol (currently nothing yet; still waiting for parts to reach me lol)

QUOTE(myd51rl21v @ Feb 28 2018, 03:25 PM)
Hello fellow people,

Just a short enquiry.

I am currently into Topre switches.
I understand that my choices are limited to certain keyboard only and as for right now I do have a preference for my keyboard (60%)

However I am interested in purchasing a HHKB type S locally so that I may save the hassle of waiting or w/e things that may happen if I order online.

Before I go ordering or scouring on Ebay, is there any seller in Malaysia that carry this model?

Also,

Any owners here would like to share their experience owning one?
I am currently using Leopold TKL (Browns) and most of my time typing on Blackwidow Ultimate 2013 (Blues).

Would the Topre switch be much different from what I have now? Or it is just a gag?

Thank you for your time replying.
https://www.storeuni.com/collections/mechan...oards/brand_pfu

about typing feels, imo topre and cherry style switches are different. they have nothing in common. if you're already used to cherry style switches, adjustments might be needed before you can appreciate topre switches.

i have a few boards with topre switches, but unfortunately i prefer the vast diversity of cherry style switches to topre.

myd51rl21v
post Feb 28 2018, 05:11 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Feb 28 2018, 04:29 PM)
haha

later i will share a little bit of budget-style keyboard pr0ns lol (currently nothing yet; still waiting for parts to reach me lol)
https://www.storeuni.com/collections/mechan...oards/brand_pfu

about typing feels, imo topre and cherry style switches are different. they have nothing in common. if you're already used to cherry style switches, adjustments might be needed before you can appreciate topre switches.

i have a few boards with topre switches, but unfortunately i prefer the vast diversity of cherry style switches to topre.
Pricing seems fair from Store Uni so I might consider buying there, but not the soonest.

Thank you for your input, and I am aware about this issue as well.

I do like the customization, modification and the plethora of specs that the Cherry MX comes with.

However after about 7-8 years of using the same switch (Blue and Browns mostly, Red was too mushy, Green and Clears was too stiff to my liking) I do feel that I would like to try something else. I hear praises sung and good things about the Topre, and what not to expect from them, so maybe the main point of switching is just a slight change of air once in a while. If I feel that it is not that great, and does not justify the changes, maybe I will skip it altogether, or buy used to cheap out abit lol.

If only there were test units that could be rented bangwall.gif

As for now, I can only base on other people review.

TSquovadis123
post Feb 28 2018, 07:06 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(myd51rl21v @ Feb 28 2018, 04:01 PM)
Reasons bolded above is why I wanted to avoid sourcing online in the first place. Maybe I will PM you for more information if I am dead set on getting one soonest.

I have my own reasons for getting the type S.
Initially I was opting for the normal HHKB, and after watching several videos on Youtube and getting a gist of how the normal HHKB vs type S sounded like, I wanted the type S to avoid inconveniencing others around me.

I do data entry (300 data per day, policy numbers, phone numbers, etc) for more than 8 hours a day and I myself sometimes get annoyed by my clicky blues after a prolonged usage. So to avoid that I think a type S will suit me much more better.

I understand it does sound weird in the first place using a 60% keyboard for data entry purpose, but I sorta got the hang of it and there has been no difference in typing speed interchanging from full size to 60%. The main reason I used smaller keyboards now are just to avoid bumping the mouse with the numpads lol. Full size keyboard are just long for me at work, although I do not have anything against it just that I prefer TKL and 60% more nowadays
Even at Type-S, the actuation sound is relatively loud. It's comparable with the Blue.
It's understandable, once you have lots of experience with the mkb, you tend to go to smaller layout. Minimalist, we call it. smile.gif
Smaller layout provide better ergonomics, it's recommended go for this direction.

I do have 60%, 80%, 100% layout keyboards. I love them.

horns
post Feb 28 2018, 11:41 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(myd51rl21v @ Feb 28 2018, 05:11 PM)
Pricing seems fair from Store Uni so I might consider buying there, but not the soonest.

Thank you for your input, and I am aware about this issue as well.

I do like the customization, modification and the plethora of specs that the Cherry MX comes with.

However after about 7-8 years of using the same switch (Blue and Browns mostly, Red was too mushy, Green and Clears was too stiff to my liking) I do feel that I would like to try something else. I hear praises sung and good things about the Topre, and what not to expect from them, so maybe the main point of switching is just a slight change of air once in a while. If I feel that it is not that great, and does not justify the changes, maybe I will skip it altogether, or buy used to cheap out abit lol.

If only there were test units that could be rented  bangwall.gif

As for now, I can only base on other people review.
well, it's actually good to try out something new more often. you might find something worthy along the way.

i think if i started with topre first, i might have different mindsets toward cherry mx style switches. however i'm glad that i didn't do that; if not i definitely miss out a whole lot of fun biggrin.gif

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Feb 28 2018, 07:06 PM)
Even at Type-S, the actuation sound is relatively loud. It's comparable with the Blue.
It's understandable, once you have lots of experience with the mkb, you tend to go to smaller layout. Minimalist, we call it.  smile.gif
Smaller layout provide better ergonomics, it's recommended go for this direction.

.. that video. that's too hardcore for me lol

antaras
post Mar 1 2018, 01:44 PM

196 posts

This just came in... weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee~

watermineral
post Mar 1 2018, 02:42 PM

137 posts

finally i got my Varmilo keyboard. Still trying to getting use to it, transition from ducky shine 2 blue to Varmilo VA87 brown switch.

took 1 week to reach here australia and i am quite satisfied with taobao and their courier service. next thing to do is getting the color keycap from local online shop here. weweek

This post has been edited by watermineral: Mar 1 2018, 03:03 PM
horns
post Mar 1 2018, 03:40 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(antaras @ Mar 1 2018, 01:44 PM)

.. really macam-macam interesting stuff for cherry mx style stems biggrin.gif

QUOTE(watermineral @ Mar 1 2018, 02:42 PM)
finally i got my Varmilo keyboard. Still trying to getting use to it, transition from ducky shine 2 blue to Varmilo VA87 brown switch.

took 1 week to reach here australia and i am quite satisfied with taobao and their courier service. next time will be getting the color keycap from local online shop here.

nice the shipping speed is not bad smile.gif
irsyadfy
post Mar 1 2018, 04:10 PM

219 posts

+1 notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by irsyadfy: Mar 1 2018, 04:11 PM
TSquovadis123
post Mar 1 2018, 04:15 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

Very nice this fidget. Name = Hammer.. Should be not the Chinese famous alu case maker?
myd51rl21v
post Mar 1 2018, 04:31 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Feb 28 2018, 07:06 PM)
It's understandable, once you have lots of experience with the mkb, you tend to go to smaller layout. Minimalist, we call it.  smile.gif

Well then since the sound they make are similar to Cherry MX Blues then maybe getting a Type-S was a better choice all along.
Thank you for mentioning this. It is really a valuable information.

I wouldn't want my keyboard to sound like Buckling Spring at work tho that would be very annoying lol.

Also, the video was a tad bit too hardcore, albeit unique.

antaras
post Mar 1 2018, 04:49 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Mar 1 2018, 04:15 PM)
Very nice this fidget. Name = Hammer.. Should be not the Chinese famous alu case maker?
hmmm... not sure bout that... got it from Massdrop previously. Took a millennia to reach only... hahaha...
Hammer Fidget

This post has been edited by antaras: Mar 1 2018, 04:50 PM
antaras
post Mar 2 2018, 03:57 PM

196 posts

These 3 bad boys came in today. hohoho... biggrin.gif

damn are they tight! Switch also came off when trying to pull them out. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by antaras: Mar 2 2018, 03:59 PM
locksng12
post Mar 2 2018, 04:07 PM

279 posts

QUOTE(antaras @ Mar 2 2018, 03:57 PM)
These 3 bad boys came in today. hohoho... biggrin.gif

damn are they tight! Switch also came off when trying to pull them out.  sweat.gif
Wew. Mind sharing what board and keycaps you're using? smile.gif

They look beeeeaaauufifulllll

antaras
post Mar 2 2018, 04:17 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(locksng12 @ Mar 2 2018, 04:07 PM)
Wew. Mind sharing what board and keycaps you're using?  smile.gif

They look beeeeaaauufifulllll
Board = GK64
Keycaps = Cheese
Artisan = Boi
Artisan = Griz
Artisan = Spinner
locksng12
post Mar 2 2018, 05:28 PM

279 posts

Before buying the Vortex Race 3 as my home keyboard, I purchased an Ajazz Ak33 to try the 75% format a year ago.
Now that I have the Race 3, I didn't want to just 'throw' my Ajazz away since it's still working fine.

So it is now my main office keyboard. Couldn't stand typing articles on an original Dell keyboard for several hours. Apparently, not a single person was annoyed by the sound the Zorro Blues in the office innocent.gif

QUOTE(antaras @ Mar 2 2018, 04:17 PM)
Board = GK64
Keycaps = Cheese
Artisan = Boi
Artisan = Griz
Artisan = Spinner
Good info! Those keycaps really look 'chessy' in colour laugh.gif
The lights emitting in the keyboard looks great

BTW Happy Chap Goh Mei guis! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by locksng12: Mar 2 2018, 05:45 PM
irsyadfy
post Mar 3 2018, 12:10 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(locksng12 @ Mar 2 2018, 05:28 PM)

Before buying the Vortex Race 3 as my home keyboard, I purchased an Ajazz Ak33 to try the 75% format a year ago.
Now that I have the Race 3, I didn't want to just 'throw' my Ajazz away since it's still working fine.

So it is now my main office keyboard. Couldn't stand typing articles on an original Dell keyboard for several hours. Apparently, not a single person was annoyed by the sound the Zorro Blues in the office  innocent.gif

BTW Happy Chap Goh Mei guis!  laugh.gif
walao, u write article for LYN ka? whistling.gif

* based on ur monitor on background. ha ha

anyway, nice kibods and happy chap goh mei !
i cant stand typing long on a membrane now too.

125 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Top

0.0311sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:48 PM