[V30] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

horns
post Jun 23 2017, 12:19 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(hwa107 @ Jun 22 2017, 09:20 AM)
Ya I tried HHKB before, it's Topre switch and I like the tactile feeling, almost like Cherry MX Blue but without the clicking noise. The tactile in Topre might not as strong and the key press is lighter a bit, but that's the closest switch I can find that simulate Cherry MX Blue without the noise.

The so called Cherry MX Brown which claim to have the tactile feel of blue switch but without the noise is totally a lie, I tried side by side with both my left and right hand pressed at the same time, can't get the tactile feel.
Lol you go around and advertise it is it?  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

Anyway I ordered one  icon_rolleyes.gif , please take care of the item ya  notworthy.gif
i like the deep sound after swapping with pbt keycaps haha

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Jun 22 2017, 09:29 AM)
I just hope more Malaysian get it. More and more ppl from oversea get it for get ready for norbauer case.
yeah thanks a lot for reserving those units for us smile.gif

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Jun 22 2017, 01:52 PM)
discontinued, i still cant afford one.
some day topre, some day.
I cant afford a topre no matter how much nice it is to type on. ive tried at shops. soo niceee.
so yes, it will always be in my dreams.  sweat.gif
one day you will own topre.

for things like mkbs, it's fine to get 2nd hand or even 3rd. i still buy a lot of 2nd hand stuff. (good deals for good stuff in damn good conditions, why not? and as a bonus i get to meet a lot of kind people in the process)

horns
post Jun 25 2017, 01:46 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Jun 25 2017, 10:45 AM)
Selamat Hari Raya to all my clicking, clacking, and thocking friends.

You guys are awesome!
selamat hari raya and happy holidays to you and family also haha
horns
post Jun 28 2017, 01:35 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Jun 27 2017, 11:19 PM)
how about 60% KB? bluetooth is not my priority, just came across and it looks quite nice and neat.

how bout ikbc poker 2? is this the poker 2 that been keep talking around in this thread?  hmm.gif
-KBparadise v60.

duh, seems like the one being keep mention is vortex poker....
imo if it's for the sake of collection purposes only, maybe you don't need to consider anything; just get it lol

if you use it casually maybe it's ok also; however for more convenience, maybe you need to consider the absence of dedicated f-keys and arrow keys.

yeah it's better to play games with wired connection.

horns
post Jun 28 2017, 10:43 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Jun 28 2017, 08:47 AM)
found a shop selling Vortex Poker 3 RGB, some said the RGB version keycaps is a normal abs instead of its famous pbt
yeah read about this also. it's a pity; but there might be some very convincing reasons for the switch. hopefully it's not about costs, because brands that are associated with vortex like ikbc still use pbt, double-shot pbt some more.

horns
post Jun 29 2017, 06:49 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Freddy87 @ Jun 28 2017, 06:57 PM)
Do you happens to have the link for the mentioned sellers?
you can go for storeuni.com for anne pro and ultimate.zone for pok3r.

horns
post Jun 30 2017, 05:02 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jun 30 2017, 12:39 PM)
I think got one model from sunsonny is rm79. Check jmgaming or novero website
LOL i think you saw the price tags wrongly. (maybe you were looking at a mouse pad, a mouse or a membrane keyboard)

the sudden influx of affordable mkbs in the market is a good thing, but there are reasons why they are so 'affordable'. keywords such as 'mechanical keyboards' have become a marketing tool, and for marketing purposes they are oversimplified into a keyboard that can allow you to change switches and keycaps, hiding all quality details under the carpet. human are simple beings. so they like and embrace simple ideas. (it's like rgb; something that have no practical purposes, but we have them in all our new toys; luckily most of them have option to be turned off)

for mkbs, imo it's still better to get models from brands that have decent user reviews.
horns
post Jun 30 2017, 07:32 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jun 30 2017, 06:03 PM)
oh this; well it's currently 'out of stock'. imo that price is unrealistic; it's more like for clearance, but nevermind

horns
post Jul 3 2017, 02:30 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(diantselul @ Jul 2 2017, 10:33 PM)
Hey guys, if I want to build my own mechanical keyboard , where can I get the parts (case,pcb, frame etc.) in a shop? If theres a way to buy it straight instead of ordering from taobao and amazon it would be great, hope u guys know a shop in my thats sells these.. Thanks!
nice; hopefully some days i can do that too.

locally it might be hard to find all parts. alternatively you can try sites like winkeyless.kr.

horns
post Jul 3 2017, 10:23 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(zhi95 @ Jul 3 2017, 08:48 PM)
i've done some research and found out IKBC C87 and ducky one TKL (non-backlit) are very similar in price and everything, which would you recommend? would also appreciate if you give me some link for the filco / leopold model that are similar to this

http://www.lazada.com.my/ikbc-c87-white-fr...Y&mp=1&rs=22745
http://www.lazada.com.my/ducky-one-tkl-non...Y&mp=1&rs=22745
between the two i think ikbc c87 has better values because it comes with double-shot pbt key caps (i think only leopold and ikbc have pbt key caps by default). the good thing about double-shot pbt key caps is that their legends just don't wear off even after a long while; and they are nice to type on. very steady biggrin.gif (ducky one's should be double-shot abs; should be equally durable, but they develop key-shine effects).

as a comparison, a number of legends on my corsair k70 rgb's abs key caps wore off, and developed key-shine effects in just after few months of use. (wasd keys especially; terrible :/)

edit: oh you added filco into the list. get filco then. it's damn cheap for that price tbh. (mkbs are relatively durable for a long time; age is not really a problem)

This post has been edited by horns: Jul 3 2017, 10:26 PM
horns
post Jul 3 2017, 11:55 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Jul 3 2017, 10:56 PM)
iKBC C series actually is just printed PBT keycaps and it's not doubleshot PBT. Only backlit iKBC keyboards do use doubleshot PBT (first shot is POM).
thanks a lot for the correction; my bad for not checking c87 out closely biggrin.gif

http://www.ikbc.com.tw/c87 yeah the website for c87 actually stated it's pbt; not pbt double-shot like f87.

QUOTE(zhi95 @ Jul 3 2017, 10:57 PM)
Thanks for reply! can i know why filco? altho i know filco is very famous, but i believe the majestouch 2 is using ABS and dont have NKRO? and i'm not that into customizing and filco is really good at customizing. And where to buy those pretty keycaps if i bought the filco majestouch 2. ty~
quovadis123 has answered about filco and nkro; filco majestouch2 has nkro with ps/2 adapter (the adapter comes with the board).

if you planned to change to better-quality key caps, taobao is cheaper. price range varies based on quality; there are a lot of good stuff there, e.g. dye-sub or double-shot pbt key cap sets.

QUOTE(zhi95 @ Jul 3 2017, 11:25 PM)
1st~ i surfed then website on your profile, it wrote iKBC C87 Non-Backlit Doubleshot PBT Mechanical Keyboard (White) so is it double shot or not as you earlier mention..
2nd thing, i see the picture of the majestouch 2 TKL of the store uni (rm469) and lazada (rm369), their windows key are different so i assume there are the newer version of it? is the differences very big? i'm very close to make a decision already, thank you guys in advance
about no. 1, i think quovadis123 has corrected the confusion just now.

for no. 2, you can always take a look at filco's product page, like this one, http://www.diatec.co.jp/en/det.php?prod_c=884

horns
post Jul 4 2017, 12:26 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(zhi95 @ Jul 4 2017, 12:02 AM)
alright thanks alot ! one final question, if you were me (only plays dota2 not other game or anything, will be choosing mx blue ), which will you choose
1) c78 rm314 shipped (white which i preferred)
2) majestouch 2 rm370.50 shipping (older version, black)
er you have to answer that yourself.

personally, filco; and i like black case hahaha

horns
post Jul 4 2017, 12:51 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(zhi95 @ Jul 4 2017, 12:30 AM)
ahha i think i'll go filco, thank you guys for the opinion, and if possible, do drop me some taobao links to customize it, i'm really new to filco keyboard, previously was using blackwidow tongue.gif
previously i was a gaming board user also smile.gif

i guess after you used filco as your daily driver, you will understand why most of us don't go back to gaming boards anymore. (well at least this was my case)

for filco boards, don't worry about those stabilizers when you swap key caps. it's easy.

horns
post Jul 5 2017, 04:50 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(zhi95 @ Jul 4 2017, 08:44 PM)
While waiting the shipment of my mj2, i ran through whole 62 pages and gain much knowledge!
wish i could get mj2 hakua with mx pink available in malaysia soon. As many of you guys not really trust mx blue for gaming tongue.gif
The keycaps are actually quite expensive even in taobao, rm100++ didnt know that hahah i think i'm almost in the rabbit role
for switches, it's really about personal preference. just get what you want and have fun with it smile.gif

well, that's the price for good-quality, better looking key cap sets and imo it's good to put them on your filco. there are cheaper ones. however they are not really as nice. (these key cap sets last for a long time; you can reuse them for as long as you like actually)

horns
post Jul 7 2017, 02:41 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jul 6 2017, 07:43 PM)
wow.... from 400 ish now to 150 ish ohmy.gif also am i seeing this right, they said double shot abs keycaps  nod.gif

now we can poison more people starting from a lower price point to get them started thumbup.gif
yeah it's good in a way to promote mkbs smile.gif hopefully more users can have better typing experience with them.
horns
post Jul 7 2017, 01:01 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jul 7 2017, 10:09 AM)
I guess tbis can compete with armageddon's mka 3c and also aula's
well yeah.

from user reviews that i read, quality is kind of like a common issue in these boards. (most reviews at youtube usually just show unboxing experience, when boards are still new. the thing that matters more imo is user reviews that include at least few months of dedicated usage)

however since it's affordable, users most probably get a new one when the current one malfunctioned hehe

horns
post Jul 7 2017, 07:38 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Jul 7 2017, 04:09 PM)
Just treat them like bunch of OEMs board, with different brand tag. China manufacturer provide those brand like 20~ usd per board.
Then those brand bought and spam the market.
At the end, MKB users increased. I'm happy.  rclxm9.gif

But, inconsistent switch is very bad to the definition of mkb as an upgrade from normal board.
Even membrane consistent!  rolleyes.gif
At the end, it's up to the buyer. They happy, I ok.
yeah to oem manufacturers it's a good opportunity (it's basically an untapped market; they can clear stocks and grab money in the shortest time). whether it's long term or not, it still depends on them after that.

inconsistency in budget switches is a bad user experience. on the brighter side, it's a chance to educate users to differentiate between good and bad switches (or mkbs in general).

i have negative thoughts about all these but let's hope it's not that bad.

horns
post Jul 8 2017, 11:48 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Jul 8 2017, 10:56 AM)
noob here.

u guys keep telling about inconsistency of switch, what is meaning that?
is it like saying one switch is stiff, one is smooth, one is a lil heavy, one is a lil not heavy? in the same kibod.

liddat ha sifus?
not a sifu, but as a typical user.

to me it's the noticeable difference between a set of same key switches on a board. (maybe more obvious if it's blue which have both tactile and clicky sounds) they are supposed to have the same typing feels. (pretty much like what you described, but it's not because of using different switches in the same board)

i use linear switches mostly; when i played with tactile and clicky switches i can feel differences if i paid enough attention. (like brown; the tactile is there, and it feels a bit scratchy in filco ninja brown; however, they are consistent)

horns
post Jul 8 2017, 10:49 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Jul 8 2017, 07:57 PM)
ok understood. tenkiu.

i like clicky. maybe i shud try this outemu tecware if suddenly got extra money.
yeah eventually mkb is about personal preference, which makes it fun to play with.

edit: got pok3r; cute is cute geh; but really need to spend time to adapt to it. as for filco majestouch.2.tkl.s, all i have to say about this board is that if you want a very quiet board, this is the one to go. definitely. (unless you're looking for backlit boards like corsair strafe) imo it's way better than corsair strafe with cherry mx pink switches.

hopefully we can see the 75% vortex race 3 locally later.

This post has been edited by horns: Jul 10 2017, 11:26 AM
horns
post Jul 14 2017, 10:24 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(male_012 @ Jul 13 2017, 10:11 PM)
yes not hot-swappable; but they still can be replaced by soldering, so it's all good smile.gif

just have fun with the board first. it's not that the switches will fail within short period of time.

horns
post Jul 14 2017, 10:30 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(male_012 @ Jul 14 2017, 10:26 AM)
By the way.. what is HOT-Swappable?? This one i really don't understand.
A different way to swap the switch?
meaning the switches can be replaced on-the-fly, without soldering. just plug and play, like replacing key caps. there are already budget mkbs that have this feature.

21 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0999sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:06 PM