[V30] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

TSquovadis123
post Jul 7 2017, 04:09 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jul 7 2017, 01:01 PM)
well yeah.

from user reviews that i read, quality is kind of like a common issue in these boards. (most reviews at youtube usually just show unboxing experience, when boards are still new. the thing that matters more imo is user reviews that include at least few months of dedicated usage)

however since it's affordable, users most probably get a new one when the current one malfunctioned hehe
Just treat them like bunch of OEMs board, with different brand tag. China manufacturer provide those brand like 20~ usd per board.
Then those brand bought and spam the market.
At the end, MKB users increased. I'm happy. rclxm9.gif

But, inconsistent switch is very bad to the definition of mkb as an upgrade from normal board.
Even membrane consistent! rolleyes.gif
At the end, it's up to the buyer. They happy, I ok.
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jul 7 2017, 06:32 PM

4,463 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Jul 7 2017, 09:50 AM)
It's good actually for having low price mkb in the market. Quality aside, it's budget anyway. You get what you pay for.
As usual, it will create another division in mkb community.
yeh but just from looking at the specs for that price, seems way better than before.

i'm sure if we nitpick theres bound to be something we can complain about, but seems like a bargain mkb for casual typists to move from rubberdome to mkb finally smile.gif at least high end gaming keyboard rubberdome is dead (logitech stopped trying to market over priced rubberdomes for a while now haven't they?) Only one that deserved to survive was topre tried it before it's nice but expensive sweat.gif

but what caught me by surprise is double shot abs at this price point. i'm definitely gonna read the reviews for this mkb once it's out nod.gif

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Jul 7 2017, 09:50 AM)
Personal Comment: I hope I can test on this board, but I don't want even spend money to get it. <-- My scumbag attitude  rclxm9.gif
send some my way i'll help beta test laugh.gif but not blacks puke.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jul 7 2017, 06:35 PM
horns
post Jul 7 2017, 07:38 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Jul 7 2017, 04:09 PM)
Just treat them like bunch of OEMs board, with different brand tag. China manufacturer provide those brand like 20~ usd per board.
Then those brand bought and spam the market.
At the end, MKB users increased. I'm happy.  rclxm9.gif

But, inconsistent switch is very bad to the definition of mkb as an upgrade from normal board.
Even membrane consistent!  rolleyes.gif
At the end, it's up to the buyer. They happy, I ok.
yeah to oem manufacturers it's a good opportunity (it's basically an untapped market; they can clear stocks and grab money in the shortest time). whether it's long term or not, it still depends on them after that.

inconsistency in budget switches is a bad user experience. on the brighter side, it's a chance to educate users to differentiate between good and bad switches (or mkbs in general).

i have negative thoughts about all these but let's hope it's not that bad.

irsyadfy
post Jul 8 2017, 10:56 AM

219 posts

noob here.

u guys keep telling about inconsistency of switch, what is meaning that?
is it like saying one switch is stiff, one is smooth, one is a lil heavy, one is a lil not heavy? in the same kibod.

liddat ha sifus?
horns
post Jul 8 2017, 11:48 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Jul 8 2017, 10:56 AM)
noob here.

u guys keep telling about inconsistency of switch, what is meaning that?
is it like saying one switch is stiff, one is smooth, one is a lil heavy, one is a lil not heavy? in the same kibod.

liddat ha sifus?
not a sifu, but as a typical user.

to me it's the noticeable difference between a set of same key switches on a board. (maybe more obvious if it's blue which have both tactile and clicky sounds) they are supposed to have the same typing feels. (pretty much like what you described, but it's not because of using different switches in the same board)

i use linear switches mostly; when i played with tactile and clicky switches i can feel differences if i paid enough attention. (like brown; the tactile is there, and it feels a bit scratchy in filco ninja brown; however, they are consistent)

irsyadfy
post Jul 8 2017, 07:57 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jul 8 2017, 11:48 AM)
not a sifu, but as a typical user.

to me it's the noticeable difference between a set of same key switches on a board. (maybe more obvious if it's blue which have both tactile and clicky sounds) they are supposed to have the same typing feels. (pretty much like what you described, but it's not because of using different switches in the same board)

i use linear switches mostly; when i played with tactile and clicky switches i can feel differences if i paid enough attention. (like brown; the tactile is there, and it feels a bit scratchy in filco ninja brown; however, they are consistent)
ok understood. tenkiu.

i like clicky. maybe i shud try this outemu tecware if suddenly got extra money.
horns
post Jul 8 2017, 10:49 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Jul 8 2017, 07:57 PM)
ok understood. tenkiu.

i like clicky. maybe i shud try this outemu tecware if suddenly got extra money.
yeah eventually mkb is about personal preference, which makes it fun to play with.

edit: got pok3r; cute is cute geh; but really need to spend time to adapt to it. as for filco majestouch.2.tkl.s, all i have to say about this board is that if you want a very quiet board, this is the one to go. definitely. (unless you're looking for backlit boards like corsair strafe) imo it's way better than corsair strafe with cherry mx pink switches.

hopefully we can see the 75% vortex race 3 locally later.

This post has been edited by horns: Jul 10 2017, 11:26 AM
male_012
post Jul 13 2017, 12:05 AM

121 posts

Guys!!!!!! I just got my MKB few days back. I really really really like it!!! Its only RM99 (AJAZZ AK33) and the typing feeling is super good!! I plan to purchase the switches in advance, so i could repair them when my keyboard got problem. Hahaha!!! Really happy!! I enjoy the typing feel so much. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Actually.. I think mechanical keyboard is really worth buying. At least you can repair the keyboard yourself instead of buying another one, which cost you another 20-40 ringgit yet is just a normal keyboard. You can EVEN purchase the keyboard caps you want and customize it, also you may change the typing feel by purchasing different switches if you want. Unless you electronic board and the keyboard is totally broken (which will be really rare), else you may use up to few years i think. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Question : Where do i buy the keyboard switches like Cherry Blue ? Coz i don wanna buy some brandless/ no quality switches. sad.gif sad.gif

Question : Can i use other's brand switches (eg, Cherry Blue, Outemu) and install into my Ajazz AK33 MKB? (I think all the switches are universal/standardized regardless blue,red, black)

This post has been edited by male_012: Jul 13 2017, 12:52 AM
TSquovadis123
post Jul 13 2017, 02:12 AM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(male_012 @ Jul 13 2017, 12:05 AM)
Guys!!!!!! I just got my MKB few days back. I really really really like it!!! Its only RM99 (AJAZZ AK33) and the typing feeling is super good!! I plan to purchase the switches in advance, so i could repair them when my keyboard got problem. Hahaha!!! Really happy!! I enjoy the typing feel so much.  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

Actually.. I think mechanical keyboard is really worth buying. At least you can repair the keyboard yourself instead of buying another one, which cost you another 20-40 ringgit yet is just a normal keyboard. You can EVEN purchase the keyboard caps you want and customize it, also you may change the typing feel by purchasing different switches if you want. Unless you electronic board and the keyboard is totally broken (which will be really rare), else you may use up to few years i think.  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif

Question : Where do i buy the keyboard switches like Cherry Blue ? Coz i don wanna buy some brandless/ no quality switches.  sad.gif  sad.gif

Question : Can i use other's brand switches (eg, Cherry Blue, Outemu) and install into my Ajazz AK33 MKB? (I think all the switches are universal/standardized regardless blue,red, black)
Q1 ANS: You can get from many places, like taobao and mechanicalkeyboards.com, for older Cherry MX switches (black case). The latest version of Cherry MX RGB is closed-source, not widely available, but still can get from taobao. Please search in taobao. Thanks.
Q2 ANS: Yes, you can, Cherry MX, Gateron, Outemu, Kailh, and other caplang Cherry MX clone can be use because all copied the same design.
male_012
post Jul 13 2017, 05:53 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Jul 13 2017, 02:12 AM)
Q1 ANS: You can get from many places, like taobao and mechanicalkeyboards.com, for older Cherry MX switches (black case). The latest version of Cherry MX RGB is closed-source, not widely available, but still can get from taobao. Please search in taobao. Thanks.
Q2 ANS: Yes, you can, Cherry MX, Gateron, Outemu, Kailh, and other caplang Cherry MX clone can be use because all copied the same design.
Thank you so much for your help. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif I placed the order to get Outemu blue switch already (at least there are some backup switches before my keyboard got problem) bruce.gif bruce.gif
male_012
post Jul 13 2017, 01:56 PM

121 posts

Honestly.. I really hope most of the PC users would buy MKB, because once you tried it most probably you will get addicted. Hahaha!!! rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
Now i really understand the benefits of MKB compare to normal keyboard, especially the typing and gaming feel (key rollover/anti ghosting).
Somemore durable as you could repair them by yourself. Thank you so much Mechanical Keyboard!! Hahaha!!

Note: You don't have to go for the expensive MKB, as i bought the cheap MKB too. Even with less than RM100 you will be really satisfy with it's performance. rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
TSquovadis123
post Jul 13 2017, 05:56 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(male_012 @ Jul 13 2017, 01:56 PM)
Honestly.. I really hope most of the PC users would buy MKB, because once you tried it most probably you will get addicted. Hahaha!!!  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif 
Now i really understand the benefits of MKB compare to normal keyboard, especially the typing and gaming feel (key rollover/anti ghosting).
Somemore durable as you could repair them by yourself. Thank you so much Mechanical Keyboard!! Hahaha!!

Note: You don't have to go for the expensive MKB, as i bought the cheap MKB too. Even with less than RM100 you will be really satisfy with it's performance.  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
We need more new bloods like you in the community. icon_rolleyes.gif
Jay Chua CC
post Jul 13 2017, 05:58 PM

~Dont settle for good. Demand great~
5,907 posts

QUOTE(male_012 @ Jul 13 2017, 05:53 AM)
Thank you so much for your help.  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  I placed the order to get Outemu blue switch already (at least there are some backup switches before my keyboard got problem)  bruce.gif  bruce.gif
You sure? I dont think Ajazz Ak33 have swappable switches.
irsyadfy
post Jul 13 2017, 06:22 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Jul 13 2017, 05:56 PM)
We need more new bloods like you in the community.  icon_rolleyes.gif
+1
male_012
post Jul 13 2017, 08:47 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jul 13 2017, 05:58 PM)
You sure? I dont think Ajazz Ak33 have swappable switches.
Huh? I think so.. because I had purchased a mechanical keyboard from JM Gaming (Below is the product description).
I opened the cap and saw the switches (just like the one i ordered) of the keyboard. So i assumed if there is anything happened to the buttons i could change the switches.
Wait wait. Did I get some wrong information? Or my keyboard cannot change switches? I saw how they change the switches in youtube using some electronic devices.
So i think i could do the same.

https://www.lazada.com.my/jm-gaming-malaysi....3aBMkX&boost=1

These are the very close look of the Ajazz AK33 circuit and switches Pics
Extra Info: http://imgur.com/a/z4Ph5

This post has been edited by male_012: Jul 13 2017, 10:03 PM
Jay Chua CC
post Jul 13 2017, 10:04 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(male_012 @ Jul 13 2017, 08:47 PM)
Huh? I think so.. because I had purchased a mechanical keyboard from JM Gaming (Below is the product description).
I opened the cap and saw the switches (just like the one i ordered) of the keyboard. So i assumed if there is anything happened to the buttons i could change the switches.
Wait wait. Did I get some wrong information? Or my keyboard cannot change switches? I saw how they change the switches in youtube using some electronic devices.
So i think i could do the same.

Cant iinm. Jm gaimg got other models which can swap switches. If can chg the switch, there will be a descrption about this.
male_012
post Jul 13 2017, 10:11 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jul 13 2017, 10:04 PM)
Cant iinm. Jm gaimg got other models which can swap switches. If can chg the switch, there will be a descrption about this.
Really? Then i think i have wasted my RM20. Hahaha!! tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
Never mind then, once my keyboard is spoilt.. I will try to repair it with the purchased switches.
So that means the switches that i purchased will not fit my Ajazz ak33 keyboard? Why cannot? I wonder.. confused.gif confused.gif
I thought all the switches are the same? As long as i could open the cover and unmount the switches from the circuit board then i could mount the new switches to it? confused.gif blink.gif rclxub.gif
Can la~~~ Unless all the switches are not universal, and the one i bought will not fit my keyboard.

How about others??? any comments???? Below are all the information of my keyboard included circuit board pictures

Keyboard Info
http://imgur.com/a/z4Ph5

Purchased switches Info
https://www.lazada.com.my/outemu-switches-b....TKNKxs&boost=1

This post has been edited by male_012: Jul 14 2017, 09:23 AM
irsyadfy
post Jul 14 2017, 10:00 AM

219 posts

i think,

1 say its not hot swap able.

u say can swap, but need to solder 1st.

i think so
Jay Chua CC
post Jul 14 2017, 10:12 AM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Jul 14 2017, 10:00 AM)
i think,

1 say its not hot swap able.

u say can swap, but need to solder 1st.

i think so
Ya. This. Hot swappable. But for rm90 mkb, i think is not worth to solder this and that. Plus new user samo
male_012
post Jul 14 2017, 10:23 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jul 14 2017, 10:12 AM)
Ya. This. Hot swappable. But for rm90 mkb, i think is not worth to solder this and that. Plus new user samo
Brother Chua notworthy.gif
As long as the switch is swappable then should be fine for me already, because I just want a MKB with low maintenance fee.
You know.. not everyone willing to purchase RM100+ keyboard just to have the typing feeling.
Since there is a way to have a "Durable MKB" with very low cost yet you may enjoy so much of the benefits. I think this will attract a lot of users, because this make budget users to explore the nice MECHANICAL KEYBOARD!! rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

So i really hope my switches are swappable once my keyboard buttons are spoilt, and i may continue to enjoy the superb typing feel. rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

I still waiting the JM Gaming's reply. Once confirmed.. I will purchase some cheap key caps too. nod.gif

This post has been edited by male_012: Jul 14 2017, 10:25 AM

125 Pages « < 61 62 63 64 65 > » Top

0.0348sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:50 PM