BEST IT COMPANY, recommend pls
TSsoulmad
Feb 11 2007, 01:53 PM, updated 19y ago
IT interm of software & consultant
which is best in KL good benefit with good pay willing to train employee into a talent staff that u dun wan to leave after work inside can take on role switching
This post has been edited by soulmad: Feb 12 2007, 03:42 PM
vincent_audio
Feb 11 2007, 01:56 PM
Microsoft, Western Digital, they won the Best Employer for previous year, not sure which year though
This post has been edited by vincent_audio: Feb 11 2007, 01:56 PM
RoyMcAvoy
Feb 11 2007, 02:23 PM
can you elaborate more on IT Company? IT is too general. Are you asking for technology related, software house or IT outsource company?
eg_9525
Feb 11 2007, 03:32 PM
i vote for MICROSOFT, ORACLE, SUN, FUJITSU... but really sure about IBM. heard a lots of bad feedback from their employees...
ringgostar
Feb 11 2007, 05:13 PM

HeiTech Padu Bhd
olman
Feb 11 2007, 05:14 PM
How about Mesiniaga? Anyone working there?
ringgostar
Feb 11 2007, 05:26 PM

QUOTE(olman @ Feb 11 2007, 05:14 PM) How about Mesiniaga? Anyone working there? my fren works for mesiniaga as acct manager.. more to hardware..
olman
Feb 11 2007, 05:31 PM
QUOTE(ringgostar @ Feb 11 2007, 05:26 PM) my fren works for mesiniaga as acct manager.. more to hardware.. the office in subang seems like a cosy place, but their corporate website is pathetic.
tishaban
Feb 11 2007, 05:39 PM
Does Microsoft in Malaysia have anything more than a sales office? Do they actually do any software development or R&D work here? The last time I visited them in KLCC they were purely sales, no development, no R&D. Not exactly an IT company by any standards.
ringgostar
Feb 11 2007, 05:52 PM

QUOTE(olman @ Feb 11 2007, 05:31 PM) the office in subang seems like a cosy place, but their corporate website is pathetic.  i guess they r so busy.. a lot bussiness coming in until dont hav time to manage their own website.. customer 1st.. for me IT is the most challenging business..yet the most profitable..
nyprinz83
Feb 11 2007, 06:01 PM
QUOTE(tishaban @ Feb 11 2007, 07:39 PM) Does Microsoft in Malaysia have anything more than a sales office? Do they actually do any software development or R&D work here? The last time I visited them in KLCC they were purely sales, no development, no R&D. Not exactly an IT company by any standards. I highly doubt microsoft will have any R&D efforts in Malaysia as most development would be concentrated in US with probably a few labs in India and China as well
wongck
Feb 11 2007, 10:25 PM
QUOTE(ringgostar @ Feb 11 2007, 05:13 PM) Are you kidding me? This is the worst company I encounter before! This post has been edited by wongck: Feb 11 2007, 10:25 PM
SUSspanker
Feb 11 2007, 10:51 PM
QUOTE(soulmad @ Feb 11 2007, 01:53 PM) which is best in KL good benefit with good pay willing to train employee into a talent staff that u dun wan to leave after work inside can take on role switching This is a way of getting yourself into a lot of hurt. There is no "best" IT company. Job seeking is a 2 way street, on whether or not the company and the job is suited to you, and if you're suited to the company. So there isn't a "best" company, it could be good to some and bad to others. Even if there is a best company, then you should be asking yourself "Am I the best?"
eg_9525
Feb 11 2007, 11:03 PM
how about Patimas and CSA?
olman
Feb 11 2007, 11:28 PM
QUOTE(spanker @ Feb 11 2007, 10:51 PM) This is a way of getting yourself into a lot of hurt. There is no "best" IT company. Job seeking is a 2 way street, on whether or not the company and the job is suited to you, and if you're suited to the company. So there isn't a "best" company, it could be good to some and bad to others. Even if there is a best company, then you should be asking yourself "Am I the best?" I am not sure of its meaning, can you point me in the right direction?
SUSDavid83
Feb 11 2007, 11:29 PM
Too bad Google is not in Malaysia.
howeijie
Feb 12 2007, 12:57 AM
LENOVO got branch in Malaysia or not
pppooo
Feb 12 2007, 01:05 AM

QUOTE(howeijie @ Feb 12 2007, 12:57 AM) LENOVO got branch in Malaysia or not Yes, at Uptown.
bukanmain
Feb 12 2007, 01:22 AM
microsoft heehee
vincentlee
Feb 12 2007, 01:30 AM
QUOTE(eg_9525 @ Feb 11 2007, 03:32 PM) i vote for MICROSOFT, ORACLE, SUN, FUJITSU... but really sure about IBM. heard a lots of bad feedback from their employees... what is so bad about IBM?
derict
Feb 12 2007, 07:16 AM

IBM, i think its very much depends on which department u're in ..Some of it, those ppl can stay there for many years .... Some of the department is not really good. ....
JasonLaw
Feb 12 2007, 10:23 AM
Monster Technologies Malaysia, not bad. -- Software Engineering Company http://www.monster.comhttp://www.monsterworldwide.comThis post has been edited by JasonLaw: Feb 12 2007, 04:57 PM
Casanova
Feb 12 2007, 01:54 PM

QUOTE(soulmad @ Feb 11 2007, 01:53 PM) which is best in KL good benefit with good pay willing to train employee into a talent staff that u dun wan to leave after work inside can take on role switching Microsoft Shell IT HP IBM Nothing else.
TSsoulmad
Feb 12 2007, 03:45 PM
i saying IT company oh
Mavik
Feb 12 2007, 07:55 PM
Patience is a virtue
Why not SAP malaysia?
Winfeel
Feb 12 2007, 09:28 PM
QUOTE(spanker @ Feb 11 2007, 10:51 PM) This is a way of getting yourself into a lot of hurt. There is no "best" IT company. Job seeking is a 2 way street, on whether or not the company and the job is suited to you, and if you're suited to the company. So there isn't a "best" company, it could be good to some and bad to others. Even if there is a best company, then you should be asking yourself "Am I the best?" I catch him a little .I think there is no best I.T company .We can see like Dell, Intel, Microsoft etc.At the end, they still do retrenchment.Perceive from today real life,the best staffs retrenched one by one.They switched from one IT company to another IT company ,before worked as software sales manager in Microsoft and switched to Intel with different job in different field. Those did not involve in the retrenchment, to them ,the company is their best and reverse. However,it is unlikely to practise in the real world which guarantee u joinning the right company. This post has been edited by Winfeel: Feb 12 2007, 09:29 PM
jeromelee1
Nov 28 2007, 01:03 AM
It is not Microsoft/HP/IBM/CSA that matter most. It is the boss who you reporting to on everyday basis. If he is idiot or demanding boss, then you work like dog each day. Benefits is almost the same in each IT technology company depending on the branding. SAS stand at no. 48 spot and they have branch in Malaysia http://money.cnn.com/magazines/fortune/bes...apshots/48.htmlGoogle stand at no.1 spot but they have office only in SG at the moment. http://money.cnn.com/magazines/fortune/bes...2007/full_list/For me, I vote for Google and SAS in terms of personal development and employee benefits.
rexis
Nov 28 2007, 09:09 AM
QUOTE(soulmad @ Feb 11 2007, 01:53 PM) IT interm of software & consultant which is best in KL good benefit with good pay willing to train employee into a talent staff that u dun wan to leave after work inside can take on role switching Best IT company based on your criteria? Unfortunately most of the best company will stretch their employee toward the limit, therefore they are not always the best company to work with. It is up to the person to find out certain company is a good company to work with, as there are different point of view in different people. But we can easily identify the "worst" company to work with.
cryil
Nov 28 2007, 07:10 PM

i tot microsoft in KLCC is totally sales department where i heard there is 120 employee inside and all is under marketing/ sales / business blablabla position.
Civil
Nov 28 2007, 07:47 PM
have you guys seen the Google office in US.I watched it in Discovery channel. Damn, I wish i had a job there. all freeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
tishaban
Nov 28 2007, 08:39 PM
QUOTE(Civil @ Nov 28 2007, 07:47 PM) have you guys seen the Google office in US.I watched it in Discovery channel. Damn, I wish i had a job there. all freeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee Free stuff is not the only issue. Think also of the stock options. Those who've been there for 1-2 years are already worth more than US$200k on top of whatever salary you make  Google for the Google interview questions. See if you think you can qualify for Google, they are hiring software developers, they will take you if you're good enough even if you are in Malaysia.
starblade
Dec 2 2007, 12:46 PM

QUOTE(soulmad @ Feb 11 2007, 02:53 PM) IT interm of software & consultant which is best in KL good benefit with good pay willing to train employee into a talent staff that u dun wan to leave after work inside can take on role switching sorry, not trying to burst your bubbles, there is no such things as a "perfect" company in this world... it depends on how well u blend into the working environment and how comfortable u r working with them only... all the best... good luck...
my-robbie
Dec 13 2007, 02:55 PM
QUOTE(soulmad @ Feb 11 2007, 01:53 PM) IT interm of software & consultant which is best in KL good benefit with good pay willing to train employee into a talent staff that u dun wan to leave after work inside can take on role switching I think you have be more specific which area of "best" you are looking for. good benefit + good pay = big company or MNC lo. willing to train staff = it depends who is your immediate supervisor. sense of company ownership = go for company that offers u stock options or directorship lo. role switching = generally MNC have such mechanism, small company u already A to Z la.
rexis
Dec 13 2007, 03:42 PM
QUOTE(tishaban @ Nov 28 2007, 08:39 PM) Free stuff is not the only issue. Think also of the stock options. Those who've been there for 1-2 years are already worth more than US$200k on top of whatever salary you make  Google for the Google interview questions. See if you think you can qualify for Google, they are hiring software developers, they will take you if you're good enough even if you are in Malaysia. Like how many golf balls can fit into a bus? Really interesting question... I has attended some bank interview before and they gave us do some IQ questionaire. I do not care for the answer and just aim to complete it without thinking too much, the other two guys unable to complete due to i think they are confused by the question, i am the only one who made it to 2nd interview. Skrewed up the 2nd interview thou
ReWeR
Dec 13 2007, 03:50 PM
QUOTE(jeromelee1 @ Nov 28 2007, 01:03 AM) It is not Microsoft/HP/IBM/CSA that matter most. It is the boss who you reporting to on everyday basis. If he is idiot or demanding boss, then you work like dog each day. Benefits is almost the same in each IT technology company depending on the branding. SAS stand at no. 48 spot and they have branch in Malaysia http://money.cnn.com/magazines/fortune/bes...apshots/48.htmlGoogle stand at no.1 spot but they have office only in SG at the moment. http://money.cnn.com/magazines/fortune/bes...2007/full_list/For me, I vote for Google and SAS in terms of personal development and employee benefits. I think your answer is near to reality already, but I have to say it must be damn hard to get into SAS and Google. This post has been edited by ReWeR: Dec 13 2007, 03:52 PM
irene.kong
Dec 24 2007, 04:34 AM
i think Shell, BAT, BASF and the other end user company pays very well.
red-queen
Dec 24 2007, 12:02 PM
in every company, not only IT companies. sure theres employees who are happy and there are some who are not.
which is the best company is something only you yourself can judge. one man's meat is another man's poison. its like ur asking, what is the BEST CHINESE FOOD. some will say kung pou chicken, some will say wan tan mee, etc etc.
what is most important is that your job objective and goals meets the companies interest and goals.
quintessential
Dec 24 2007, 12:03 PM
hewlett packard
popcorn513
Dec 24 2007, 02:39 PM
hewlett packard Good?
Can explain whats the benefit/allowance working in IT there? I hate their "Global Service Desk" lor, currently working as lvl 1 support partner with them.
DiRecToRofSaTaN
Mar 12 2008, 04:27 PM
Can you be more detail on what you have working there popcorn. Is it the bossses or is it the pressure ?
clngu
Mar 12 2008, 08:21 PM
QUOTE(vincentlee @ Feb 12 2007, 01:30 AM) what is so bad about IBM? political wars ...
sbd18
Mar 13 2008, 04:34 AM
imho every company has political wars...
rexis
Mar 13 2008, 08:54 AM
But some company they did it pretty obviously, you are either my side or their side, there is no in between unless you are the toilet cleaner. And fyi, there are some company that WITHOUT politic, I hv been in some before, but perhaps just because everyone just feel like changing job thats why, no politic  - - - - A side note about the best IT company... seriously, the best thing has to be the right person at the right place at the right time and finally, the right boss who put you there. This post has been edited by rexis: Mar 13 2008, 09:43 AM
cutegurl
Mar 13 2008, 10:24 AM

QUOTE(sbd18 @ Mar 13 2008, 04:34 AM) imho every company has political wars... er...mesin niaga == IBM ??
DiRecToRofSaTaN
Mar 13 2008, 10:42 AM
Mesin niaga is just the local company name for IBM franchise but basically it is the same thing.
cutegurl
Mar 13 2008, 11:31 AM

IBM franchise ? IBM also got franchise ar...wa...sorry sorry ..i really duno..so can conclude like this ? IBM Malaysia = Msein Niaga, benefit same ?
DiRecToRofSaTaN
Mar 13 2008, 03:39 PM
More like localise and it depends on the location.
Even if you work in microsoft USA compared to Microsoft Malaysia the benefit wont be the same maaaaaa salary wise etc..
MiLKTea
Mar 15 2008, 06:30 PM
how about dhl-itsc at cyberjaya?
lol.....no company will be the best - some say abc is best, some say it is no good...all depend on one's experience and mindset.... some small IT company might even better than mnc (perhaps can learn a lot, we won't know what....), but because they are small, nobody will claim they are best!!
give your best when working, and when the result paid off, u'll say ur company is the best!!
DiRecToRofSaTaN
Mar 15 2008, 09:03 PM
That will be true on a certain level....
To be exact it is not the company but the people who runs the company or the management that administer the company.
If you got a jack ass Manager then of course it will be a living hell for the staff for sure and it will that persons responsble to improve it ..
sbd18
Mar 17 2008, 06:59 PM
QUOTE(cutegurl @ Mar 13 2008, 10:24 AM) er...mesin niaga == IBM ?? imho means 'in my honest opinion'...didn't mean any company...
plankton
Mar 17 2008, 11:27 PM
Motorola
chew118
Mar 17 2008, 11:45 PM

QUOTE(Casanova @ Feb 12 2007, 01:54 PM) Microsoft Shell IT HP IBM Nothing else. Shell IT? better think twice!!!!! Added on March 17, 2008, 11:47 pmQUOTE(MiLKTea @ Mar 15 2008, 06:30 PM) how about dhl-itsc at cyberjaya? lol.....no company will be the best - some say abc is best, some say it is no good...all depend on one's experience and mindset.... some small IT company might even better than mnc (perhaps can learn a lot, we won't know what....), but because they are small, nobody will claim they are best!! give your best when working, and when the result paid off, u'll say ur company is the best!! DHL ITSC outsource to HP by 1 JULY 08 This post has been edited by chew118: Mar 17 2008, 11:47 PM
may_haw
Mar 18 2008, 01:59 AM

QUOTE(cryil @ Nov 28 2007, 08:10 PM) i tot microsoft in KLCC is totally sales department where i heard there is 120 employee inside and all is under marketing/ sales / business blablabla position. There are consulting technical services team in microsoft malaysia. Not only sales.
HamikSu
Mar 18 2008, 09:31 AM
QUOTE(may_haw @ Mar 18 2008, 01:59 AM) There are consulting technical services team in microsoft malaysia. Not only sales. Yup attended one seminar by their so called Microsoft product expert from KL. He is a senior product consultant and an expat. Speaks fluent english and really seems to know Microsoft technologies well. But when drilled in Q&A...always promises new features in coming version
DiRecToRofSaTaN
Mar 18 2008, 12:47 PM
That is normal maahh , if he admits that the current version is perfect he will get screwed ten times when customer complaints it got bugs and not like what he is saying ..
That is called cover your back and play it safe.
python_king
Mar 18 2008, 01:35 PM

I think we should down grade the scope. According to the thread title, the IT company should not include companies like DHL, Shell, etc. We should focus on IT-BASED company (aka software house), eg: Google, M$, Oracle, SunMS, etc.. or local eg: "silver-leg", "for-miss"...
DiRecToRofSaTaN
Mar 18 2008, 02:17 PM
just open a new thread for those compannies not in the category
avars
Mar 18 2008, 08:51 PM

any1 heard of scope international from standard chartered? got an offer from them as java programmer, advise pls!
sentohwan
Aug 22 2009, 09:59 PM
QUOTE(spanker @ Feb 11 2007, 10:51 PM) This is a way of getting yourself into a lot of hurt. There is no "best" IT company. Job seeking is a 2 way street, on whether or not the company and the job is suited to you, and if you're suited to the company. So there isn't a "best" company, it could be good to some and bad to others. Even if there is a best company, then you should be asking yourself "Am I the best?" You are right. Got chance to work together? Added on August 22, 2009, 10:03 pmQUOTE(Casanova @ Feb 12 2007, 01:54 PM) Microsoft Shell IT HP IBM Nothing else. But most offer contract job than permanent. This post has been edited by sentohwan: Aug 22 2009, 10:03 PM
skystrike
Aug 23 2009, 01:39 AM
i think...
mesiniaga datacraft csc ibm hp microsoft
Joey Christensen
Aug 24 2009, 12:40 PM
Ambiguous thread indeed. How would you know if the company is the best? How does one define "best" company?
Best it terms of salary payout per annum? Paid bonus? Office environment? Compensations and benefits? Working culture? Perks? Career opportunity and growth?
It's pretty much up to someone's preferences and views.
Regards, Joey
Ken
Aug 24 2009, 01:11 PM
there is no best company in this world ...
so find the company that suit you most ...
iamsuccess
Aug 24 2009, 05:15 PM

QUOTE(avars @ Mar 18 2008, 08:51 PM) any1 heard of scope international from standard chartered? got an offer from them as java programmer, advise pls! Avoid at all cost. Its not as good as it seems.
patnam
Apr 28 2014, 05:11 PM

so far currently (not very the best) is ECS ICT BHD, this company do the distribution of IT hardware & software, and it is a listed company in Bursa...
tissuetissue
Apr 29 2014, 11:21 AM
MNC in msia is so large. one company have few K for ppl. surely there is bunch of ppl that is not happy with the company due to the appraisal etc. Impossible everyone get the best rating when appraisal, and those who dont do well when appraisal sure butthurt and whine about their company.
So best company? depend on which bunch of ppl you are talking to. They might define their company as shit when they got bad rating. But purely based on market impression, I would say Accenture, IBM, HP, Dell