Public Bank Loan Officer Using Personal Email, no PB email for new staff?
TSQuickFire
Nov 21 2016, 09:57 PM, updated 10y ago
I got a contact for a Public Bank loan officer through the developer, and the email address used by the loan officer is a personal email address, not an official Public Bank staff email. According to him, new staff who joined for less than 2 years do not get staff email at Public Bank.
Is this true? The contact card looks genuine and it was provided by the developer's sales office, but I find this a bit suspect so I'm asking here. At this day and age I find it hard to believe that a large bank like PB can do this... do they expect people to send sensitive documents to personal gmail and hotmails?
Anyone can verify this?
hanknives
Nov 21 2016, 10:23 PM

u may request to email to his/her boss i think.. not a good idea to email to personal
dannychen
Nov 22 2016, 08:58 PM
i think some time they give their personal email because their company email tend to have file size limitation. so sometime customer scan it in bigger file size which is hard to go through. this is just my assumption.
oxm8
Nov 23 2016, 08:24 PM
QUOTE(dannychen @ Nov 22 2016, 08:58 PM) i think some time they give their personal email because their company email tend to have file size limitation. so sometime customer scan it in bigger file size which is hard to go through. this is just my assumption. Yes it is true. Some banks email size is small. Later they ask u to fax
MEngineer
Nov 27 2016, 08:30 PM
I dealt recently also with PBB for home loan. The branch manager also uses gmail. I sure he is legit because he is still in the branch.
ManutdGiggs
Nov 27 2016, 10:40 PM
All bankers oso asked me to send to their personal email due to file size. Of cos I oso sent to their coy email but it's true tat all bounced back.
It's normal unless we send 1 file per email which I oso tried b4. 1 case oledi sent at least 10x b4 they get all the details needed.
Bank's fault I guess.
RE57
Dec 7 2016, 07:04 PM

get the officer name card. instead send the whole document, put it into dropbox or google drive with links.
moiskyrie
Dec 9 2016, 12:27 AM
hong leong more advance, ask me send the screenshot via whatapps....
Katekoo
Dec 19 2016, 05:18 PM
I am UOB banker. My normal practice is ask the customer send to my personal email and cc to my company email because the file size limitation My email space only up to 500 MB
spreeeee
Dec 29 2016, 05:58 PM
why can't the banks invest on IT? using personal email looks so low standard.. i will feel not confident as a customer..
cwtien
Jan 4 2017, 04:18 PM
Now you know why PB Bank has highest earn/employee. They skimp on IT.....
Ahmad Fikri Bin Mahmood
Jan 4 2017, 04:21 PM

QUOTE(RE57 @ Dec 7 2016, 07:04 PM) get the officer name card. instead send the whole document, put it into dropbox or google drive with links. sometime bank network do not even allow to open both thing in their network environment. end up some of them use personal laptop with broadband or mifi
acupoflemon
Apr 29 2017, 08:01 PM
I noticed some bank officers use both - official email & personal email. However if the officer has only personal mail but not an official one, that is odd. Best to verify with the bank, better safe than sorry.
wild_card_my
Apr 30 2017, 06:05 PM
do you know how small the inbox of these official company emails are? they are like 50MB in size...
most of the time you cant send them any attachments because it would be over the limit of the inbox or the limits of the message itself.
You can ask the banker to email you a confirmation email from his own company email, but deal with him using personal email so that both parties wouldnt have to tear their own hairs