House warming before the wedding. Yay or nay?, House warming

TSDinkyDonk
post Nov 21 2016, 08:34 AM, updated 10y ago

Hi.

My wedding will be in 2 weeks time and the wifey wanted to do a house warming party at our new house a week before the wedding.
As we haven't really move in to the house yet until closer to the wedding day, we've been receiving mixed comments.

Wifey & her family - As the house been left unoccupied for sometime due to renovation, doing a house warming to bring in some warmth and human breathe to the house before the newly wed move in.

My Parents - The house is to be prepared for the wedding, thus should be kept clean and in pristine condition according to chinese tradition. Inviting ppl over for a house warming might risk mess up the house and especially when your guest will be touching n sitting around on the new stuffs which is a nono.

This having me being stuck in between and clueless on which is to follow.

Is there such rules in chinese tradition? which would be the better way to do it?

Really need help or advise on this.......

TQ!
jwrx
post Nov 21 2016, 08:50 AM

515 posts

after the wedding you will be so glad everything is over, you wont bother with the house warming.

have a small good frens and family dinner the nite before, thats how most ppl do it.
cdspins
post Nov 21 2016, 08:54 AM

2,714 posts

unless your house include inviting the whole kampung... else generally it is just less than 50 guest, close friends and relatives...

When the event is over, just hire cleaning service to clean it up the next day
dewill
post Nov 21 2016, 08:54 AM

1,720 posts

anyway, abandon house for sometimes will eventually has invited those spirit to occupy it. better hired those religious people to pray before move in.

might as well, check your bazi whether you are suitable to this house.

0.0127sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:57 PM