Core 2 Duo E6650, E6750, E6800, and E6850

jinaun
post Feb 10 2007, 08:44 AM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

what else do u want.. intel does't want to increase the cache size.. beside that.. bigger cache are slower and more expensive to manufacture
jinaun
post Feb 10 2007, 08:49 AM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

QUOTE(jcliew @ Feb 10 2007, 08:47 AM)
If can i want free processor from Intel brows.gif
Is that true higher cache capacity will slower d processor?
hint...

y do u need 4mb L2 cache.. and not 4MB L1 cache???
jinaun
post Feb 10 2007, 08:53 AM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

QUOTE(jcliew @ Feb 10 2007, 08:51 AM)
Not quiz now lah bro... sweat.gif
actually i'm not expert in processor architecture... sweat.gif
what the function of L1 n L2 n L3 as well???
think of it as waterfall effect.. L1 overflows to L2 overflows to L3 overflows to RAM overflows to HDD
jinaun
post Feb 10 2007, 10:19 AM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

QUOTE(jcliew @ Feb 10 2007, 09:08 AM)
Oh... like this ah? Is that u mean d highest capacity will be at the bottom?
isn't is always like that??

the fastest memory in CPU is called the register..

small & fast cache is nearer to the core while bigger and slower is further..

with the exception of duron.. its second level is half the size of its L1 cache.. coz its exclusive cache

exclusive cache means content of L1 is not duplicated into L2.. eg

if exclusive = 128KB L1 + 256 KB L2 = 384KB effective cache or in the case of duron, its 128KB L1 + 64KB L2 = 192KB effective cache..

if inclusive = 128KB L1 + 256 KB L2 = 256KB effective cache.. of coz.. whatever reside in L1 will still be accessed quicker.

This post has been edited by jinaun: Feb 10 2007, 10:31 AM

0.0161sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:01 PM