105 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

> Military Thread V23

SUSmcnoodle
post Nov 29 2016, 02:06 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(Fat & Fluffy @ Nov 29 2016, 10:54 AM)
prc flex muscles, singkie wag cock.. those think tanks in their ivory tower totally forgot bout realpolitik..
laugh.gif but this f.up may turn out to be a blessing for SG in some other ways.
SUSAxeFire
post Nov 29 2016, 02:08 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(Fat & Fluffy @ Nov 29 2016, 11:43 AM)
inb4 kena kongkek in bootcamp

ASIA Former Indonesian Beauty Queen Wants to Quit the U.S. Army Because She Literally Can’t Even

A former Indonesian beauty queen who chose to serve in the U.S. military last year has announced that she no longer likes it and is now planning to quit and move back to Indonesia.

Kristania Virginia Besouw, Miss Indonesia 2006, surprised her fans in March last year after she posted a photo on social media of herself dressed in army uniform along with other trainees. Just a little over a year, she is now saying she wishes to leave the military soon and return to her hometown of Manado, North Sulawesi.

“I don’t like it, [I] want to resign,” Besouw said in an interview with kompas.com (via the Jakarta Post). “[It’s] tiring to always travel and move. What’s important is I already know how it feels to be a soldier.”

Besouw said she was earlier poised to get promoted to a higher rank. “I was sent to the Noncommissioned Officer Academy to study a basic leader course for a month in September, which allows me to achieve a higher rank,” she said.

After a change of heart, she decided to instead leave the military immediately after her contract expires in October 2018.

“I’ve graduated from it; all I need to do is just meet with the council.”

A native of Manado, the capital city of the North Sulawesi province, Kristania explained that she has longed to visit her family and friends back at home.

“I long to see Manado; I want to eat Manado’s spicy, delicious foods. I also miss my close friends and family,” she said.

After her victory in the Miss Indonesia pageant in 2006, she later represented the country at the Miss World contest in the same year. In 2008, Besouw married a medical doctor who graduated from the Philippines. Following her marriage, Besouw moved to Colby, Kansas, and then got her U.S. citizenship after passing the MAVNI (Military Accessions Vital to National Interest) program for those who study in the U.S. for at least 2 years. She is currently on active duty in Killeen, Texas at the Fort Hood army base as a nurse.

(Visited 463 times, 463 visits today)

http://nextshark.com/former-indonesian-bea...ally-cant-even/
memang bodo

join army to go travel round the world?

lucky you dont come home in a body bag
MilitaryMadness
post Nov 29 2016, 02:15 PM

1,302 posts

QUOTE(AxeFire @ Nov 29 2016, 02:08 PM)
memang bodo
join army to go travel round the world?
lucky you dont come home in a body bag
US military, for all its wars actually don't have that many combat troops though. Out of all the US Army probably only 30% are combat formations. The rest are support and admin troops only and few of these are deployed in active war theatres.
sukhoi35mk
post Nov 29 2016, 02:20 PM

420 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Nov 29 2016, 02:01 PM)
Where got.

8 years is service obligation, but active duty periods vary. Some only serve actively for 2 years only, especially those who go to active combat. The rest of that period you will be put into the Inactive Reserves. The military still have your name on register and can theoretically call you back anytime, but this rarely actually happens.
Everyone who enlists in the United States Military, whether it's for active duty (full time) or National Guard/Reserves (part time) incurs a MINIMUM eight-year service obligation. That's right -- when you sign on the dotted line, you commit yourself for eight years!

Whatever amount of time is not spent on active duty (which is full-time duty) or spent in the Drilling Guard/Reserves (those who drill one weekend per month, and two weeks per year, and are subject to be called to active duty), is spent in the IRR (Individual Ready Reserves).

In the IRR, individuals are not required to drill, nor do they draw any pay, but their names remain on a list and they can be recalled to active duty at any time, until their total eight-year service obligation is complete. In fact, for the war in Iraq and Afghanistan, the Army has already recalled over 5,000 soldiers in the IRR back to active duty (so far, the Army is the only service who has recalled IRR).

For example, let's say you enlist in the Army on a two-year active duty contract. At the end of the two years, you separate from active duty. For the next six years, you are subject to recall to active duty at any time, if the Army feels they need you to help supplement active duty or reserve deployments.

Keeping the above in mind, the Army offers active duty (full-time) enlistment periods from two years to five years (only certain jobs are available for two and three-year enlistees). The Navy will offer a two-year active duty enlistment, but they couple it with a two or four-year active (drilling) Navy Reserve commitment.

The minimum active duty enlistment periods offered by the Air Force, Coast Guard, and Marine Corps is four years.

Active (drilling) Reserve and National Guard enlistments are usually for a minimum of six years (if one wants the education benefits).

All of the services also participate in the Congressionally-mandated National Call to Service Program.

Under this program, a member spends 15 months on active duty (full time), following basic training and job-school, followed by a minimum of 2 years in the active (drilling) Guard or Reserves, with the remainder of the total 8-year commitment in the IRR. However, all the services (except the Army) strictly limit the number of folks who can enlist under this program each year.
Frozen_Sun
post Nov 29 2016, 02:21 PM

41 posts

Kristania Besouw was bashed by Indonesian netizens when the news surfaced about her enlistment. Like what I always said, your homeland is the best for you.
KYPMbangi
post Nov 29 2016, 02:47 PM

39 posts

Pilot killed as CF-18 crashes near Cold Lake

RCAF commander Michael Hood says the pilot died in the accident, which occurred during a routine training mission.

Hood was appearing at a Senate committee when news of the crash broke.

Cold Lake is the site of a major Canadian air force base on the border between Alberta and Saskatchewan.

“Shortly after 11 a.m. Mountain Standard Time, a single-seat CF-188 Hornet from 4 Wing Cold Lake crashed inside the Cold Lake Air Weapons Range in Saskatchewan, not far from the Primrose Lake Evaluation Range,” the military said in a statement.

Emergency services, including 417 Combat Support Squadron, were en route to secure the area of the crash.

The pilot has not yet been identified, pending notification of kin.

[sos]
kerolzarmyfanboy
post Nov 29 2016, 07:47 PM

575 posts

QUOTE(Frozen_Sun @ Nov 29 2016, 02:21 PM)
Kristania Besouw was bashed by Indonesian netizens when the news surfaced about her enlistment. Like what I always said, your homeland is the best for you.
she served as US military personnel there, can she even return to Indo and stay though?

Indonesia allow dual citizenship?

which reminds me, what will happen to your two Indo soldiers who were caught serving as Singapore's NS not too long ago? will be kicked out?
azriel
post Nov 29 2016, 10:08 PM

Nice video of Poland's Leopard 2A5 MBTs of the 34th Armoured Cavalry Brigade.

MilitaryMadness
post Nov 30 2016, 07:15 AM

1,302 posts

Anybody watched last sunday's Op Maritim?

I donno if I dreamt this up, but I could have sworn the RMN landing team featured were wearing PLA camo helmet covers. rclxub.gif
atreyuangel
post Nov 30 2016, 07:48 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Nov 30 2016, 07:15 AM)

I donno if I dreamt this up, but I could have sworn the RMN landing team featured were wearing PLA camo helmet covers. rclxub.gif
they do.

https://www.facebook.com/rentakadef/posts/1723029104575176

SUSGregyong
post Nov 30 2016, 08:29 AM

1,167 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Nov 30 2016, 07:15 AM)

Donasyen is our culture tongue.gif

Attached image(s)
BorneoAlliance
post Nov 30 2016, 08:31 AM

Iran Ready to Allow Russia's Flights From Hamadan Airbase If Needed - Diplomat

TEHRAN (Sputnik) — Sheikholeslam added that "the airbase is fully owned by Iran."

"If Russia has such a need and the issue is agreed with the Russian side, Russia's Aerospace Forces will be able to use the base to carry out their military mission in Syria, but, I stress, under strict control of our armed forces," Sheikholeslam told Sputnik.

"If the situation in Syria requires, then, like last time, we are ready to allow the Russian side again to conduct flights from that airfield and refuel its aircraft," he said.

Sputniknews
BorneoAlliance
post Nov 30 2016, 08:37 AM

The Japanese Army’s Assault Rifle Has Some Weird Features

Such as a separate, three-round burst mechanism

In the late 1980s, the Japanese Ground Self-Defense Force decided to replace its aging 7.62-by-51-millimeter Howa Type 64 battle rifles. The JGSDF selected a lighter, modern assault rifle — the Howa Type 89 — in 1989.

It’s a solid weapon, but one with a few weird features. Its biggest problem, however, is that there aren’t enough copies of it in existence.

The Howa Machinery Company, Ltd. had previously produced the Type 64 and also manufactured a licensed copy of Armalite’s AR-18. The Japanese Defense Agency and Howa developed a series of prototypes during the 1980s — and the JGSDF eventually adopted the HR-16 prototype as the Type 89.

The new rifle represents a vast improvement in ergonomics over the Type 64. It chambers the NATO-standard 5.56-by-45-millimeter round and feeds from a 20- or 30-round magazine. The rifle features a short-stroke gas piston system with a rotating bolt derived from the AR-18.

The Type 89 is significantly handier than the earlier Type 64. It weighs 7.7 pounds and measures 36.1 inches from muzzle to butt. Its fire selector has four positions in an unconventional order — safe, full auto, three-round burst and semi-automatic.

Another unusual feature of the rifle’s fire control group is the inclusion of a separate, three-round burst mechanism.

The Type 89’s gas system is designed to lower the recoil impulse. This extends parts-life and improves the rifle’s handling. The rifle has a stamped receiver combined with forged aluminum parts and polymer furniture.

Like the Type 64, the Type 89 comes with an integrated bipod. The Type 89-F variant has a shorter overall length and a side-folding, variable-length stock.

The Type 89 can be fitted with a canvas cartridge-catcher and a bayonet. It can fire the Type 06 rifle-grenade without additional attachments. It’s possible, with an adapter, to also fit the M203 40-millimeter under-barrel grenade launcher.

The rifle’s top cover has a mounting point for rails in order to attach optics. The JGSDF issues a few unmagnified red-dot optics, and personnel are allowed to purchase their own optics, if they wish.

The JGSDF is currently updating the Type 89 with a quad-rail system as part of Japan’s Advanced Combat Infantry Equipment System program.

War is boring
azriel
post Nov 30 2016, 10:02 AM

An Indonesian Army soldier carrying the Rheinmetall DM11 ammunition of the Leopard 2RI MBT during exercise in Natuna. Credit to Dispenad.

azriel
post Nov 30 2016, 10:46 AM

Polish Leopard 2A5 MBTs of the 34th Armoured Cavalry Brigade live firing.

Zaryl
post Nov 30 2016, 10:52 AM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

QUOTE(BorneoAlliance @ Nov 30 2016, 08:37 AM)
The Japanese Army’s Assault Rifle Has Some Weird Features

Such as a separate, three-round burst mechanism

War is boring
just a quick question:

why assault rifles typically have 30 rounds max? why not 40? why not 50?
Then some got 20 rounds? i mean is that enough for heated battles??

i admire the germans last time in WW2. Their MP40 got 32 rounds, extra 2 round.
azriel
post Nov 30 2016, 10:57 AM

Singapore enhances aerial, maritime surveillance capabilities with 55 m aerostat

Ridzwan Rahmat, Singapore - IHS Jane's Navy International
29 November 2016

The 55 m aerostat will be deployed at the Choa Chu Kang Camp in the western part of Singapore, once it is operationalised. Source: IHS/Ridzwan Rahmat

Key Points

• The Singapore Armed Forces has taken delivery of a 55 m tethered aerostat
• System will enhance the republic's persistent aerial and maritime surveillance capabilities

The Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) has begun local tests of a 55 m tethered aerostat system that was acquired to enhance the republic's continuous airborne radar coverage and maritime surveillance capabilities.

The system, which can detect aerial and seaborne threats at distances of up to 200 km, will be operated by the Republic of Singapore Air Force (RSAF) at the Choa Chu Kang Camp, which is located in the western part of the island.

The aerostat is operated by a ground crew of eight personnel, and has a maximum operating height of 2,000 ft (600 m). The setup comprises a helium-filled airframe, a tether cable made of Kevlar, a mooring station, a high-strength winch system, and a suite of unspecified sensors.

The system, which was originally planned for deployment in 2015, was unveiled in a media event on 29 November in conjunction with a visit by Singapore's defence minister Ng Eng Hen to the aerostat's intended deployment site.

Speaking to reporters on the sidelines of his visit, Ng described the aerostat as a system that has been acquired to overcome the country's lack of suitable high points from which it can deploy suitable radars that can complement the SAF's existing network of ground and aerial sensors.

"All of us recognise that Singapore is a very small island, and that alone makes us very vulnerable to threats either from the air or sea," said Ng, who then cited the 2010 Mumbai terror attacks as an example of what can happen should seaborne adversaries not be detected in time.

"The very fact that we have [the aerostat system] adds another layer of defence, and confidence in terms of what we are able to detect with regards to aerial and maritime threats," he added.

http://www.janes.com/article/65823/singapo...h-55-m-aerostat

SUSdangerminimouse
post Nov 30 2016, 10:59 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Nov 30 2016, 10:52 AM)
just a quick question:

Then the mag for 40 rounds would be too huge to stabilize the gun when fire. Bigger mags are also difficult to carry around.

If I not mistaken la, I am no gun expert.

I have fired an M-16 colt commando, I found most of the weight is in the mag.

This post has been edited by dangerminimouse: Nov 30 2016, 10:59 AM
azriel
post Nov 30 2016, 11:25 AM

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Nov 30 2016, 10:52 AM)
just a quick question:

I think it depends from what type of magazine you are using.

Indonesia’s Naval Special Forces (KOPASKA) were photographed with AR-15/M4 type rifles and Surefire 100 round magazine. This is the first photo I have seen of active duty troops using the Surefire 100 round magazine. The photo was taken during preparations for the 2013 APEC Leaders Summit next month.

I have used this magazine from a fully automatic M4. It works fine, but it is heavy.

http://www.thefirearmblog.com/blog/2013/09...e-100-magazine/

SUSmcnoodle
post Nov 30 2016, 11:33 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(azriel @ Nov 30 2016, 11:25 AM)
Tricky firing with that magazine when prone on the ground. biggrin.gif

105 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » 
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0329sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled