> Military Thread V23

MilitaryMadness
post Feb 7 2017, 02:02 PM

1,302 posts

QUOTE(TechSuper @ Feb 7 2017, 01:52 PM)
they don't have the least idea how expensive military stuff are, except of course green tip m855.
kapal x refit go condemn, kapal refit condemn y so expensive.
kapal x belayar, condemn y kapal tied up alongside, kapal belayar kondem y belayar so much save la a bit running hours for actual stuff, save a bit bajet.
rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Individually they may be cheap, but think about scale. A decent sized battalion of 500-600 men can exhaust around a million rounds of ammo on a single day at the firing range. shocking.gif
SUSKLboy92
post Feb 7 2017, 02:11 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(TechSuper @ Feb 7 2017, 01:52 PM)
they don't have the least idea how expensive military stuff are
Dont you think it would help if every year Mindef posts a proper annual report indicating exactly how much what costs, what is the projected future expenditure for what assets, etc rather than surprising people with requests for money and not revealing how, where, when and why it is used because of "top secret readiness military secret" rolleyes.gif

Typically getting info from Mindef even for veteran reporter like Msiandefence is like squeezng blood from stone... but of course we all know there's lots of good reasons why close public scrutiny of Mindef spending would not be encouraged whistling.gif

This post has been edited by KLboy92: Feb 7 2017, 02:13 PM
TechSuper
post Feb 7 2017, 02:46 PM

QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Feb 7 2017, 02:11 PM)
Dont you think it would help if every year Mindef posts a proper annual report indicating exactly how much what costs, what is the projected future expenditure for what assets, etc rather than surprising people with requests for money and not revealing how, where, when and why it is used because of "top secret readiness military secret" rolleyes.gif

Typically getting info from Mindef even for veteran reporter like Msiandefence is like squeezng blood from stone... but of course we all know there's lots of good reasons why close public scrutiny of Mindef spending would not be encouraged whistling.gif
i'd be glad if i can get the figures too. at least smart spending, not spending buta2 like there's no limit to ur bajet.
i'm all for the betterment of the armed forces, not for the betterment of some pipul's poket. if u get my drift brows.gif brows.gif
periuk_api1209
post Feb 7 2017, 02:47 PM

QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Feb 7 2017, 01:00 PM)
Huh? Google for official SG Mindef publications la, if any
Really? They do put official orbat in google?
malberi8
post Feb 7 2017, 02:54 PM

why some people would like ATM to tell the whole world what their readiness like, how much they spend on equipment, what type of defense equipment that they have in details ...etc, so that they can audit or make price comparison? , ... err from which intel group are you from sir?
SUSKLboy92
post Feb 7 2017, 03:06 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(malberi8 @ Feb 7 2017, 02:54 PM)
why some people would like ATM to tell the whole world what their readiness like, how much they spend on equipment, what type of defense equipment that they have in details ...etc, so that they can audit or make price comparison? , ... err from which intel group are you from sir?
Read further upthread, you will have all the reasons, and examples of reports from other armed forces.

Audit and price comparison is exactly right. Not a system of "gimme all this money, we will spend it for your proteksyen but you cannot know how or why or when or who..."
QUOTE(TechSuper @ Feb 7 2017, 02:46 PM)
i'd be glad if i can get the figures too. at least smart spending, not spending buta2 like there's no limit to ur bajet.
i'm all for the betterment of the armed forces, not for the betterment of some pipul's poket. if u get my drift  brows.gif  brows.gif
Exactly
QUOTE(periuk_api1209 @ Feb 7 2017, 02:47 PM)
Really? They do put official orbat in google?
If you do not google you will never find out brows.gif
periuk_api1209
post Feb 7 2017, 03:13 PM

QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Feb 7 2017, 03:06 PM)
If you do not google you will never find out brows.gif
Already google ..didn't found any..
U seems for sure the SAF orbat can be googled..can u share the page?
MilitaryMadness
post Feb 7 2017, 03:16 PM

1,302 posts

The Internet sure makes a military intelligence officer's work easier nowadays.

If something is not outright open source on the net, at least can act as extra info or comparison to add on traditional sources and methods of intelligence-gathering.

I remember watching the movie 'Clear and Present Danger'. When an unknown bomb destroys the home of a drug lord, The hero (Harrison Ford) had to literally search through mountain of books which takes him all night, while the bad guy just searched on an online database and found it fairly easily.

This post has been edited by MilitaryMadness: Feb 7 2017, 03:32 PM
malberi8
post Feb 7 2017, 03:31 PM

why should the army or govt need to published everything ? so that foreign intel can have a copy of it too? PRU is coming if you do not trust the govt you'll have the chance to vote.. if you are eligible to vote la , some say Sept this year ... but pls dont turn this forum into a political forum, had enough of that shit already la........

lets discuss about military and defense only, politics aside .....

azriel
post Feb 7 2017, 03:35 PM

Every country military expenditures & arms transfers database is in SIPRI website.

https://www.sipri.org/databases/milex

https://www.sipri.org/databases

This post has been edited by azriel: Feb 7 2017, 03:41 PM
SUSKLboy92
post Feb 7 2017, 03:44 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(malberi8 @ Feb 7 2017, 03:31 PM)
why should the army or govt need to published everything ? so that foreign intel can have a copy of it too? PRU is coming if you do not trust the govt you'll have the chance to vote.. if you are eligible to vote la , some say Sept this year ... but pls dont turn this forum into a political forum, had enough of that shit already la........

lets discuss about military and defense only, politics aside .....
Dont politicise everything. Asking for better accountability is not related to politics. JANGAN PERSOAL is a very irresponsible way of running things.

Foreign intel have better ways of getting information. This is not even highly sensitive materials. Other more advanced more combat-experienced armed forces have no trouble publishing it. And it is not time sensitive operational data, it is financial data very relevant to the taxpaying rakyat. Why do we have such big hangups with TOP SECRETZ INFORMASI...?

....unless of course the data demonstrates that Mindef has not been spending money wisely.... whistling.gif
SUSKLboy92
post Feb 7 2017, 03:45 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(periuk_api1209 @ Feb 7 2017, 03:13 PM)
Already google ..didn't found any..
U seems for sure the SAF orbat can be googled..can u share the page?
Later I look.

Why do you say that I say SAF Orbat can be googled? Isn't it you who said it, not me?
Fat & Fluffy
post Feb 7 2017, 03:54 PM

397 posts

http://www.globalsecurity.org/military/wor.../army-orbat.htm
XeonHacker
post Feb 7 2017, 04:02 PM

QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Feb 7 2017, 03:44 PM)
Dont politicise everything. Asking for better accountability is not related to politics. JANGAN PERSOAL is a very irresponsible way of running things.

Foreign intel have better ways of getting information. This is not even highly sensitive materials. Other more advanced more combat-experienced armed forces have no trouble publishing it. And it is not time sensitive operational data, it is financial data very relevant to the taxpaying rakyat. Why do we have such big hangups with TOP SECRETZ INFORMASI...?

....unless of course the data demonstrates that Mindef has not been spending money wisely.... whistling.gif
You are spot on.

Foreign intelligence analysis the amount of time your vessels are ported to determine your operation readiness

The work quality of these imagery analysis done by these agencies would scare the sh.it out of you

There is nothing u can hide from the prying eye of big brother

Official secrets my ass.

azriel
post Feb 7 2017, 04:08 PM

Royal Thai Navy new DSME DW3000 Frigate. Credit to original uploader.

http://thaidefense-news.blogspot.co.id/2017/01/daegu.html
periuk_api1209
post Feb 7 2017, 05:42 PM

QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Feb 7 2017, 03:45 PM)
Later I look.

Why do you say that I say SAF Orbat can be googled? Isn't it you who said it, not me?
Huh? No..i ask for SAF orbat but u said it can be googled by referring to DDG post and ask me to google it myself..
periuk_api1209
post Feb 7 2017, 05:45 PM

QUOTE(Fat & Fluffy @ Feb 7 2017, 03:54 PM)
We talking about official Orbat bro..coming out from SAF itself...
SUSKLboy92
post Feb 7 2017, 05:55 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(periuk_api1209 @ Feb 7 2017, 05:42 PM)
Huh? No..i ask for SAF orbat but u said it can be googled by referring to DDG post and ask me to google it myself..
Yeah so google yourself lah
I didnt give guarantee can find
QUOTE(DDG Ross @ Feb 7 2017, 04:30 AM)
youre just too lazy to google it arent you  laugh.gif
QUOTE(DDG Ross @ Feb 7 2017, 04:51 AM)
well there you go the power of googling is just at the tip for yer fingers  notworthy.gif
QUOTE(KLboy 92 @ Feb 7 2017, 08:22 AM)
laugh.gif laugh.gif
As DDG say... google kan ada wink.gif
pcboss00
post Feb 7 2017, 05:56 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(azriel @ Feb 7 2017, 04:08 PM)
Royal Thai Navy new DSME DW3000 Frigate. Credit to original uploader.

http://thaidefense-news.blogspot.co.id/2017/01/daegu.html
it's looked different than what they render before. That funnel doesn't exist in any picture and model previously.
DDG_Ross
post Feb 7 2017, 06:06 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Feb 7 2017, 03:44 PM)

not sure why everyone hear like dunno there is a national auditing board thats audits the management and expenditure of every existing gomen branch and published their findings in their annual report

yes they even also audit the accountability of the security forces like atm and pulis and their annual publication is a very interesting read though they have only summarize version of it cuz its like a big bible ady

latest 2015 audit report on mindef/atm
http://jan101.audit.gov.my/index.php?modlo...002&id=390#p=70

This post has been edited by DDG_Ross: Feb 7 2017, 06:06 PM

105 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » 
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic