Sega & EA to release 1080p XBox 360 games, in 11 days time!!

TSg5sim
post Feb 9 2007, 03:23 AM, updated 19y ago

5,756 posts

Sega is releasing Virtua Tennis 3 XBox 360 in 1080p. EA will be releasing NBA Street Homecourt also in 1080p. On DVD! Are there any PS3 1080p games out there?

http://arstechnica.com/journals/thumbs.ars/2007/2/8/6956

----------------------------------------------------------------

1080p is the resolution of the gods. Promised by Sony, attainable by few displays, and argued about all over the Internet, 1080p is something that doesn't affect many television owners while remaining a major sticking point in the current console wars. Microsoft gave the 360 the ability to run games in 1080p in the October firmware update, and frankly I never thought we'd see many games support it. Then of course Sega announced that Virtua Tennis would support 1080p on the 360, and now EA is on the bandwagon, saying that its game is also going to support the hallowed resolution:

Following yesterday's news that Sega's March 20 release of Virtua Tennis 3 would herald the first Xbox 360 game to feature native 1080p support, a representative from Electronic Arts has revealed to Gamasutra that its upcoming NBA Street Homecourt, shipping a month earlier on February 20, will also support the high end resolution on Xbox 360...

The fourth game in the EA's fast action basketball series, and the first for a next-gen console, NBA Street Homecourt will support multiple resolutions, including 16:9 1080p at 30fps, according to further information from EA representatives.

So there you go. Now we have two games coming out for the 360 that will support 1080p as a resolution. My question would be-outside of the hardcore console fans and bleeding edge consumers-do people really care about 1080p? Does your television support it? My television runs at 720p natively, so this is all academic to me. I like games to be playbe at 1080p, but it's not that much of a sticking point for me. Does it influence your buying decisions? Will you be more likely to buy a game with more titles that run in "True HD?"

TSg5sim
post Feb 9 2007, 03:40 AM

5,756 posts

oh i didnt know .. not much of a PS3 fan ... its still fun to see 1080p games on dvd instead of the Blu-ray's 50GB storage disks though tongue.gif
TSg5sim
post Feb 9 2007, 03:47 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 9 2007, 03:45 AM)
Onward with the defense brigade! The house is still burning down though! Careful it's shamefully hot! laugh.gif

I could go on XNA, be an independent dev. and develop my version of Table Tennis/Pong with the XNA license and develop it at 1080p native, and release it on DVDs for 360. Would that make me your hero? laugh.gif It's fun isnt it? God, i have tears rolling down my cheeks now! laugh.gif
good that my posts are cheering people up
TSg5sim
post Feb 9 2007, 04:08 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 9 2007, 03:53 AM)
Well if you cant put out the fire, deflect the fire! laugh.gif Put on your firemen suit yet, it's 5000 degrees out there! laugh.gif
i am not trained in fire fighting.
TSg5sim
post Feb 9 2007, 04:13 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(ikanayam @ Feb 9 2007, 04:09 AM)
I didn't even realize there was a fire. Calm down. I was only agreeing with what you said.
Sony instilled siege mentality is working on its loyal consumers smile.gif .
TSg5sim
post Feb 9 2007, 04:16 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 9 2007, 04:13 AM)
Is there a feature in LYN forums that you can SAVE a thread for later references? I'd PAY Se7en RM100 on the spot for that feature right now! laugh.gif
Please contact the forum admin for that.
TSg5sim
post Feb 9 2007, 04:19 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 9 2007, 04:18 AM)
I think i will, in the mean time, this thread is immortalized......not for the reasons one can be proud of, mind you. laugh.gif
okay .. smile.gif ..
TSg5sim
post Feb 9 2007, 04:54 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 9 2007, 04:22 AM)
And oh, no hard feelings yeah, dont shoot the messenger. wink.gif laugh.gif
nope - this is a forum.
TSg5sim
post Feb 9 2007, 05:23 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 9 2007, 04:56 AM)
Glad we had that out of our system. Out of my system too, i never had laughed that hard my entire life! laugh.gif
glad to hear that smile.gif
TSg5sim
post Feb 10 2007, 03:08 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 9 2007, 01:52 PM)
Our threadstarter was getting overzealous about his crusade to downplay Bluray, and apparently an article caught his eye. An article about how 1080p games are now available for Xbox 360, and cheekily(or rather stupidly) asking if there are 1080p games on Bluray/PS3. Little did he know that the PS3 has been doing that since DAY 1 for games like Ridge Racer 7! The rest are his futile attempt at dousing the flames of his own homemade fire. Simply put, PWNED! laugh.gif

He simply thinks that the same rules on movies (1080p on Bluray/HD-DVD) also applies when it comes to console games. Little that he know that 1080p on consoles has nothing to do with storage media, be it DVD, Bluray or HD-DVD, but it is a function of what the console can output. So,  his stupid attempt to downplay Bluray this way, quickly and immediately , brought him this "virtual shame". laugh.gif This only way out of this was to try and make do with what he can and make light out of the situation by turning it into a comedy of sorts. Which does not negate the fact that his overzealousness to downplay and make Bluray look bad, had instead made him look like an idiot himself! laugh.gif

I think that sums it up pretty nicely. icon_rolleyes.gif
Idiocy and stupidity are blessings in disguise!

dun worry people .. i dont mind. nod.gif

This post has been edited by g5sim: Feb 10 2007, 03:11 AM
TSg5sim
post Feb 11 2007, 02:05 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Feb 10 2007, 05:08 PM)
on your screen?
notice any difference? tongue.gif

dont tell me sony added HDMI to the ps3,when there is little to no difference to the overall quality? sweat.gif
its good when it comes to marketing against the HDMIless XBox 360 .. see the reason now?
TSg5sim
post Feb 11 2007, 02:41 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Feb 11 2007, 02:34 AM)
surely it must have a purpose* other than to make the ps3 seem more "HD"

*as explained by string above
HDMI is not just about Image Quality (IQ), it is also about ease of installation, HMDI carries both the audio and video data through a single connection, so you dont have maggi-mee-like setup, with component wires running to your TV and optical cable running to your receiver, a single HDMI cable does that neatly.

so do all display with HDMI let consumers channel both picture and audio via a HDMI cable ?

and one EXTREMELY STUPID question. Why would consumers who are rich enough to get PS3 channel their 5.1-7.1 LOSSLESS PCM soundtracks to their display speakers sweat.gif sweat.gif ?

now you know why HDMI is added to PS3 ? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by g5sim: Feb 11 2007, 02:43 AM
TSg5sim
post Feb 11 2007, 02:48 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Feb 11 2007, 02:44 AM)
you assume that everyone who can afford a ps3 can afford a bravia x.
which is wrong.

just because you can afford a ps3 (which is only RM3000 at MOST) doesnt mean you can afford a RM50K TV SET! doh.gif
i meant .. as String put it, HDMI is included in PS3 to make it convenient for people to channel both Sound and Picture in one cable. My question was, why channel the next generation lossless 5.1 soundtrack in Blu-ray to 2.0 20RMS watt built in speakers on display sets. it doesnt make sense is it. So the intention of the inclusion of the HDMI is not for the convenience of Audio/Video in one cable. There must be other intention for that tongue.gif
TSg5sim
post Feb 11 2007, 06:51 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Feb 11 2007, 05:31 AM)
duh! u can pass-thru the hdmi cable thru an audio receiver/decoder with hdmi then to the TV.  doh.gif
so PS3 -(HDMI A/V)- receiver----- TV. A HDMI receiver nevertheless .. How do one do that, all this while --- i see one input for one source. Can some please enlighten us on displays/receivers that are capable to separating the audio/video source from one input simultanously and output the audio/video separately ?
TSg5sim
post Feb 12 2007, 05:42 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(tnsai @ Feb 11 2007, 06:13 PM)
actually if he cannot see how audio and video are output separately from a hdmi cable... then i think he fails to understand how any audio/video equipment will work.. so by your understanding, you think that the LCD panel of the tv is also the speaker?
yes .. buy PS3 ... buy a receiver with HDMI to get the video/audio separated. Without the Receiver.

Added on February 12, 2007, 5:44 am
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 11 2007, 03:43 PM)
WTF! You call yourself an AV enthusiast and you dont even know about HDMI passthrough? Get out more, visit more AV stores and look at their offerings, rather than spewing your HDDVD prophetic agenda , holding faith blindly on things you hardly have any grasp on. Can this joke character get any more pathetic? There is no big enough ROLLEYES emoticon for you, buddy.  doh.gif
you are saying consumers have to buy a HDMI receiver just to for their PS3. What else that consumers need to purchase to enjoy the full potential of PS3. A 1080p display, a HDMI receiver .. both are produced by Sony ..

This post has been edited by g5sim: Feb 12 2007, 05:44 AM
TSg5sim
post Feb 12 2007, 11:28 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 12 2007, 05:57 AM)
For the record, quite a few of us here, especially those who had come to the HDDVD/Bluray playtest have witness both formats firsthand, and able to articulate and opiniate ourselves which format we prefer. Believe it or not, a lot of us prefer the interactivity aspect of HDDVD, but a lot liked Bluray for its own strengths as well. That was what the consensus at that playtest. I BELIEVE YOU, G5SIM ARE ONLY SPEWING YOUR PREACHINGS HERE WITHOUT EVEN HAVING WITNESSED BOTH FORMATS IN ACTION, BUT RATHER GOING ON CONJECTURES AND PERSONAL BIAS. That alone, says a lot about your standings in all this.
believe what you want -- i believe there is a guy with slight long hair and wearing glasses at MediaPlex. Serenity looked good on Toshiba displays. Oh mediaplex is not the only one that has blu-ray player - actually their BD player is not the console as MediaPlex is displaying ... And oh the Pioneer Elite BD player looked AWESOME on its own Plasma display biggrin.gif

Added on February 12, 2007, 11:35 am
QUOTE(tnsai @ Feb 12 2007, 09:06 AM)
I am sorry but isn't that how all equipment handle audio? I mean if you want to get 5.1 sound out of the 360 you can't very well use the two redandwhite composite cables right?

u'd need to run the optical cable out to the 5.1 amplifier and it will do the 5.1 channel sound FROM a single cable for you right?

samething for HDMI.. just that this cable has a higher bandwidth.. and it can carry video and audio out..

HDMI signal(audio video)---> receiver --- 1) Video to TV
                                                            2) audio to whatever

and how is it different to current systems?

Component    -----> receiver ----> 1) Video to TV
Optical Cable                                2) audio to whatever
quite simply though PS3 has the option to output via OTHER audio channels.. you can configure it in the options to output via optical
is that what you are complaining about?
almost hundred 100% receivers can accept Optical toslink or coaxial ... you dont need to buy a HDMI receiver to use it. BtW that is not the point - PS3 also has toslink output -- the point is HDMI is merely a marketing point over the HDMIless XBox 360. The point was deliberately taken out of context by some posters. They claimed that the inclusion of the inclusion of HDMI is for convenient of having 2+1 signals in one cable. I said to get that, consumers would have to fork out few more grand to get a HDMI receiver. No spin can change that fact nod.gif

This post has been edited by g5sim: Feb 12 2007, 11:35 AM

0.0199sec    1.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:10 AM