Mountain Biking V33, less yappin' more brappin'

jejari7
post Apr 15 2017, 05:26 PM

385 posts

Hi guys,

Im a newbie. I plan to buy an mtb with 3.5k budget. I went to lbs just now and saw some polygon, specialized and trs bikes. What do you think of these models:
1. Polygon siskiu 7 29er - rockshox recon silver, shimano deore/xt mix etc http://www.polygonbikes.com/ww/bikes/descr...2017-siskiu29-7
2. TRS Missile 27.5 - carbon body, Cross SID air fork. etc
https://www.mhcycle.com/trs-missle-275

Both are hardtails and price just below 3.5k.
jejari7
post Apr 15 2017, 08:25 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 15 2017, 05:52 PM)
polygon ok
trs meh
Thanks bro. I thought the trs carbon frame is nice n cheap.

jejari7
post Apr 19 2017, 02:54 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(KoNa7 @ Apr 19 2017, 12:20 AM)
add 1k more get merida big nine gx, full gx n reba forks, very good value and if sell second hand also got value
Yup. As suggested by a lbs yesterday. But no stock everywhere. Need to preorder.
jejari7
post Jun 1 2017, 01:52 AM

385 posts

Hi guys.
Initially i plan to buy polygon siskiu 7 too. Frame not so bad, good specs with the price and hv many authorized dealers around. Suddenly found this ghost tacana 5 and bought it because of the color. Lol. Not bad but the forks are quite stiff. Havent tried off road yet.
jejari7
post Jun 1 2017, 03:35 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Jun 1 2017, 07:37 AM)
adjust the fork air pressure to suit ur weight
Already adjusted during fitting at the bike shop. Is the shock pump a must have tools?

QUOTE(shadow111 @ Jun 1 2017, 08:19 AM)
wow.. the colour so striking...
nice..  thumbup.gif

how much isit?
Yea man. 😁 Price a bit higher than polygon siskiu 7. RM 3800 with some discounts.

QUOTE(croomaniac @ Jun 1 2017, 09:37 AM)
smartt  thumbup.gif

once the forks has been adjusted to your weight (and preference), this bike should rock the trails.. nice buy!
I think after raya only can do offroads. Now every night i go kayuh for 30-60mins just to build up some stamina. Thanks!
jejari7
post Jun 1 2017, 07:14 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(shadow111 @ Jun 1 2017, 03:49 PM)
RM3.8k still ok.. my siskiu29 7 also RM3.5k before GST..
Wow. I thought rm3400 can get siskiu 7 already. Damn gst.

QUOTE(thurtin @ Jun 1 2017, 03:54 PM)
New Santa Cruz Nomad. 170mm front and rear travel. V10 linkage design.

Honestly, am not feeling this bike. It's surely a very fast bike, but it just look weird and awkward to me. Colour options also quite meh.
Looks nice to me. 😍

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 1 2017, 04:01 PM)
I got this spare pedal to let go. Brand new. Its blue color and I am using the black color.  Good lightweight pedal with great grip.  Bought it because I thought my pedal got squeaking sound, but turn out to be BB problem so trying to let go.

RM50

364g

Raceface chester copy?

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Jun 1 2017, 05:29 PM)
dunno how that shop did it. but how u sit/stand on the bike whilst setting the sag, greatly affects the final pressure.
shock pump, must have if u like to play with the setup, test, and adjust again. if u just set and forget, no need la.
Ok thanks for the advice. I think i'll buy the shock pump and play around with the setup.
jejari7
post Jun 2 2017, 11:48 AM

385 posts

I wonder are those cheap sea sucker style rack (with the suction cups) reliable?
jejari7
post Jun 2 2017, 04:07 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(thurtin @ Jun 2 2017, 12:49 PM)
Yes. My friend using the local copy sea sucker. Can't remember the name. So far so good. He even goes more than 120kmh on the highway with it. Lol.
Its very cheap. Hope it can hold well at 150kmh-ish on the highway. I'm always commuting between kemaman-kuantan-kl every week.
jejari7
post Jun 9 2017, 03:18 PM

385 posts

If your light produce true 1000lumen i think it is more than enough. It is damn bright already. If 8000lm, i think even batman in gotham city can see the light. I know because i have a 1000lm camping headlight. i rarely used the high setting because its so bright that i might hurts my friends eyes. 450lm is adequate enough.

IMO, what @thurtin did is the best way. Use a handlebar light and a headlight mount on the helmet.

P/s: Chill. When puasa perut kosong can easily get emo or angry. Patience is virtue. No need to tampar ppl one. Hihi. Peace..!

This post has been edited by jejari7: Jun 9 2017, 03:24 PM
jejari7
post Oct 23 2017, 08:08 AM

385 posts

QUOTE(kilazilla @ Sep 22 2017, 02:59 PM)
Hi, any recommendation for bike cleaner/degreaser? Apart from muc off, what are other cheaper alternatives yea which is equally effective?
Buy a bottle of GLO lemon (the liquid dishwashing soap) and mix 50/50 with water in a sprayer bottle. I'm using this and it works just like the branded ones.
jejari7
post Oct 23 2017, 12:14 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(aquilaTE @ Oct 23 2017, 11:21 AM)
Won't it be a little harsh for the bike's surface?
Nope. I don't think so. Dishwashing liquid is softer than detergent and safe on bike paint.

0.0437sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 08:36 AM