Financial MRTA vs MLTA vs Term Plus..., whatever they call it
Dannyl
Jun 1 2011, 04:58 PM
Actually, don't need to buy MRTA for the same number of years as your loan tenure. Just ask yourself, how long will you be holding this property? 5 years? 20 years? 40 years? Most people move to another property sooner or later. I guess a safe bet is 10-20 years. If you are worried about your lack of protection later, just buy some life insurance + TPD + CI. BTW MRTA doesn't cover CI, so if you get cancer, you don't get paid until you are disabled or die. Maybe there are exceptions.
Dannyl
Jun 8 2011, 11:16 AM
QUOTE(wtm0325 @ Jun 8 2011, 09:33 AM) Guys, My PBB loan (RM225k BLR-2.3% 35yrs tenure) compulsory with MRTA (at least 5 yrs) starting RM1695. Loan officer recommend MLTA from Hong Leong (RM2175.55/yr), breakeven 14 yrs to surrender. This unit for own stay, planning to finish loan ard 15yrs (loan tenure 35yrs). Shall I: 1) Buy 15yrs MRTA? OR 2) Buy MLTA now? OR 3) Buy MLTA 5yrs later (after MRTA expired)? I would say either (2) or (3). If you already have existing comfortable insurance coverage, can choose (3). (1) will be a loss if you re-finance within 5 years. BTW, why take PBB? If take a bank without compulsory MRTA, you have simpler choice.
Dannyl
Jun 9 2011, 03:11 PM
QUOTE(wtm0325 @ Jun 8 2011, 03:49 PM) Thanks Danny for the reply Becoz I only got 2 choices, a) BLR -2.3% with MRTA 5yrs RM1695, or b) BLR -2.0% without MRTA. Public Bank is just belakang my shop, I'll give credit to them unless the other banks rate is very significant and worth the hassles. Any good MLTA to recommend? I've applied for a loan with a few banks recently. OCBC and HLB gave the best rates (BLR-2.4%, 3 years lock-in, max 70 years), CIMB and AmBank don't seem competitive enough. HSBC also good but shorter tenure (max 65 years). Apply with more banks lah. With flexi loan, you just put some money in the current account and it will auto-deduct the monthly payments, which is convenient. For MLTA, just buy some insurance with your favourite agent