Sony Sony Xperia XZ -- Discussion V2, The Best Camera Technology on Smartphone

i_bony
post Nov 10 2016, 02:09 PM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(i_bony @ Nov 10 2016, 01:52 PM)
this one also has been adjusted.

brightness around 30%, adaptive brightness on, smart backlight off, image enhancement super vivid mode, sometimes off.

day usually start at 6.45-7am. reach office by 7.30am, battery already down to 97%. not even checking the time.

cry.gif  cry.gif

or should i try to repair using the companion?
continue from the last thread. hahaha.

So should i sent out for warranty or repair using the Xperia Companion first?
i_bony
post Nov 11 2016, 02:36 PM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Nov 11 2016, 09:19 AM)
try repair using PC Companion first. back up important data first to prevent loss.
will do. i'll update once i have repaired using PC companion.

are you guys using stamina all the way? or only when the battery are low?
i_bony
post Nov 15 2016, 08:15 AM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Nov 11 2016, 09:19 AM)
try repair using PC Companion first. back up important data first to prevent loss.
so just done software repair via PC Companion.
i think it's a bit better compare to before.

got SOT for 4 hours and still have 30% left.
with the same settings as before.
i_bony
post Nov 16 2016, 08:34 AM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(kinowerty @ Nov 15 2016, 12:25 PM)
Did you managed to find out what could have been the cause of the issue
i'm not quite sure. but was thinking to send the phone to service center later.
are you also having an issues with the battery?

QUOTE(^4ever_Fan+a5y^ @ Nov 15 2016, 05:36 PM)
Do everyone here having the double tap to work problem whereby the double tap to wake doesnt work properly, or just few of us? you have to tap multiple time to wake the display and some time it doesnt work at all.

I saw there is a person from XDA Forum (post #5)had the same problems and the problems totally gone after he/she replaced with a new unit. Now i am wondering if this is software or hardware problem.. Will send to sony centre to ask about it when i'm free.
i am having this problem too. but not sure can get new unit or not if send to sony.
i_bony
post Nov 16 2016, 02:53 PM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(kinowerty @ Nov 16 2016, 12:54 PM)
I don't but I want to put it in Found Issue section. Let me know if you happen to know what could be the issue. Thanks
sure. will try to find out what's the issue. smile.gif

QUOTE(^4ever_Fan+a5y^ @ Nov 16 2016, 01:41 PM)
Can u please ask them about the double tap issue also if u visiting the service center later? and update here  tongue.gif
haha alright. but i'm not sure when i'll be going. need to find backup phone first. tongue.gif
i_bony
post Dec 6 2016, 12:07 PM

1,298 posts

did you guys format the phone before/after update to Nougat?
or just leave it as it is?
i_bony
post Dec 8 2016, 07:50 AM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(ckchan @ Dec 6 2016, 12:49 PM)
Usually I will format after upgrade but not this time. Everything seems to be working fine and smooth on my phone after the upgrade
QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Dec 7 2016, 09:20 PM)
I leave it as it is. I will only hard reset the phone at Android 8.0
so how was the battery so far?
do you guys on the location service?
Did you guys use the stamina mode?

just updated mine yesterday, without formatting.
the SOT are now 15 mins at 86%. sad.gif

This post has been edited by i_bony: Dec 8 2016, 08:22 AM
i_bony
post Dec 8 2016, 09:33 AM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(ckchan @ Dec 8 2016, 09:13 AM)
I on location service and stamina mode only kicks in at 15%battery. If you encounter any weird behavior after update then better to format your phone
alright. i'll try for few days first.
if it's still the same i'll format my phone.

thanks man. thumbsup.gif
i_bony
post Dec 14 2016, 02:18 PM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Dec 9 2016, 10:26 AM)
i turned on everything and it lasts me nearly full day with 2 hours SoT and 40% left.
i never used STAMINA mode since Marshmallow as the STAMINA mode is broken by Google's Doze mode and battery saving T&C.

BTW, should we rejoice?

http://www.xperiablog.net/2016/12/08/sony-...outside-google/
so after a week updated to Nougat, the battery are improving over time.
without any phone formatting, i just simply reset the app preferences after the update.

at least that's what i found on the Google. haha. biggrin.gif

so now currently got average of 4-5 hours SoT.
i_bony
post Jul 13 2017, 03:47 PM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(wc_how @ Jul 12 2017, 08:59 PM)
Thinking to downgrade to 6.0, if next update do not fix this.
My z3, top record 50 days without restart. Current need restart every 1-3 days, if not will very lag for multitasking.
i've noticed this as well. I'm using z3 too before change to xz.

Currently my phone are lag, just opened fb whatsapp & chrome only.

Hopefully the new update fix this issues.
i_bony
post Jul 13 2017, 06:27 PM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Jul 13 2017, 05:12 PM)
What is everyone's average ram usage? Check under Settings > Device > Storage & memory > Advance > Memory.

My is a 2.4GB out of the total memory 2.7GB.

[attachmentid=8962978][attachmentid=8963009]
Mine is 2.3gb.
i_bony
post Jul 17 2017, 11:12 AM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(wc_how @ Jul 17 2017, 09:43 AM)
After reading tonnes of forums & comments, i guess i found the culprit of the lagging / high ram usage. It caused by the google assistant (OK google). I disabled it and quickly release a lot of ram (2.5 > 2.1). The responsive of switching apps is back.
Will test further for next few days and see how is it.
how do i disable the apps? as i can't find it in the apps setting.
i_bony
post Jul 18 2017, 07:44 AM

1,298 posts

Already turned off the Google apps, phone got smooth only for a few hours.
Can't last for a day.

Now i need to restart my phone for every few hours. sad.gif
i_bony
post Jul 18 2017, 12:23 PM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(wc_how @ Jul 18 2017, 07:58 AM)
Same. My phone super lag again after 12 hours. Turn off Google app just slower the memory consuming, the main culprit still probably is memory leak.
When the time super lag, i check the ram usage again. It has 0 free ram, and system won't release free ram again.
I restart the phone, and system slowly release the ram. Around 10mb ram per secs, until the usage drop to 1.7gb ram again. Phone is super smooth again, and the ram is slowly go up again.

During the event of super lag.

I have no idea what else i can do to overcome this problem.

rclxub.gif

QUOTE(Hexlord @ Jul 18 2017, 11:49 AM)
Oh yeah guys, any recommendation for tempered glass protection for the XZ/XZs that can be obtained locally?

I passed by Lowyat recently but the 'official' Sony ones look pretty meh to me.
i bought mine from Lazada, rm25 if i'm not mistaken. pretty decent for me.
Blue color curved tempered glass.

This post has been edited by i_bony: Jul 18 2017, 12:23 PM
i_bony
post Jul 18 2017, 03:26 PM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(Hexlord @ Jul 18 2017, 12:50 PM)
Around... 80-90+ ringgit :v and it felt flimsy when applied to one of their demo units.
Thanks bro. Complete coverage ke?
what do you mean by complete coverage?

the tempered glass only for the screen. dekat belakang tak bagi sekali. smile.gif

you can see it here.

https://www.lazada.com.my/miimall-3d-curved...ails.0.0.DgxqBs
i_bony
post Jul 19 2017, 09:17 AM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(Hexlord @ Jul 18 2017, 04:57 PM)
That's considered as a complete coverage. Are you using this currently? Is the touch and feel of the glass similar to the main glass on the phone?
aah, okay.

Yes i am using it currently. For me the touch and feel similar.
It's smooth so far.

QUOTE(delsoo @ Jul 18 2017, 05:32 PM)
the screen part gt glue or not ? Or the edges gt glue only ? I bought one for my xzs  , 3d coverage fully transparent one , but the glue isnt strong enough( the glue is on the edges only )  . i noticed the SP is lifted abit now , not even reach 1 week  cry.gif
I notice that the screen part and the edges got glue also.
But really need to apply correctly.

Last time i did not notice, the water came through the SP. biggrin.gif
i_bony
post Jul 19 2017, 10:03 AM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Jul 19 2017, 09:57 AM)
Can you check again ? haha the screen part and the edges gt glue ? Coz i bought a cheap 3d coverage SP for my xzs , i found that the touch screen is not responsive enough and gt halo effect because the screen part dont have glue . If this SP has glue all over the screen , then i would like to buy one for my phone .  biggrin.gif
yeap got glue. both on the sides, and the screen part (at the sony logo there, and the speaker below).

Just check. i need to buy a new one too. mine already teruk masuk air + dusts.

For me the screen are responsive. You don't have to really touch harder for tap to wake up.
i_bony
post Jul 19 2017, 11:20 AM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Jul 19 2017, 10:10 AM)
ok , thx for the info  How long did you receive the item upon order the item ? I think i will get one for my xzs . Btw , my xzs has no tap to wake up function .  biggrin.gif
i received it 2 or 3 days after placing the order.

Depends on their stock too i think.

Didn't know xzs has no tap to wake up function. hmm.gif
i_bony
post Jul 20 2017, 08:08 AM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Jul 19 2017, 09:33 PM)
I have found that the finger print sensor is not so accurate . When i tried to register for new finger , i kept encountered a msg that 'your finger maybe damp....' , then i was asked to clean the sensor and finger and try it again . Is this the common problem for phone with fingerprint sensor ? Sorry , this is my first phone with fingerprint sensor .
i haven't got any issues or problems with the finger print sensor so far.

Btw, my XZ are currently running a bit smooth, without a restart for 3 days now.
Not sure what happened, just only off the google apps that day.

Only lags when open fb apps to watch videos.
i_bony
post Jul 20 2017, 09:34 AM

1,298 posts

i encounter the lag usually after only medium multitasking, switching apps between fb and whatsapp only. when i press home also it seems like the UI are restarting.

0.0499sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:22 PM