Sony-Ericsson Sony Ericsson W880 - 3G 9.5mm(Slim....), It is HERE NOW!!!

xpresside
post Mar 8 2007, 12:32 AM

1,982 posts

my thumb hurts from sms'ing using the keypad ><
xpresside
post Mar 8 2007, 09:48 AM

1,982 posts

any new firmware for this fon? it's quite laggy to my liking while smsing, the letter change quite slow sleep.gif
xpresside
post Mar 8 2007, 10:17 AM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Mar 8 2007, 10:11 AM)
oh? got ur W880i redy??
yup from renee yesterday
xpresside
post Mar 8 2007, 10:47 AM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Mar 8 2007, 10:20 AM)
wow....congrats !! eh...write some review here  biggrin.gif
Hm..review ar
what to say, this is my first SE phone, last time i only use nokia and nec flip fon.
this fon is extremely light, if u put in pocket, u wont feel a thing, the build is solid.

for a camera that has no AF,IS,Flash, the quality is quite good, ofcoz when lighting is not a problem. ofcourse i dont use this fon for the camera, its a walkman fon, cant compare it with the K series.
can only use back camera to take pics, cant use front camera sleep.gif" its only for video calls.

the speaker sound quality is kinda upsetting, only 1 small hole for the speaker, ofcoz i said this coz i change from n73 the speaker is crazy. but it's a totally different feeling when u plug in the earphones. sound quality is great especially with megabass tongue.gif
the stereo widening can only be felt when u plug in the earphones, if not really cant tell the difference.
Music management abit like n73 ME la but i dunno how to make the animated visualization to become full screen, now its so small sleep.gif"

for sms'ing , i guess i need to be more familiarize since the "space" button is different from nokia, at the moment i still need more time to adjust my hands when typing. right now its a pain, and my thumb can get abit numb after replying 5-10 smses.

the thing that i feel awkward is the response time when u press the button to change the letters, feels lagging compared to n73, dunno if this happens to only my fon, or the w880i or the overall SE fon.

picture below taken by w880i smile.gif

xpresside
post Mar 25 2007, 12:00 PM

1,982 posts

w880i supports avrcp ??
xpresside
post Mar 26 2007, 01:27 PM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(xpresside @ Mar 25 2007, 12:00 PM)
w880i supports avrcp ??
noone knows?
xpresside
post Mar 26 2007, 10:38 PM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Mar 26 2007, 04:34 PM)
ur refering to this rite..?

AVRCP (Audio Video Remote Control Profile)

w880 supports avrcp..
how come i bought itech r35 i press next/previous/play/pause nothing happen also, i can only turn up/down the volume.
i should juz go back to the shop and ask for replacement hmm.gif
xpresside
post Mar 27 2007, 09:52 AM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Mar 27 2007, 08:20 AM)
its iTech R35 compability issue with SE phone, also happened to W850i, K800, K618 etc.

I use Moto HT-820, SE HBM-DS970 no problem at all with all functions. wink.gif
thx for the info
xpresside
post Mar 31 2007, 11:22 PM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Mar 31 2007, 05:04 PM)
dunno lor.. some people still buy this phone dunno for wut lor.. show? use?.. not sure.. tats y i need people using w880 tell me why u buy a w880..
different ppl, different taste, kk, try to understand
xpresside
post Apr 1 2007, 11:02 AM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Apr 1 2007, 08:18 AM)
yea.. i know tat different people have different taste.. juz wanna know why they will prefer w880.. wut in w880 attracts tehm to buy it?
slim,3g
long battery life

Added on April 1, 2007, 11:03 am
QUOTE(BooMer86 @ Apr 1 2007, 11:01 AM)
mayb bcos the model name, w880 (for chinese 8 is a good number)\
next time shud have W888i
w888 already got, china market with no 3g

This post has been edited by xpresside: Apr 1 2007, 11:03 AM
xpresside
post Apr 7 2007, 03:15 PM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(NickX04 @ Apr 5 2007, 04:06 PM)
wah w880i come out jor but the camera really no AF right?
u want AF get the K series la, this is W not meant for camera, the 2mp camera is just really for bonus, not like w950 no camera at all
xpresside
post Apr 8 2007, 10:23 AM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Apr 7 2007, 03:49 PM)
if wan AF function w810 and w610 also got.. cheaper somemore..
yeah but those phones are not slim and not 3g, its all trade off rolleyes.gif
xpresside
post Apr 17 2007, 10:04 PM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(iluvchickenrice @ Apr 16 2007, 10:09 PM)
HI ALL,

I just purchased a w880i this afternoon from Ampang Point. To all owners out there, wanna ask a question.

WHILE CHARGING when the phone is off.
Does the entire keypad illuminate RED backlight?
Mine only illuminates around da C(Cancel key), no. 3. and Activity Menu button area.
Putting it loosely the uppper right side of the keypad ONLY.

Appreciate if any W880i owners can check this out for me. Grazie.
Yes, mine is also like that

From a review I read in local magazine,the quality of w880i 2mp camera is better than nokia 6300 rclxm9.gif

i flashed my w880i using wotan:
(Generic Trade Benelux)
CX1250640
R1JE001

First impressions:
1. there's now an option to download service provider settings by going to Setting-General-Setup wizard-Settings download
2. All pre-defined settings under Connectivity, such as Data Communication, Internet and Streaming settings are now removed and default as per settings of my service provider.
3. 3G signal is consistent
4. "My shortcuts" still slow when moving an item.

got firmware update from wotanserver but no official update from SE website yet doh.gif
sometimes when press on "More" the box lags. Sometimes auto turn-off.

This post has been edited by xpresside: Apr 17 2007, 10:11 PM
xpresside
post Apr 23 2007, 09:29 PM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(supazta @ Apr 22 2007, 11:24 PM)
hahahhahahhaha....
u see...
that is WHY i kept changing phones BACK to 6230!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

i think ive used 3 different phones and in the end i will sell them off and use my 6230 back which i still keep in my drawer.

hurmm..any phones can be as comfy as 6230 on my thumb???????

pls!
let me know!
it's your thumb, only u know the answer
xpresside
post May 17 2007, 01:14 PM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(JY. @ May 17 2007, 08:57 AM)
ok..Thanks. Mostly how long did u all on a call? If i speak for 1/2 hour let's say, will this phone be overheat?
no la..i always call for 1.30hours, thats the timelimit when auto cutoff, not much heat also,
xpresside
post May 18 2007, 01:06 PM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(JY. @ May 17 2007, 02:41 PM)
Wat u mean by auto cutoff? coz i heard tat someone's phone overheated until crash...
this is not the fon's fault la, autocutoff i mean the max time limit when i use maxis, i call 012-012 max time can call is 1.30hours
if 012-any home fixed line max is 2hours..get it?
xpresside
post May 20 2007, 11:14 AM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(underGr0und_8 @ May 17 2007, 08:42 PM)
erm..review...

1.no flashlight
2.sound,w850i better
3.keypad tiny sweat.gif
4.screen no improvement
5.m2 is much more expensive
6.look plasticky(spell correct?)

so far this phone can attract me...slim is not a point except for stylish
u miss, its the slimmest 3g fon in the market?

QUOTE(JY. @ May 18 2007, 07:40 PM)
He means by the service provider. tongue.gif

Added on May 18, 2007, 7:42 pmAnd 1 more thing...does u guy's phone autoshut down after some times? 1 of the user told me that his phone will auto switch off...
yea thats wat i meant, and yes the fon auto switch off once in a blue moon
xpresside
post May 27 2007, 07:13 PM

1,982 posts

well, i think the internet button is gay
xpresside
post Nov 10 2007, 11:01 AM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(Addonics @ Sep 11 2007, 04:38 PM)
why mine don have the usb cable???