AirCon Temp Settings, Do not put to full

TSjasondotcom
post Feb 7 2007, 11:23 PM, updated 19y ago

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

Why i hear from quite a few ppl keep telling me that cannot set our car's aircon temp to full? They say the compressor cepat wear out, engine more load thus more fuel consumption etc....

Is there truth to all these? Cuz i ALWAYS leave it at full. Is there truth on the aircon compressor will wear out much faster cuz it keeps running?
andyjyneo
post Feb 7 2007, 11:59 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

i've heard that too, but don't dare to confirm
i noticed that when we turn on air-cond, our fuel consumption will be increased
porkchop
post Feb 8 2007, 12:52 AM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

nope, neve notice on my volvo, but on the innova can feel the power decrease (it has 2 air con compressor, for front and rear passenger) really can see the diff when all is turned on max.......power drop (hence press more on pedal, and increase fuel consumption) thats my experience lo....but about wear an tear on the air con compressor? how much can u save ? buy the car memang to use it ma, just use it with peace and fix when necessary......i think those problem only starts to come up after 5 or 8 years (which already time to buy new car looo)
fuzagi
post Feb 8 2007, 01:26 AM

Cushcushiers
1,052 posts

aircond takes about 5-10hp of your car. jus like underpowered car trying to climb slope, they turn off ac for abit more power remember?..better dont max it.
BridgestoneRE711
post Feb 8 2007, 01:55 AM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

compressor runs on timing not power .
i mean , if temp drop .. it will run until the temp get right and then off .

gkl83
post Feb 8 2007, 07:36 AM

8,377 posts

if adjust the aircon temperature panel to 16c (max), the compressor will keep running in order to reach the temperature, it will cut off itself once reached 16c... if for those car which their aircon not efficient, maybe the max temperature itself can go only 22-25c but adjusted to 16c, so the the petrol will waisted for nothing... rolleyes.gif

for aircon efficiency, we can try to adjust to max temperature... when we felt cool on certain temperature (assume 25c), try to increase by adjust the temperature panel slowly till the compressor cut off itself... once it cut off, then the level of the temperature panel was around 25c, compressor able to cut off itself and we feel cool and save fuel too... smile.gif
TSjasondotcom
post Feb 8 2007, 08:13 AM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

no what i meant was the reason why ppl telling me not to set the temp to the max cool is that the compressor will operate longer....thus wearing it out faster. if set at quarter full temp, then the compressor will run shorter period.... got such thing mer...

yala i know when u set the temp not to the max cool, u can hear the compressor not running for longer period of time. if set at max cool, then the compressor once reach it desired temp, stopped. but not stopped for long....
gkl83
post Feb 8 2007, 09:14 AM

8,377 posts

but once we on aircon, for sure compressor will on and off repeatable even increase the temperature panel level which are not cool at all under sunny day... unless we dont on aircon at all, for sure dont have any wear and tear on compressor...

EDIT:
actually not 100% not wear and tear... the compressor belt still attach with engine even the compressor not working

This post has been edited by gkl83: Feb 8 2007, 09:17 AM
havenzhiv
post Feb 8 2007, 09:29 AM

556 posts

regardless, unless we are living in siberia....we need it smile.gif
lonewolf
post Feb 8 2007, 11:21 AM

3,945 posts

QUOTE(fuzagi @ Feb 8 2007, 01:26 AM)
aircond takes about 5-10hp of your car. jus like underpowered car trying to climb slope, they turn off ac for abit more power remember?..better dont max it.
abit of power oso not until 5-10hp lar bro.. doh.gif
TSjasondotcom
post Feb 8 2007, 12:56 PM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

So all those recommendation of CANNOT SET TO MAX COOL settings are just pure crap right?

Okla... nxt time i will ignore...
stormchaser
post Feb 8 2007, 05:21 PM

love your neighbour, help serve society
594 posts

It's not pure crap, just have some effect, but rather good or bad..

For car power,
If max, compressor always running, so car loose power a bit
If low, the car will have a bit more power when the compressor OFF.
If aircond off, the car will have the power without the drag from compressor.

For lifetime of compressor, i heard 2 versions.
Version1) If MAX, the compressor can tahan longer because the compressor didn't ON and OFF so many times.
Version2) If MAX, since the compressor running at all time, then mati cepat.

So, for me, i never care which 1 last longer or good or bad..
Just use how it is designed for..

When u are hot, then put to MAX lor, if u want lower temperature, then put to LOW lor, if u are too cold, or climb hill, then OFF aircond lor... simple enuff...

but what i practice is, when starting the car, the aircond is OFF.

This post has been edited by stormchaser: Feb 8 2007, 05:24 PM
vyzc
post Feb 8 2007, 05:29 PM

119 posts

Well, I think it's just a matter of controlling the temperature according to the outside temperature. Of course, the temperature can be set towards the lowest side when it's a very hot day outside. On the other hand, the temperature should be increased when the outside temperature falls in the late evenings, nights or early mornings.

It makes no sense to leave the a/c temperature setting on the lowest side in the mornings or at night.
alxand
post Feb 8 2007, 08:31 PM

459 posts

best is, set the temp to mid or lower, then blast the air to mid or third quarter, max here n there is no use, max temp FC high,blow speed max , hot air from engine comes in
BridgestoneRE711
post Feb 8 2007, 08:35 PM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

depends , normally set to full is ok .
unless u got some underpowered car like kancil 660 .
domo_kun
post Feb 8 2007, 09:00 PM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

the mere sound of the air con when tuned to the max freaks me out
never ever that i tune it to the max
Vervain
post Feb 8 2007, 10:57 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

they myth depends on how to look after the air-con. just like your engine, it needs periodical service and maintenance. so compressor oil and air-con flushing and freon maintenance should be kept maintain all the time. if your compressor is running low on lubricant, it will breakdown early. if there is no frean gas due to leakage, then the compressor will have trouble working properly. and if there is blockage on the airway. then the compressor will work so hard that it will get faulty soon. for me, leaving on to the max is a need, cause i prefer not to sweat while the air con is working either.

if not mistaken, the air-con works accordingly to the timing of the engine. when the compressor is working, the timing of the vehicle will increase. correct me if i'm wrong
tester1979
post Feb 9 2007, 12:17 AM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(domo_kun @ Feb 8 2007, 09:00 PM)
air cond temp turned to the max lah.....not the fan.....

the sound comes from the fan....which is controlled by the fan speed knob....

TS was referring to the temperature knob......

Added on February 9, 2007, 12:24 am
QUOTE(Vervain @ Feb 8 2007, 10:57 PM)
they myth depends on how to look after the air-con. just like your engine, it needs periodical service and maintenance. so compressor oil and air-con flushing and freon maintenance should be kept maintain all the time. if your compressor is running low on lubricant, it will breakdown early. if there is no frean gas due to leakage, then the compressor will have trouble working properly. and if there is blockage on the airway. then the compressor will work so hard that it will get faulty soon. for me, leaving on to the max is a need, cause i prefer not to sweat while the air con is working either.

if not mistaken, the air-con works accordingly to the timing of the engine. when the compressor is working, the timing of the vehicle will increase. correct me if i'm wrong
agree....just turn on the air cond and uselah....otherwise.....buy car without air cond loh.....

regarding the service thing....i do not fully agree......

nowadays air conds are designed to last long......just use only....once the air cond not cold enough....then start to service it like changing the spoilt parts......

i have 4 cars at home and I can't remember when was the last time I serviced my car air cond.....never got leaking or the air cond not cold yet.......iswara already 5 year old, hyundai 3 year old, kia 3 year old, kenari is 6 year old.....and the last wira before sold, changed when it was 5 year old (the cooling coil spoilt) and sold it at 10 year old without air cond problem.......

air cond service is not really necessary like changing the gas for example.....if the system is working properly...no need to change gas....the gas will not deteriorate in the system.....if have to often add gas meaning the gas is leaking so just change the spoilt part......plus once you start to change, better do a full inspection on the whole system and change any other parts that looks spoilt too.....else....the good parts will start to spoil faster as it needs to work more to compensate the not so good parts......

This post has been edited by tester1979: Feb 9 2007, 12:24 AM
bukanmain
post Feb 9 2007, 04:36 AM

I'm only 20,still learning..
1,711 posts

QUOTE(domo_kun @ Feb 8 2007, 09:00 PM)
true..you might be thinking somethings wrong at 1st..hahaa
fuzagi
post Feb 9 2007, 12:43 PM

Cushcushiers