Maybank eGIA-i 3.45% p.a., Rojak of SA + FD + MMF

besiegetank
post Jun 4 2017, 09:46 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 4 2017, 09:33 PM)
1) Yes.

2) Before this, I only thought of RHB CMF 2, https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundi...Fund-2-MYOSKCMF But after reading this https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...-May-2017--8400, I am going for Eastspring.

3) CMF invest in FDs. So you think leh?  biggrin.gif eGia-i is used as loans to people.

Wrong thinking. Unit trust is a basket of stocks. While CMF is unit trust which invest in FDs (not sure about CMF in SG . But for malaysia that's what it invest in). So if you put in normal unit trust, if the market turn suddenly, unit trust will be affected. Why? A fund manager cannot hold 100% cash while you can. That's one of the difference between us and them. So in bad times, the stocks market goes down, unit trust will also go down. Bonds also not spared (as shown in Trump tantrum in Nov). In good or bad time, FD is fixed. It will never fluctuate.

There's one alternative to CMF though. Amanah saham fixed price fund. Because NAV is fixed at RM1/unit, you will never lose money.  devil.gif
Eastspring Islamic Income Fund? Minimum initial investment is RM50k and RM10k for subsequent investment though. Don't think very flexible hmm.gif
besiegetank
post Oct 6 2017, 10:26 PM

918 posts

Looks like I need to switch my fund to PMMMF too for the liquidity, but is it really better than FSM? Don't really want to open too many accounts...
besiegetank
post Oct 6 2017, 11:25 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 6 2017, 10:44 PM)
Depend on what you want lo.
1) If you 0% service charge for UT, then use Phillip
2) If you 0% platform fees for bond funds use Phillip
3) If you want to kejar that few decimals for MMF, then use Phillip
Well these 3 are quite attractive indeed to convince me to make the switch, thanks again for the info!
besiegetank
post Oct 7 2017, 12:25 AM

918 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 6 2017, 11:38 PM)
Keep in mind for
1) If you 0% service charge for UT, then use Phillip
2) If you 0% platform fees for bond funds use Phillip

You need to fork out RM5k to buy/topup funds during promo period. No RM5k, no talk  tongue.gif
well that is the caveat then, I guess I just save up and buy annually instead to avoid the platform fees then...
besiegetank
post Oct 9 2017, 11:09 PM

918 posts

Is there anyway to change the username? It is so hard to remember their assigned username for my eunitrust account...

0.0156sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:36 AM