University Guide to Studying in Japan! (Undergraduate), Degree in Japan (English/日本語)

TSIntelauto
post Nov 6 2016, 07:47 AM, updated 6y ago

55 posts

英語

When I finished my SPM, I knew that I wanted to study in Japan but the information that was given to me by various people were confusing, and when I started to live and experience life here, some of them were wrong. So, i've decided to open this thread up so that it'll help future prospective students from Malaysia if they want to pursue that undergraduate studies in Japan!

If you just finished SPM, you can go on 2 paths if you want to study in Japan.
1) Continue you STPM
2) Come to Japan immediately and study Japanese in a Japanese Language School

The reason is because we Malaysians only have 11 years of education after we finish off our SPM, so by completing STPM or any other equivalent that bumps you up to 12 years of education. But I did #2, which is attending a Japanese Language School. If you want to do this option, I suggest you find a Language School in Japan that is certified by MEXT (文部科学省)/ (Monbukagakushou) so that after you graduate, you'll be eligible to enter a University for their undergraduate program. Of course, you can also attend the Japanese Language School we have in Malaysia called Bahasa Institut Teikyo as well.

In principle, you must have completed 12 years of education to apply for admission to a university (undergraduate), junior college, or professional training college in Japan.
※Students who have completed 11 years of education to apply for admission to a college of technology, and 16 years of education for admission to a graduate school (master's program). For further details, please refer to “Admission Requirements for Japanese Higher Education Institutions.” “Admission Requirements for Japanese Higher Education Institutions” Students from countries such as India, Nepal, Bangladesh, Malaysia and Mongolia who have completed 10 or 11 years of elementary and secondary school education and wish to apply for admission to higher education institutions, such as universities, in Japan must meet either of the following eligibility criteria:

1.Have completed 12 years of formal school education by taking an additional one or two years of schooling at a university or other higher education institution or a university preparatory program in their home country.
2.Have completed university preparatory courses (junbi kyouiku katei) authorized by the Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology of Japan (provided, however, that they have completed a level of education equivalent to a Japanese High School).

Please check this link if you're still confused.
https://www.jasso.go.jp/en/study_j/search/g...aldialogue.html

日本語

SPMを終わらせた瞬間に、来日したかったことは確かにあったが様々な人に流された情報が矛盾であったため混乱してしまいました。来日し暮らし始めると、流された情報が間違った部分もあったし、ただ単に偏見的な意見もあったんで、日本に留学したい・または働きたい若者にLowyatに投稿させていただきました。

SPMを終わらせた後、来日したかったら2つの道があります。(マレーシア人のみ)
1)STPMを続くこと。
2)すぐに来日し、日本語学校で日本語を学ぶ。

マレーシア人は基本的にSPMまでは11年の教育しか満たされていないため、日本の大学に入学する条件を満たしていない。上の①か②を選択し、12年の教育条件を満たすことになります。マスター(修士)を希望する方は16年間の教育を満たすことを条件としますので、しっかり自分の教育経路を確認しておいてください。

まとめる、教育条件として以下になります。

① 大学、または母国にある学校に12年間の教育を満たすことを条件とする。
② 文部科学省に認証された準備教育課程を完成させることを条件とする。(日本の高校生と教育年数と一緒)

以上になります。
何かご不明の点がございましたら、いつでもPMをお待ちしております。

This post has been edited by Intelauto: Jul 12 2019, 06:11 PM
red123
post Nov 10 2016, 02:38 PM

206 posts

are the requirements for SPM to study in Japan strict or lenient? like they expect you to get 10 As or generally accepts anyone with 5 credits and above?
TSIntelauto
post Nov 10 2016, 04:53 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(red123 @ Nov 10 2016, 02:38 PM)
are the requirements for SPM to study in Japan strict or lenient? like they expect you to get 10 As or generally accepts anyone with 5 credits and above?
Well i'm not really good grade wise since I only got 1A in my exam, but I did get more than 5 credits.
However, I think they don't really look at your SPM, they just want it as proof you finished high school.
scgoh123
post Nov 11 2016, 11:33 AM

【鬼の隠し拳:天地ガエシ】
846 posts

Just an advice:
If you really interested in studying in Japan, you should start learning Japanese Language as soon as possible (Form 2 maybe?). Early planning will benefit you in the end.

And straight away attend Language Schools right after SPM!! Yes you got it right! AFTER SPM!! Because in Japan, they will just look at how many years you have completed your studies in your home country, disregarding which qualifications you have, and your results in EJU comes on top of everything else. If not mistaken, only Language Schools provide preparation for EJU so just focus on getting good grades in EJU is enough to get into any Japan Universities!!!

Taking Pre-U Qualifications is not recommended because 90% of the case you will still have to study for EJU, which is a waste of your 2 years time to study Pre-U again. Got this information from Facon Education Fair 2015 at KLCC.
isklara
post Nov 12 2016, 02:10 PM

32 posts

So you are now in Japan? If so, how do you live there? I mean, where do you live? Do you have someone to help you around? Do you feel isolated?
TSIntelauto
post Nov 12 2016, 10:17 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(isklara @ Nov 12 2016, 02:10 PM)
So you are now in Japan? If so, how do you live there? I mean, where do you live? Do you have someone to help you around? Do you feel isolated?
Yes, I currently live in Osaka, Japan.
When I first came here, I did feel a bit isolated but not at all whatsoever now! smile.gif
noloveishere
post Nov 17 2016, 04:20 PM

119 posts

Is it generally expensive to go this route? Is it more financially sound to go with the traditional degree route?
sacwoc
post Nov 17 2016, 05:20 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(noloveishere @ Nov 17 2016, 05:20 PM)
Is it generally expensive to go this route? Is it more financially sound to go with the traditional degree route?
You have to be careful with this route. If you decide not to pursue your degree in Japan then you are stuck with only SPM and Japanese language which is of no use in UK/US/ANZ. If you have A levels/STPM/etc, at least you can still apply for unis in other countries.

For this route you need to spend a lot just to study Japanese language either in JP or Malaysia. If you decide to do it in JP you need to pay for your living expenses as well.
Kipkip
post Jan 13 2017, 06:22 PM

192 posts

From Teikyo Malaysia website, successful students mostly accepted into middle to lower ranking University. Top U like UOT, Kyoto U, TIT or Tohuku U seems out of reach.
would it be bcos these universities in only for Japanese or Teikyo standard of teaching is questionable?
or would path #2 as per Intelauto be a better choice for EJU points and better chances of acceptance by the top universities?

TSIntelauto
post Jan 13 2017, 07:34 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(Kipkip @ Jan 13 2017, 06:22 PM)
From Teikyo Malaysia website, successful students mostly accepted into middle to lower ranking University. Top U like UOT, Kyoto U, TIT or Tohuku U seems out of reach.
would it be bcos these universities in only for Japanese or Teikyo standard of teaching is questionable?
or would path #2 as per Intelauto be a better choice for EJU points and better chances of acceptance by the top universities?
Teikyo is a private university/group in Tokyo, so they don't have much influence on the entrance rate for foreign students into national universities such as the universities you mentioned above. The universities aren't just for Japanese, its just that they are very hard to get in, even for Japanese people! Teikyo's teaching method is ok since they were approved by MEXT so rather than the standard of teaching from Teikyo, its because its a private company, and universities tend to normally look at the certain students credentials only which makes it harder to get into a national university.

#2 would definitely help since you're living in Japan and everything is in Japanese, but I suggest you to go find a school supported by JASSO in Japan since they would be the best school for students to enter and find a high ranking university to get into! EJU points depends on how much hard work you put into your Japanese, so that depends on your willpower and willingness to learn.

This post has been edited by Intelauto: Jan 13 2017, 07:36 PM
TSOM
post Jan 18 2017, 03:42 PM

2,145 posts

TS, how much time did you spend to study for EJU??? 1 year?
TSIntelauto
post Jan 18 2017, 03:47 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Jan 18 2017, 03:42 PM)
TS, how much time did you spend to study for EJU??? 1 year?
Basically yes, but I studied Japanese before I came to Japan since 2014.
TSOM
post Jan 18 2017, 03:50 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(Intelauto @ Jan 18 2017, 03:47 PM)
Basically yes, but I studied Japanese before I came to Japan since 2014.
if start from zero, how much time needed to pass EJU??

are you the only malaysian there who studied japanese for EJU?
TSIntelauto
post Jan 18 2017, 03:58 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Jan 18 2017, 03:50 PM)
if start from zero, how much time needed to pass EJU??

are you the only malaysian there who studied japanese for EJU?
It's all different for each person, and depends on your passion and how much time and effort you put into Japanese.
Some people can get very high marks with just a year of study, but some can't even get above the average marks with years of study. Also, you don't 'pass' EJU, you're just given points.

No, there are a few malaysians who have studied here before, but you'll see a lot of indonesians compared to malaysians.
maprocks
post Feb 7 2017, 03:51 PM

267 posts

Hello TS. I'm not sure if I should ask you this question..
Is there any way to buy EJU Past year booklets in Malaysia?

TSIntelauto
post Feb 7 2017, 05:51 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(maprocks @ Feb 7 2017, 03:51 PM)
Hello TS. I'm not sure if I should ask you this question..
Is there any way to buy EJU Past year booklets in Malaysia?
Hi there maprocks!
I'm sorry, i'm currently and Japan and I never took EJU in Malaysia so I don't know..
maprocks
post Feb 7 2017, 07:27 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(Intelauto @ Feb 7 2017, 05:51 PM)
Hi there maprocks!
I'm sorry, i'm currently and Japan and I never took EJU in Malaysia so I don't know..
btw, it is possible to get good marks for EJU without practicing past year questions?
fyi, I'm currently in STPM, 2nd semester.
I plan to apply for undergraduate english degree program, have no basics of japanese. So, it is still advisable to take EJU since I've no basics in Japanese to handle EJU Language test.
I did plan to take Science and Maths Course 2 in EJU. So it is still advisable without any EJU Past year booklets?
I do plan to learn Japanese after finishing STPM in late November.

This post has been edited by maprocks: Feb 7 2017, 07:28 PM
TSIntelauto
post Feb 7 2017, 08:04 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(maprocks @ Feb 7 2017, 07:27 PM)
btw, it is possible to get good marks for EJU without practicing past year questions?
fyi, I'm currently in STPM, 2nd semester.
I plan to apply for undergraduate english degree program, have no basics of japanese. So, it is still advisable to take EJU since I've no basics in Japanese to handle EJU Language test.
I did plan to take Science and Maths Course 2 in EJU. So it is still advisable without any EJU Past year booklets?
I do plan to learn Japanese after finishing STPM in late November.
I think the question you are asking is like asking "Can I get good marks for SPM without practicing past year questions?"
You can, but it all depends on your own ability to study and know general knowledge of what high school students in Japan learn.

I would rather suggest you have some ability in reading Japanese just in case you don't understand the question. Maths might not need Japanese so much, but i'm sure Science course 2 needs a bit of Japanese to understand the questions.
maprocks
post Feb 7 2017, 08:23 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(Intelauto @ Feb 7 2017, 08:04 PM)
I think the question you are asking is like asking "Can I get good marks for SPM without practicing past year questions?"
You can, but it all depends on your own ability to study and know general knowledge of what high school students in Japan learn.

I would rather suggest you have some ability in reading Japanese just in case you don't understand the question. Maths might not need Japanese so much, but i'm sure Science course 2 needs a bit of Japanese to understand the questions.
Thanks for the reply. Appreciated it anyway. notworthy.gif
ericling
post Mar 8 2017, 09:36 AM

323 posts

How hard is a for a Chinese-native speaker to learn Japanese? (Read->Speak->Write as the priority)

And what are the recommended channel to learn Japanese? Is it worth it to go to centre to learn? (If so, any suggestion) or is it viable to learn by myself?

I have no basics in Japanese but are willing to spend full time up to 3 months to learn the basics.
TSIntelauto
post Mar 8 2017, 05:49 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(ericling @ Mar 8 2017, 09:36 AM)
How hard is a for a Chinese-native speaker to learn Japanese? (Read->Speak->Write as the priority)

And what are the recommended channel to learn Japanese? Is it worth it to go to centre to learn? (If so, any suggestion) or is it viable to learn by myself?

I have no basics in Japanese but are willing to spend full time up to 3 months to learn the basics.
Reading Japanese for a Chinese-native speaker, it would be easy because you can analyze and understand most Kanji's, but there are a few that you will have to learn because they are created by Japanese people. For example, 畑 Or 俣, but you will mostly understand almost all of them. Speaking on the other hand, is a bit different. You'll notice some similarities, but thats where it ends. Regarding writing, its not hard.

I would recommend you to find a center that have native Japanese speakers from Japan. I personally recommend ICLS because thats where I started my Japanese journey.
icefire123
post Mar 8 2017, 07:29 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(Intelauto @ Mar 8 2017, 05:49 PM)
Reading Japanese for a Chinese-native speaker, it would be easy because you can analyze and understand most Kanji's, but there are a few that you will have to learn because they are created by Japanese people. For example, 畑 Or 俣, but you will mostly understand almost all of them. Speaking on the other hand, is a bit different. You'll notice some similarities, but thats where it ends. Regarding writing, its not hard.

I would recommend you to find a center that have native Japanese speakers from Japan. I personally recommend ICLS because thats where I started my Japanese journey.
I was considering Japan too, but decided not to after long consideration.
On Japanese learning, I would say that a native speaker is unnecessary, at least not until you've reached higher level. I can't speak for all Japanese language teachers in Malaysia, but I do know that generally, the teachers are sent to Japan for training which takes about 3~6 months. Most teachers shouldn't have problems with teaching.

To those who want to learn Japanese. Here is the list of Japanese language institute in Malaysia. Please take note that the list is not exhaustive and it doesn't not reflect the quality of teaching. Please look up for more info before joining.
http://www.jfkl.org.my/language/learners/l...ol-in-malaysia/
ericling
post Mar 10 2017, 03:41 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(Intelauto @ Mar 8 2017, 05:49 PM)

Thanks for your advise!

I will be looking into ICLS, may I know how long did you study there?
TSIntelauto
post Mar 10 2017, 04:53 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(ericling @ Mar 10 2017, 03:41 PM)
Thanks for your advise!

I will be looking into ICLS, may I know how long did you study there?
Not a problem!

I studied there for 2 years when I was in high school, once per week on saturdays!
ericling
post Mar 10 2017, 06:38 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(Intelauto @ Mar 10 2017, 04:53 PM)
Not a problem!

I studied there for 2 years when I was in high school, once per week on saturdays!
Awesome! Are all the Japanese language teachers Japanese?

I just checked out their schedules. I have a break from end of April until end of July, so their intensive course is really tempting me!
May I know at what level should I be expecting myself to be after completing the "Beginner (9.5), Ele I (9.5), Ele II (10) intensive course" for 1.5 months?

This post has been edited by ericling: Mar 10 2017, 06:38 PM
TSIntelauto
post Mar 10 2017, 06:55 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(ericling @ Mar 10 2017, 06:38 PM)
Awesome! Are all the Japanese language teachers Japanese?

I just checked out their schedules. I have a break from end of April until end of July, so their intensive course is really tempting me!
May I know at what level should I be expecting myself to be after completing the "Beginner (9.5), Ele I (9.5), Ele II (10) intensive course" for 1.5 months?
Yes, all their teachers are from Japan and are certified by the Japanese government!

For those classes, I think you would be able to speak and write Japanese at a very basic level.
F444
post Mar 18 2017, 05:44 PM

HI, if i want to study in japan i have to go to a language school? like teikyo?
Its written there that i have to study for 20 months before going to japan.
After that do i have to find a uni or college myself or they will help me?
A friend of mine recommended me to Ritsumeikan Asia Pacific University
and i dont know what to do or how to go about it.

TSIntelauto
post Mar 19 2017, 09:41 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(F444 @ Mar 18 2017, 05:44 PM)
HI, if i want to study in japan i have to go to a language school? like teikyo?
Its written there that i have to study for 20 months before going to japan.
After that do i have to find a uni or college myself or they will help me?
A friend of mine recommended me to Ritsumeikan Asia Pacific University
and i dont know what to do or how to go about it.
Each Japanese language school has its own course, which is normally a 1 year or 1 year and a half course. You do need 11 years of education to study in Japan though. (Malaysians only have 10 by SPM)

They will help you and give you suggestions for universities/specialty schools (Senmongakkou)

Check your PM smile.gif
Akihito Aniki
post Mar 21 2017, 05:57 PM

57 posts

Hi, im currently pursuing a degree in a private university in malaysia. I have plans to further my studies in japan before this but however im not financially stable. So after finishing my degree i plan to work for a few years and after i have enough money i will continue my studies in Japan. So my question is, say im 27 when i have enough money, should i go to this teikyo or can i just enroll at the university there, and at the age of 27 is it too late for me to pursue study in japan ?
TSIntelauto
post Mar 21 2017, 08:22 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(Akihito Aniki @ Mar 21 2017, 05:57 PM)
Hi, im currently pursuing a degree in a private university in malaysia. I have plans to further my studies in japan before this but however im not financially stable. So after finishing my degree i plan to work for a few years and after i have enough money i will continue my studies in Japan. So my question is, say im 27 when i have enough money, should i go to this teikyo or can i just enroll at the university there, and at the age of 27 is it too late for me to pursue study in japan ?
Hi there Akihito Aniki!
Age should never factor in someone's will to study! smile.gif
If you finished your degree, I don't think you need to go to Teikyo or a Japanese Language School to fulfill the 11 years of education requirement anymore! But if you want to do your degree in Japanese, you need to submit test scores such as EJU and maybe even JLPT so you will need something to prove your Japanese proficiency. Message me anytime if you need any help regarding this!
YungJamez
post Aug 18 2018, 01:01 AM

QUOTE(Intelauto @ Nov 6 2016, 07:47 AM)
English

When I finished my SPM last year, I knew that I wanted to study in Japan but the information that was given to me by various people were confusing, and when I started to live and experience life here, some of them were wrong. So, i've decided to open this thread up so that it'll help future prospective students from Malaysia if they want to pursue that undergraduate studies in Japan!

1) Continue you STPM

The reason is because we Malaysians only have 11 years of education after we finish off our SPM, so by completing STPM or any other equivalent that bumps you up to 12 years of education. But I did #2, which is attending a Japanese Language School. If you want to do this option, I suggest you find a Language School in Japan that is certified by MEXT (文部科学省)/ (Monbukagakushou) so that after you graduate, you'll be eligible to enter a University for
their undergraduate program. Of course, you can also attend the Japanese Language School we have in Malaysia called Bahasa Institut Teikyo as well!

You can find the file for the list of certified Japanese Language Schools for students that have 11 years of education here ;

Comment below or PM me if you have any questions about undergraduate studies in Japan, i'd be glad to help out in whatever way possible!  :thumbsup:

日本語

こんにちは、みなさん!
高校5年生の時に日本に留学したがっていたの私は色々な情報を聞いてて、面食らっていた。今は大阪在住ですが、マレーシアにいる学生さんのためにこのポストをアップした。日本に留学したいの方は、下のお知らせを読んで下さい。

もしSPMの試験が終わったら、2つの道が選べられる
1)STPMを終わらせる
2)マレーシアにある日本語学校に申し込む・日本にある日本語学校に申し込む

日本の大学に入る条件は12年の教育歴が必要なので、STPMをまだ終わらせないマレーシアの方はA-Levels見たいなコースとか11年教育歴向けの日本語学校を受けなければならないです。私の場合は2016年の4月から日本にある日本語学校通ってて、それで国内の大学に申し込んだ。もちろん、マレーシアにある日本語学校「Bahasa Institut Teikyo」は一つの選択です。

11年教育歴向けの日本語学校はこちらです

何か手伝って欲しい事があったら、遠慮なくメッセージを送ってください!
Hi I’m current studying foundation in engineering in Taylor’s is there anyway where I can study my degree in japan or how like transfer student
regan96
post Aug 18 2018, 01:06 AM

581 posts

Hey there, I made up my mind to either do my internship or masters in Japan which will be in the near future because I am currently pursuing my degree in business but i want to continue my masters in education but currently I'm pretty lost on what I should do. The internship part is still debatable but the masters I've made up my mind to do it in one of the university in Japan. Can you help me out? Thank you.
TSIntelauto
post Aug 19 2018, 06:18 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(YungJamez @ Aug 18 2018, 01:01 AM)
Hi I’m current studying foundation in engineering in Taylor’s is there anyway where I can study my degree in japan or how like transfer student
Hi there!
Not sure about your case, its best if you contact JASSO Malaysia and talk to them directly about this!

QUOTE(regan96 @ Aug 18 2018, 01:06 AM)
Hey there, I made up my mind to either do my internship or masters in Japan which will be in the near future because I am currently pursuing my degree in business but i want to continue my masters in education but currently I'm pretty lost on what I should do. The internship part is still debatable but the masters I've made up my mind to do it in one of the university in Japan. Can you help me out? Thank you.
Hi there!
For Masters, its a lot more easier once you've finished your degree. Check the websites of the Japanese university you're interested in, and apply for it according to their enrollment procedures (which usually includes you sending a letter to the university either physically or digitally via internet). They normally have one in English and one in Japanese, so pay careful attention to the requirements!
YungJamez
post Aug 19 2018, 06:54 PM

QUOTE(Intelauto @ Aug 19 2018, 06:18 PM)
Hi there!
Not sure about your case, its best if you contact JASSO Malaysia and talk to them directly about this!
Ooo so do I have to still take the one year japnese la gauge course??
Eurobeater
post Aug 20 2018, 06:03 PM

Kancil Dorifto!
1,189 posts

What do Malaysians normally study in Japan? Study as in what course or fields of specialisation? And which university do they normally go?
TSIntelauto
post Aug 20 2018, 10:42 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(YungJamez @ Aug 19 2018, 06:54 PM)
Ooo so do I have to still take the one year japnese la gauge course??
If you want to do your course in Japanese, I highly recommend taking the language course!
If you're doing it in English, then there is probably no need for it, but take some basic courses for daily conversations.

QUOTE(Eurobeater @ Aug 20 2018, 06:03 PM)
What do Malaysians normally study in Japan? Study as in what course or fields of specialisation? And which university do they normally go?
A lot of Malaysians come here for engineering, especially electrical and mechanical engineering and most of them go to Tokyo!
Eurobeater
post Aug 20 2018, 10:45 PM

Kancil Dorifto!
1,189 posts

QUOTE(Intelauto @ Aug 20 2018, 10:42 PM)
A lot of Malaysians come here for engineering, especially electrical and mechanical engineering and most of them go to Tokyo!
Engineering you say? They are JPA scholars, right?

Are they also Malaysian's studying art couses there? My sister is interested, but she is unsure as to whether her Japanese is sufficiently good. She has N4 qualifcation I think.
Kurogane___
post Aug 21 2018, 12:12 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(Eurobeater @ Aug 20 2018, 10:45 PM)

Are they also Malaysian's studying art couses there? My sister is interested, but she is unsure as to whether her Japanese is sufficiently good. She has N4 qualifcation I think.
I, along with a lot of Malaysians who are not JPA scholars, went to a Japanese Language School in Japan for a 1 year course (like a pre-u, but focusing on teaching you Japanese language) before applying to university.
If you already hold a pre-u and do not want to spend 1 year for this course, AFAIK you need to have at least N2 equivalent skill to be eligible for applying to an university (although they do not accept JLPT, you must sit for EJU instead).
The Malaysians that I personally know, ~60% of them went on to study economics/design/art while ~40% went to science/engineering.
TSIntelauto
post Aug 21 2018, 01:32 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(Kurogane___ @ Aug 21 2018, 12:12 AM)
I, along with a lot of Malaysians who are not JPA scholars, went to a Japanese Language School in Japan for a 1 year course (like a pre-u, but focusing on teaching you Japanese language) before applying to university.
If you already hold a pre-u and do not want to spend 1 year for this course, AFAIK you need to have at least N2 equivalent skill to be eligible for applying to an university (although they do not accept JLPT, you must sit for EJU instead).
The Malaysians that I personally know, ~60% of them went on to study economics/design/art while ~40% went to science/engineering.
There are a few universities in Osaka that accept JLPT N2 nowadays, although those universities are a bit lower leveled compared to others.

QUOTE(Eurobeater @ Aug 20 2018, 10:45 PM)

Not necessarily, there are a people who are privately funded who take engineering/science courses too!
For Art courses, yes of course there are! I am personally taking a course in International Relations, and I have a few Malaysian friends who are taking Visual Art courses in Tokyo
Kurogane___
post Aug 21 2018, 02:45 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(Intelauto @ Aug 21 2018, 01:32 AM)
There are a few universities in Osaka that accept JLPT N2 nowadays, although those universities are a bit lower leveled compared to others.
Thanks! Now that I know there are indeed universities that do not require EJU. tongue.gif Although I think generally taking EJU is recommended.
By the way, which university are you studying in now? And which language school had you studied in? I was from ABK.
Eurobeater
post Aug 21 2018, 06:32 AM

Kancil Dorifto!
1,189 posts

QUOTE(Kurogane___ @ Aug 21 2018, 12:12 AM)
Interesting. Thx for the reply. Been a great help 🙏
sweet_pez
post Aug 21 2018, 01:43 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

Informative and TS is helpful; topic pinned wink.gif
Xaos_404
post Oct 3 2018, 01:43 AM

Kinda curious about your social life there as I would like to ask if it is easy to blend into their social circle and how approachable Japanese people are? Would there be any language or racial barrier? Currently last year of high school and planning to study in Japan.
sweet_pez
post Nov 26 2018, 11:07 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Xaos_404 @ Oct 3 2018, 01:43 AM)
Kinda curious about your social life there as I would like to ask if it is easy to blend into their social circle and how approachable Japanese people are? Would there be any language or racial barrier? Currently last year of high school and planning to study in Japan.
Meaning you're planning to study in a College/ Uni in Japan?

Generally Japanese are approachable and nice, and I believe you won't have any issue blending in. However they always have the practice of "inside" and "outside" whereby "inside" consists of their 'own'. One video I watched - this foreigner had been staying in Japan for 20 years? or 30? And even so, he said he's never truly part of the Japanese. Even among his Japanese friends, he will always be the 'outsider' regardless of how long they've been friends.

As for language barrier - will suggest you take up Japanese language classes before going over. Better for you to be able to speak some form of Japanese so that you can at least do basic communication.
TSIntelauto
post Nov 30 2018, 12:30 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(Xaos_404 @ Oct 3 2018, 01:43 AM)
Hey there, sorry for the late reply! Been really busy these days sweat.gif

I mean its really the same anywhere you go around the world, there will be people whom you meet who doesn't really match up with your personality and people who you get along great! No language barriers for me as I speak Japanese fluently, but I do notice some racial barriers (especially from the older generation) if you don't look asian, but I would suggest that you don't mind it.

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Nov 26 2018, 11:07 AM)
Meaning you're planning to study in a College/ Uni in Japan?

Generally Japanese are approachable and nice, and I believe you won't have any issue blending in. However they always have the practice of "inside" and "outside" whereby "inside" consists of their 'own'. One video I watched - this foreigner had been staying in Japan for 20 years? or 30? And even so, he said he's never truly part of the Japanese. Even among his Japanese friends, he will always be the 'outsider' regardless of how long they've been friends.

As for language barrier - will suggest you take up Japanese language classes before going over. Better for you to be able to speak some form of Japanese so that you can at least do basic communication.
Thank you for replying in my stead!

Regarding the "inside" and "outside", I feel like that if you've integrated yourself into Japanese society fully (language, customs, culture) while also knowing that you yourself are a foreigner, the Japanese tend to want to put you into the "in" circle rather than treat you as an outsider. I tend to delve myself into the local culture but still keeping my Malaysian identity, and I feel that a lot of Japanese treat me as one of their own rather than a foreigner smile.gif
sweet_pez
post Dec 4 2018, 01:09 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Intelauto @ Nov 30 2018, 12:30 AM)
Hey there, sorry for the late reply! Been really busy these days  sweat.gif

I mean its really the same anywhere you go around the world, there will be people whom you meet who doesn't really match up with your personality and people who you get along great! No language barriers for me as I speak Japanese fluently, but I do notice some racial barriers (especially from the older generation) if you don't look asian, but I would suggest that you don't mind it.
Thank you for replying in my stead!

Regarding the "inside" and "outside", I feel like that if you've integrated yourself into Japanese society fully (language, customs, culture) while also knowing that you yourself are a foreigner, the Japanese tend to want to put you into the "in" circle rather than treat you as an outsider. I tend to delve myself into the local culture but still keeping my Malaysian identity, and I feel that a lot of Japanese treat me as one of their own rather than a foreigner smile.gif
Yes, probably if you're an Asian and don't look too different (the way one speak, behave etc) then it's easier to be 'part' of them. But I really, truly agree that one will never be 100% part of the Japanese "in" crowd no matter how close you're with them hmm.gif but of course, this shouldn't stop anyone from studying/working and living there to experience it biggrin.gif when it comes to work, better keep the Malaysian/ foreign identity and leave when work is pretty much done. Don't get caught doing OT all the time till late nights.
pencapchew
post Apr 22 2019, 07:39 AM

24 posts

I've been working for the past 12 years... Just wondering if I could withdraw my epf to study Japanese language in Japan?
Muhaimin.Saitama P
post May 11 2019, 09:41 AM

Probation

English

When I finished my SPM last year, I knew that I wanted to study in Japan but the information that was given to me by various people were confusing, and when I started to live and experience life here, some of them were wrong. So, i've decided to open this thread up so that it'll help future prospective students from Malaysia if they want to pursue that undergraduate studies in Japan!

1) Continue you STPM

The reason is because we Malaysians only have 11 years of education after we finish off our SPM, so by completing STPM or any other equivalent that bumps you up to 12 years of education. But I did #2, which is attending a Japanese Language School. If you want to do this option, I suggest you find a Language School in Japan that is certified by MEXT (文部科学省)/ (Monbukagakushou) so that after you graduate, you'll be eligible to enter a University for
their undergraduate program. Of course, you can also attend the Japanese Language School we have in Malaysia called Bahasa Institut Teikyo as well!

You can find the file for the list of certified Japanese Language Schools for students that have 11 years of education here ;

Comment below or PM me if you have any questions about undergraduate studies in Japan, i'd be glad to help out in whatever way possible!  :thumbsup:

日本語

みなさん、こんにちは。
マレーシアの高校を卒業し、日本に留学したかった私は、情報収集をしていて、何が正しい選択か困っていた。現在、兵庫県に住んでいる私は、マレーシアに住んでいる高校生や学生さんなどのために投稿した。日本に留学希望の方は、下の方を読んでください。
SPM試験終わらせた方への選択
1)STPMを終わらせる
2)マレーシアにある日本語学校に入学する、または日本にある日本語学校に入学する。

日本の大学の入学基準としては、12年の教育歴が必要なので、STPMをまだ終わらせていないマレーシアの方はA-Levelsを受けるか、大学を終わらせるか、11年教育歴向けの日本語学校に入学しなければならない。私の場合は2016年の4月から日本にある日本語学校を通学し、卒業以来国内の私立大学に入学した。

11年教育歴向けの日本語学校はこちらです

不明な点がございましたら、ご遠慮なくPMをしてください。
EuroDesign P
post May 14 2019, 09:50 PM

Probation

QUOTE(pencapchew @ Apr 22 2019, 07:39 AM)
I've been working for the past 12 years... Just wondering if I could withdraw my epf to study Japanese language in Japan?
Hello, I had been living in Japan for study and work for 13 years
I met people quit their job and study in Japan.
Some people get a master degree , some people go to college to get diploma and some people enrol into language school.

Your case is to study Japanese Language. To the best of my knowledge, only private institution offer Japanese Language Course.
For private institution, the school fee can be around 0.7 to 1 million yen( approx. RM 26k to RM 38K).

Beside the school fee, you can find part time job to support your living expenses. Many part time jobs available in Tokyo.
Wages is around 800 to 1000 yen per hour( approx. RM30 to RM38)

Compared to other advanced country, Japan is much easier to get part time job.

Hope this info helps.

EuroDesign
pencapchew
post May 15 2019, 07:40 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(EuroDesign @ May 14 2019, 09:50 PM)
Hello, I had been living in Japan for study and work for 13 years
I met people quit their job and study in Japan.
Some people get a master degree , some people go to college to get diploma and some people enrol into language school.

Your case is to study Japanese Language. To the best of my knowledge, only private institution offer Japanese Language Course.
For private institution, the school fee can be around 0.7 to 1 million yen( approx. RM 26k to RM 38K).

Beside the school fee, you can find part time job to support your living expenses. Many part time jobs available in Tokyo.
Wages is around 800 to 1000 yen per hour( approx. RM30 to RM38)

Compared to other advanced country, Japan is much easier to get part time job.

Hope this info helps.

EuroDesign
Thanks for ur info... Actually I already got the Japanese language institution info. Just that wanna know the chances of withdrawing from my epf instead from my bank acc coz I feel like don't wanna touch my bank. One more thing is that the Japanese institution is a recognised international school and it also offers part time jobs prospect. So financial wise, I feel abit more secure to withdraw from epf and at the same time doing part time for support and savings.

This post has been edited by pencapchew: May 15 2019, 07:42 AM
linglingee
post May 15 2019, 02:51 PM

52 posts

Can consider homestay programs in Japan, some schools have such arrangements. Learning the language is a must in order to communicate and be more accepted there.
EuroDesign P
post May 15 2019, 08:43 PM

Probation

QUOTE(pencapchew @ May 15 2019, 07:40 AM)
Thanks for ur info... Actually I already got the Japanese language institution info. Just that wanna know the chances of withdrawing from my epf instead from my bank acc coz I feel like don't wanna touch my bank. One more thing is that the Japanese institution is a recognised international school and it also offers part time jobs prospect. So financial wise, I feel abit more secure to withdraw from epf and at the same time doing part time for support and savings.
Oh ya, thats right. It is always better to have some backup plan.
Good luck smile.gif
Jack631 P
post Jun 10 2019, 03:39 AM

Probation

Can you study at Japan with spm fail got 3c but fail bm and sej

TSIntelauto
post Jun 13 2019, 01:45 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(Jack631 @ Jun 10 2019, 03:39 AM)
Can you study at Japan with spm fail got 3c but fail bm and sej
You need to prove that you graduated high school, so if you fail BM and Sejarah I don't think
they will give you a certificate for SPM. If you don't have that, no language school will accept you as a student.
SwitchFanatic
post Jun 19 2019, 09:38 PM

Hello TS, thank you for keeping this thread alive! As someone who went to KV and had an additional 2 years of study added, would I still be qualified? Also since I don't technically have SPM except for BM and Diploma certs, would that also be fine or do I absolutely need SPM? I'm planning to do my Degrees.
Skywalker_Man P
post Jun 25 2019, 12:55 PM

Probation

Hello and thank you for making this thread! I had to make this account so I can reply lol. Anyways.. ive been meaning to share my situation and I ask for you to see what are my chances or any advice you can give me in regards to wanting to study in Japan.

So ive finished my SPM exams back in 2015 and also finished my STPM exams last year in 2018.. yes, there is a notable time gap cause i started STPM a bit late but i digress.

Ive been meaning to study marine science overseas and i wanted to go to Japan so much.. and Ive found the university that has it! Its called Tokyo University of Marine Science and Technology. However, they have that course in the Masters level only ohmy.gif ohmy.gif

So thats a problem already.. but i dont need to rush i guess. Until then, i will be taking a degree here locally. Next month is the announcement of the results for those that applied for Degree studies so yeah.

A little background on my japanese, though ive exposed myself to the language for years now, i still cannot hold a proper conversation. I have built up a sizeable vocabulary and know a couple of phrases. To conclude, do you think this a good idea? To wait till my Masters to consider going out there? hmm.gif
Idme231 P
post Jun 26 2019, 11:25 AM

Probation

Hi, I am a new user here from SG, (Feels weird LOL), But dont if i ask, what are he requirements now to study in Japan? I have certificate equivalant to Level 4 of the JLPT.
CharmaineLee80
post Jul 2 2019, 10:59 AM

992 posts

** deleted, as found what is EJU means.

This post has been edited by CharmaineLee80: Jul 2 2019, 12:25 PM
tanzimabir P
post Jul 2 2019, 07:31 PM

Probation
19 posts

QUOTE(YungJamez @ Aug 18 2018, 01:01 AM)
I have the same question and Course @ Limkokwing, Except I'm an International student here in Malaysia. how do i go about this?

(++++++++++++++++++++rep to OP for keeping this alive! Mad respect.)
TSIntelauto
post Jul 3 2019, 10:35 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(Idme231 @ Jun 26 2019, 11:25 AM)
Hi, I am a new user here from SG, (Feels weird LOL), But dont if i ask, what are he requirements now to study in Japan? I have certificate equivalant to Level 4 of the JLPT.
Hey there, sorry for the late reply.
The requirements to study in Japan is a high school graduation certificate (11 years of education), and either N2 or N1 level for university courses
(depending on the level of the university, JLPT requirements differ).

QUOTE(tanzimabir @ Jul 2 2019, 07:31 PM)
I have the same question and Course @ Limkokwing, Except I'm an International student here in Malaysia. how do i go about this?

(++++++++++++++++++++rep to OP for keeping this alive! Mad respect.)
If you can read Japanese, you can look at the admissions page for your desired university/school for more information.
If you can't, please do PM me.
Idme231 P
post Jul 3 2019, 03:06 PM

Probation

QUOTE(Intelauto @ Jul 3 2019, 10:35 AM)
The requirements to study in Japan is a high school graduation certificate (11 years of education), and either N2 or N1 level for university courses
If you can read Japanese, you can look at the admissions page for your desired university/school for more information.
Damn, i used to think that i wanna study there, but the JLPT requirement is still far...!
tanzimabir P
post Jul 3 2019, 04:49 PM

Probation
19 posts

QUOTE(Intelauto @ Jul 3 2019, 10:35 AM)
I have N5, so my understanding of Japanese is still VERY Basic.

Here's what the Admission Requirements for 2019 session say:

I plan to apply to the [English] G30 Automotive Engineering program's Mechanical Sub course on the 2020 session.

I'm Currently Doing Sem 2 of 3 of Foundation in Engineering at Limkokwing University in Cyberjaya. and I have a O-Levels equivalent certificate from my home country - Bangladesh.

My question:
Will i be able to apply for the 2020 session? the whole 12 year thing confuses me.

TSIntelauto
post Jul 12 2019, 06:13 PM

55 posts

I have updated the original post on this thread.
Please check the original post on page 1 to fully understand the
conditions necessary to study in Japan. If you have any questions,
please feel free to PM me. (might reply late as I lead a busy life)
oRogue- P
post Nov 30 2019, 01:45 AM

Probation

Hello! so I just did my SPM and i'm thinking about studying at Japan.

So may I ask a few questions that I still have no clue even after research smile.gif

1) Does every University in japan requires EJU? If so does the EJU exam covers our syllabus e.g. Math is it Modern Math or Addmath?

2) How expensive will it be to study in Japan? I tried finding some loans/scholarships but to no avail. I come from a pretty mid-tier family.

3) I'm planning to study Economics which is social science what will I be tested in the EJU?

4) Based on your main post, I should just go to a Japanese-Language school as soon as possible? I know of a school here in Malaysia called Pusat Bahasa Teikyo
TSIntelauto
post Dec 8 2019, 06:49 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(oRogue- @ Nov 30 2019, 01:45 AM)
Hello! so I just did my SPM and i'm thinking about studying at Japan.

So may I ask a few questions that I still have no clue even after research smile.gif

1) Does every University in japan requires EJU? If so does the EJU exam covers our syllabus e.g. Math  is it Modern Math or Addmath?

2) How expensive will it be to study in Japan? I tried finding some loans/scholarships but to no avail. I come from a pretty mid-tier family.

3) I'm planning to study Economics which is social science what will I be tested in the EJU?

4) Based on your main post, I should just go to a Japanese-Language school as soon as possible? I know of a school here in Malaysia called Pusat Bahasa Teikyo
1. No. It depends on the university as some will accept JLPT N2/N1.

2. It depends on where and how you live your lifestyle. PM me if you want more information.

3. You can choose your subjects for EJU, and the three subjects that everyone who want to take social science subjects in university are 数学1/2 (Social Science/Science-based Math), 総合科目(General Subject, aka History/Social Science),
日本語(Japanese). Most universities that use EJU use these three main subjects as the standard for entrance.

4. Not necessarily, but I would suggest doing that as you can get a sense as to what and how Japanese bureaucracy works and if you're suited to actually living/studying here. I've seen many students come with a passion for Japanese but just leave after a year because Japan just isn't a good fit for them academically and personality-wise. Otherwise, Teikyo is a good school for language learning/prep for EJU.

This post has been edited by Intelauto: Dec 9 2019, 07:12 PM
Roseysoft1 P
post Dec 14 2019, 01:39 AM

Probation

Hello I would like ask a few questions :

1.Do I had to take EJU also after finished my language school?
2.If I go to PBT, can I take geology courses in university?
3.Which one is more affordable from cost aspect, PBT or study language in Japan?
4.What the difference between study 12 month and 20 month in PBT?
5.Only study language 1 year in Japan can get into university there?
6.If I register with JASSO, can I get into high ranking university in Japan such as Kyoto U and Tokyo U?

Sorry for asking too many but I appreciate if you can reply my question bcoz I thought if my spm result is bad I can't go study in Japan but when I found your website I totally happy like crazy bcuz I think I can go to Japan with this way^^√although it cost a lot of money

Roseysoft1 P
post Dec 14 2019, 03:33 PM

Probation

Hello i just finished my exam Spm this year and i have a few question to ask you:

1. Do I had to take EJU also after finished my language school?

2. If I go to PBT, can I take geology courses in university?

3. Which one is more affordable from cost aspect, PBT or study language in Japan?

4. If I register with JASSO, can I get into high ranking university in Japan such as Kyoto U and Tokyo U?

5. Can i also register with gogonihon to study language in japan after get my result next year?

Sorry for asking too many but I appreciate if you can reply my question bcoz I thought if my spm result is bad I can't go study in Japan but when I found your website I totally happy like crazy bcuz I think I can go to Japan with this way^^√although it cost a lot of money

Roseysoft1 P
post Dec 14 2019, 03:34 PM

Probation

Hello i just finished my exam Spm this year and i have a few question to ask you:

3. Which one is more affordable from cost aspect, PBT or study language in Japan?

4. If I register with JASSO, can I get into high ranking university in Japan such as Kyoto U and Tokyo U?

5. Can i also register with gogonihon to study language in japan after get my result next year?

TSIntelauto
post Dec 14 2019, 06:34 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(Roseysoft1 @ Dec 14 2019, 01:39 AM)
Hello I would like ask a few questions :

1.Do I had to take EJU also after finished my language school?
2.If I go to PBT, can I take geology courses in university?
3.Which one is more affordable from cost aspect, PBT or study language in Japan?
4.What the difference between study 12 month and 20 month in PBT?
5.Only study  language 1 year in Japan can get into university there?
6.If I register with JASSO, can I get into high ranking university in Japan such as Kyoto U and Tokyo U?

1. Not necessarily, but you need it for university admissions as many universities in Japan require EJU.
2. Yes, of course. But you will have to enroll in the science-based program instead of the culture based program if they have them (I didn't go to PBT so I can't advise you on that)
3. Pusat Bahasa Teikyo by a long shot due to living costs.
4. I'm not sure, you'll have to ask people who have been to PBT or ask them yourself.
5. Depends on how hard you work on the language.
6. What do you mean "register with JASSO"? also, entering high ranking universities depends on how hard you try to master the language and adapt yourself to the educational environment here.
Kurogane___
post Dec 15 2019, 03:01 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(Roseysoft1 @ Dec 14 2019, 03:34 PM)

If you want to get admitted into any decent university in Japan you pretty much have to take EJU (and get good scores of course). Maybe there are exceptions, but it is generally highly recommended for you to take EJU. Also, Tokyo U and Kyoto U are notoriously hard to get into. A more realistic target would be from the good private universities in Tokyo area (Meiji U, Chuo U, etc.) or mid-tier public universities (Niigata U, Akita U, Yamagata U, etc.) If geology is from science stream you have to take science subjects in EJU.

Whether you choose PBT or institute from Japan, make sure it is from the designated preparatory course (準備教育課程) list (because you are Form 5 graduate). Both 12-month and 20-month courses from PBT are listed there, but you should probably ask PBT about this to make sure. As long as the course satisfy this requirement, the universities in Japan will not care which institute you went to (or which agent like gogonihon you registered with). What they care is your EJU scores and your secondary school and SPM grades. EJU matters the most so don't get discouraged by bad SPM result. Just make sure you study properly from now on and do well in EJU.

PBT would be much cheaper due to the living cost in Malaysia vs Japan.

In PBT's website, they recommended students who intend to enroll in a university to opt for the 20-month course. Most language institute in Japan would recommend this too because 12 month is a bit too short to prepare properly for EJU and master Japanese language, especially if you are learning Japanese language in Malaysia (PBT), because obviously the environment is "less Japanese" (you are still in Malaysia after all) and it is harder to immerse into the study of the language. However, some institute do provide the 12-month option.

The one institute I would highly recommend (if you want to go to a language institute in Japan) is ABK Institute. They are very experienced in handling international students' education affairs and they do provide a 12-month course of high quality. However, the 12-month course commences on April so you should start applying now if you want to enroll in the coming April (no, you do not need to wait for your SPM result). If you are interested about ABK's course, you can inquire LUJEC (they are in KL). (*Don't worry, I am not a marketing agent. I am just recommending them because I personally had good experience with LUJEC and ABK)

Summary:
You should probably do EJU. Go to PBT or go to a language institute in Japan, it does not matter as long as it is a 準備教育課程. PBT is cheaper. Language institutes in Japan provides better environment for studying Japanese language. 1-year course exists in some language institutes in Japan (I recommend ABK for this), but 1.5-year course gives you more time to prepare properly. Do well in your EJU if you want to get into a decent university in Japan. Start applying (or asking PBT/LUJEC/whatever agent of your choice) NOW if you want to enroll in the coming April.

This post has been edited by Kurogane___: Dec 15 2019, 03:02 PM
NaruKoeru P
post Jan 2 2020, 07:40 PM

Probation

Hello I'm really happy that i would find this post because i really want to further my degrees to Japan. I just finished my STPM and it went really okay-ish i guess?. But my spm is 2As, 2Bs and 4Cs and 1D. I plan to study to japan but I have a lot of questions to make sure i went to the right path for it. Plus on 11th and 12th January 2020 there is an Education Fair certified by JASSO. Most of my education life, I don't really feel that much excitement studying here as much as i want to in Japan. So i have questions in order for myself to prepare:

1. I'm financially unstable but Ill try Affin Bank for student loan for PBT or other language schools but is there any scholarship if i get good "grades"(or points) in EJU?(or any other alternative ones)
2. if I study PBT does that mean i would stay there in the facility of PBT or do I have to rent a room for my basic needs?
3. My parents are kind of hard to convince since my grades are pretty decent but not great. Is there a way for me to convince them that I want to change and be independent?(I just started working part time job in order for myself to change because my goal of studying to japan needs to be complete)
4. For those who studied in Japan but didn't get a scholarship, how do you deal with daily life with your fundings? Is it self finance or do you have to get a student loan?

P.S I kinda got discourage by my parents because of my grades and that i dont have any money as of now but I do plan on setting myself to change in a long term. So I would be really happy if i get enough help for this.
Kurogane___
post Jan 3 2020, 12:07 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(NaruKoeru @ Jan 2 2020, 07:40 PM)
Hello I'm really happy that i would find this post because i really want to further my degrees to Japan. I just finished my STPM and it went really okay-ish i guess?. But my spm is 2As, 2Bs and 4Cs and 1D. I plan to study to japan but I have a lot of questions to make sure i went to the right path for it. Plus on 11th and 12th January 2020 there is an Education Fair certified by JASSO. Most of my education life, I don't really feel that much excitement studying here as much as i want to in Japan. So i have questions in order for myself to prepare:

1. I'm financially unstable but Ill try Affin Bank for student loan for PBT or other language schools but is there any scholarship if i get good "grades"(or points) in EJU?(or any other alternative ones)
2. if I study PBT does that mean i would stay there in the facility of PBT or do I have to rent a room for my basic needs?
3. My parents are kind of hard to convince since my grades are pretty decent but not great. Is there a way for me to convince them that I want to change and be independent?(I just started working part time job in order for myself to change because my goal of studying to japan needs to be complete)
4. For those who studied in Japan but didn't get a scholarship, how do you deal with daily life with your fundings? Is it self finance or do you have to get a student loan?

P.S I kinda got discourage by my parents because of my grades and that i dont have any money as of now but I do plan on setting myself to change in a long term. So I would be really happy if i get enough help for this.
1. Aim for public universities. In many of them, around half of the international students enrolled get 100% tuition fee reduction (so you only need to pay for living costs, which can be covered by doing part time job). There are also some scholarships available in Japan but most of them are in small amount (they are only designed to encourage you, not to cover your living cost or tuition fee). The ones that fully cover your living cost and/or tuition fees are very difficult to get and usually require interview in Japan. I am not sure about scholarships provided here in Malaysia, but I assume they are hard to get as well.

2. You will probably rent a room nearby. But I do not come from PBT so I am not sure about this.

3. Not much we can say as they are your parents, you probably know them better than we do. To be perfectly honest, I won't even recommend studying in Japan if financing is an issue. But if you can demonstrate your responsibility and grit through your willingness to do a part time job to finance yourself, they might get convinced.

4. Part time job. Some international students do more than 28 hours weekly of part time job in Japan (which is illegal) to finance for both living cost and tuition fee, but I won't recommend this for obvious reason (it's illegal). But if you get 100% tuition fee cut (as I stated in 1.), living cost alone can easily be covered by 28 hours of part time.
NaruKoeru P
post Jan 12 2020, 08:56 AM

Probation

QUOTE(Kurogane___ @ Jan 3 2020, 12:07 AM)
1. Aim for public universities. In many of them, around half of the international students enrolled get 100% tuition fee reduction (so you only need to pay for living costs, which can be covered by doing part time job). There are also some scholarships available in Japan but most of them are in small amount (they are only designed to encourage you, not to cover your living cost or tuition fee). The ones that fully cover your living cost and/or tuition fees are very difficult to get and usually require interview in Japan. I am not sure about scholarships provided here in Malaysia, but I assume they are hard to get as well.

2. You will probably rent a room nearby. But I do not come from PBT so I am not sure about this.

3. Not much we can say as they are your parents, you probably know them better than we do. To be perfectly honest, I won't even recommend studying in Japan if financing is an issue. But if you can demonstrate your responsibility and grit through your willingness to do a part time job to finance yourself, they might get convinced.

4. Part time job. Some international students do more than 28 hours weekly of part time job in Japan (which is illegal) to finance for both living cost and tuition fee, but I won't recommend this for obvious reason (it's illegal). But if you get 100% tuition fee cut (as I stated in 1.), living cost alone can easily be covered by 28 hours of part time.
Thanks for this information! I managed to ask my parents to take me on study to japan education fair certified by JASSO! Since i got an offer to study to japan with the help of my parents and Tokyo World Language School i am able to prepare to go there and set stones this year! Thank you so much!

My parents are teachers and i'm sorry that i said financial unstable considering i am in mid class family. Thank you still! I would be able to prepare first for the study

NaruKoeru P
post Jan 12 2020, 08:56 AM

Probation

QUOTE(Kurogane___ @ Jan 3 2020, 12:07 AM)

Thanks for this information! I managed to ask my parents to take me on study to japan education fair certified by JASSO! Since i got an offer to study to japan with the help of my parents and Tokyo World Language School i am able to prepare to go there and set stones this year! Thank you so much!

My parents are teachers and i'm sorry that i said financial unstable considering i am in mid class family. Thank you still! I would be able to prepare first for the study

NaruKoeru P
post Jan 12 2020, 08:58 AM

Probation

Thanks for this information! I managed to ask my parents to take me on study to japan education fair certified by JASSO! Since i got an offer to study to japan with the help of my parents and Tokyo World Language School i am able to prepare to go there and set stone this year! Thank you so much!

Oh and my parents are teachers and i'm sorry that i said financial unstable considering i am in mid class family. Thank you still! I would be able to prepare first for the study

gonzalo20
post Jan 31 2020, 11:19 PM

Cuckoo Agent
927 posts

Hi, where did u guys learn Japanese in Malaysia? how long do you guys take to master it? or at least pass Japanese language test? TQ.
warhammer
post Feb 18 2020, 09:45 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(gonzalo20 @ Jan 31 2020, 11:19 PM)
Hi, where did u guys learn Japanese in Malaysia? how long do you guys take to master it? or at least pass Japanese language test? TQ.
I studied in this language center for a couple of years before getting my N1. Quite cheap, only RM280 for 12 weekly classes.
https://www.facebook.com/Dynamic.Vision.Resources.DVR/
tradingGo
post May 29 2020, 07:52 PM

122 posts

sorry, a bit off topic here. Are there any uni in m'sia that offers bachelor's degree in Japanese language, other than UM?
oe_kintaro
post Jun 3 2020, 10:26 AM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(tradingGo @ May 29 2020, 07:52 PM)
sorry, a bit off topic here. Are there any uni in m'sia that offers bachelor's degree in Japanese language, other than UM?
Try the BA program of USM's School of Languages, Literacies and Translation.
tanakimura8
post Jun 4 2020, 02:22 PM

49 posts

have an MA degree in japanese but have never been to japan
thanks for sharing your experience and recommendations
Hongdog P
post Jul 19 2020, 01:04 PM

Probation

I know this is late but just wanna ask any college recommendation in Japan for students with meh results?
1_2_# P
post Oct 27 2020, 08:44 PM

Probation

英語

When I finished my SPM, I knew that I wanted to study in Japan but the information that was given to me by various people were confusing, and when I started to live and experience life here, some of them were wrong. So, i've decided to open this thread up so that it'll help future prospective students from Malaysia if they want to pursue that undergraduate studies in Japan!

1) Continue you STPM

The reason is because we Malaysians only have 11 years of education after we finish off our SPM, so by completing STPM or any other equivalent that bumps you up to 12 years of education. But I did #2, which is attending a Japanese Language School. If you want to do this option, I suggest you find a Language School in Japan that is certified by MEXT (文部科学省)/ (Monbukagakushou) so that after you graduate, you'll be eligible to enter a University for their undergraduate program. Of course, you can also attend the Japanese Language School we have in Malaysia called Bahasa Institut Teikyo as well.

In principle, you must have completed 12 years of education to apply for admission to a university (undergraduate), junior college, or professional training college in Japan.
※Students who have completed 11 years of education to apply for admission to a college of technology, and 16 years of education for admission to a graduate school (master's program). For further details, please refer to “Admission Requirements for Japanese Higher Education Institutions.” “Admission Requirements for Japanese Higher Education Institutions” Students from countries such as India, Nepal, Bangladesh, Malaysia and Mongolia who have completed 10 or 11 years of elementary and secondary school education and wish to apply for admission to higher education institutions, such as universities, in Japan must meet either of the following eligibility criteria:

1.Have completed 12 years of formal school education by taking an additional one or two years of schooling at a university or other higher education institution or a university preparatory program in their home country.
2.Have completed university preparatory courses (junbi kyouiku katei) authorized by the Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology of Japan (provided, however, that they have completed a level of education equivalent to a Japanese High School).

日本語

SPMを終わらせた瞬間に、来日したかったことは確かにあったが様々な人に流された情報が矛盾であったため混乱してしまいました。来日し暮らし始めると、流された情報が間違った部分もあったし、ただ単に偏見的な意見もあったんで、日本に留学したい・または働きたい若者にLowyatに投稿させていただきました。

1)STPMを続くこと。
2)すぐに来日し、日本語学校で日本語を学ぶ。

マレーシア人は基本的にSPMまでは11年の教育しか満たされていないため、日本の大学に入学する条件を満たしていない。上の①か②を選択し、12年の教育条件を満たすことになります。マスター(修士)を希望する方は16年間の教育を満たすことを条件としますので、しっかり自分の教育経路を確認しておいてください。

まとめる、教育条件として以下になります。

以上になります。
1_2_# P
post Oct 27 2020, 08:53 PM

Probation

Hi, Im currently a student in Pusat Bahasa Teikyo ( used to be Institut Bahasa Teikyo) as of 2020. However I will not recommen anyone to come and study in teikyo, at least for none JPA students( I dont mean to act racist or bring up anything related to racial problem). I dont know how was it a few years back but now, the teachers a bunch of useless teacher, and hope that students completes their syllabus by themselves. Further more, this "institut" will NOT guarentee a 100% entrance to japan uni except for their own uni, yes they have their own uni. Furthermore since the pandemic has started, due to the incapability of the old teachers to cope with technology such as using Zoom, the teaching quality is very poor. And, dont even think of having a nice campus. Overall, I will suggest anyone that want to go Japan for studies to go straight to Japan and find a programm there since having a Japanese speaking enviroment will also help for improving ur Japanaese.
1_2_# P
post Oct 27 2020, 08:54 PM

Probation

Hi, Im currently a student in Pusat Bahasa Teikyo ( used to be Institut Bahasa Teikyo) as of 2020. However I will not recommen anyone to come and study in teikyo, at least for none JPA students( I dont mean to act racist or bring up anything related to racial problem). I dont know how was it a few years back but now, the teachers a bunch of useless teacher, and hope that students completes their syllabus by themselves. Further more, this "institut" will NOT guarentee a 100% entrance to japan uni except for their own uni, yes they have their own uni. Furthermore since the pandemic has started, due to the incapability of the old teachers to cope with technology such as using Zoom, the teaching quality is very poor. And, dont even think of having a nice campus. Overall, I will suggest anyone that want to go Japan for studies to go straight to Japan and find a programm there since having a Japanese speaking enviroment will also help for improving ur Japanaese.
kodasnake117
post Nov 30 2020, 11:55 AM

49 posts

Hi everyone, I'm an ex-student of Pusat Bahasa Teikyo and unless you're a JPA student I would highly recommend avoiding this place. The teaching standards have dropped drastically as most of the good teachers have already left this year. The current staff and teachers are some of the most unfriendly and rude people I've ever met.

First of all, don't believe the lie that you can join this school if you don't know Japanese. (Thats what their recruiter told me) You need to know min N4 level Japanese if you're gonna survive the class. The 20 months course is basically A levels but in Japanese. As such, things will move very fast and the senseis will only speak Japanese to you whether you understand them or not.

Second of all, there is a very clear sense of bias between the JPA and Private students. The JPA are treated very well (they get a lot of freebies, custom t-shirts, dorm arrangements, school bus service, etc) while the Private students get nothing at all even though we're paying the same amount of fees. (Don't get me started on how they treated the private students during Covid-19 pandemic)

Thirdly, Private students are nothing more than tools to lure people in. The school will ask you to participate in a lot of PVs, bring people into your class during tours, and even offer you money if you convince any poor soul to join the school. They won't show you the JPA class tho. (Not to be racist, but I think the idea is people will feel more comfortable seeing an equal amount of races in a class than a class where 80% of students wear tudungs)

Lastly, the homework given by PBT is insane as they believe doing homework = studying, and that the average student should study 10 hours a day. So in other words they'll give you 10 hours worth of hw each day. If you're lazy person this might be effective for you but for those self studying types like me its a nightmare because of the mountains of hw they give each day.

In short, like the previous post said you're better off saving money and going to a japanese language school in japan instead.
red123
post Dec 21 2020, 12:02 PM

206 posts

lol so they are basically getting paid by your tuition fee to do marketing.
MiaSarah P
post Dec 26 2020, 05:48 PM

Probation

英語

1) Continue you STPM

日本語

1)STPMを続くこと。
2)すぐに来日し、日本語学校で日本語を学ぶ。

まとめる、教育条件として以下になります。

以上になります。
Hello,
I want to ask about something. If I have take an individual STPM,, do I must take the Language School too?

dummies
post Apr 15 2021, 01:57 PM

268 posts

anyone study at Pusat Bahasa Teikyo now ? is it their standard is so bad per the two negative feedback given above?
Deveshwer P
post Nov 30 2021, 02:23 PM

Probation

Hello . . I'ma a enrolling my degree coarse in AI engineering in Melaka at public university.. it's just been half a year since I entered. . So what should I do to further my studies in Japan uni. .

benho88 P
post Dec 7 2021, 02:53 PM

Probation

is the living expenses over there very expensive?
SUSRising Rivals
post Mar 1 2022, 09:40 AM

50 posts

Wish to take Japanese lesson for casual learning. Anywhere recommended?
allisonzk
post May 13 2022, 09:42 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(Rising Rivals @ Mar 1 2022, 09:40 AM)
Wish to take Japanese lesson for casual learning. Anywhere recommended?
If you're after casual learning, I would recommend the best source, and it's free! From NHK themselves!!

NHK offers japanese lessons in a very didactive way, also with sound and video support!

Please copy and paste this url (I cannot link a website due to probation mode)

www3.nhk.or.jp/nhkworld/en/learnjapanese/

Enjoy!
miniacs
post Dec 26 2023, 07:32 PM

386 posts

Anyone here from Todai? i wonder how many Malaysians study there as undergraduate?
SUSHoka Nobasho
post Oct 3 2024, 01:19 AM

875 posts

QUOTE(ericling @ Mar 8 2017, 09:36 AM)

As a Chinese native speaker, kanji will be easier for you, but you'll still need to learn hiragana and katakana. Speaking will be trickier due to different grammar, but you can manage basic conversations in three months. Writing will require more time, as Japanese uses kanji differently than Chinese. (this hanzi doesn't exist in Chinese is 働 (はたらく, hataraku), which means "to work" in Japanese. This character was created in Japan by combining elements from existing kanji, and it’s unique to the Japanese language.)

Language Centers: Good for fast progress with structured lessons.
Online: Use apps like WaniKani (kanji), Lingodeer (grammar), and italki (speaking).
Self-Study: Textbooks like Genki and YouTube channels like Japanese Ammo with Misa.

In three months, you can learn the basics, especially in reading and speaking. Fluency will take more time, but a mix of methods works best.

Fun fact: 和製漢語 Wasei kango are words that use kanji but were actually created in Japan, not imported from China. A fun example is 電話 (でんわ, denwa), meaning "telephone." While both kanji (電 for "electricity" and 話 for "talk") are Chinese in origin, the combination as a single word for "telephone" was invented in Japan and later influenced other languages, including modern Chinese!

Not so fun fact: You will struggle a bit with speaking in Japanese. Sorry, it has been quite a phenomenon with learners who are Chinese-ed, where pronunciation is always a problem. This is where you need to work extra hard, and in case you're wondering BANANA CHINESE somehow don't have problems in this area.

This post has been edited by Hoka Nobasho: Oct 3 2024, 01:24 AM
sexy188
post Jan 16 2025, 03:13 PM

66 posts

Does this information still apply for students planning to study in Japan in 2025?
Kayziealnatz
post Feb 7 2025, 12:30 PM

178 posts

Is there sponsored opportunity to further study in Japan at the age of 37 and above, on undergraduate or postgraduate?

0.0486sec    0.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 09:19 AM