AMD Radeon™ Discussion V15, Radeon Software 20.10.1

xxboxx
post Feb 1 2020, 10:14 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(JohnsonLoi @ Jan 14 2020, 01:04 AM)
Downloaded the video, it also has stuttering problem.

Looks like I have to upgrade the GPU instead of the CPU.

Lately I have been reading CPU and GPU stuff online and I am eyeing GTX 1660 since I tested it in a computer shop(i5 9400F CPU, GTX 1660)  and it can run 8k 60fps smoothly as well (reaching around 78% GPU, 20% CPU on task manager). Price seems to be around RM1.1k+ after converting to Ringgit

Currently my specs are :
Power Supply - Corsair GS600
Processor - Intel i5-3550 @3.30ghz (ivy bridge)
Motherboard - Gigabyte Z77-D3H

If I were to upgrade to this GPU, i do not have to upgrade anything else right?

i5 3470 with GTX 1060, have no problem running HEVC 4k HDR 60fps, no stuttering.
If you're not for playing games, you can just buy second hand, Pascal GPU can get very cheaper now.
Or go for GTX 1650/1660 if in future you need it to support VP9 10/12 bit and also HEVC 4:4:4.
xxboxx
post Sep 19 2020, 10:36 AM

5,261 posts

6000 series announcement is 2 weeks after RTX 3070 start selling. mega_shok.gif
I guess it means AMD card won't even able to compete with 3070.
xxboxx
post Sep 27 2020, 03:39 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Sep 27 2020, 11:17 AM)
To be fair though, with the shortage and the capacitor issues plaguing the current crop of RTX GPUs, AMD can rest easy.... for now tongue.gif

Also Navi 22 will likely to have a maximum clock speed of 2.5GHz shocking.gif
https://videocardz.com/newz/amd-navi-21-to-...-navi-23-32-cus
Also possibility AMD delay their launching which also delay their selling because TSMC production allocation all used up for producing chip for PS5 and Xbox.
xxboxx
post Oct 4 2020, 10:15 AM

5,261 posts

Massively bigger GPU die
2200mhz boost
80 CU
16GB RAM

Big Navi sounds like going to be really big.
xxboxx
post Oct 11 2020, 08:04 PM

5,261 posts

AMD RX 6000 Wasn’t the Biggest Navi?
xxboxx
post Oct 12 2020, 01:39 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Oct 12 2020, 10:55 AM)
We don't know? hmm.gif
There's rumour now the sneak peek AMD giving during Ryzen 5000 launching is not using it's flagship GPU.

Come to think about it, if AMD already show it's best GPU performance, it will not be exciting anymore when doing Radeon launching. Now people thought that's its max performance, when launching they show something even higher performance, sure will get people excited.
xxboxx
post Oct 12 2020, 08:33 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Oct 12 2020, 04:11 PM)
Source pls?
If RNDA2 CU scale linearly like in a perfect world, 80 CU will definitely perform higher than 3080 but from past experienced they never scale linearly.. not even close, even the mighty Nvidia couldn't make it happen on high core counts die.

Dissecting the AMD vs. Nvidia chess match

Most importantly, Herkelman stressed that AMD didn’t state which Radeon RX 6000 graphics card ran these benchmarks. We don’t know whether these results come from the biggest Big Navi GPU, or a more modest offering. (Herkelman also said there’s still fine-tuning left to do before launch.) AMD’s Ryzen 9 5900X, the CPU used for the tease, also hasn’t been tested by independent reviewers.

https://www.pcworld.com/article/3585090/amd...e-rtx-3080.html

xxboxx
post Oct 29 2020, 04:11 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Oct 29 2020, 01:46 PM)
Yeah, also maybe they don't have RT and Tensor core. Still, the jump in efficiency from RDNA1 and 2, based on the slides, are quite impressive, like the jump from 780Ti to 980Ti on the same 28nm (lol those are the days).
Now the previously confirmed fake leak doesn't look so fake anymore. A lot of it is right as per announcement.
https://www.tweaktown.com/news/73241/amd-ra...ides/index.html
I bet it's someone with inside info that purposely share this leak and add other fake stuff to obscure it.

So now whether RXRT is AMD answer to RTX and if the slide are true, not much performance hit when turning it on.
xxboxx
post Oct 29 2020, 04:34 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ Oct 29 2020, 04:19 PM)
Looking forward to see what AMD will do with ray tracing, especially since most of the devices moving forward will have their version of it. Maybe expecting something this gen is too soon, perhaps in a couple of years we'll see something amazing with RT.
I think AMD will have ray tracing for this gen as it is part of DX12 Ultimate, too big of a feature to omit it.
xxboxx
post Oct 31 2020, 09:59 AM

5,261 posts

AMD updated their benchmark, now even higher result. FH4 at 2k, 6800 even beating 3090. Really wtf!
MS studio game seem in favor of Radeon card, maybe they work together to optimized the game and driver.
I think Smart Access Memory also helped to make communication between CPU and GPU faster, which is important when at lower resolution that can push more fps.

https://www.amd.com/en/gaming/graphics-gaming-benchmarks

Can even compare fps per dollar lol

https://www.tomshardware.com/news/amd-radeo...ing-performance

xxboxx
post Oct 31 2020, 02:51 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(S4PH @ Oct 31 2020, 02:29 PM)
i leave mine on for days as u know ahem2 downloads slow house internet when i wanna wake up the screen its just black screen, need to pull out the dp cable and reinsert then have display, sometimes cycling the panel power works but most of the time i have to disconnect the dp.

not a big issue for me. my monitor works fine btw no problems or defects
Most router these day have download manager. No need to leave PC running for days just to download.
xxboxx
post Nov 2 2020, 08:30 PM

5,261 posts

3070 owner slowly burned?

AMD Radeon RX 6800 Beats NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3070 in Shadow of the Tomb Raider (4K, WQHD), Even with Ray Tracing Enabled (DLSS Off)

PJ_Lab_UH has shared benchmarks of the Radeon RX 6800 running Shadow of the Tomb Raider, which show that the GPU can hit 46 FPS and 80 FPS in the 4K and WQHD settings, respectively, with ray tracing enabled in the High setting.

Additional benchmarks compiled by Wccftech suggest that the Radeon RX 6800’s ray-tracing performance actually exceeds NVIDIA’s newly launched GeForce RTX 3070, as well as the older, Turing-based GeForce RTX 2080 Ti flagship, when DLSS is disabled.

Shadow of the Tomb Raider (WQHD / RT High / Ultra Preset / 8x AAF / DLSS off)
Radeon RX 6800: 80 FPS
GeForce RTX 2080 Ti: 75 FPS (-6 percent)
GeForce RTX 3070: 74 FPS (-8 percent)

Shadow of the Tomb Raider (4K / RT High / Ultra Preset / 8x AAF / DLSS off)
Radeon RX 6800: 46 FPS
GeForce RTX 2080 Ti: 40 FPS (-13 percent)
GeForce RTX 3070: 38 FPS (-17 percent)

As you might expect, the story changes in favor of NVIDIA’s GeForce GPUs when its Deep Learning Super Sampling technology, DLSS, is enabled.

Shadow of the Tomb Raider (WQHD / RT High / Ultra Preset / 8x AAF / DLSS on)
Radeon RX 6800: 80 FPS
GeForce RTX 2080 Ti: 87 FPS (+8 percent)
GeForce RTX 3070: 85 FPS (+6 percent)

Shadow of the Tomb Raider (4K / RT High / Ultra Preset / 8x AAF / DLSS on)
Radeon RX 6800: 46 FPS
GeForce RTX 2080 Ti: 58 FPS (+26 percent)
GeForce RTX 3070: 54 FPS (+17 percent)

https://www.thefpsreview.com/2020/10/31/amd...abled-dlss-off/
Uniko’s Hardware’s PJ also posted the first result of the Radeon RX 6800 GPU running in 3DMark TimeSpy. Here, the Graphics chip delivers a graphics score of 16,775 points and an overall score of 12,704 points.

The GPU is said to feature a TGP of 250-280W, so that’s 60W higher wattage than the GeForce RTX 3070. To make a direct comparison of these Time Spy scores, we can use the most recent review from Guru3D, who tested an MSI RTX 3070 GAMING X Trio GPU, which scored 14159 graphics points.

This makes the Radeon RX 6800 18% faster than MSI RTX 3070 Gaming X Trio. The AMD card is even 22% faster than the reference GPU model which has also been tested in the same benchmark. But you should exercise caution with any early preliminary scores, because we don’t know if the RX 6800 was using final compatible drivers, and/or if the graphics card was also overclocked.

https://www.dsogaming.com/news/amd-radeon-r...mark-leaks-out/
xxboxx
post Nov 5 2020, 09:49 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(sakuraboo @ Nov 5 2020, 01:55 AM)
Whoa

But thing is in sam they required 500 motherboard and 5000 cpu

Seems like a very small sub set of requirements?

Or if nvidia enable it, it will be exclusive to 500 and 5000 as well?
Require 500 mobo because of PCIE Gen 4? If not for PCIE Gen 4 then older mobo will also be compatible.
I didn't notice got mention need 500 mobo, if not mistaken they only mention engineering mobo.
xxboxx
post Nov 5 2020, 10:02 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(sakuraboo @ Nov 5 2020, 09:52 AM)

Sorry what do you mean by engineering mobo

Smart access memory as mentioned in amd website
During 6000 series launching at the disclaimer it only mention engineering mobo (or something similar, can't remember), it didn't mention B550 / X570 or 500 series mobo. Too bad if older mobo can't support it.
xxboxx
post Nov 5 2020, 12:09 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(latios507 @ Nov 5 2020, 10:56 AM)
?????
'Engineering mobo' is referring to the Mobo they use to activate the SAM. There could be a reason why they didn't name the mobo explicitly/specifically as to not to upset their partners or something along that line.
Engineering mobo can be any version of the mobo, could even be a new version of mobo. Doesn't need to mention which partner mobo, they could have just mention B550/X570 or 500 series mobo. Anyway all is good now since they already mentioned 500 series.
xxboxx
post Nov 5 2020, 02:49 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 5 2020, 01:00 PM)
Impossible, because the 400 series was designed during the time of the Zen+.

500 series is a different beast altogether for Zen 2 and Zen 3.
If it rides on the PCIE Gen 4 link then understandably why 400 series can't work but so far they didn't mention the specific why only 500 series.
xxboxx
post Nov 19 2020, 06:41 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(nill @ Nov 18 2020, 10:38 PM)
Most important question, how many online sellers will force bundle? Is it:
a. All
b. All
c. All
Sadly GPU makers didn't control their distributor. Unlike Sony, when Gam*cough* Hid*cough* try to force bundle selling PS5.

QUOTE(sojurn @ Nov 18 2020, 11:22 PM)
It seems the summary is something like this:

Raster:
4K: Win some / Lose some on both sides
1440p: Generally AMD
1080p: AMD

But, if you care about RT, go with nVidia. Either way, great showing by AMD, esp with the additional VRAM. Hope RDNA3 keeps up the pace and competes on RT as well.

This is my take away, and kinda what I've concluded for ~1-2 weeks now based on leaks but needed today to confirm. Really happy with the 6800XT.
6000 series competitive gamers will flock it as it better in the 1%
xxboxx
post Dec 13 2020, 06:15 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(xKeneshirox @ Dec 13 2020, 03:55 PM)
The 6800xt is supposed to be the 3080 equivalent kan? I see them sellin for like.. 4k+
Like that better go sg or thai buy and smuggle in. Can probably save money at that point
3080 fe same price as 6800xt fe. But now 3080 also selling at 4k+
xxboxx
post Jan 25 2021, 06:30 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Jan 25 2021, 05:58 PM)
that's not a bad price for 3060Ti... Lazada selling for SGD659

I thought Malaysia, lots of fake seller in Lazada and Shopee.
xxboxx
post Feb 5 2021, 09:27 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ Feb 5 2021, 03:03 PM)
hey guys! its been a while since i upgraded my GPU.
Reporting in with Sapphire Nitro+ RX6900XT biggrin.gif
The highest GPU thumbup.gif
How much you got it for?

0.1054sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:23 PM