need suggestion for new phone, xiaomi redmi 3s,redmi note 3 pro, others

TSkaorihanao
post Nov 1 2016, 01:54 AM, updated 10y ago

80 posts

I posted almost the same question months ago and didnt get much feedback, and i delay my intention to buy a new phone. so im hoping this time it will work lol

i've been searching 11street, gemfive, lelong, and here, lowyat too... price comparison already done. problem is, im hoping to get the best choice of price vs specs for the phone.

for example, redmi 3s pro ( official xiaomi MY warranty) costs rm639, compare to redmi note 3 pro (imported) rm 659. by specs, redmi note 3 is better than redmi 3s, is it?

sifus here can share me knowledge is it a big difference between redmi 3s than redmi note 3? ( i choose ram 3gb of coz)

the imported sets said they will flash global rom upon requests. will the bloatware that most ppl complaint will still happens after having global rom? and is there any other risks of buying imported sets? ( im taking risk/worthy consideration too)

my price range is around 450-700 . was using iphone 5 before and it is broken. i rarely change phone cuz dont have much money. sad.gif

xiaomi battery capacity is tempting. but im open to other suggestions too. looking forward to buy online only. and most of my friends dont have xiaomi phone. they still stuck in iphone/samsung circle. no chance of having to try xiaomi, thats why im asking people here notworthy.gif

help me, senpai, sifus icon_question.gif notworthy.gif icon_question.gif notworthy.gif icon_question.gif
qwertyweee
post Nov 1 2016, 08:05 PM

104 posts

performance between all the redmi 3 models dont differ that much and you generally cant feel the diffrence unless you look at benchmarks scores. my opinion is to go with more ram so it wont just close all apps and can multitask better. All i know for xiomi phones is that the global rom just adds google play services (play store etc.) compared to just xiomi's own app store for the china rom. the bloatware is still there. The redmi 3 is fine for daily task (social network , web browsing & light gaming ).

This post has been edited by qwertyweee: Nov 1 2016, 08:07 PM
c9ooi
post Nov 1 2016, 10:52 PM

REdmi note 3 on 11street got tis price http://www.11street.my/productdetail/xiaom...al-sim-15293310 RM488 free shipping

TSkaorihanao
post Nov 2 2016, 08:49 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(qwertyweee @ Nov 1 2016, 08:05 PM)
performance between all the redmi 3 models dont differ that much and you generally cant feel the diffrence unless you look at benchmarks scores. my opinion is to go with more ram so it wont just close all apps and can multitask better. All i know for xiomi phones is that the global rom just adds  google play services (play store etc.) compared to just xiomi's own app store for the china rom. the bloatware is still there. The redmi 3 is fine for daily task (social network , web browsing & light gaming ).
the bloatware still there even after flash global rom? i guess its better not opting for imported sets right. i dont like laggy and hangs, currently having that problem with galaxy tab 2 im using now lol

the difference of price is around rm100 between imported set with MY set.. im just using it for social apps, and hotspot lte .... games i play on ipad... i guess redmi 3s suits me? is there any other reliable phone with 3gb ram other than this?
cloudinaflask
post Nov 2 2016, 11:06 PM

33 posts

I'm using Redmi Note 3 Pro 3GB version right now. I picked it over the 3S because I believe that the better CPU allows it to be more future-proof (or so I hope tongue.gif). Do remember that 3S comes with a 5 inch screen, whereas the Note 3 Pro have a larger 5.5 inch screen.

If you want to buy a new Malaysia set Note 3 Pro, the cheapest deal I could find on the net is this. Otherwise you could wait for 11/11, since there might be good deals online on that day at Lazada and what not.

Another interesting option at your price range would be the Mi4. The specs are pretty good compared to 3S but it doesn't have 4G and MicroSD slot.

Almost forgot, if you ever bought Imported set of Note 3 Pro, check out r/xiaomi. I remember there's a guide on how to flash Global ROM properly over there.

This post has been edited by cloudinaflask: Nov 2 2016, 11:09 PM
TSkaorihanao
post Nov 2 2016, 11:57 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(cloudinaflask @ Nov 2 2016, 11:06 PM)
I'm using Redmi Note 3 Pro 3GB version right now. I picked it over the 3S because I believe that the better CPU allows it to be more future-proof (or so I hope tongue.gif). Do remember that 3S comes with a 5 inch screen, whereas the Note 3 Pro have a larger 5.5 inch screen.

If you want to buy a new Malaysia set Note 3 Pro, the cheapest deal I could find on the net is this. Otherwise you could wait for 11/11, since there might be good deals online on that day at Lazada and what not.

Another interesting option at your price range would be the Mi4. The specs are pretty good compared to 3S but it doesn't have 4G and MicroSD slot.

Almost forgot, if you ever bought Imported set of Note 3 Pro, check out r/xiaomi. I remember there's a guide on how to flash Global ROM properly over there.
between lazada, gemfive, 11street, which is more reliable? some say they got xiaomi malaysia warranty, but is it MY set? im not sure how reliable they are in terms of malaysia set / import sets. if they give import sets with global rom flash, is there a way to know that? so i wont get screwed haha

gemfive and lazada got similar deals, but now got gemfive promo code can less around rm70 rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
qwertyweee
post Nov 3 2016, 12:50 AM

104 posts

the experience using imported set and local set is the same. my opinion is its better to go with local set because generally low cost phone use lower quality component to xut cost. therefore if anything goes wrong in the warrenry period, replacing the phone will be easier of it is a local set with warrenty from xiaomi Malaysia.

TSkaorihanao
post Nov 3 2016, 02:14 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(qwertyweee @ Nov 3 2016, 12:50 AM)
the experience using imported set and local set  is the same. my opinion is its better to go with local set because generally low cost phone use lower quality component to xut cost. therefore if anything goes wrong in the warrenry period, replacing the phone will be easier  of it is a local set with warrenty from xiaomi Malaysia.
i agree its better local set.. cuz i dont buy phone frequently, just buy when needed.. just scared scam telling xiaomi warranty, but give import sets with global rom lol

any online shop u wanna recommend? hmm.gif
qwertyweee
post Nov 3 2016, 08:33 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(kaorihanao @ Nov 3 2016, 02:14 AM)
i agree its better local set.. cuz i dont buy phone frequently, just buy when needed.. just scared scam telling xiaomi warranty, but give import sets with global rom lol

any online shop u wanna recommend? hmm.gif
the only way i can confirm that the phone is 100% is original malaysian set is to buy from xiaomi malaysia website. plus sometimes you get free gifts buying from them.and also free shipping

This post has been edited by qwertyweee: Nov 3 2016, 08:33 AM

0.0174sec    0.58    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:05 AM