Total Votes: 14
Guests cannot vote 

TSmariobros
post Oct 28 2016, 09:42 AM, updated 10y ago

66 posts

Shopping for engagement ring icon_rolleyes.gif
From your experience, which shop that you're satisfied with?

- Prefer physical shops or those can see the physical jewellery
- No expensive brands like Swarovski or Tiffany or De Beers
- Prefer those already setup with ring instead of choosing loose gem and ring separately
SUSEdBaaBaa
post Oct 28 2016, 09:48 AM

67 posts

FYI Swarovski is NOT expensive brand

manmade crystals only
CheAd
post Oct 28 2016, 09:49 AM

37 posts

far east jewellers, ampang park.
TSmariobros
post Oct 28 2016, 10:07 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(EdBaaBaa @ Oct 28 2016, 09:48 AM)
FYI Swarovski is NOT expensive brand

manmade crystals only

Oops ok haha kept brainwashed by ads that it is premium

QUOTE(CheAd @ Oct 28 2016, 09:49 AM)
far east jewellers, ampang park.

This ok ah? Got experience before?
bb100
post Oct 28 2016, 01:54 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

Wah Chan for the best deals!
TSmariobros
post Oct 28 2016, 07:44 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Oct 28 2016, 01:54 PM)
Wah Chan for the best deals!

Wah Chan vs Poh Kong. Both ok?
doraemonkiller
post Oct 28 2016, 10:29 PM

1,128 posts

It is depends on you whether you are more concern on price, quality, service or brand.

If you are looking on Quality:
Rank 1 should go to 101 facets Hemera Diamond which is available on 20% of Poh Kong outlets, Diamond Boutique, Diamond and Gold and Poh Kong Gallery.
Why Hemera diamond?
- The only diamond in Malaysia which consist of more than 100 facets.
- Currently the world most brilliance diamond in the world since 4 years ago.
- Trade In Value is the highest in the market. There is no deduction on the diamond if you upgrade to any size in the future. Depreciation only apply on the white gold casing. Thus, there is 2 price tag which separate the diamond and casing when you purchase. And this is the only diamond you can sell for cash in the future provided with receipt and certificate (sell back to the same company).
- The design of casing is different with other company, it is specially made for Hemera diamond only. the casing and prongs are thick from side view (although from top view you really can't see it is thick).
- You can view the pavilion part of diamond. Usually normal casing cover half of the pavilion part of diamond.
- Can easily find the outlets for services.

Other options for quality diamond:
Allove Diamond from SK Jewellery with 81 facets.
- Price is higher than Hemera Diamond even after discount.
- Brilliance, Fire and Sparkle at grade High.

Estrella Diamond from Diamond Platinium
- Their marketing and service is good.

If you are more concern on Pricing:
Wah Chan should be the rank 1
- Normal diamond (57 facets)
- Quality of workmanship and service hmm hmm

Lazo Diamond should be rank 2

Don't need to thx me. My 2 cents. I work at Jewellery line.
You can forget about all those branded shop with normal diamond but ridiculous price like Love & Co, Tiffany and others.

This post has been edited by doraemonkiller: Oct 28 2016, 10:33 PM
bb100
post Oct 28 2016, 10:39 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(mariobros @ Oct 28 2016, 07:44 PM)
Wah Chan vs Poh Kong. Both ok?
I prefer Wah Chan.

Poh Kong punya salesperson very cocky.

I went to their Midvalley branch and Sunway branch.

Both cocky like sh!t.

Whereas Wah Chan punya willing to spend a few hours chatting with me about their diamond grading.
doraemonkiller
post Oct 28 2016, 11:12 PM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Oct 28 2016, 10:39 PM)
I prefer Wah Chan.

Poh Kong punya salesperson very cocky.

I went to their Midvalley branch and Sunway branch.

Both cocky like sh!t.

Whereas Wah Chan punya willing to spend a few hours chatting with me about their diamond grading.
Depends the salesperson you met.
bb100
post Oct 28 2016, 11:28 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(doraemonkiller @ Oct 28 2016, 11:12 PM)
Depends the salesperson you met.
Takkan both branches I also met with fooked up salespersons right?
doraemonkiller
post Oct 29 2016, 12:08 AM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Oct 28 2016, 11:28 PM)
Takkan both branches I also met with fooked up salespersons right?
If need to take few hours just to talk about grading then most of the salesperson might become cocky except the newbs. Only within 15 minutes to understand the grading is good enough.
bb100
post Oct 29 2016, 12:14 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(doraemonkiller @ Oct 29 2016, 12:08 AM)
If need to take few hours just to talk about grading then most of the salesperson might become cocky except the newbs. Only within 15 minutes to understand the grading is good enough.
I went there and tell them my requirements they already macam don't wanna do my business.

Where still got chance to talk with them?

The Wah Chan one is the salesperson willingly explain to me the details wan.

Deswai can talk until a few hours.

Besides chatting about diamonds we also got talk about marriage proposals, which ring setting his customers usually look for and so on.
DoomCognition
post Oct 30 2016, 05:25 PM

737 posts

QUOTE(doraemonkiller @ Oct 28 2016, 10:29 PM)
It is depends on you whether you are more concern on price, quality, service or brand.

If you are looking on Quality:
Rank 1 should go to 101 facets Hemera Diamond which is available on 20% of Poh Kong outlets, Diamond Boutique, Diamond and Gold and Poh Kong Gallery.
Why Hemera diamond?
- The only diamond in Malaysia which consist of more than 100 facets.
- Currently the world most brilliance diamond in the world since 4 years ago.
- Trade In Value is the highest in the market. There is no deduction on the diamond if you upgrade to any size in the future. Depreciation only apply on the white gold casing. Thus, there is 2 price tag which separate the diamond and casing when you purchase. And this is the only diamond you can sell for cash in the future provided with receipt and certificate (sell back to the same company).
- The design of casing is different with other company, it is specially made for Hemera diamond only. the casing and prongs are thick from side view (although from top view you really can't see it is thick).
- You can view the pavilion part of diamond. Usually normal casing cover half of the pavilion part of diamond.
- Can easily find the outlets for services.

Other options for quality diamond:
Allove Diamond from SK Jewellery with 81 facets.
- Price is higher than Hemera Diamond even after discount.
- Brilliance, Fire and Sparkle at grade High.

Estrella Diamond from Diamond Platinium
- Their marketing and service is good.
If you are more concern on Pricing:
Wah Chan should be the rank 1
- Normal diamond (57 facets)
- Quality of workmanship and service hmm hmm

Lazo Diamond should be rank 2
Don't need to thx me. My 2 cents. I work at Jewellery line.
You can forget about all those branded shop with normal diamond but ridiculous price like Love & Co,  Tiffany and others.
What is the sell back discount if I don't want to upgrade? Meaning after 5 years, my RM 10k which I spend on the diamond, how much can I get?
Xccess
post Oct 30 2016, 05:54 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

If you have friends working in any of these brands, ask staff discounts, got my wife diamond ring with more than 50% discount many years ago.

This post has been edited by Xccess: Oct 31 2016, 12:16 AM
doraemonkiller
post Oct 30 2016, 07:00 PM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(DoomCognition @ Oct 30 2016, 05:25 PM)
What is the sell back discount if I don't want to upgrade?  Meaning after 5 years, my RM 10k which I spend on the diamond, how much can I get?
-40% for cash.
DoomCognition
post Oct 30 2016, 11:03 PM

737 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Oct 30 2016, 05:54 PM)
If you have friends working in any of these brands, ask staff discounts, got my wife diamond ring with more than 100% discount many years ago.
Does that mean the shop pay your friend to buy the diamond ring?
DoomCognition
post Oct 30 2016, 11:05 PM

737 posts

QUOTE(doraemonkiller @ Oct 30 2016, 07:00 PM)
-40% for cash.
For normal 58 facets diamond, we can sell back at the similar discount anywhere, as long as we have the certificate. No need receipt.
Xccess
post Oct 31 2016, 12:01 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

QUOTE(DoomCognition @ Oct 30 2016, 11:03 PM)
Does that mean the shop pay your friend to buy the diamond ring?
Friend worked as gemologist, she arranged the design and diamond, gave us special rate under staff discount. That was more than 8 years ago.

This post has been edited by Xccess: Oct 31 2016, 12:02 AM
doraemonkiller
post Oct 31 2016, 12:02 AM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(DoomCognition @ Oct 30 2016, 11:05 PM)
For normal 58 facets diamond,  we can sell back at the similar discount anywhere,  as long as we have the certificate.  No need receipt.
Impossible smile.gif

If the salesman told you this then good luck to you. They can cheat you for their sales. Try to ask any shop whether they will buy your diamond anot.

This post has been edited by doraemonkiller: Oct 31 2016, 12:10 AM
doraemonkiller
post Oct 31 2016, 12:05 AM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Oct 31 2016, 12:01 AM)
Friend worked as gemologist, she arranged the design and diamond, gave us special rate under staff discount. That was more than 8 years ago.
Now should be impossible due to restrictions impose by the company. And Solitaire Ring do have market price, impossible to sell it very low price except those second hand diamonds from unknown source.
DoomCognition
post Oct 31 2016, 12:09 AM

737 posts

QUOTE(doraemonkiller @ Oct 31 2016, 12:02 AM)
Impossible smile.gif
Try to show them your diamond and say U want to sell it for cash biggrin.gif
I can sell diamonds at Habib, at 40% discount as well. Either that or pawn shops, but pawn shops will discount it more.

DoomCognition
post Oct 31 2016, 12:12 AM

737 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Oct 31 2016, 12:01 AM)
More than 100% discount??????

It means that I buy ring, and I get cash for the ring.
Xccess
post Oct 31 2016, 12:15 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

Sorry my bad. It's around 60% discount. Already amended my mistake.

This post has been edited by Xccess: Oct 31 2016, 12:17 AM

0.0574sec    1.21    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:16 PM