German Shepherd, Alsatians

moe81
post Aug 11 2009, 11:41 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(Nyxator @ Jul 29 2009, 12:52 AM)
My 3 months++ pup GSD named Cherry.
I bought it from a reputable breeder in Klang.

Just did vacination and deworming.

I noticed that the vet gave Caniverm (from bioveta) and i did some reading online...

http://www.bioveta.cz/en/veterinary-divisi...-tbl-ad-us.html

I noticed that it only covers roundworm & tapeworm, but not heartworm.

The last 2 deworming was using Caniverm too, now I'm really worried as my pup is vulnerable to heartworm.

Thinking of the following option ...

1. Resend to vet and ask them to feed HeartGard (don't know if double deworming is allowed, recent one was on 20/7/2009)
2. Wait till next month and start to feed HeartGard (hopefully my pup is not infected before )

Really appreciate if you guys can advice me on this.
there is another option... cheaper one... U can try consulting ur vet about this but, i dun know what the outcome will be. i realised most vet dun favour cheap treatments that works wonders. maybe because they can't make anythin out of it.. i may be wrong.. but this treatment works..

U can try ivermectin brand name ivochip(cost about RM 45 an injectible bottle). u have to administer this orally.
dosage is 0.1 cc for every 10 pounds weight of the dog.
use a syringe and a needle to aspire needed amount from the ivermectin bottle. then aspire in orange juice or something of that sort into the same syringe. this will give u a good volume to work with as ivermectin alone will be too little(as little as 2.5 cc for puppies). use an appropriate syringe to measure the cc needed accurately.
remove the needle and administer this orally to ur dog.
place ur palm across on ur dog's muzzle with ur fingers in the dogs mouth from the side(thumb on one side and other fingers on another).
open ur dogs mouth facing slightly upwards, empty ur syringe spraying the content on the top jaw wall of ur dog. close ur dog's mouth and hold for seconds for the substance to be swollowed completely. this method ensures that no substance enters the wind pipe.

the ivermectin will kill the microfilariaes of the heartworm that's still circulating in the blood stream provided the heartworm has not matured and attached to the heart itself.

administer this treatment every 30 days to prevent heartworm.

NOTE: ivermectin goes a lil hard on the liver(if administered orally). however, the dosage given is safe with no effect on the liver. which is the reason why the dosage need to be carefully followed.
if at all u're still concerned, u can run liver tablets together with the ivermectin.

have fun.. stay safe..

Regards...

P.s. if at all any of u guys have mainge problems which is draining ur pocket for vet treatment, i have a very inexpensive method to almost cure and suppress it completely. as mainge condition is an immunologically handicapped condition which doesn't have any cure unless someone finds a way to alter the genetic genes(chromosomes) of a living dog..
It is also heridatary. Hence, a dog with mainge condition is to be neutered or spayed and shall never be bred. this is to prevent future dogs from suffering form this condition.

This post has been edited by moe81: Aug 11 2009, 12:08 PM

0.0156sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:48 AM