QUOTE(dishwasher @ Nov 20 2014, 01:18 AM)
See, the thing is, dogs aren't humans, don't think like humans, and don't look at punishment the same way as humans. Hitting a dog 2 hours after it pees in the house? The poor dog isn't going to connect 'pee in house' to 'wrong' and 'that's why I got punished'.
Beyond that, some of Cesar's ideas/methods are proven to be wrong. For one, dogs don't see humans as part of their pack, and they sure as hell aren't 'asserting their dominance' over you when they don't listen to you. Hitting a dog is just going to make it wary of you. Hitting a dog when it growls at another dog will probably make it think 'oh, when another dog appears, my master hits me. I must growl at the dog and chase it away'.
TL;DR? Dogs aren't humans. Don't treat them as such.
P.S. Kids definitely need discipline, but caning? The hooligans in my school were caned daily and remained hooligans.
Well, maybe you are right as I am no Dog Expert but then I do know that my son's 2 pet dogs understand me well when I tell them to Stop or Out but they never listen to my wife as she didn't discipline the dogs like I did. Even my grandchildren age 1 and 2 will stop doing what they did when I say stop or no and the same apply to the dogs as well. So, to me, human being and smart animal like GSD do understand us well and if we discipline them well and let them know that we mean buz, then they would obey. Learning or teaching the dogs must be done immediately and not later as even on training children, always at the moment cos later it serves no purpose at all.
Maybe, it's just plain coincidence or luck.
Oyes, when canning is concerned, just one stroke will do cos too many strokes will serve no purpose and that why those hooligans never learn cos too many times and too many canning will only harden the hands and cause no pain. maybe even syok feeling.
This post has been edited by West Wing: Nov 20 2014, 03:42 PM