PLASMA tv is dead ?, vs LED tv

TSsitescope
post Oct 27 2016, 10:13 AM

4,225 posts

From a discussion above, i can conclude that I need to wait for OLED price become low before buy my next tv... Sighhh
capoi
post Oct 29 2016, 03:44 PM

473 posts

Is there any sign for OLED tv will become cheaper than current price? I didnt do a Google to find how long does it take for plasma TV to become cheaper a few years ago.
TSsitescope
post Oct 29 2016, 06:12 PM

4,225 posts

QUOTE(capoi @ Oct 29 2016, 03:44 PM)
Is there any sign for OLED tv will become cheaper than current price? I didnt do a Google to find how long does it take for plasma TV to become cheaper a few years ago.
Now economy very gawat, i think min 2yrs
weikee
post Oct 29 2016, 07:30 PM

12,019 posts

MYR very weak.
cedyy
post Oct 29 2016, 07:40 PM

1,351 posts

imo, this is the best plasma tv. pq is amazing. so mesmerized looking at the demo. almost wanted to grab one but house already had 2 new LEd tv at the time.
TSsitescope
post Oct 29 2016, 08:49 PM

4,225 posts

QUOTE(cedyy @ Oct 29 2016, 07:40 PM)
imo, this is the best plasma tv. pq is amazing. so mesmerized looking at the demo. almost wanted to grab one but house already had 2 new LEd tv at the time.
Model ?
cedyy
post Oct 29 2016, 09:18 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Oct 29 2016, 08:49 PM)
Model ?
Samsung F8500 series. The last plasma tv from Samsung but doubt can get it anymore here. last i saw was clearance at Tesco. so tempted to get one then

This post has been edited by cedyy: Oct 29 2016, 09:19 PM
kucuboy
post Oct 31 2016, 07:15 PM

693 posts

QUOTE(cedyy @ Oct 29 2016, 07:40 PM)
Yep, this Samsung plasma was probably the best last model released. It had amazing blacks and great brightness comparable to LED TVs. The price for 55/60" inch variant in 2013 was about RM16,000 if im not mistaken.
cedyy
post Oct 31 2016, 10:42 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(kucuboy @ Oct 31 2016, 07:15 PM)
Yep, this Samsung plasma was probably the best last model released. It had amazing blacks and great brightness comparable to LED TVs. The price for 55/60" inch variant in 2013 was about RM16,000 if im not mistaken.
it was going for much less than half the price last year. black and contrast was fantastic and when it came to white, it didn't have that typical overpowering bright white of LED. just made the whole viewing experience very pleasant. sigh, looking back, i should have just grabbed a unit
ktek
post Oct 31 2016, 11:40 PM

拼拼拼多啦
12,546 posts

f8500 come in 51" and 64" only.
i was drool at the mall staring it
TSsitescope
post Nov 1 2016, 11:26 AM

4,225 posts

QUOTE(cedyy @ Oct 31 2016, 10:42 PM)
it was going for much less than half the price last year. black and contrast was fantastic and when it came to white, it didn't have that typical overpowering bright white of LED. just made the whole viewing experience very pleasant. sigh, looking back, i should have just grabbed a unit
if half also around 8k, out of bajet aldy...
weikee
post Nov 1 2016, 01:15 PM

12,019 posts

Pray oled 50" size fall below 4k smile.gif
6UE5T
post Nov 1 2016, 07:19 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Oct 23 2016, 11:47 PM)
Hi
I'm using plasma tv now but with 720p reso.
Thinking to buy another set with 1080p reso.
However couldn't find few in shop. All sell LED tv.
I try watching LED tv demo for 5mins but I can't stand the fast movement (ie : action fight).
I dunno how to explain but the movement strain my eyes.
I dun have this isu when watching action movie with my plasma.

Does LED tv still not on par with plasma ?
Is this the reason why shop always demo slow movement (ie : landscspe view, travel view, food view) for LED tv ?

And what is the max tv size for 1080p source ? 55 or 60" not so overkill ?
Distance view is 10-12 feet.
Hmm I also just bought a Samsung 58' LED Full HD TV a few months ago and before that I was using a 42' Panasonic Plasma Full HD . I also feel images on the LED TV is a bit too 'cartoon like'. Yes the images are very sharp but somehow seems not as natural as the plasma one. Kind of difficult to explain but based on what I read so far, it might be because the LED is only 100/200hz TV while the plasma was 600hz, that's the main weakness of LED TV. But it's still fine with me, not causing any strain in my eyes or my family members. I suppose the technologies of LED TV will still continue to improve with other ways to alleviate that issue until that it won't matter anymore and the cost will keep going down.
weikee
post Nov 1 2016, 08:21 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Nov 1 2016, 07:19 PM)
Hmm I also just bought a Samsung 58' LED Full HD TV a few months ago and before that I was using a 42' Panasonic Plasma Full HD . I also feel images on the LED TV is a bit too 'cartoon like'. Yes the images are very sharp but somehow seems not as natural as the plasma one. Kind of difficult to explain but based on what I read so far, it might be because the LED is only 100/200hz TV while the plasma was 600hz, that's the main weakness of LED TV. But it's still fine with me, not causing any strain in my eyes or my family members. I suppose the technologies of LED TV will still continue to improve with other ways to alleviate that issue until that it won't matter anymore and the cost will keep going down.
Is a LCD tv with led back light. I don't see real led tv. Lcd are much older compared to plasma, it survived because is cheap to produce. Plasma is expensive to produce. I doubt if it go 600hz you get the same level of color and black with plasma. For refresh rate, i wonder if it really matter. Just pray oled get mass volume production and price drop.
azbro
post Nov 7 2016, 09:39 AM

4,319 posts

I wanna buy a 55' above Flat TV to replace my 42' Panny Plasma (which is still good)

What? After reading all the comments in here until now still no satisfactory one for a replacement?
bad2928
post Nov 7 2016, 10:28 AM

628 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Nov 7 2016, 09:39 AM)
I wanna buy a 55' above Flat TV to replace my 42' Panny Plasma (which is still good)

What? After reading all the comments in here until now still no satisfactory one for a replacement?
if money is no issue LG oled is way to go
kucuboy
post Nov 7 2016, 12:29 PM

693 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Nov 7 2016, 09:39 AM)

Just go ahead and buy whatever tv that fits your budget, possible one which is HDR enabled for future proof. Have to make slight sacrifice with current technology but after a while you will get used to it.

0.0158sec    1.02    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 01:37 PM