2008 Mitsubishi Lancer, Specs Only review and Motorshow videos
TSseantang
Feb 4 2007, 10:29 PM, updated 19y ago
No more 4G92, 4G93 and 4G63, but a new 4B11. No more traditional 3-box saloon styling and no more 1.5s, 1.6s or 1.8s that we're so used to. What do you guys think of the new Lancer? QUOTE(seantang) The 2008 Mitsubishi Lancer and Lancer Evolution Prototype X was launched at the Detroit Motorshow on 8 January 2007. I've got some videos... of the launch, the promo video and walkabout tour of both cars by Mitsu's North American GM. But first, I've got my hands on the detailed specs list of the North American 2008 Lancer. And since it is a global platform, it should be virtually identical to the next generation Lancer worldwide. So here's my specifications only review after the link: Specs Only Review and Detroit Motorshow videosOne last bit. Assuming a coefficient of drag = 0.33, I ran the specs through my desktop dyno program and the above are the results. Not too shabby... 8.6 seconds century sprint (which is close enough to Mitsu's claim of ~8s) and a top speed of 206kmh. The big letdown was the weight. If I shave a 100kg off, the century sprint is 8.2s with a top speed of 210kmh... which is much more consistent with the Civic 2.0's performance. This post has been edited by seantang: Feb 4 2007, 10:30 PM
rcracer
Feb 4 2007, 10:59 PM
Beautiful car, very refreshing aggresive styling, brings braggin rights over all similar segment cars here at the current moment. I'm looking forward to buying one.
Walkabout videos available at paultan.org
TSseantang
Feb 5 2007, 10:28 AM
QUOTE(rcracer @ Feb 4 2007, 10:59 PM) Beautiful car, very refreshing aggresive styling, brings braggin rights over all similar segment cars here at the current moment. Yup, It looks radically different from the normal Corolla/ Civic/ Lancer/ Sentra styling that we've been used to for decades. I reckon this might just be the car that puts Mitsubishi back on the map. QUOTE(rcracer @ Feb 4 2007, 10:59 PM) I'm looking forward to buying one. I'd wait a little while for the baby Evo that will go head to head with the WRX/ GTi/ RS. If Mitsu Motors Malaysia can sell and warranty the Evo and Colt turbo, supporting a mid-spec Lancer turbo should not be a problem.
travis_ckf
Feb 5 2007, 10:46 AM
The 1.5 lancer will be an welcome addition and if priced near the vios and swift i bet it will sell well over here.
I guess now Mitsubishi Mysia is having promotions to clear off the current lancer stock.
TSseantang
Feb 5 2007, 10:52 AM
QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Feb 5 2007, 10:46 AM) The 1.5 lancer will be an welcome addition and if priced near the vios and swift i bet it will sell well over here.
I guess now Mitsubishi Mysia is having promotions to clear off the current lancer stock. It's a 1325+kg car with an all-aluminium 2.0 engine. With a lighter 1.5 engine, it'll still be tipping the scales at well over 1200kg. That's too much for a 1.5. Even with the Colt turbo's 150hp 1.5 turbo, you'll be rowing the gears too much to get any driving enjoyment at all. I don't think you're going to see anything less than a 1.8L on the new Lancer.
travis_ckf
Feb 5 2007, 11:22 AM
QUOTE(seantang @ Feb 5 2007, 10:52 AM) It's a 1325+kg car with an all-aluminium 2.0 engine. With a lighter 1.5 engine, it'll still be tipping the scales at well over 1200kg. That's too much for a 1.5. Even with the Colt turbo's 150hp 1.5 turbo, you'll be rowing the gears too much to get any driving enjoyment at all. I don't think you're going to see anything less than a 1.8L on the new Lancer. U must be reffering to the evo x, as what i reffering is the new lancer in general. There will be a 1.5,1.8 and a normal 2.0 cc engine, while the evo x will uses 2.0cc engine with CVT or manual transmission.
TSseantang
Feb 5 2007, 11:38 AM
QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Feb 5 2007, 11:22 AM) U must be reffering to the evo x, as what i reffering is the new lancer in general. There will be a 1.5,1.8 and a normal 2.0 cc engine, while the evo x will uses 2.0cc engine with CVT or manual transmission. No lah. The new basic Lancer is a 1325+kg car with a 2.0 engine. I haven't heard anything about the engine sizes being offered outside US, but the US Lancer comes in only one engine size ie. 2.0L. Gearbox is either a CVT or 5-speed manual. What I'm saying is that a 1.5 engine will not be able to move this new Lancer around. It's just too heavy. Even a NA 1.8 will be too iffy, considering it's being positioned as a bona fide sports saloon. The Evo X will use the same 2.0L 4B11 engine with a 6-speed manual gearbox with automated clutch and paddle shifter. No CVT for the Evo X.
davidmu
Feb 5 2007, 01:19 PM
Thanks for sharing this information, I saw the 1st video its include so many feature from WRC...
It is worth to invest this prototype X
alxand
Feb 6 2007, 09:30 PM
good roll up...
Added on March 12, 2007, 10:56 pmit's coming...
Added on March 14, 2007, 9:36 pmany idea on engine capacity?
Added on April 19, 2007, 10:03 pmheard it will be 1.8mivec n 2.0 mivec
This post has been edited by alxand: Apr 19 2007, 10:04 PM