5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

FundSuperMart v16 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

_azam13
post Nov 30 2016, 11:29 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Nov 30 2016, 11:26 PM)
hmmm, you are really weird

You pick arguments about points that I never even said.

So, you said "Yes, I agree with you,". No problems, I agree with you too.  biggrin.gif
You also pick arguments on points I never said. I suppose we both were never even in argument in the first place!
_azam13
post Nov 30 2016, 11:39 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Nov 30 2016, 11:27 PM)
Let me put it in a different perspective, i don't know how the other person thinks but IMO yes, you rebalance but not on a daily basis. or even weekly/monthly for that matter. i've not been following this thread that often cause it's veering in a direction i disagree, which is constantly talking about investing here and there, add this new fund... 'hey i recommend a portfolio that looks like this because you have too much of this and too little of that' (seriously there's no perfect portfolio in this world, if there is i won't be investing in unit trust, i'll buy stocks).

my last 2 mistakes is add more funds... !@#$!@#$. should have stick with my original plan.

then again, who would have known bond fund gonna drop the way they did after trump won...
Eh, if you are properly diversified, then you don't have to buy a different type of fund. If your style is DCA on fixed set of diversified funds then sure, why not. Depends on your style. I'm not in a position to say that I disagree with your style. Besides, nobody set definitive rules on how to invest in UTs. It's an art. There are some fundamental tips to investing in UTs like proper diversification and assessing risk-reward profile but thats it.

I'm just saying, instead of doing only DCA on fixed set of funds, I add some extra elements like active trading to capitalise on some opportunities in the market.

An analogy would be, you cooked a fried chicken. But I take that recipe and add some chilli, pepper and some other extra spice to make it suit my style (taste). In the end, its still fried chicken.

Other people might do it differently. And I don't disagree. Live and let live. Nobody has to be hostile over it.
_azam13
post Nov 30 2016, 11:49 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Nov 30 2016, 11:32 PM)
Childish response. Try something more adult.
I replied professionally also you reduce all my arguments to "whole bunch of micro-level arguments". I said I agree with you that we have no control over fund manager's stock selection. But we do have control over which sector to buy, which geography to buy, which asset class to buy. Its baffling that you're saying this doesn't matter, and quoted me as if I agree with you on everything you said.

Also, not sure why you're getting all hostile over somebody else's money. Why don't you just live and let live.

QUOTE(howszat @ Nov 30 2016, 11:32 PM)
No, sorry, that's bullshit.

Investing should be for a reason, not "style".
I explained my reason also you said a bunch of micro-level arguments confused.gif

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Seriously, I give up. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by _azam13: Nov 30 2016, 11:50 PM
_azam13
post Nov 30 2016, 11:56 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Nov 30 2016, 11:52 PM)
Of course: "which geography to buy, which asset class to buy.". I agree.

Now, where does "style" come into the picture?
My style is:

In addition to the DCA which I do periodically, I also do opportunistic UTs buying and selling (gold, foreign currency funds) sometimes to enhance my returns. Some people don't do this, they just stick to their DCA and ignore these pockets of opportunities. Sure, I have no problem with this. Its totally fine and I fully understand it, because it depends on your "style" of investing. I feel like I have said this before.

Deja Vu.
_azam13
post Dec 1 2016, 12:01 AM

200 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Nov 30 2016, 11:56 PM)
i'm just describing a general observation from what i can observe for the past few months. i do agree people do things differently. but how do i explain it, statements like the below will kinda support why i said what i said previously. I don't explain myself very well, but oh well, we can agree to disagree continue to work out my UT stuff in peace.
Before i go to sleep, put in a different perspective, over this less than 1-month time span,

a) you are right for now... if you are only investing for this 3 weeks, yes, you are right. over 6 months, 1 year, 2 years, 10 years?

b) is this active managing or betting on the right horse? i point this out, out of genuine reminder. there's fine line, betting right this time, won't make it right next time unless you really know what you are doing. biggrin.gif

c) it's a also a human thing (fallilibility???) that they only remember one side of things and not the other. In another perspective, maybe you can try to count as well, when are the times you should not have done anything, but you did and compare before you draw such conclusions.
But the thing is, David dont speak for me and I dont speak for him. If you disagree on what he did, then I'll let him answer. I'm only answerable to what I do. If you tell me what is it that I'm doing is wrong, then I'll be glad to explain myself (no Im not being sarcastic)
_azam13
post Dec 1 2016, 12:19 AM

200 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Dec 1 2016, 12:08 AM)
And that is where the debate started.

Not so much as what you do, but the why you do something, and the rationale behind it.
I dont get whats wrong about it and why you even called it bullshit. What I did was profitable and my decisions during the time were backed by sound reasons. I work in investment. I have a wealth of information I utilised before making such decisions. Think about Buffet-style of holding longs, but also add in a smaller portion of active switching Soros/Icahn-esque. That is my UT portfolio.

With that, I think I'm done explaining myself.

This post has been edited by _azam13: Dec 1 2016, 12:20 AM
_azam13
post Dec 1 2016, 01:08 AM

200 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 1 2016, 12:59 AM)
You said it before. But SD = 3 years. So where do you get the reward part? I don't see it listed anywhere (returns)
If you guys are talking about Sharpe ratio, the formula is given by

Sharpe ratio = (portfolio return - risk free rate)/standard deviation of portfolio return

So you already have the three year SD. You need to find out the 3-years rolling average portfolio return and the risk free rate. For the risk free rate part, I think its okay to use either the prevailing or average 3-years, but you have to make sure you're consistent while calculating for other funds as well, to make the Sharpe ratio comparable between funds.
_azam13
post Dec 1 2016, 12:08 PM

200 posts

FSM tapped me on my shoulder and told me that I have finally joined the Silver camp! tongue.gif I didn't realise that I was also busy laughing to the bank LOL

Kinda busy with CFA lately. Stole some time to participate in discussions here.

Toast to 0.25% discounts!
_azam13
post Dec 1 2016, 05:07 PM

200 posts

Oho... FSM... doing quite well, aren't we? tongue.gif

http://www.theedgemarkets.com/my/article/a...tual-funds-game
_azam13
post Dec 1 2016, 06:11 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Dec 1 2016, 06:08 PM)
I just intra switch from my TA Dana Afif and Eastspring bond funds into TA European Equity Fund, TA Global Technology Fund, Eastspring Emerging Markets Fund and Eastspring Global Leaders.

Lump sum investment. Either I will make some money or go out in a blaze of glory. Muahahahaha.  bruce.gif
I'm slightly nervous that your post might upset some individuals. tongue.gif
_azam13
post Dec 1 2016, 06:42 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Dec 1 2016, 06:39 PM)
That title of the article is "An alternative to playing mutual funds game"

Heretics! Blasphemy!

Where can play mutual fund wan? We are serious long term investors wor!
Haha.. I sincerely apologise to all pure-passive investors for posting such abomination in this thread.. please don't burn me at the stake innocent.gif
_azam13
post Dec 1 2016, 11:44 PM

200 posts

Anita up 0.07%, RHB Islamic bond up 0.14%.
_azam13
post Dec 2 2016, 12:38 AM

200 posts

FSM, if you're reading, it would be great that if I can have at least 1 Shariah compliant fund for each geography and sector so that I am better able to diversify. Thanks in advance. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by _azam13: Dec 2 2016, 12:38 AM
_azam13
post Dec 2 2016, 02:18 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Dec 2 2016, 12:10 PM)
POTUS election date was 8/11/2016.

Today is 2/12/2016 which is exactly 30 days after the trigger event.

Market was in disarray. Doom and gloom. Market reacted like a headless chicken. The rest following the herd mentality also run around like headless chicken.

What did you do?

I remembered myself to continue DCA into REITs, RHB AIF and India fund.

Today, in 30 days time post POTUS election, my port is already back up and making positive gain, and that the important part was, I did not change my port drastically.

This Trump tantrum only lasted about a month. Is nothing compared to the early of the 2016 China circuit-breaker fiasco..... lasted a whole half a year to stabilise and make a reversal.

Xuzen

p/s If can tahan the China circuit - breaker fiasco, what is this little Trump effect?
I remembered I increased allocation into US funds. My portfolio was able to recover faster than had I not did that.

P.s. Just to comment on several research houses' conflicting opinion on overweight/underweight etc, try to think of it like stock picking. Economists are often at conflicting opinions with each other. Read on why they have such opinions (basis of their recommendation), and decide yourself which story you want to believe., and see if that opinion fits with your investment objectives..

This post has been edited by _azam13: Dec 2 2016, 02:23 PM
_azam13
post Dec 2 2016, 02:44 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Dec 2 2016, 02:41 PM)
The game is not over yet .....

If you follow the stock market trend, US seems to be in red for 1 or 2 days already.

devil.gif
And what had risen? If dollar had decreased.. something else must had risen devil.gif

Edit: Turns out investors were just waiting on economic data.. although if I want to, I could've just readjust my asset allocation back to normal since my portfolio is already in positive now.. but I'm gonna wait until Fed hike, I think. Unless there's a material news coming out before then.

This post has been edited by _azam13: Dec 2 2016, 02:54 PM
_azam13
post Dec 2 2016, 03:14 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Dec 2 2016, 03:07 PM)
I took an anti-view to yours. I sold a huge position in US and top up into AMReits. Looks like in one months performance; you made the right call this round, good friend. Your call made you 9% gain in Manulife US equity versus my 1% gain in AMReits.  thumbsup.gif

Xuzen
It wasn't Manulife US Equity, I only invest in Shariah compliant funds .. It was actually something else and its not as high as 9%.. but enough to drag me back into the black biggrin.gif
_azam13
post Dec 2 2016, 10:18 PM

200 posts

http://www.theedgemarkets.com/my/article/u...rate-9-year-low

Good payroll numbers, should see some strength in USD

Edit: Wages growth lower than expected. Results mixed.

This post has been edited by _azam13: Dec 2 2016, 10:20 PM
_azam13
post Dec 3 2016, 06:20 PM

200 posts

exam done.. got this strong feeling i have to repeat my CFA exam LOLOLOL

USD expensive tho sobsob (CFA fees have to pay in USD)
_azam13
post Dec 3 2016, 06:34 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 3 2016, 06:25 PM)
Maybe you can hedge that by investing in a US-focused equity fund smile.gif after all it is denominated in USD, if the exchange rate goes up, you will spend more for tuition, but the value of your holdings will increase smile.gif
Haha, even if dollar stays constant at this level, it's still expensive.. tongue.gif
_azam13
post Dec 3 2016, 06:54 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Dec 3 2016, 06:51 PM)
You went for CFA exam too? biggrin.gif
Haha yes.. wasn't really well-prepared though.. things got crazy hectic in the office recently, and I registered less than just 3 months ago.. I'm gonna try again until I pass biggrin.gif

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.1103sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:34 PM