6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v16 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

wodenus
post Dec 7 2016, 04:40 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 7 2016, 11:51 AM)
Just managed to talk to my girlfriend about pulling her money out of this endowment plan she was duped into buying with ocbc.

she told the banker she wants to maximize her savings and he told her they have a great investment plan. I went through the policy and found out its a endowment/life insurance plan.

she paid 10k for it and now if she takes out there's a penalty of 2k and every year she has to pay premium of 5.8k. total return doesn't even reach 4% annually with not guaranteed returns.

she took time to listen and instructed me to take the funds and asked me to manage her portfolio.

was thinking of 50% esther bond and 50% in rhb AIF.
Is that diversified enough though.
wodenus
post Dec 7 2016, 04:41 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 7 2016, 04:40 PM)
but you do know we are talking about Ponzi 1.0 right where it's fund allocation is malaysia Philippines Singapore and etc
Oh oops, I did not see that in the post, sorry. Have that too, it's down 0.5% I think now smile.gif

This post has been edited by wodenus: Dec 7 2016, 04:43 PM
wodenus
post Dec 7 2016, 05:56 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Dec 7 2016, 05:50 PM)
hmm.gif give her a returns of 7% pa....any extra you sapu into reserves fund.....any short of 7% you top up from the reserves fund....
if that is ok...then more leeway to "play" about with the portfolio.....
An interesting plan, like a 7% FD smile.gif
wodenus
post Dec 7 2016, 05:58 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 7 2016, 05:57 PM)
this is a combination of balance funds and not solely a bond fund which I replicated from a balance portfolio from fsm and fsm insurance.

maybe when her birthday comes I'll just top up a equity fund for her and turn it 50% bond, 25% balance and 25% equity.  no need to worry about birthday gifts anymore at the mall. hahahaha smart aye
Good plan smile.gif investments as birthday gifts are really smart, especially for really young people smile.gif

This post has been edited by wodenus: Dec 7 2016, 05:59 PM
wodenus
post Dec 7 2016, 06:00 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Dec 7 2016, 05:59 PM)
what is kapcai or kapchai?
Eastspring Small Cap
wodenus
post Dec 7 2016, 06:48 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Dec 7 2016, 06:20 PM)
:thumbsup:  :thumbsup:

such brilliant plan, but already have currently in the form of Amanah Saham. not 7% pa lolz  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  biggrin.gif  blink.gif
Some of us are not so lucky smile.gif
wodenus
post Dec 7 2016, 07:36 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 7 2016, 07:00 PM)
it looks like Libra Anita bond is starting to recover. hoping I don't jinx it
LOL.. nothing you say or do will affect it smile.gif and yes the market is recovering slowly. We are roughly at break-even (ex-commission, not including money market funds.)
wodenus
post Dec 8 2016, 07:36 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Dec 8 2016, 05:36 AM)
US market all time high.. smile.gif
Good for us then smile.gif
wodenus
post Dec 8 2016, 11:29 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 8 2016, 10:10 AM)
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/fsm/#!/home
and we are still stuck with 2% and old interface. lol
I'd rather have that and not be charged 0.1% a quarter to pay for what I don't need smile.gif

wodenus
post Dec 9 2016, 08:43 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Dec 9 2016, 07:54 AM)
Haven't you read the case of people posted here that they tried to use the ninja switching and ended up losing more money ? You are pretty much deluded to use the words "switching for free".

The credit system should only be use "by-the-way", ie if one is indeed wanting to switching from small cap to eastspring bond, then go ahead and earn some credit. But to "purposely" exploit it, hmmm, the result isn't always predictable due to the moving Nav prices during the various transaction dates.

On the otherhand, have you tried to look at how you could use the 0% SC of eUT to perform switching ?

You can practically move out your entire portfolio to totally different portfolio in 3 or 4 days without incurring any SC, across different fund managers and across bond and equity.

For example, you can't switch your entire investment in RHB AIF to Manulife India  or eastspring smallcap to ponzi 2.0, all in one move, 0 % SC !

Think about it, how about that ?
You lose about ten days though.
wodenus
post Dec 9 2016, 09:34 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Dec 9 2016, 08:50 AM)
You need to be a bit more verbose. Your terse replies are always ambiguous. Which scheme loses 10 days and which loses more days ? wink.gif
Yes I write like I speak lol. Pressed for time these days, don't feel like explaining much. T+4 sell, a few days to credit to savings, T+4 buy.. missing ten days from investment. Those could be the best ten days of the year smile.gif
wodenus
post Dec 9 2016, 10:51 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(vincabby @ Dec 9 2016, 10:45 AM)
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4142101
just quoting from a post in kopitiam. will this affect any of you guys' sentiment in the long run? the thought of their trigger in january still spooks me about entering the dragon country.
I don't see that it matters much. I also don't see any other country manufacturing most of the world's stuff. China port has stabilized around -1%. People should be aware that these things capture a moment in time. By the time you read this, it's already history smile.gif

BTW post-election euphoria in the US is over, US port dumped 2% smile.gif

This post has been edited by wodenus: Dec 9 2016, 10:57 AM
wodenus
post Dec 9 2016, 11:01 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 9 2016, 10:54 AM)
Remember the great short circuit of dragon back in early 2016? China went from a industrial monster to a lizard. Soon after June it roared back to life.

China is too big too fail. Malaysia on the other hand
.. is dependent on foreign investors, who are mostly capitalists that don't like socialists and fundamentalists. China does though. Countries usually don't "fail", they just get cheap for many, many years until they get a good government and a leader with a clue smile.gif

This post has been edited by wodenus: Dec 9 2016, 11:02 AM
wodenus
post Dec 9 2016, 11:16 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 9 2016, 11:04 AM)
I can reject your statement by bringing Venezuela and Greece. Those failed spectacularly with bad governance and widespread corruption. that is what we are heading to if there is no check and balance.
Yet again you are looking at a moment in time. Look up the funds that invest in these countries, you might be surprised smile.gif

This post has been edited by wodenus: Dec 9 2016, 11:24 AM
wodenus
post Dec 9 2016, 11:28 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 9 2016, 11:21 AM)
No harm done I can come back later on while Bank rolling my money with other funds and countries.

There isn't any reason to keep on failing funds other than emotional attachment or patriotism. Since my sc has already been paid upfront I can just switch back EM to small cap after it recovers in a year or two or pump in more of my CMF inside kapchai.

You get free switching?

wodenus
post Dec 9 2016, 03:24 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 9 2016, 01:39 PM)
am at ocbc now and apparently my girlfriend unknowingly purchased an endowment plan / life insurance but was told it was a savers plan JV with great eastern.

she paid a lump sum of 10k last year and in order to withdraw 8k from the policy she needs to pay another 5. 8k to get the 8k out.

fml. don't know why she didn't consult me last year on this. I know it's a little derailing but remember to be educated when investing your monies

add on.

she lapse the second year.

facepalm
Yes, don't be blindsided by the sales people they call "Relationship Managers" smile.gif

This post has been edited by wodenus: Dec 9 2016, 05:43 PM
wodenus
post Dec 9 2016, 05:44 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(repusez @ Dec 9 2016, 11:32 AM)
if you want to use your credit points, you need to switch from eastspring small cap > eastspring bond (earn point),

then switch from eastspring bond > emerging market (use point) . if you have enough points , you do not need to pay for the sales charge .  --> wrong, intra switching is free , so can switch directly except for rhb (see below).

**correction intra fund house switching does not incur sales charge , only inter switching incur sales charges, which is where the ninja switching using credit point comes in.

if you switch direct eg, Eastspring smallcap > Eastspring emerging market , you'll be charge 2% or based on your tier discount, silver 1.75, gold 1.5 , platinum 1.25

for rhb funds you need to switch from rhb equity > rhb money market , rhb money market > other rhb equity funds , if you switch to other rhb funds other the rhb money market fund , you'll be charge rm25 switching fee

i think for rhb smart series, you can switch for free also, rhb smart treassure > rhb smart income (earn point) , rhb smart income > rhb smart treassure (earn point).

do note , each fund house has different minimum switching amount.
Sometimes there's a switching fee. The points won't help there I think.
wodenus
post Dec 9 2016, 08:11 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Dec 9 2016, 07:51 PM)
Yeah if it is browser, clear browser cookie will.

I could not login via the mobile app. Wiping cache for mobile app is not working. Have to wipe app data.

Quite terrible !
Mobile app sucks and is irrelevant. In other news, India is up 2.3% (net, not ex-commission smile.gif ) and Oz close to profitable smile.gif a good lesson in balancing for me.. if it was better balanced, India would not be 5% weighed, and we'd have been in an even better position smile.gif

This post has been edited by wodenus: Dec 9 2016, 08:15 PM
wodenus
post Dec 10 2016, 06:14 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Dec 10 2016, 05:41 AM)
All time high again... smile.gif
Yes our India funds already made more than FD smile.gif and it's only been like two weeks lol smile.gif
wodenus
post Dec 10 2016, 09:03 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Dec 10 2016, 07:22 AM)
All time high refers to US market not Asia market.

Yea we made a bit over there too, but not as much as India smile.gif

This post has been edited by wodenus: Dec 10 2016, 09:38 AM

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.1160sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:27 AM