> Do you change tire if there is crack on the treads

TSlifebalance
post Oct 21 2016, 11:40 AM, updated 10y ago

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

My tire start to have crack on the treads but not side wall. Still safe to drive ?

The tire is about 3 years and 3 months old and they always say to change it every 3 years even if it looks fine.
altan
post Oct 21 2016, 11:43 AM

188 posts

Jgn tukar, tunggu sampai accident baru claim insurance.
mred02
post Oct 21 2016, 11:43 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Oct 21 2016, 11:40 AM)
My tire start to have crack on the treads but not side wall. Still safe to drive ?

The tire is about 3 years and 3 months old and they always say to change it every 3 years even if it looks fine.
for ur safety better change tyre . but for my case , i lazy change tongue.gif the tyre crack i still drive like normal but no speeding bruce.gif else u die bye.gif
DigitalMop
post Oct 21 2016, 11:44 AM

60 posts

should be safe
Hades76
post Oct 21 2016, 11:47 AM

680 posts

Your tyre is hard and coming apart. Please change for your and other people safety. Also please change in pairs.
alien3d
post Oct 21 2016, 11:47 AM

3,740 posts

wtf 3 years tak tukar.. ? even me tukar after 40k millage. which around 1 years.. should based on km not years.. balancing ada buat ka ?
godhand
post Oct 21 2016, 11:48 AM

206 posts

change la wtf lol
hollyweed
post Oct 21 2016, 11:48 AM

67 posts

you my friend, should be fine. just ignore the cracks and drive like always. Speed up!
pcboss00
post Oct 21 2016, 11:49 AM

177 posts

pakai sampai nampak wire

1,003 posts

Yes I would
duckhole

379 posts

speed until you hear boooooooooooooom then it is time to change tyre
JimbeamofNRT
post Oct 21 2016, 11:50 AM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

you do insurance but u ask this kind of Q?

seriously?
smallcrab

140 posts

Side wall crack more dangerous

Taipan052

76 posts

dont change..

go celup your tayar.

can save some bucks
SUSradical85

lalala~~
625 posts

QUOTE(altan @ Oct 21 2016, 11:43 AM)
Jgn tukar, tunggu sampai accident baru claim insurance.
notworthy.gif rclxms.gif
abu.shofwan
post Oct 21 2016, 11:51 AM

1,455 posts

IMO, the faster you drive, the more crucial your tire conditions become. so if you only drive around at 60, your tires should be still able to cope.
iwubpreve

1,829 posts

don't change cheap cap ayam. tyre. also check the manufacture date when u buy. male love and take care their cars.
armzzza

23 posts

Michelin Pilot Sport 4 is waiting u thumbup.gif
Davez89
post Oct 21 2016, 11:53 AM

1,275 posts

Use it until something happens.. If not insurance wasted didn't claim
azbro
post Oct 21 2016, 11:53 AM

4,403 posts

I review a lot of tires

Yes, most tires even good ones tend to crack at the other side, especially with conti cars.

Here are some of my reviews:

QUOTE(azbro @ Nov 27 2015, 04:16 PM)
Tires I've used, that I remember
Car is 308T

All UHP of course, I leave out the extreme type. No point comparing Extreme tires with UHP.
CSC5...the finess tires, BUT...It dun last and Malaysia road with full of pothole with make the sidewall Bengkak. No matter how good it is, no point in getting something that is not durable. Side thread are good and no chipping/cracking
Totally not my choice unless I have money to burn, and tis expensive.
CSC3 suffers worst fate and they tried to fix that with the cheaper Contimax making the sidewalls harder, and end up many of Contimax tires didn't give early warning when tire pressure was low.

PS3...good all rounder, side thread tends to chip/crack a bit, but overall my choice. I used a few sets of these.
Quite silent if compared to the Previous tire it replaced, the PP2.
Yes, PS3 replaced the PP2, not PS2. The legendary PS2 is replaced by PSS but still continue to be selling well.
But Ppl who use PS2 will know there are grades to it, but that's another story
One really good thing about PS3 it also comes in 15inch sizes. I've used 3 sets of these on my godcar.
Only thing about Michelin is the people there. Those customers to Michelin can be a bit "stuck-up" ppl  blush.gif
Just because they are using 'Michelin' makes them 'above average' ppl  laugh.gif
Anyway its good to see ppl who are proud and loyal to the Michelin brand.

Advan V105, similar to PS3 but way better in the dry and comfort, but these dun last, tends to chip/crack at the side threads too from extreme cornering.
What I like about these tires is the sidewalls, nice 3D designs after you polish it.
Not much significant advantage over the previous V103

Goodyear Asy2, Dem comfort, dry grips slightly below PS3, but the Wet is where it really fails. Funny, the GYGSD3 was the rain king, this GYF1Asy2 is shameful. Side threads also tends to chip/crack. And finish faster than PS3. I heard like the PS3 there are Lot to this. But frankly speaking with any Goodyear tire, is like regularly hearing what lot is good and thing like that. Simply cant get the quality right. Unless you buy the German one lol

Evo1, compare to PS3, its down a few notch, but its durable and no side thread chip/crack, its a very crude tire unlike CSC5.
After 50% life, the roar becomes unbearable. I'm sure the Evo2 should be better and more finess

N'Fera SU1, Budget UHP tires, Quite a popular tire now, great in the wets but fails in dry cornering.
Although it fails in dry cornering, it will still beats all family type tires. Only thing is its well below UHP level.
Comfort not bad. I'm using this now as my GYF1Asy2 is totally damaged.
Looks like the side threads are holding on but maybe due to I dun corner hard because not confident with this screaming tires lol
For those who don't know, Nexen has 2 line up of tires. N'Fera and N series.

RE050A, for me its very good overalls, comparable to PS3, quite expensive, but prone to tramlining, not for uneven roads and highways, you might even lose control of the steering if you are not holding it firmly. no side thread chip/cracks.

Ecsta SPT
, tends to lose grip when you are hard in corners, super critical on tires pressures, wet soso OK, no side thread chip/crack.

My choice is .....
This is just my opinion, I'm not working or getting sponsored by any of the tire manufacturers lol
This post has been edited by azbro: Oct 21 2016, 12:17 PM
klorok
post Oct 21 2016, 11:55 AM

28 posts

which brand tire is good for iriz and which shop cheapest?
max_cjs0101
post Oct 21 2016, 11:56 AM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Oct 21 2016, 11:53 AM)
I review a lot of tires

Yes, most tires even good ones tend to crack at the other side, especially with conti cars.
But its normal to have cracks right?
duckhole
post Oct 21 2016, 11:56 AM

379 posts

I review a lot of tires

cause malaysia weather is very hot during the day and cold at night

apa lj also crack
TSlifebalance
post Oct 21 2016, 12:01 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(mred02 @ Oct 21 2016, 11:43 AM)
for ur safety better change tyre . but for my case , i lazy change  tongue.gif the tyre crack i still drive like normal but no speeding  bruce.gif else u die  bye.gif
hmm okay

QUOTE(Hades76 @ Oct 21 2016, 11:47 AM)
Your tyre is hard and coming apart. Please change for your and other people safety. Also please change in pairs.
noted on this

QUOTE(alien3d @ Oct 21 2016, 11:47 AM)
wtf 3 years tak tukar.. ?  even me tukar after  40k millage.  which around 1 years.. should based on km not years..  balancing ada buat ka ?
got balancing. Hmm so should based on millage or years ?

QUOTE(abu.shofwan @ Oct 21 2016, 11:51 AM)
IMO, the faster you drive, the more crucial your tire conditions become. so if you only drive around at 60, your tires should be still able to cope.
hmm normally i drive 110

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Oct 21 2016, 11:51 AM)
don't change cheap cap ayam. tyre. also check the manufacture date when u buy. male love and take care their cars.
Hmm what brand to recommend or use back the stock tire brand ?

TSlifebalance
post Oct 21 2016, 12:02 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(armzzza @ Oct 21 2016, 11:51 AM)
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 is waiting u  thumbup.gif
Hmm how much per donut ?

I review a lot of tires

Here are some of my reviews:
Hmmm if that's the case how to gauge whether it's safe or not safe ? buy good tire but still crack at side wall.

QUOTE(klorok @ Oct 21 2016, 11:55 AM)
which brand tire is good for iriz and which shop cheapest?
Ya recommend pls

QUOTE(duckhole @ Oct 21 2016, 11:56 AM)

apa lj also crack
Hmmm if that's the case how to gauge the lifetime ?
alien3d
post Oct 21 2016, 12:05 PM

3,740 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Oct 21 2016, 12:01 PM)
hmm okay
noted on this
got balancing. Hmm so should based on millage or years ?
hmm normally i drive 110
even if you millage is low maybe around 10k you still need to changed the tire.. some would said getah dah keras
TSlifebalance
post Oct 21 2016, 12:06 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(alien3d @ Oct 21 2016, 12:05 PM)
even if you millage is low maybe around 10k  you still need to changed the tire.. some would said  getah dah keras
Woah, 10k change ? drive ferrari at 360 kmh ah.

Every 10k servicing will cost RM2k already like this
azbro
post Oct 21 2016, 12:07 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ Oct 21 2016, 11:56 AM)
But its normal to have cracks right?
QUOTE(duckhole @ Oct 21 2016, 11:56 AM)

apa lj also crack
I've updated the post just now

Yes, normal to have those cracks

Example picture:

But depends on the severity

The V103A I used cracked so bad that when I overtake lorry and hit the road reflectors middle of the road, the tire blew up

This post has been edited by azbro: Oct 21 2016, 12:09 PM
alien3d
post Oct 21 2016, 12:08 PM

3,740 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Oct 21 2016, 12:06 PM)
Woah, 10k change ? drive ferrari at 360 kmh ah.

Every 10k servicing will cost RM2k already like this
not because ferrari but years also.. 2 tire for me maybe around 260.. in 7 years i think i changed 8 tire.
TSlifebalance
post Oct 21 2016, 12:11 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Oct 21 2016, 12:07 PM)

Example picture:

The V103A I used cracked so bad that when I overtake lorry and hit the road reflectors middle of the road, the tire blew up
Hmm ya my tires look like this but not so torn apart, just cracks like really minor.

Still safe if it's minor crack ? hmm.gif
duckhole
post Oct 21 2016, 12:12 PM

379 posts

Example picture:

crack bottom part still ok la

if crack on the sides is the dangerous part, that mean really going kaboom soon

bottom could be you masuk lobang in and out too often or hit pavement always lol
azbro
post Oct 21 2016, 12:15 PM

4,403 posts

You crack tires greatest enemy will be this:

Kaboom...I kena oledi
TSlifebalance
post Oct 21 2016, 12:22 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Oct 21 2016, 12:15 PM)
You crack tires greatest enemy will be this:

Kaboom...I kena oledi
is it ? I thought they are pretty safe .... will take note not to drive over them
Vexation
post Oct 21 2016, 12:23 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(alien3d @ Oct 21 2016, 11:47 AM)
wtf 3 years tak tukar.. ?  even me tukar after  40k millage.  which around 1 years.. should based on km not years..  balancing ada buat ka ?
1 year you drive 40k km? jesus buddy
azbro
post Oct 21 2016, 12:24 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Oct 21 2016, 12:22 PM)
is it ? I thought they are pretty safe .... will take note not to drive over them
I think your condition still OK

Yes those reflectors are safe BUT, if you drive kampong roads they using substandard contractors to install them, that is when the problem comes
SUSEdBaaBaa
post Oct 21 2016, 12:25 PM

67 posts

Tayar crack oredi still dunwan change ke?

Waiting for accident first b4 change ah?

CHANGE LA
xxboxx
post Oct 21 2016, 12:26 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

Example picture:

That one is normal. This one is dangerous
teehk_tee
post Oct 21 2016, 12:29 PM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

as long as not sidewall
and ur car not used for highway 130kmh above

city driving is ok.
iwubpreve
post Oct 21 2016, 12:30 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Oct 21 2016, 12:01 PM)
Michelin lo. stock sux mostly
alien3d
post Oct 21 2016, 12:31 PM

3,740 posts

QUOTE(Vexation @ Oct 21 2016, 12:23 PM)
1 year you drive 40k km? jesus buddy
old days.. travel very far far..i think other people more then me.. velocity should be higher then me.
myasiahobby
post Oct 21 2016, 12:32 PM

693 posts

if your live not so valuable then no need to change.... wait until car overturn
SUSMatrix
post Oct 21 2016, 12:32 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Basically just look at your Tire manufactured date. Life of tyre=4 years. 3 yerars too extremelah, unless already botak. If still got lots of thread, and you don't experience aqua planning, still ok.

But your case, bocor already, buy new lah.
azbro
post Oct 21 2016, 12:33 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Oct 21 2016, 12:26 PM)
That one is normal. This one is dangerous
YES 100% agree
TSlifebalance
post Oct 21 2016, 12:34 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Oct 21 2016, 12:33 PM)
YES 100% agree
Hmm will later inspect one by one of see if got such cracks or not
azbro
post Oct 21 2016, 12:35 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Oct 21 2016, 12:34 PM)
Hmm will later inspect one by one of see if got such cracks or not
Both are different type of cracks, but for the bottom picture, cannot use already, need to change
max_cjs0101
post Oct 21 2016, 02:15 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

My tires got cracks but it looks like hairline cracks rather than wear and tear cracks.

0.0215sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:35 PM