5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Technical Sony PlayStation Portable for Beginners, General PSP Q&A and Homebrew Discussion

Cyphereza
post Aug 8 2007, 09:27 AM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

QUOTE(DFlo @ Aug 6 2007, 09:50 PM)
Yup, you'll need an unpatched Lumines UMD. smile.gif
And those bast*rds at Sg Wang are selling Lumines UMD for RM200-RM300. Just because of the exploit. mad.gif vmad.gif

wwwah85:
Btw, if u're running it off the stick, u might have a fake stick which has slow data transfer rate.

This post has been edited by Cyphereza: Aug 8 2007, 09:31 AM
Cyphereza
post Aug 9 2007, 11:23 PM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

To clarify the need for a battery if u're on a/c, the answer is...
you don't need the battery if u're on a/c. thumbup.gif
i always do this, just to conserve my batt's life (that is when i'm at home). tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Cyphereza: Aug 9 2007, 11:24 PM
Cyphereza
post Aug 10 2007, 08:53 AM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

hehe... if i'm flashing, i'll charge the batt up to 100% first. unplug the power cord and start flashing...
Cyphereza
post Aug 10 2007, 07:40 PM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

QUOTE(BlueSilver @ Aug 10 2007, 10:24 AM)
I think the answer should be yes they ship to Malaysia and no there are no additional charges. I'm still waiting for my parcel to arrive though. smile.gif

Question:
Is it possible to have a calendar function inside psp?
Calendar function like an organizer rite? Not sure if there is a homebrew on that but i thought of doing an organizer for the psp where u can keep notes, meetings, etc. But first, i need to learn on how to create gui in psp. tongue.gif
I'll let u know when i come up with it aite. wink.gif

Maybe your MSPD has slow transfer rate.

Transfer speeds

Standard:

* Maximum write speed: 14.4 Mbit/s (1.8 MB/s)
    * Maximum read speed: 19.6 Mbit/s (2.5 MB/s)

Duo/PRO Duo:

* Transfer: 159 Mbit/s (20 MB/s)
    * Minimum write speed: 15 Mbit/s
    * Maximum write speed: 80 Mbit/s (High Speed PRO Duo)

Micro (M2):

* Transfer: 160 Mbit/s (20 MB/s)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Memory_Stick#Transfer_speeds

This post has been edited by Cyphereza: Aug 10 2007, 07:49 PM
Cyphereza
post Aug 11 2007, 03:03 AM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

QUOTE(BlueSilver @ Aug 10 2007, 11:31 PM)
Thanks. Can i know whether my psp is homebrew? Erm... do you call it that way? I just got my psp not too long ago.  blush.gif
Homebrews are applications created for the PSP but isn't endorsed by Sony. It doesn't suppose to be pirated material. So, u should ask if your PSP is capable of running homebrews. If u have a custom firmware, and most probably it can run homebrews.
Cyphereza
post Aug 11 2007, 07:43 PM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

eehtsitna:
If u can't wait, just get yourself a PSP now at Bernard's. U won't regret it. thumbup.gif

If u can resist the temptation, i say just wait for the PSP Lite. wink.gif

Just bought my bro-in-law a gold PSP + Blackhorns(tm) Deluxe Kit for PSP and for a friend, a black PSP + Blackhorns(tm) Ultra Thin Crystal Case. Nice deal. He even let us play the PS2 while waiting for the firmware upgrade and dvd-burning. Friendly guy I must say.
Cyphereza
post Aug 11 2007, 07:59 PM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

Blackhorns(tm) is 3rd party accessories for the PSP.

Package consists of
- Sports style pack (a bag)
- Screen protector
- Detachable five star sticks (the analogue stick replacements)
- UFO Controller adapter (d-pad replacement)
- Crystal Polycarbonate Case
- Retractable USB 2.0 Data/Power Link cable
- PSP Replacement battery 1800mAH
- PSP battery charger
- USB car charger
- Hi-Fi remote control earphones
- UMD & mem stick case
- Wrist strap

i think the price is around RM170

This is really a good bargain! Kudos to Bernard! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Cyphereza: Aug 11 2007, 08:00 PM
Cyphereza
post Aug 12 2007, 12:06 AM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

akachester:
The accessories are, well... 3rd party. Not Sony imitation.
Cyphereza
post Aug 12 2007, 10:50 AM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

QUOTE(mfa333 @ Aug 12 2007, 01:19 AM)
u came to bernard shop today(saturday 11/8)? why not joining the gath? hmm.gif
Didn't notice the gath topic. blush.gif
The actual plan was to buy a psp for my bro-in-law. Maybe next time eh?
Btw, I was still there when u guys were taking pictures. tongue.gif
Cyphereza
post Aug 13 2007, 07:16 AM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

Hehe, the hidden one... wink.gif
Cyphereza
post Aug 13 2007, 09:12 AM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

I think it would be the 2600mAH mega pack if u want it to be within the normal dimension range. tongue.gif

There are always the 4200mAH, 8000mAH. etc. But these are the BIG ones. U attached it to your console instead of inserting it into your battery area.

A newbie Xlink Kai question:
Is it compulsory to have port forwarding?
Is it compulsory for me to have a desktop or laptop with Wi-Fi cards/adapter?

Below is a picture of my network setup. wink.gif *it's a lil buruk since i did it in 5mins using gimp... (really noob at gimp)*

This post has been edited by Cyphereza: Aug 13 2007, 09:31 AM
Cyphereza
post Aug 13 2007, 11:42 AM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

Urkk... what if i used my laptops Wi-Fi? Is it possible?
And... port forward from what IP to what IP?
I assume it'll be PC:30000-to-PSP. Correct? Or I got it all wrong?
Tried reading the FAQs and Helps, didn't help much.
Cyphereza
post Aug 15 2007, 11:33 AM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

4GB MSPD, last time I check with a camera shop, RM299+. Not sure if it's fake or not.
Cyphereza
post Aug 15 2007, 04:52 PM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

Go for original Sandisk. Read it somewhere 'Sandisk vs Sony Memory Stick', Sandisk wins.
Cyphereza
post Aug 15 2007, 05:09 PM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

I have a fake 4GB Sony Memory Stick Pro Duo and a fake 2GB Sony Memory Stick Pro Duo High Speed, the 2GB runs FIFA07 almost without any lag.

Between original and fake, I'm not too sure.
Cyphereza
post Aug 22 2007, 09:27 AM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

Initial D, umm, they only have 1 for PSP right?
SanDisk RM250 for 4GB? That's way cool... wink.gif
Cyphereza
post Aug 24 2007, 03:54 AM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

for dead pixel, or stucked pixel,

Including what DFlo said (white and black), do try it with Red, Green and Blue background.
Cyphereza
post Aug 26 2007, 11:14 PM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

Wow shocking.gif
1080p PSP? I want that! tongue.gif
The only shop I trust is Bernard's and DjINn's Gamers Hideout.
Cyphereza
post Aug 30 2007, 04:56 AM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

Hmm, this type of questions are subjective. wink.gif
Okay, first of all, what type of games do you want to play? What do you want to do with it? NDSL has it pros and cons, same goes for the PSP. But since you're asking it here, I'd say everyone here will tell you to get the PSP. Yes, its worth it. thumbup.gif

The slim version which uses firmware 3.6, as of now, is not compatible to run homebrews since no one has it to mod/hack it in the first place (I think). But who knows, the homebrew community is huge, I think they won't have any problem modding/hacking/customizing the firmware. But how soon? That I'm not sure.

So, the question is now the fat one or the slimmer one? If you can't tahan, get it now. If you can wait and you also need the extra feautures on the slimmer one, do wait for it. Or you can get a fat one, and later on, sell it and buy the slimmer version when it is capable of running homebrews.

Usually in Malaysia, it will be a lil bit expensive compared to the bigger ones. If you want to get it, I suggest you get it from Bernard.
Cyphereza
post Aug 30 2007, 09:02 AM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

Yup, I second that. I don't think there are any fake PSP.
How bout recons/refurbished? Is it available?

GTA series for the PSP, if you're running it from MSPD, yup, it will lag like hell even 333MHz. So, bottom line is, use the original UMD and not the backups wink.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0411sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 04:38 PM