122 Pages « < 113 114 115 116 117 > » Bottom

Technical Sony PlayStation Portable for Beginners, General PSP Q&A and Homebrew Discussion

mzaidi
post Dec 27 2007, 02:21 PM

Jerk
1,484 posts

QUOTE(Gurdian @ Dec 27 2007, 12:24 PM)
prolly gonna get flamed for this, but i'll ask anyway

wats the difference with 3.71 firmware for Slim PSP and Fat PSP

as far as I know, Slim 3.71 can't play certain homebrews or something?

What are the things lacking in the Slim 3.71 firmware compared to the fat one?
Pardon the n00bie question.
The firmware is same for both PSP Fat and Slim, but you cannot run kernel 1.50 on PSP Slim which some old homebrews requires to run properly.
Gurdian
post Dec 27 2007, 02:38 PM

1,648 posts

QUOTE(mzaidi @ Dec 27 2007, 02:21 PM)
The firmware is same for both PSP Fat and Slim, but you cannot run kernel 1.50 on PSP Slim which some old homebrews requires to run properly.
i see, thanks for replying. Cheers.

What old homebrews are we talking about here? Anything worth mentioning?

Other than that, no other drawbacks? the PS1 emulator works just as well?
mzaidi
post Dec 27 2007, 02:41 PM

Jerk
1,484 posts

QUOTE(Gurdian @ Dec 27 2007, 02:38 PM)
What old homebrews are we talking about here? Anything worth mentioning?

Other than that, no other drawbacks? the PS1 emulator works just as well?
AFAIK, most of the popular homebrew application has been recompiled to work on PSP Slim. PS1 emulator works fine on both PSP Fat & PSP Slim.
Gurdian
post Dec 27 2007, 02:45 PM

1,648 posts

QUOTE(mzaidi @ Dec 27 2007, 02:41 PM)
AFAIK, most of the popular homebrew application has been recompiled to work on PSP Slim. PS1 emulator works fine on both PSP Fat & PSP Slim.
Many many thanks again mzaidi! notworthy.gif

time to waste my Christmas money
Zaizai
post Dec 27 2007, 03:53 PM

so mean the video must be mp4 to view in PSP?
msn83235502
post Dec 27 2007, 04:44 PM

ผู้นิยม
2,862 posts

QUOTE(Zaizai @ Dec 27 2007, 03:53 PM)
so mean the video must be mp4 to view in PSP?
yes... only mp4 for the video file and thm for the tumbnail. sweat.gif

ykc
post Dec 27 2007, 05:11 PM

1,884 posts

QUOTE(sprix @ Dec 27 2007, 09:31 AM)
@ykc

seriously... every new owner of psp is scare to brick their psp.. so do i, when i buy psp last two month.. but trust me.. if u do rightly.. it very..very.. difficult to ur psp become bricked unless ur psp turn off or u remove ur memory stick while upgrading process still on .. my propose site is pspmod.com.. try do some research from this site and u'll never get lost instead.. it very interesting.. good luck thumbup.gif
thanks for your advice, maybe i'll take up the courage to upgrade it brows.gif

but i still need to do more readings ... still many things are blur to me

thanks again for the site ...

Added on December 27, 2007, 5:15 pm
QUOTE(msn83235502 @ Dec 26 2007, 09:32 PM)
just do NAND backup.so if brick,u're safe with pandora
hmm.gif wat's NAND and pandora means? I see alot of pandora words coming out from PSP site ...
care to explain to me aka super newbie

This post has been edited by ykc: Dec 27 2007, 05:15 PM
sprix
post Dec 27 2007, 05:29 PM

354 posts

pandora is unbricker for any bricked psp.. since u use this pandora battery.. then u'll never brick ur psp.. there are some tutorial to do pandora batery.. just google n u'll find it..

to upgarde ur psp.. u also can searching around youtube.. this what i've done when i was first time to upgrade my psp's CFW.. n u'll never get lost instead of reading from alot of site n then u'll get confuse..

BTW try this link = http://www.pspmod.com/forums/psp-firmware-...b-friendly.html

goodluck...

This post has been edited by sprix: Dec 27 2007, 06:06 PM
hussam_o_r
post Dec 28 2007, 05:38 PM

NOT IN MALAYSIA ANYMORE
517 posts

can i convert any movie .avi .mpg to mp4 to play on PSP
fruitie
post Dec 28 2007, 10:52 PM

Rise and Shine
72,772 posts

Hello everyone. I have decided to buy a unit of PSP Slim after a comparison with NDSL. biggrin.gif
First and foremost, please pardon my ignorance for some of my questions here regarding PSPS. notworthy.gif I am sorry if my questions are already repeated for numerous times here. notworthy.gif
My first question will be how is the battery life of Slim over the Fat? I have done researches from online, some said Slim has better battery life but some said no. sweat.gif
Second question: What is the earphones port for Slim? Is it the normal 3.5mm jack head? unsure.gif

Hope you all can help me on this. These two issues are my current doubts for Slim. blush.gif
If no problem, I'll be joining the PSP community in this January. wink.gif
mzaidi
post Dec 28 2007, 10:59 PM

Jerk
1,484 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 28 2007, 10:52 PM)
My first question will be how is the battery life of Slim over the Fat? I have done researches from online, some said Slim has better battery life but some said no. sweat.gif
Second question: What is the earphones port for Slim? Is it the normal 3.5mm jack head? unsure.gif
1. PSP Slim comes with a smaller capacity battery (1200 MAh) compared to PSP Fat (1800 MAh), but battery life are about the same due to PSP Slim's improved power consumption. You can get extended battery life if you use the PSP Fat's battery on the PSP Slim.

2, Yes, it's 3.5mm jack head.
fruitie
post Dec 28 2007, 11:23 PM

Rise and Shine
72,772 posts

QUOTE(mzaidi @ Dec 28 2007, 10:59 PM)
1. PSP Slim comes with a smaller capacity battery (1200 MAh) compared to PSP Fat (1800 MAh), but battery life are about the same due to PSP Slim's improved power consumption. You can get extended battery life if you use the PSP Fat's battery on the PSP Slim.

2, Yes, it's 3.5mm jack head.
Thanks for the reply. biggrin.gif Okay, I will just charge the battery since I heard it takes approximately of an hour time to get it fully charged? Fat's battery on Slim? sweat.gif

Yeah, hope I can get it on my hands once my exam finish on 2nd. biggrin.gif
dattebayo
post Dec 28 2007, 11:40 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 28 2007, 11:23 PM)
Thanks for the reply. biggrin.gif Okay, I will just charge the battery since I heard it takes approximately of an hour time to get it fully charged? Fat's battery on Slim? sweat.gif

Yeah, hope I can get it on my hands once my exam finish on 2nd. biggrin.gif
it's slightly more than an hour i think... but you ll see the power LED off when the batt has fully charged
to use fat's batt on Slim u ll need a special battery cover, not sure it's on retail yet now...

actually PSP Slim and fat...both also having the same standby/gaming time, my experience is it won't go more than 4 hours in intensive gaming, running at 333mhz @ mspd. The batt life is even shrinking if running UMD sweat.gif
fruitie
post Dec 28 2007, 11:49 PM

Rise and Shine
72,772 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Dec 28 2007, 11:40 PM)
it's slightly more than an hour i think... but you ll see the power LED off when the batt has fully charged
to use fat's batt on Slim u ll need a special battery cover, not sure it's on retail yet now...

actually PSP Slim and fat...both also having the same standby/gaming time, my experience is it won't go more than 4 hours in intensive gaming, running at 333mhz @ mspd. The batt life is even shrinking if running UMD sweat.gif
Okay, how about for movie? smile.gif
I am not really a hardcore gamer. wink.gif
mzaidi
post Dec 29 2007, 12:10 AM

Jerk
1,484 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 28 2007, 11:49 PM)
Playing video from memory stick, with 3rd brightness level and 80% audio volume level, I can get around 6 - 6 1/2 hours of battery life.
hussam_o_r
post Dec 29 2007, 12:24 AM

NOT IN MALAYSIA ANYMORE
517 posts

QUOTE(mzaidi @ Dec 29 2007, 12:10 AM)
Playing video from memory stick, with 3rd brightness level and 80% audio volume level, I can get around 6 - 6 1/2 hours  of battery life.
CooooooooooooL
kunimi
post Dec 29 2007, 12:16 PM

334 posts

May i noe what's is the difference between Sony/Sandisk mmc and High speed mmc?? Confused
BlueHeng
post Dec 29 2007, 07:10 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 28 2007, 11:49 PM)
I think it's not worth the money if you're buying it just to watch movie lor.. but if u wanna play games as well then it's useful.
Syfq
post Dec 29 2007, 09:07 PM

Sense of Definition
1,138 posts

yeah....movie not enough ... make ur psp like ur psd also... got alarm , notepad , coculator , internet exporler , and many more...
Zero-G
post Dec 29 2007, 11:09 PM

29 posts

Hi everyone, biggrin.gif
I bought a psp slim recently, will my psp support vista using usb for file transfering?
and whats the function of the iso video mount in the vsh menu in xmb(when u press select) ?

noob here tongue.gif

122 Pages « < 113 114 115 116 117 > » Top

0.1337sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:02 AM