Thin sound after replacing head unit, Need Help!

TSChristina Leo
post Oct 18 2016, 11:01 PM, updated 10y ago

46 posts

Hi all sifu, I just replaced my stock Inspira Clarion head unit to Sony W650BT.
My speaker are all stock and it sounded quite good previously with quite some bass (with stock clarion unit)

But after replacing with Sony W650BT, i find the sound quality are alot worse. The sound are so thin and there is almost no bass at all. Spent some time playing with settings and equalizer but still no luck.

To be honest i dont think this sony head unit are worse than the stock clarion unit, perhaps wiring issue during installation?? Or anyone else faced the same issue mentioned?
akallen
post Oct 19 2016, 01:09 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(Christina Leo @ Oct 18 2016, 11:01 PM)
My speaker are all stock and it sounded quite good previously with quite some bass (with stock clarion unit)

But after replacing with Sony W650BT, i find the sound quality are alot worse. The sound are so thin and there is almost no bass at all. Spent some time playing with settings and equalizer but still no luck.

To be honest i dont think this sony head unit are worse than the stock clarion unit, perhaps wiring issue during installation?? Or anyone else faced the same issue mentioned?
From my understanding once you have changed player.. it should produce clear bass compared to stock..
Templar777
post Oct 19 2016, 03:57 PM

Hi.
Have you try to set your megabass to 2?
If your installer didnt set the LPF and HPF all those, try to reset it to off.

see isit got any difference?

If not,
1) possibly wiring problem (cant tell you specific, cant be sure)
2) your stock player power output is higher

This happens to vw car as well, as their panasonic oem hu was damn powerful.
TSChristina Leo
post Oct 19 2016, 05:17 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(Templar777 @ Oct 19 2016, 03:57 PM)
Hi.

If not,

I had set the Mega Bass to level 2 and tried all the equalizer, but still sounds crap.
Sony W650BT Peak output is 55 watts and RMS Power Output is 17 watts, it should be quite decent i guess. Now it sounds worst than my 2013 myvi lagi best stock system. sad.gif
akallen
post Oct 24 2016, 09:40 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(Christina Leo @ Oct 19 2016, 05:17 PM)
I had set the Mega Bass to level 2 and tried all the equalizer, but still sounds crap.
Sony W650BT Peak output is 55 watts and RMS Power Output is 17 watts, it should be quite decent i guess. Now it sounds worst than my 2013 myvi lagi best stock system.  sad.gif
Now have to see the player ori or not..lol
It should have enhance the speakers a bit.. don't talk about the bass lahh.. it should have given you clarity
6UE5T
post Oct 24 2016, 11:17 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Christina Leo @ Oct 18 2016, 11:01 PM)

QUOTE(Templar777 @ Oct 19 2016, 03:57 PM)
Hi.

If not,

Can be speaker wiring reversed, meaning + get's connected to - and vice versa. This is called reverse polarity whereby instead of causing the speaker cone to push forward to move air and create bass/sound, it pulls the cone hence no bass.
TSChristina Leo
post Oct 24 2016, 12:33 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 24 2016, 11:17 AM)
Can be speaker wiring reversed, meaning + get's connected to - and vice versa. This is called reverse polarity whereby instead of causing the speaker cone to push forward to move air and create bass/sound, it pulls the cone hence no bass.
Had it checked and thats exactly what happened. Front speakers wiring reversed during installation. Already reverse the wiring again and it sounds awesome now. Thanks all for the advice.
Thats why i dont like to let 'bangla' touch my car, they tend to mess things up. And their boss doesnt even bother to double check after installation. Bad quality control
6UE5T
post Oct 24 2016, 02:55 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Christina Leo @ Oct 24 2016, 12:33 PM)
Had it checked and thats exactly what happened. Front speakers wiring reversed during installation. Already reverse the wiring again and it sounds awesome now. Thanks all for the advice.
Thats why i dont like to let 'bangla' touch my car, they tend to mess things up. And their boss doesnt even bother to double check after installation. Bad quality control
Haha good then.
Jerry Yap
post Oct 27 2016, 04:52 PM

Where did you do your installation? Mind to share? Dun wan others to fall into the same trap
sentinal3_16
post Oct 27 2016, 08:55 PM

798 posts

Well happen to me before year 1996 at few shops. They mix the + and - wire and say speaker rosak. Then another shop took off the amp fuse and say my amp spoil. That time i dont really have knowledge on these things.Then i learned myself. Con man are everywhere. Its good to have some knowledge on the things we are people to do.
vyonxhin
post Oct 28 2016, 12:47 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(Jerry Yap @ Oct 27 2016, 04:52 PM)
Where did you do your installation? Mind to share? Dun wan others to fall into the same trap
I have the same case as I installed my 1st component setup in a very famous shop(I am not gonna name names), but they hooked up my tweeter wrongly which resulted harsh sound piercing my ear. That time I tot it gonna git gud after it burn-in but apparently it will never be good,and eventually gets to the point which totally unbearable and i have my player switch off all the time ... Trust your ear in such case, nowhere is safe.

This post has been edited by vyonxhin: Oct 28 2016, 12:47 PM
Drian
post Nov 23 2016, 01:56 PM

4,999 posts

Some HU like those in VW has built in equalization to tailor for the car acoustics environment when used with oem speakers. If you just change the HU you remove all the equalization and hence how it sounds.

0.0231sec    0.66    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:29 AM