Review - LIFX Smart LED Lights

ozak
post Oct 18 2016, 11:19 PM

17,025 posts

Nice boss.

I don't understand much the wifi connection.

Is the bulb always see in the wifi router? The phone apps will auto search the bulb when open? Don't need to manually set in the setting right?

If lost connection, will the bulb function by itself? Those that you already prg in. If I switch off the main, will it keep the memory?
ozak
post Oct 19 2016, 12:13 AM

17,025 posts

Understand boss.

I will observe longer to see the quality. How long can it last.

Since it need to be keep ON 7/11, I m worry about the lightning and how easy it blow out.
ozak
post Oct 19 2016, 08:27 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Oct 19 2016, 12:36 AM)
When you turn it on manually, it remembers it's last setting so if it was red light before it was turned off it will be red light when you turn it on manually

I cant find any info on how many hours lifespan, all i got is this -

it says if you use 3 hours a day, it will last 22.8 years
That wan theory lifespan. Most of the time is the electronic fried.

Unstable voltage cause it. Specially if you run it like 7/11. Very much depend the electronic design to put in the safety.

So need time to observe how Long it can run.
ozak
post Oct 19 2016, 08:54 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Oct 19 2016, 08:37 AM)
got two years warranty boss
ya if lightning strike, nothing can help
I kena fried many thing by lightning.

Just because run it 7/11. Even with surge protector, some how it still can find the way to kill it.
ozak
post Oct 19 2016, 09:34 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Oct 19 2016, 08:59 AM)
install lightning arrestor rod at the roof  biggrin.gif
You better install 1. But the lightning is very tricky. It somehow will find the way to kill the thing.

My latest thing kena fried is the NAS. Already have surge protector. But the lightning surge is from the network cable. The server still running. But can't communicate with it. And the only way can communicate with it is through the network. Render it useless. Cost me RM7k to replace it. cry.gif

All this electronic thing that you intend to run 7/11, safety have to be enough. At least minimum the damage.

1 thing I don't understand is, electrical appliance like fridge, aircon also ON like 7/11. But no problem.

Guess electronic thing are more fragile.

ozak
post Oct 19 2016, 11:19 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(kengyan @ Oct 19 2016, 10:48 AM)
You are right on voltage spiking issues. But then Malaysia are having the highest power reserve in this world.
And each year there will be cases of house hold user's electric appliance being fried especially between 9-11am.
I believe many do have kena fried the electric appliance.

But for my case it a bit strange.

The aircon have been ON 7/11 for 19yrs, never fried before. It only have main MCB to ON/OFF.

The fridge as you know run 7/11. Same never fried before.

But the thing that always fried is the PC thing. Like modem, router, NAS etc.

1 thing that have to takecare is the voltage range. Most of the time, TNB voltage in the high side. It is like 240-250+V. Never been lower than that. So some electrical/electronic voltage range at 220V (china thing) I will be very carefull to buy.

Another thing is the switching spark. My switch socket constantly require to change when there is some abnormal during ON/OFF. It can be detect by some phenomenon from the electrical.
ozak
post Oct 19 2016, 01:27 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(kengyan @ Oct 19 2016, 01:12 PM)
Peak hours are 6-10am, after that it will be stable or usage lesser. This is the time you will see the most power fluctuations. Like my house is 3 phase where average voltage at 250-255V, any spike of 5% are good enough to fry something.
A 19 years air cond's internals are minimum controller ICs, mostly are direct logic control where the tolerence level are less sensitive than IC controls. Not to mention the engineers during that era will only build things that last forever unlike now they can be the chief engineer if he can build a component that sure fails as the time set.
For PC and network related appliances, the tolerance level are quite low, so if you were to change things due to lightning strike, suggest getting wireless tech will prevent this to happen.
Sorry. I mean in 19yrs I have use 2 aircon total. Being the latest is Inverter. But already in 8yrs. The changing is not related to lightning. I don't think the inverter have less electronic inside it.

It is mostly related to the electronic design. How you understand the local electric pattern and design according to it. How much safety component you design on it. Save cost, and you fried.
ozak
post Dec 3 2016, 11:56 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 3 2016, 11:13 AM)
ozak

After a month of using, I find the LIFX bulbs quite okay. The only problem I encountered is that sometimes the bulb would lose its connection to the Internet.
I am not sure if it is because of weak Wifi due to my bedroom's location or is it because of the bulb itself. The Wifi signal in my bedroom is not that strong but its stable and I can even stream.
I have 3 LIFX bulbs, but only 1 of the bulbs seems to lose its connection more than others. So I moved the bulb to another lamp and the problem seems to follow the bulb which indicates to me, its that particular bulb problem. However my finding is still inconclusive.
Once it gets disconnected, you can either turn it off and back on manually using the lamp's switch or wait for it to reconnect back on its own.

But so far I am happy with the results. They just released a 3rd generation color bulbs which is a bit brighter that my 2nd gen ones (i didnt know they were coming out with a new gen, if not I sure wait)
1 month only wor. So fast got confident already?

I think you better write in and claim that pcs. Before degrade further.
ozak
post Dec 3 2016, 09:01 PM

17,025 posts

This guy install his house with all the Philip hue light.

Maybe can pickup some idea and what else can do on such wifi light.

ozak
post Dec 3 2016, 11:19 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(Richard @ Dec 3 2016, 10:42 PM)
If you don't mind..

Can you send one of your lightning fried electronic to me? I can pay for the postage..

I'm curious as to what component is actually damaged..

We can communicate via PM for the payment and address..
Other like modem, router, fan already long throw away.

Left the NAS. The network side already fried. But the whole unit running find.

If you can repair, take it. Or take it anyway.

ozak
post Dec 4 2016, 10:48 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 4 2016, 09:20 AM)
Come buy some and join me. Dun worry la 😅
You want to wait until I use for two years only buy meh....?
You want to hack my light huh. 😜

I still don't no what to use with such light.

Suggest me. I want save bill.
ozak
post Dec 4 2016, 12:10 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 4 2016, 11:41 AM)
My main use is timer. Set certain time to turn on and off
The occasional change of color. Sometimes dim the lights. My needs are simple
Can use mechanical timer but no so elegant 😜
Already have a mechanical timer for car porch. the timer hide ontop the ceiling. Other light not require.

For change color, don't no which area want to change color. Hall have the cabinet light. ( haven't complete). Maybe for room? hmm.gif

Other area pretty basic ON/OFF. Do I need to change to use the phone to ON/OFF ? hmm.gif

What else?

ozak
post Dec 8 2016, 12:53 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 8 2016, 12:30 PM)
your internet basically needs to be running 24 x 7
if not the lights wont come on or turn off as scheduled
the settings are in the Cloud, hence you will need Internet to run the lights
That is cons point I guess.

ozak
post Jan 4 2017, 05:46 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 4 2017, 04:29 PM)
ozak remember I was saying one of the bulbs always disconnecting?
LIFX will ganti rugi one for me. They just emailed me saying they will send a replacement in the next two days so we shall see...
Send back the spoil 1?

ozak
post Jan 4 2017, 06:00 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 4 2017, 05:56 PM)
no need wor  rclxms.gif
dunno they can remotely kill it or not.... blush.gif
Probably they already know this is common problem for their product.

Good for you la. thumbup.gif

My friend also have same experience. Different product. They send the wrong item. Complain. Send another correct wan. But ask him to keep that wrong wan. Not cheap also.

0.0206sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 08:13 AM