TSmax_cjs0101
post Oct 17 2016, 10:07 PM, updated 10y ago

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

Hi everyone,

I had a laparoscopy procedure to remove my appendix in Tawakkal (Acute, Non Ruptured) 4 weeks ago and till now i occasionally have nausea and malaise which comes and goes.
My external surgical wound looks fine though. Once awhile i will have pulling sensations on my lower right abdomen (where the appendix was removed).
I read many articles which seem to point to either Intra Abdominal Abscess or internal Adhesions. sad.gif

Please share your experience/complications or any General Surgeon/Gastroenterologists in KL.

And does anyone know approximately how much an abdominal CT Scan would cost?

This post has been edited by max_cjs0101: Oct 17 2016, 10:55 PM
TSmax_cjs0101
post Oct 17 2016, 10:25 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Oct 17 2016, 10:23 PM)
if no fever and wound healing well, unlikely abscess.

a bit of adhesions forming is unavoidable. that's just how the body works. as long as no vomiting, passing flatus and defecation is ok........then there is no intestinal obstruction due to adhesion.

anyway, nausea can be caused by medication you are taking.......for example tramadol.....which is a commonly used painkiller after surgery.
Im not on any meds as im 4 weeks post op. No problems on bowel movements either. Now feeling a little unwell like going to fever pulak.
Thanks for your reply. Appreciate it.
TSmax_cjs0101
post Oct 17 2016, 10:30 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Oct 17 2016, 10:26 PM)
since this is in /k/ im gonna give /k/ replies

instead of going to the doctor consult them lu dtg sini consult /k/

semak than semakguy doh.gif
This hour no specialist and i'll need to wait till normal working hours.

QUOTE(slimey @ Oct 17 2016, 10:27 PM)
if it is just some discomfort and minor symptoms that comes and goes occasionally.........i am would not be concern about it.
Thing is im not feeling well at times and its not only discomfort.
TSmax_cjs0101
post Oct 17 2016, 10:34 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

QUOTE(silent_stalker @ Oct 17 2016, 10:31 PM)
My advice

Go gov hospital
They don't have my records.
TSmax_cjs0101
post Oct 17 2016, 10:40 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

QUOTE(silent_stalker @ Oct 17 2016, 10:35 PM)
If ur case is serious, u will be warded n they will get the record from the hospital u did surgery
No la, now just feeling feverish. Will meet specialist tomorrow morning.
TSmax_cjs0101
post Oct 17 2016, 10:44 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Oct 17 2016, 10:41 PM)
What did the doctor said on the side affect of the removal ?
Nothing much. he said can go back to normal activities after 2 weeks which is now more than that.

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Oct 17 2016, 10:42 PM)
i believe if the doctor that operate on you and it also the consultant/physician

they will respond if the hospital call them.

more than discomfort....tunggu apa lagi pergi la hospital A&E
By discomfort i mean feverish..
TSmax_cjs0101
post Oct 17 2016, 10:50 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

QUOTE(Pots @ Oct 17 2016, 10:48 PM)
I had mine removed in HKL when I was 12.

About 1 day after the operation I had fever. The doctor suspected infection so he opened 2 stitches and the wound was filled with pus. They put me on intensive antibiotic course and cleaned the wound every 2 or 3 hours. I had to stay in hospital for more than 1 week.

The wound didn't fully close until more than 1 month later.
Being young is a heck of an advantage. At least when you're adult its a bygone.

QUOTE(advocado @ Oct 17 2016, 10:49 PM)
might be infection if fever.
That's my worry. sad.gif
TSmax_cjs0101
post Oct 17 2016, 10:54 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Oct 17 2016, 10:52 PM)
well at most the doctor will need to re-open the wound and clean it up and feed u with antibiotic
I don't think its my surgical wound as its dried up and clean.
My worry is there's an infection inside.
TSmax_cjs0101
post Oct 17 2016, 11:20 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

QUOTE(amxpayne67 @ Oct 17 2016, 10:57 PM)
Did your insurance cover any post surgery checkup or second surgery related to the first one?

Do you experience any uncontrollable flatulence?
Yes by insurance has post surgery follow up.
And yes, there's quite a lot of flatulence but its controllable. Why do you ask so?

QUOTE(joe_mamak @ Oct 17 2016, 10:56 PM)
Hope it is nothing serious.  Get well soon.

QUOTE(RaymondReddington @ Oct 17 2016, 10:58 PM)
The appendix is not a useless organ. It's where the bulk of good bacteria is located.

Without it, nasty bad bacteria will proliferate causing all that nausea and etc. *lol*

The only option is to take probiotics regularly for the rest of your life.
yeah, recent study has indicated that the appendix aids in digestion.

QUOTE(advocado @ Oct 17 2016, 10:58 PM)
if infection you will feel the pain.

most likely infection elsewhere when your body is weak.

just go to clinic get some antibiotics and check back in 5 days.

meanwhile have some panadol.
I'll have to see the specialist as he said if there's fever i will need to come back to him. cry.gif

0.0154sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:49 PM