12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.26, is this the end of DSLR era?

engseng
post Oct 17 2020, 12:42 PM

1,981 posts

Seems like you guys not really excited about the Z6ii and Z7ii. hmm.gif
engseng
post Oct 17 2020, 08:44 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 17 2020, 05:13 PM)
doh.gif no... both are cheaper than the 58 f/1.4G lah. That 58 1.4G one of the pricier 1.4Gs from Nikon. Nice lens with its own character, the image is just nice but it isn't the sharpest around or the least CA around.
You might be interested in this video since he reviews the Z6ii and Z7ii (no English subtitles though):

Aiks, I thought that was the 50mm f/1.2 sad.gif

This post has been edited by engseng: Oct 17 2020, 08:48 PM
engseng
post Oct 18 2020, 01:15 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 18 2020, 12:21 PM)
I think it is the 50mm f/1.2 S, size is gigantic ._.
Hallo sozusagen im schoenen gruss aus Herrenhausen in Hanover, ich habe dabei die Nikon Z sieben zwei und Z sech zwei im Koffer voller Objektiv zum beispiel das fünfzig mm ein zwei von Nikon.

"Hello, greetings from Herrenhausen in Hanover, I have the Nikon Z6ii and Z7ii together with a suitcase full of lenses such as the 50mm f/1.2 from Nikon."

Yes, you are right. thumbsup.gif

This post has been edited by engseng: Oct 18 2020, 01:19 PM
engseng
post Oct 18 2020, 08:43 PM

1,981 posts

Z6ii and Z7ii bodies seem to be priced much cheaper than the Canon R5 and R6. hmm.gif
engseng
post Nov 6 2020, 02:10 PM

1,981 posts

Here's my opinion on what's happening:

1) Nikon isn't quitting the Malaysian photographic market. They will continue to sell and support their photography and metrology products through their vendors and distributors ie. Futuromic and QES. I recall that Nikon Malaysia has been already directing customers to Futuromic for their after-sales support since last year.

2) Nikon saw that they are not gaining much from maintaining Nikon Malaysia so that's why they are being closed down. What we will probably miss are those promotional roadshows where they give free sensor cleaning, photography sessions and talks, and cashbacks.

3) Nikon is not the only one closing down things, Sony is doing it too:
Sony announces plans to end camera sales and manufacturing in Brazil next year

4) Perhaps it does hurt the brand name a bit by closing down its local presence. Already I am seeing you guys talking about switching to Canon or Sony. But other brands like Tamron and Sigma also don't have a local presence and work through distributors like Futuromic too.

engseng
post Nov 6 2020, 02:23 PM

1,981 posts

Latest news is that Nikon will retrench 2000 workers in non-Japanese markets, I guess this includes Nikon Malaysia.

Nikon is planning to release three new mirrorless cameras before the current fiscal year ends. Maybe that is the Z6ii, Z7ii and one more camera?
engseng
post Nov 6 2020, 02:49 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Nov 4 2020, 06:33 PM)
wah at yl website z6ii almost 10k ahh o.O

makes me wanna jump to canon or sony le.. nikon focusing still alot to catch up
With only the FTZ adapter, Z6ii is RM8799.

Review of the Z6ii AF performance compared to Canon R6:

engseng
post Nov 6 2020, 09:19 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(din_hook @ Nov 6 2020, 09:09 PM)
Oh man im really gonna miss nikon camera roadshow (if discontinued by the distributor) that the only chance for me to try out new gear from nikon without the need to travel to kl hq. sad.gif
At the last Nikon roadshow, I got to try out the Nikon Z6 and Z7 with the Z lenses. And got the free sensor cleaning too.
engseng
post Nov 8 2020, 10:23 AM

1,981 posts

Nikon Officially Stops Operations in Indonesia

Through its Instagram account, PT Nikon Indonesia has officially announced that it will stop operations in Indonesia effectively from Thursday 22nd October 2020.

“After nearly eight years of Nikon Indonesia’s journey, we inform you that today, 21 st October 2020, is the last day of the Imaging Division of PT. Nikon Indonesia operating in Indonesia” stated the Instagram account @nikonindonesia.

Nikon users in Indonesia will still receive service and support because the company has integrated all sales, marketing, and service activities into PT. Alta Nikindo as Nikon’s official distributor in Indonesia. Nikon also gratefully acknowledges the support and cooperation of all customers.

engseng
post Nov 8 2020, 10:23 AM

1,981 posts

engseng
post Nov 17 2020, 06:22 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(EXkurogane @ Nov 16 2020, 09:30 PM)
Got myself a brand new Z6 for only RM4800. Can't say no to that kind of pricing. My D850 will remain in studio liao.

But, oh well, it is stuck in the 11/11 shipment. Same thing goes to the FTZ Im importing.
Did you get any Z lenses? Any photos taken so far?

This post has been edited by engseng: Nov 17 2020, 06:23 PM
engseng
post Nov 20 2020, 10:32 AM

1,981 posts

engseng
post Nov 22 2020, 11:10 AM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(EXkurogane @ Nov 19 2020, 11:35 PM)
Lazada, Superbuy - local seller. The RM4800 offer was limited to only one single unit. It is a grey import, a US unit, but normally I don't care. I have grey import lenses too and they worked fine over so many years, firmware i update by myself - i have my own sigma and tamron docks. KLDSLR.com also has grey import Z6 for RM6300 including a FTZ, but the deal i got is still better even with a FTZ's cost factored in. My FTZ Im importing from HK, around RM700+, on the way.

On how i got it, I have been stalking Lazada and Shopee for the past month before 11/11 to see got discount or not on Z50 or Z5. Z6 wasn't even a consideration because i didnt want to drop RM7k for a second full frame body. Between the two, I was favoring Z50 because i needed 120 fps video in FHD. This second body was mainly for making videos for my youtube channel and as a general second backup/travel camera.

I happened to come across the Z6 for this price when browsing the search results of Z5. When you searched Z6 itself, it wont appear in search results. Very weird, i know, but that was how i came across that offer. Z6 is like one of the the best video cameras so i snatched it without hesitation, even though it is kind of overkill for my use case because i will never do stuff like external raw video to an atomos ninja. XQD cards are expensive, yes, but that is a compromise im willing to make. Also, when you buy it for so low, even if u sell it 2 years later it wont depreciate much. As a 4 year old full frame body in year 2022, you still can sell it for rm4k maybe. That is why i didnt hesitate.

Malaysian camera prices can be quite a joke sometimes.
Canon RP, for example, has been selling for US$999 in USA and HK since early this year. In Malaysia? Deepavali "sale", RP body for "only RM5999".
However prices of our Z5 exactly matches the pricing in the US at the moment, which was why i was partly considering it - it wasn't overpriced.
Since you already have a D850, what do you use your Z6 for?
engseng
post Nov 22 2020, 05:49 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(EXkurogane @ Nov 22 2020, 01:58 PM)
Like goldfries said, video. And if i go on vacation in future I'll probably leave my D850 at home, relegated for studio use. If you do both photography and videos usually you need at least two camera bodies. Sometimes three.
I also have a Canon 200D at home, though my family member is using it for teaching online classes nowadays i don't get to use it much.

If you teach ppl photography for example, you'll want another camera to film yourself using a camera.
Ahhh, you did mentioned the video and I missed it. My bad. Most of the time I see people using Sony cameras with gimbals to film their videos.
engseng
post Dec 19 2020, 05:42 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Dec 18 2020, 12:20 PM)
Any events (indoor or outdoor) organized by Nikon? Maybe after covid 19?
KUALA LUMPUR (Nov 5): Japan-based Nikon Corp's Malaysian unit Nikon (M) Sdn Bhd (Nikon Malaysia) has announced that it will cease operations in Malaysia from Jan 1, 2021 under a proposed restructuring which will see the camera manufacturer appoint two business partners to manage the marketing, sales and aftersales services on behalf of Nikon in Malaysia.

In a statement yesterday, Nikon Malaysia said its final operation day will be on Dec 31, 2020.

Nikon Malaysia to cease operations from Jan 1, 2021

Maybe camera shops or KLPF will organise the events later on.

This post has been edited by engseng: Dec 19 2020, 05:46 PM
engseng
post Dec 19 2020, 05:43 PM

1,981 posts

This post has been edited by engseng: Dec 19 2020, 05:43 PM
engseng
post Mar 3 2021, 10:25 AM

1,981 posts

This post has been edited by engseng: Mar 3 2021, 10:26 AM
engseng
post Mar 10 2021, 07:29 PM

1,981 posts

Nikon is developing the Nikon Z 9 full-frame flagship mirrorless camera

TOKYO - Nikon Corporation (Nikon) is pleased to announce the development of the first flagship model for which the Nikon Z mount has been adopted: The Nikon Z 9. The full-frame (Nikon FX-format) mirrorless camera is scheduled for release in 2021, and represents a significant leap in technology and performance.

The Z 9 brings together Nikon's groundbreaking technologies to deliver the best still and video performance in Nikon history, meeting the advanced needs of professionals across a wide range of genres. It utilizes a newly developed FX-format stacked CMOS sensor and new image-processing engine. In response to the growing needs of professionals, advanced enthusiasts and cinematographers, it includes support for 8K video recording as well as various other video specifications that fulfill diverse needs and workflows. The Z 9 embodies ultimate usability as a tool offering users an unprecedented imaging experience, from capture to workflow, exceeding that of previous digital-SLR and mirrorless cameras.
engseng
post Mar 12 2021, 02:18 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Mar 12 2021, 12:08 PM)
POISON!  shakehead.gif
Will you buy the Z9?

This post has been edited by engseng: Mar 12 2021, 02:18 PM
engseng
post Apr 25 2021, 01:55 PM

1,981 posts

NIKON TO RELEASE NEW FIRMWARE FOR Z SERIES MIRRORLESS CAMERAS ON APRIL 26

MELVILLE, NY – April 20, 2021. Nikon Inc. is pleased to announce that firmware Ver. 1.20 for the Z 7II and Z 6II, firmware Ver. 3.30 for the Z 7 and Z 6, firmware Ver 1.10 for the Z 5, and firmware Ver. 2.10 for the Z 50 will be released on April 26.Firmware Ver. 1.20 for the Z 7II and Z 6II will offer increased AF performance, including faster focusing when shooting with AF in low light situations. Further, AF usability when using an external

Speedlight will also increase, through improvements to detection performance in scenes where it was difficult to detect faces and eyes, as well as improvements to subject visibility during live view shooting. In addition, tracking frames used for face and eye detection, as well as subject-tracking AF have been improved, enabling smoother and more stable shooting.

Additional firmware updates will also be available on April 26 for other Z series cameras. These updates include firmware Ver. 3.30 for the Z 7 and Z 6, as well as Ver. 2.10 for the Z 50, which will add the Save Focus Position option that allows the current focus position to be saved when the camera is turned off and restored when next turned on. The new firmware for the Z 6 will also add the voice memo recording/play function*, popular with the D6. The addition of the voice memo recording/play function is also planned for the Z 6II in a future firmware update.

Further, firmware Ver. 1.10 for the Z 5 will include faster AF detection speed during low light situations when shooting in the Low-Light AF mode, thereby improving usability. The Z 5 will also gain the Save Focus Position option.
Tomorrow you guys will get to install the new firmware for Z cameras.

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0888sec    1.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 10:35 AM