Maxis iPhone Discussion Thread V9, It Keep on Rolling!!

pokchik
post Feb 4 2018, 01:01 AM

I'm getting too old for this sh*t
1,304 posts

QUOTE(sonic_sphere @ Feb 4 2018, 12:16 AM)
hi all... just want to ask for those who just sign up new contract for new iPhone with MaxisONE Plan especially the 128 package, how much your monthly bill including GST?

i'm asking on behalf of my relatives who going to sign up to this plan, becausw he afraid later got 'billshock' because of any additional/hidden charges...

AFAIK, if the data used within the quota, then user just have to pay for normal monthly plan for example: 128 + 6%(GST) = 135.68... Am i rite?

p/s: sorry for noob question...
yes, you're right - as long as you're only talking about non-zerolution iPhone.

there's gonna be itemized bill charge of RM10/mth, but always waived for me (not sure why, I think because I've opted for e-billing last time).

pokchik
post Dec 27 2019, 09:47 AM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(EdwinCodec @ Dec 26 2019, 10:49 AM)
I think it's not about E-Sim or not. Their network is really bad these days. I've not encounter such bad experience with Maxis in the past.
same here - i've been a maxis user since 2003,
it's always very reliable (albeit the higher plan cost).

but these few months seems to have more problems with
the data connection :

Youtube, Google, Google Maps, WhatsApp - no issue connecting to internet.

Instagram, Facebook, Twitter - intermittent problems, normally when the problem occurs,
pictures in these 3 apps fail to dload.

restarting the phone sometimes work to remedy the issue, but it's just going to repeat again
after a few hours/days.
pokchik
post Feb 20 2020, 10:22 AM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(iqlas @ Feb 20 2020, 08:58 AM)
Hi, I was looking for a phone that is below rm2k  with good camera and was aiming for either the iphone 9(se2) or the pixel 4a/mi note 10. However looking at maxis website, i could get a subsidised iphone 11 with normal contract at around rm 19xxk as well for the 128gb version.

Considering that im currently already in a maxis one prime 30mbps+the lowest unlimited mobile plan, seems like getting the phone by contract looks like a good choice as im quite content with the fibre and mobile connection. No plans to change network soon.

Im also taking considerations that 5g won't be as extensive for the next 2 years hence 5g phone such as s20 or iphone 12 won't matter all that much.

My question would be is there any particular charge or fee that i should be a aware of as a consumer. Something that can potentially offset the subsidized benefit that maxis is not included in their main advertisment? Things that can only be seen in a long list of fine print?
none that i know of when i take my iphone 7 contract last time.. don't forget about the 2yrs' contract though.

when i took iphone 7+ last year for my supplementary line, it was the same - phone price as per advertised,
except i forgot that there's a monthly insurance scam scheme (i think it's called Maxis Safe Device) which is actually free for 1st 3mths
and to stop that, you need to contact maxis to inform else they'll start charging you monthly 4th month onwards (~RM30ish/mth if not mistaken).

i forgot to inform them to stop that and kena charged 1 month before i get to request for termination of the Safe Device thingy.

This post has been edited by pokchik: Feb 20 2020, 10:24 AM
pokchik
post Oct 31 2020, 01:10 AM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(Area51SE @ Oct 30 2020, 09:32 AM)
Most telcos already announced Pre-order starts Nov 6th. Maxis still no update  hmm.gif
https://www.maxis.com.my/devices/iphone-12/

Experience yours on Malaysia’s No. 1 Network.
Get ready for the pre-order with Maxis on 6th Nov, 9pm.

This post has been edited by pokchik: Oct 31 2020, 01:11 AM
pokchik
post Oct 31 2020, 01:15 AM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(coolman82 @ Oct 31 2020, 01:12 AM)
Plan price is not out yet right
nope.. not for other telcos also, i guess..

This post has been edited by pokchik: Oct 31 2020, 01:16 AM
pokchik
post Oct 31 2020, 09:26 PM

1,304 posts

so.. based on last year's iPhone 11 Pro (256GB) pricing & my MaxisOne 158,

Apple Official : RM5,599
Maxis Contract : RM3,952

estimating for iPhone 12 Pro (256GB)

Apple Official : RM5,399
Maxis Contract : ~RM3,752 probably.

pokchik
post Dec 11 2020, 09:31 AM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Dec 11 2020, 01:52 AM)
I almost given up purchasing any iphone early this week.

I walked in to a Maxis dealer here in PD Town. Checked my IC... seems good. Then the girl said, need to pay upfront payment of rm 1500! I am like WTF  doh.gif  Try to reason with her... since the Maxis Ads is all about zero upfront payment /zerolution blabla.. then she replied.. "oh, maxis just recently change the terms, all iphone sign up need pay case upfront payment Rm1500..." I pause there for a moment... thinking fuk it, wat bullshit is this.. that's it!

Another guy staff overheard our conversation and corrected the girl... "if pay by CC, then is rm 300 upfront" .... the she checked, and said ya... rm 300 upfront if pay by CC, rm 1500 upfront if pay by cash...

She nearly make Maxis lost a loyal customer right at the spot ... Maxis really need to literate their staffs or even dealers better!~

Consider myself lucky the other staff heard it and I am able to walk out with a new iphone 12 black 256gb ..  rclxm9.gif  finally end of my hunting! and my ip7 can finally retired.
i really hate it when they pluck out the 'maxis recently change the terms' card.

not sure if it's really from maxis or the Partner create their own terms & conditions.

0.1267sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:55 PM