Ultimate Discussion of ASNB (47457-V) Se7en, Wholly owned subsidary of PNB (38218-X)

kpfun
post Oct 18 2016, 09:55 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 18 2016, 09:02 AM)
Not really. If I am not mistaken, The pengisytiharan does it in 21 days. But with a will just a few months (2 months?). There was a discussion about this in one of the old threads.
I think, it depends on how soon the issue of a grand of probate.

I couldn't see the reason of ASNB to delay the release in the presence of a grant of probate.

Unless, it is for their selfish interest of keeping their pengisytiharan business.

kpfun
post Oct 18 2016, 11:26 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 18 2016, 10:54 AM)
V think there is enuf time to live but v nvr know which moment is the last
If u think will is not important as part of wealth mgmt, then just forget it
Will is very important. But, the execution part is very tricky. Beneficial may have option of skipping some unnecessary fat bills. This is the feeling I have after speaking with a few will advisers.

This post has been edited by kpfun: Oct 18 2016, 11:27 AM
kpfun
post Oct 19 2016, 11:18 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 19 2016, 10:46 AM)
I, for one, still "diversify" into FD and others. I still treat FP as UT. We all hope everything is OK and no issues. I would not put all my eggs in one basket.

I still intend to keep more in FD, much more, than in the FP.  biggrin.gif

Other, don't throw stones at me ! devil.gif
Why would they do that? Indeed, the one who always sapu the limited available units, will get the stones.

kpfun
post Oct 20 2016, 11:23 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Oct 20 2016, 11:10 AM)
I wondered and even asked some of the PM agency managers

They just give me some run of the mill replies like PM focus on stability bla bla. Their fund volatility tends to be lower than industry average

Another possibility is fund size too big, and therefore mirror-ing index
p/s: This one I quote other ppl, not my original idea. Cannot simply take credit

You would observe that with CIMB Dali funds as well. Used to be fantastic, now isĀ  bangwall.gif

pps: If I must speculate on PM fund returns, I think they put the bank's interest before the interest of the investors. But this is pure speculation, no basis or evidence. So I'm staying away lor
Banks love to sell UT because their profits are secured from the performance of the investing funds. Market up or down, they make profit, basically, from the fixed management and trustee fees. All the investing risks go to the investors, and so do, their salesman rice bowls.

So, look for the UT, which management fee is zero if the fund is losing. But, any in the market?

This post has been edited by kpfun: Oct 20 2016, 11:24 AM
kpfun
post Oct 21 2016, 09:34 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(waylen1028 @ Oct 20 2016, 11:42 PM)
Icic^^" good if they introduce their own online platform, then we can hunt unit from both side smile.gif
Bank staff hate your idea - their purpose are to complicate the process for sustaining their existence.

This post has been edited by kpfun: Oct 21 2016, 09:35 AM
kpfun
post Nov 3 2016, 09:15 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Nov 2 2016, 06:13 PM)
Maybe I'll kena bomb here instead. Anyway, collating all the past reports would only tell you 1 part of the equation, which is

- how was reserves were used to pay out as dividends in a bad year when current year profit was not enough to cover the current year dividends - Actually I doubt if there's any year they need to do that since the investments are mainly dividend stocks and even when times are bad there would be some dividends declared

The part that I think cannot see is
- unrealised capital loss - previously someone posted how Maybank value to investors are reducing even after you take into consideration dividends declared. Another example is Public Ittikal fund, they continue to distribute 8-9%, but the net returns (capital + distribution) is actually much lower or even negative at some point
So the reserves would mostly to support the NAV of the FP funds at RM1 or above

If anyone has more information to share I'd be more than happy to learn. Tag me please as I don't follow this thread closely
You are right. However, ASNx are political funds, otherwise, I won't even put a cent there.

This post has been edited by kpfun: Nov 3 2016, 09:16 AM
kpfun
post Nov 3 2016, 09:33 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Nov 3 2016, 09:24 AM)
What do u mean by a political fund?

How does that determine your investment decision? smile.gif
Do you think UMNO would allow Tabung Haji / ASNx / EPF, entering into bankruptcy?

Do you think UMNO would allow unexplainable low dividends of these funds, especially, getting near election?

Do you think UMNO would simply remove tax exemption of these funds?

These funds are holding by more than 80% bumiputra (except EPF), anybody dare to screw up them?

Let say, UMNO be replaced, the new ruling party would also continue the game.

This post has been edited by kpfun: Nov 3 2016, 09:39 AM
kpfun
post Nov 3 2016, 09:50 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Nov 3 2016, 09:42 AM)
So if these FP funds are instead offered by conventional fund houses like Kenanga or PM, it will not be attractive anymore?Ā  laugh.gif tongue.gif
No - not correct to say that. Other fund houses have to work hard for results to attract subscribers.

Unfortunately, not all the VP funds are out performing, and therefore, the challenge for ordinary investors is how to pick the right one. Whereas, FP is for "no need to crack brain to think which one to pick" investors.

This post has been edited by kpfun: Nov 3 2016, 10:17 AM
kpfun
post Nov 3 2016, 12:13 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Nov 3 2016, 09:42 AM)
So if these FP funds are instead offered by conventional fund houses like Kenanga or PM, it will not be attractive anymore?  laugh.gif tongue.gif
Sorry, earlier, I did not get your reply correctly.

You are right, if such FD offered by other than government back institutes, I would think twice before commit.

However, other houses unlikely afford for such offers. These house are setup for making profit for their shareholders, paying handsome commissions to feed the entire sales forces, and also, without tax exemption. So, every single ringgit invested by you, after all these incurring costs, not much left in the actual investing.
kpfun
post Nov 4 2016, 10:16 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 3 2016, 06:07 PM)
From the Taxation Act, if work is done locally but paid from a foreign country via direct remittance to a Malaysian Bank Account, then you must declare. Taxed or not, let LHDN decide.

If work is done abroad, including normal work and investments, there is NO necessity to declare.

Please interpret the above paras carefully, and you can see clearly where is the possibility for taxation.
It is required to opt for tax paying to the abroad country or home country. But, no option for paying tax at home, if staying or visiting the abroad country more than certain days in that year.

kpfun
post Nov 9 2016, 05:11 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Nov 9 2016, 03:36 PM)
Some will say can top up rm10 too devil.gif
Minimum investment is clearly stated 100 units. Why people discuss this, I'm curious?

Did I miss something?

kpfun
post Nov 9 2016, 05:37 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Nov 9 2016, 05:15 PM)
Open new acc is rm100

Top up is rm1 only..

But hey who the hell does that.. Top up rm1.. Even I did rm50 also after sweet talk & some flirting devil.gif
Ok - I just checked the website. 1 unit top up is allowed.

I never know that. Parking RM2 + petrol RM2 for top up RM1.... damn!
kpfun
post Nov 14 2016, 10:15 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(klchoy @ Nov 11 2016, 10:29 PM)
After trying for 2wks, today got $100 each for AS1M and ASW. Very hard to get these days. Despite the economy, people still have $$
Anyway anyone managed to register their account in MBB, CIMB, Affin after changing your passbook? I registered last time successfully but after getting new passbooks, I reregistered with new account number but rejected ...
Now is going through economy uncertainty years due to Brexit and Trump, getting more people to move their money to those conservative investment.

kpfun
post Nov 16 2016, 08:57 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Nov 16 2016, 08:18 AM)
Thinking to let go 25% of savings and move to foreign currency.
I have moved some funds out during RM was strong, at around RM3.1 for USD. Of cause, I make some good money now.

But, at RM4.3 now, moving initiative needs to think carefully.

kpfun
post Nov 16 2016, 10:04 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Nov 16 2016, 09:51 AM)
Boss,

I had started with Sgd investment since last year and Sgd savings few years ago. Easier for me as my relative in Sg too.

As for USD, I only buy US shares as a USD investment. Do u have USD FD in overseas ? Or FCY FD ?
Boss,
ok- you are experienced. No worry.

Mine, trading purpose only for USD and SGD, if any balance of them for waiting opportunity, usually staying in the trading account for earning mickey mice interest.

I do have FD, in SGD, very small amount, as a collateral for my credit card.

kpfun
post Dec 1 2016, 08:58 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Nov 30 2016, 07:40 PM)
for 3 books. I m just early 30th only. how to have so much savings. sad.gif
You are doing very good. RM200K at early 30th is equivalent to RM2M at >50th.

kpfun
post Dec 1 2016, 09:06 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Nov 30 2016, 09:00 PM)
I also don't know lar..

me already fed up..

like people gang up against me  cry.gif
You are one of a decent and helpful forumer in LYN. I like your posts.

kpfun
post Dec 1 2016, 09:10 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(hyelbaine @ Nov 30 2016, 10:34 PM)
My normal insider informed that the rule was imposed having been advised by the authorities to prevent money laundering as part of the AMLAATF act thingy which is enforced by both BNM and SC. And with all the news of SPRM going around charging government officials and corruption, they're probably just erring on the side of caution.

Normal investors should not be too worried about the rule but for those who need washing machines for their ill-gotten gains, PNB is one less avenue that's available to them.
Wow! From the changes, I guess, ASNB has been used for money laundering seriously. I believe, those are people who are under privilege of buying.

kpfun
post Dec 1 2016, 11:32 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Dec 1 2016, 11:11 AM)
Besides academic, gud fund managers need to have the relevant skills n expertise too
Good fund managers must have strong sensitivity in dealing with all news and all markets, and the most important is, posses good ability in evaluating potential returns of investments.

kpfun
post Dec 2 2016, 09:31 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(hyelbaine @ Dec 2 2016, 09:09 AM)
My contact said that they've completed another round of testing. It was mentioned that the project is pending approval from the top-top management of PNB (Chairman & President) before it would be made available to the staff for a soft-launch and subsequent public launch.

I guess they're just waiting for the right time to launch it to the masses.
The new system is for subscribers or their outsource banks?

Any ideas of what are the impressive features in the new system?

0.0281sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:32 AM