Ultimate Discussion of ASNB (47457-V) Se7en, Wholly owned subsidary of PNB (38218-X)

plumberly
post Nov 2 2016, 09:19 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Nov 2 2016, 08:51 AM)
No more top up ? Still more into FP, less FD ? Seldom see u in FD thread.  biggrin.gif
Followed the FD thread some years ago trying to get the banks with the highest FD rates. My FDs have applied for migration and got their PR in ASX FP! Ha.

plumberly
post Nov 8 2016, 08:42 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Kamen Rider @ Nov 8 2016, 08:33 AM)
Err... yesterday system down ? I went during morning to hunt, however no fish capture, and some bank officier won Oscar award
Maybe we should design, share and print the special card for these deserving Oscar award winners.

Something to this effect:

CONGRATULATIONS! hmm.gif

You have won the OSCAR award for the best acting category! devil.gif

But please don't keep this title for too long.
rclxm9.gif

Pass a card to the staff after the acting! Ha

plumberly
post Nov 16 2016, 01:56 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(johnkoh2290 @ Nov 16 2016, 01:50 PM)
Just a quick glance , it appears SC has increased the approved funds for AS1M from 14 billion to 14.88 billion ; For ASM, its 17 billion to 19.8 billion.

Good news for us who are not hoping for dividend via cheque I suppose !

Source : page 6 of the link given by nexona88

In reading in between the lines, my interpretation is:
AS1M 14 to 14.88 6%
ASM 17 to 19.8 6*3 %

So AS1M has 1 more yr to go before cheque dividend mode ?

ASM has 3 more yrs to go before cheque dividend mode?

plumberly
post Nov 21 2016, 10:58 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Nov 21 2016, 05:54 AM)
Since 2014, I mostly shop online, bought meal vouchers, TV, Aircon,oven, all IT products, alarm system, blender, mobile phones n accessories, lighting, sound bar, supplement n many more except clothing, shoes, fresh food. These online things were cheaper by 20 to 60% n supplied by big companies with physical stores.
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Nov 21 2016, 10:32 AM)
Yup. Same like me too..
Most stuff I buy online..
Clothing & fresh food still buy at shop blush.gif that one I got doubt if buy online blush.gif
Same here, buying more and more things online now. Msia, China, HK, USA etc.

Why?

Better choice, cheaper.

Best of all, some provide free delivery!

But do your study properly before buying, product quality (from past customers' feedback), reliability of suppliers, etc.
plumberly
post Nov 26 2016, 09:44 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(jorgsacul @ Nov 26 2016, 09:24 AM)
Wahid did it again ... stupid press release on the strategy ? What is he trying to proof?
That was what I said to myself as well when I saw that news.

I guess it is typical in politics & GLC to start with and show something positive/grand (like arrests when there is a change in MACC chief).

During his term as the senator, he lost my respect for him though he may be a very bright/smart head.

All the best with his new chapter!
plumberly
post Dec 2 2016, 06:56 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(magnesium @ Dec 2 2016, 06:16 PM)
How to get the calendar?
My views:

AA
Write or go to their office and ask for one.

BB
Keep more than RM1 million in any one of the ASX funds.

CC
Take photo and print the calendar. Printers are now cukup bagus!

DD
Buy over ASNB

EE
?

Just kidding, ok? Ha.
plumberly
post Dec 3 2016, 10:21 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Dec 3 2016, 08:46 PM)
Cannot be 250k. My cousin has 300k++ also never get calendar. Could be 500k++
My gut feel is for the top group (see their annual report) with more than RM500,000.

With few thousands of such members in each of their ASX funds, they will need to print over 10,000 calendars every year!

At RM10 per copy, that is easily RM100,000!

plumberly
post Dec 4 2016, 01:49 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Dec 4 2016, 01:19 PM)
i am sure all of you also have others as well with higher IRR than ASX.

Put some in FSM , some in shares etc...
checking shares IRR in that UT excel, past 1 yr buy sell IRR boleh tahan jugak..
Impressive on the returns!

Your own developed spreadsheet?

Interested to know how do you program it to get the fund prices auto update.

PM me. Thanks.
plumberly
post Dec 4 2016, 10:24 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Dec 4 2016, 10:06 PM)
Some kind soul did it and shared on the FSM thread

Refer to post#1 https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4089543

Not sure if it's programmed to work with stock code. But for FSM distributed funds confirm can update automatically
Many thanks.

I like programming things like this.
plumberly
post Dec 5 2016, 07:30 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Dec 5 2016, 04:29 PM)
I thought Sarawak people friendly type. more understanding. less racist compare with Peninsular.. Muslim & Chinese can sit in kopitiam one table eat also no problem (or I got brainwashed by those mainstream media)  confused.gif

and it's ASNB we talking about. the nation pride  dry.gif
As a Sarawakian, yes, we are certified to ISO XYZ8888 as "people friendly type, more understanding, less racist" Ha.

I can explain why then the lady was scolding customers in Sarawak.

Why?

She is not a Sarawakian. She came to Sarawak from Pen Msia 2 years ago to work.

Got it? Ha.

Just kidding.

biggrin.gif rclxm9.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

plumberly
post Dec 5 2016, 07:52 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Dec 5 2016, 07:49 PM)
biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

Well,... for the many years I invested with PNB,.. 6 to 7 -figs,...I only got the calendar once,...  smile.gif , maybe they 'take turns' sending out to different unitholders,... smile.gif
I see. Maybe 6-7 figures in 1 account then awarded with the calendar?

If you got it once, strange that they stopped. Maybe due to you monetising the ASX units?

plumberly
post Dec 6 2016, 05:28 PM

4,761 posts

First, I don't mean to pour cold water on Spore. Some infor to consider when making a decision to invest there now. confused.gif

https://www.breakingviews.com/considered-vi...lth-of-worries/

Basically, it comes down to whether one sees Msia or Spore (or other countries) will do better in the coming years with respective problems on both sides. cry.gif

Avoid jumping onto the bandwagon. If after study and one is convinced, then go ahead. Due diligent will be on one's side. thumbup.gif

P/S I do not work for ASNB or the Msian govt! Ha. bangwall.gif doh.gif
plumberly
post Jan 4 2017, 10:06 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(foofoosasa @ Jan 4 2017, 09:57 AM)
The compounding effect is so awesome !
biggrin.gif  drool.gif
Want update book need queue so lon  shakehead.gif
With your happy compounding effect remark, I bet you are one of them with at least 7 digits (excluding the cents) in your balance!

This post has been edited by plumberly: Jan 4 2017, 10:12 AM
plumberly
post Jan 4 2017, 04:17 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 4 2017, 03:55 PM)
ASB dividend collections-time  biggrin.gif  tongue.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif

You should be paid by ASNB for being their photo journalist, advertising their events here regularly!

Ha.
plumberly
post Jan 4 2017, 08:45 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Vincent9696 @ Jan 4 2017, 08:34 PM)
With current low interest , should i dump into asx or increase housing loan installment amount?
My 2.8 cents ...

If

AA FD=3.6%
BB ASX=5.8%
CC house loan=6.5%

with RM10k now and a year later

AA will give you rm360
BB will give you RM580
CC will save you RM650

Hope my illustration holds water. Ha.

plumberly
post Jan 5 2017, 08:53 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Vincent9696 @ Jan 4 2017, 08:52 PM)
Thanks, my housing loan rate not that high...my current rate is 4.25
I see.

AA
Is 4.25 fixed rate or can be changed later if and when bank deems fit? My layman's view is, if USA's rate increases into 2018, then I can expect Msia to follow suit. If fixed at 4.25, then no problem for you. Check your loan paper.

BB
Looking at the 3 rates, I see ASX as the best way forward. You get higher rate and also you can withdraw at any time but loosing out on dividend for 2 months (the month you deposited and the month you withdraw as dividend is calculated on minimum monthly basis).

All the best!

plumberly
post Jan 13 2017, 06:41 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Jan 13 2017, 06:17 PM)
Indeed. And reserves are also used to support the NAV of ASB to ensure that it stays around RM1. If NAV falls too much below RM1, it's essentially a risk to PNB. As unit holders are able to withdraw at RM1 price. If NAV rises above RM1 too much, it's also a risk to PNB as unit holders can buy ASB at RM1 price. There are risks in investment, and PNB has taken care of all the risks on behalf of unit trust holders. The reserves are in place for risk management purpose. Without it, fixed price unit trust is impossible.

Did not realise that point till you mentioned it here. Good point. Let me know when that happens and I will buy you 1 month of kopi O. Ha.
plumberly
post Jan 16 2017, 04:25 PM

4,761 posts

Just saw in ASNB web that now one can get ASW2020 via monthly salary deduction!

Good.

But get a bad feeling. Why are they so desperate now to sell/cash the fund?
plumberly
post Jan 19 2017, 01:16 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 19 2017, 01:06 PM)

for Portuguese / Serani, they also entitle fully without convert to Islam  biggrin.gif
For my learning, why?

Because of mixed blood link with them in the early days and now they automatically are considered bumi?

0.0806sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:33 AM