Samsung Samsung Galaxy Note 7 Official Discussion V9!, Discontinued on 11 October 2016 :(

msa9696
post Oct 13 2016, 04:28 PM

1,593 posts

Can't believe how awesome the phone really looks without the casing. When bought didn't really pay much attention to it, quickly put on SP and casing. After 1st recall didn't use SP found the screen so awesome. Now without casing it's a real beauty.
msa9696
post Oct 13 2016, 04:54 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Oct 13 2016, 04:52 PM)
I could be keeping the phone. Dont feel like returning it.
As much as I love the phone, I really think not worth the risk to keep the phone - risk of no updates, being forcibly shut down or catching fire.
msa9696
post Oct 13 2016, 05:02 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Oct 13 2016, 04:58 PM)
What I meant was that the phone would be kept in the drawer and powered down, not used. Right now, I still have yet to power down my phone. Feels sad to power it down. Did so once last time, this round, will wait a bit longer.
Wah just keeping and admiring it ah. Worth the 2.8k meh

msa9696
post Oct 13 2016, 05:31 PM

1,593 posts

I still can't understand why SME so stubborn and not do something to the pre-order owners. They don't really have to compensate in cash, it's really a good business strategy and service recovery to just offer some cash rebate like some countries do for any Samsung phone. I supposed the high price of their phone is contributed by high marketing cost too, the hardware cost should be quite reasonable. Just offer RM 500 to RM 1000 off the flagship phone la, why so stubborn and want people to switch to other brand. Don't think they make any losses with a couple of hundred discount, and they get to retain the loyal customers too
msa9696
post Oct 13 2016, 05:48 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(lllllx3 @ Oct 13 2016, 05:38 PM)
as i say before..SME is really dont giv a shit to malaysia owner...
we don't deserve the wat been treat by SME....
we suffer for their mistake ..they still slow slow & steady...relax relax...

their attitude just like you call to ask then i answer you, you dont call then you just wait ...
you so ganjeong..sorry we SME not ganjeong at all...
want make everything go on media & news only they move !

im not angry the fault of N7.. im very pissed off of wat SME react on the crisis since the previous replacement till now this refund issie///...
Very true la, after all, only 8k sold. Maybe 80% hardcore fan, that's only left about 6k. Then they know maybe 20% will still buy S6 or other Samsung phone, so left 5k. Then out of these 5k, I guess more than half will forget this fiasco after a year and will still buy their next note (or other name whatever they call it), as Malaysian are very forgiving and will still support them. So left like how many who are damn pissed and will never support Samsung again? Not many. So they take it very lightly. No need do any service recovery, ppl still buy
msa9696
post Oct 13 2016, 05:49 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(jojo_g2 @ Oct 13 2016, 05:47 PM)
They wouldn't. Never.

Can foresee this upcoming 17th, a lot of angry customer at the Service outlet or sales outlet. All those youtuber wannabe better get ready and be there on hand to witness the chaos.  bruce.gif
I feel no point we vent our anger at the outlets, they can't do anything actually. It's all about the stupid SME
msa9696
post Oct 13 2016, 08:21 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(prody @ Oct 13 2016, 06:20 PM)
Looks like can return Samsung accessories, but I didn't keep the receipt since the box itself is only required for warranty.

Hopefully can use credit card statement as proof of purchase as in other countries.
QUOTE(Wind82 @ Oct 13 2016, 06:47 PM)
I've bought SP from maxis. Wonder can I get refund?

But receipt throw liao! Who on earth will keep SP receipt for 2 months???
Yalar, who the hell going to keep the receipt for a SP or case, I bought 2 boxes SP (for 4 phone), throw away already
msa9696
post Oct 13 2016, 08:27 PM

1,593 posts

After return can frame up my 2x Spen already as remembrance haha

Anyway, it just mentioned 17th Oct onwards right? No deadline given?
msa9696
post Oct 14 2016, 10:16 AM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(eagleknight @ Oct 14 2016, 10:13 AM)
So may can use till S8 is out? Haha

Anyway my Note 7 working great with good battery life
I'll not be surprised many here will use until deadline, very soon SME surely will issue a deadline else nobody returns lol. Also because no cases in Malaysia yet and so far the fire/ explosion didn't cause serious injury (correct me if I'm wrong), Malaysians tend to be a little relax and reluctant to give up on the phone
msa9696
post Oct 14 2016, 10:59 AM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(jojo_g2 @ Oct 14 2016, 10:20 AM)
it is a great phone. might be THE phone depending on how you use it. Just sad that it had to go, and we have no choice but to look for the next best thing.
Really wonder if we can.. ask the SC guy to turn a blind eye.. and let us keep it.  devil.gif (come come, minum kopi)
I don't think they will refund you and at the same time let you keep the phone. Definitely they need to return the phone to Samsung, else will have a lot of hanky panky

QUOTE(jrrsim @ Oct 14 2016, 10:21 AM)
very hard to issue deadline la.. if past deadline how?
they can possibly provide incentive to return and if past the deadline then no more incentive..
I think sooner or later will still have deadline, else what's the point of the refund. Samsung will preferably want to close the case and get all phone returned to them. If no deadlilne, means I can use until next year when the Note 7 replacement out only I return for refund? Think very unlikely la. For those unable to return due to whatever reason, they of course will entertain, based on case by case basis

msa9696
post Oct 14 2016, 02:11 PM

1,593 posts

Went kepoh iPhone 7/7 plus with my friend just now because he wanted to buy. Oh dear, way off Note 7, just don't like iPhone....
msa9696
post Oct 14 2016, 02:13 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(brandonkl @ Oct 14 2016, 02:10 PM)
The SME announcement doesn't mention the dateline to return/exchange or refund. Is there a date line??
They subtly left out deadline, so that we can use until Note 8 or any name they call it, but they can't officially allow that haha....

This post has been edited by msa9696: Oct 14 2016, 02:14 PM
msa9696
post Oct 14 2016, 02:19 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(thugs @ Oct 14 2016, 02:11 PM)
i think ok lah... just the price is way too premium.
QUOTE(jojo_g2 @ Oct 14 2016, 02:15 PM)
Very much agree on that. Way too much premium for something not that particularly premium and innovating.
All i remember was when when cook said "brave" for taking out the headphone jack, I spitted out my drink.. and doubled that when the word "toilet proof" came out... biggrin.gif
Not an iPhone fan, so not sure of previous models. But after holding the 7 plus, I really dislike the screen size, width is too broad and hard to hold, Note 7 size is so perfect. Even my friend who's a hardcore fruit fan, for the first time admitted that he prefer Note 7 screen size and the grip. So he ended up with iPhone 7 though he prefer larger screen.
msa9696
post Oct 14 2016, 03:12 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(acct @ Oct 14 2016, 02:23 PM)
Just got an ip7+ for my wife and the moment she sees the phone, the comment was Samsung screen looks prettier and sharper... I was like.. come on, it's QHD vs HD.
I very lansi took out my Note 7 flash flash around their store, luckily never kena bash by apple fans haha....
msa9696
post Oct 14 2016, 03:46 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Oct 14 2016, 03:14 PM)
should bring some dry ice over hehe, make some smoke biggrin.gif
Later they really thought on fire lol

QUOTE(acct @ Oct 14 2016, 03:14 PM)
hahaha....  fruit stuffs are all overpriced with questionable specifications, 2 pros that I can think of is only the smoothness of OS and the processor power with its efficiency... others... erm... questionable.
Very true indeed, though I never use iPhone before the OS I believe is really smooth, but yeah damn overpriced leh....

QUOTE(brandon8921 @ Oct 14 2016, 03:16 PM)
Saw quite a number of Note 7 users queue up to buy ip7 this morning including me. A random guy behind ask me about the refund thing (seems like he doesn't know the details). And then he use very lansi way told me he don't care about the money, he will just keep the phone because it will become limited edition lol doh.gif
Good to hear that so many jumped ship to Apple, good for Apple, padan muka to Samsung as they're stupid not doing enough to retain the loyal supporters.

QUOTE(crayzee @ Oct 14 2016, 03:40 PM)
went to checkout the 7/7+ just now. The feeling of holding note7 is still better  cry.gif
The ultra thin bezel on the N7 is simply too good. Not too curved but at the same time display edging out at the corner.
101% agree

This post has been edited by msa9696: Oct 14 2016, 03:46 PM
msa9696
post Oct 14 2016, 04:29 PM

1,593 posts

Previously during 1st recall, many choose to stay positive and enjoyed the second time unboxing a new Note 7.

For daredevils this time round, if the news of deadline to return is indeed end of the year, you can actually use another 3 months (at your own risk), enjoy the exclusive phone which only 8k sold in Malaysia, and still get a full refund after using 3 months. Not too bad huh....
msa9696
post Oct 14 2016, 05:52 PM

1,593 posts

I'm writing a lengthy mail to convey my dissatisfaction to the mail someone shared before (so called direct to the CEO office). I'm thinking it would be a good idea, to have everyone who agrees to it, to cc all of you in the e-mail, together with all our IMEI (to prove that we're genuine owner) and even cc some press or whatever you all can suggest. It might not change anything now, but you never know, who knows we get something from the next launch. You can privately PM me if interested.

For those not interested, no need kepoh here and there la, no need flame me, after all, if there's 1% chance we get something, and if we did get something, everyone benefit from it. You no need to do extra work.
msa9696
post Oct 14 2016, 07:54 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(stevenryl86 @ Oct 14 2016, 05:54 PM)
What the complaint about???
Mainly explanation the troubles we've gone through and moving more towards asking them to have better plans to retain customers, i.e provide better alternatives to customers to at least stay with them.

QUOTE(lohboonkhai @ Oct 14 2016, 07:19 PM)
im interested!!! i love my noob7 so much
Ok noted I'll firstly draft the letter and share out for comment.

QUOTE(thugs @ Oct 14 2016, 07:44 PM)
I will write one.
You will write separately? Anyway, I've got about 8 names now, hopefully can get at least 50 to have a stronger impact
msa9696
post Oct 14 2016, 08:53 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(stevenryl86 @ Oct 14 2016, 05:54 PM)

QUOTE(lohboonkhai @ Oct 14 2016, 07:19 PM)

QUOTE(thugs @ Oct 14 2016, 07:44 PM)

QUOTE(starz92 @ Oct 14 2016, 08:17 PM)

My first draft, if some of you can perfect it or can write a more professional feedback, feel free to take over. As not to flood this thread, you can PM me or WhatsApp me at +6010 872 2312.
I think by having the IMEI and e-mail is good enough, I'll then cc everyone who are interested.

Dear Samsung,

We, a group of loyal Samsung supporters are saddened with the unfortunate fiasco surrounding the Galaxy Note 7 phone. This is undeniably the best phone in the market and all of us love it so much, so much so that many are willing to even take the risk by keeping the phone and refused the refund. We understand the tremendous pressure and difficulties Samsung and all its staffs have gone through, and as your loyal supporters, we do feel as much pain as you.

While we fully understand that this rare incident is unintentional, we strongly believe that Samsung (specifically Samsung Malaysia) could do more for the service recovery, as all of us are the early adopters and have been supporting Samsung for a long time.

Let us go through some of the hassles we have encountered, which cost us valuable time, money, frustration and stress.

a) Pre-order process
Samsung Malaysia (SME) planning has been disastrous, never learnt from past experience which users went through during online pre-order. Many customers have spent hours (some spent more than 5 hours) to get themselves a unit, due to inaccessible website. Some of our friends have taken leave just for this pre-order but ended up failing to purchase a unit.

b) 1st replacement
Transferring of data from our old phone to the new Note 7 is painful enough, considering your Smart Switch app is not perfect which sometimes need a few trial. Moreover, as is expected with any other phone, the transfer will not be 100% and we still have to spend hours for some manual work.
With this replacement, we have to perform the transfer all over again.
To make things worse, instruction from SME was so unclear and confused so many, unlike for example for Samsung Singapore, instructions was so clear from day one. Customers faced many problems where there can’t get their phone replaced on time, some got to keep the accessories but some were not allowed, etc. SME customer service representatives kept giving different information regarding the exchange. Communication to the front liners and partners were extremely poor, as all of us received different set of information.

c) Cost spent on accessories
Many of us have spent quite a lot on accessories, such as casing, screen protector, cables and so on. All this will be wasted, as most cannot be used for other phones. We were relieved to know that Samsung gave a screen protector and screen crack warranty to us during first replacement. However, 100% of us removed the screen protector as it’s of inferior quality and affected the screen sensitivity. With the Note being discontinued now, we can’t take advantage of the screen crack warranty anymore if we’re not replacing with the Galaxy S7 Edge offered

d) Refund and new phone
We again have to go through all the troubles of returning the phone and transferring the data to our new device. This again is a time consuming process.
Many of us have either sold our old phone or gave it to someone else. If not for Note 7, we might still be using our old phones and hence do not need to incur money to purchase a new one. As most of us are your loyal supporters, we are left with limited choices, as the Note 5 is aged and the new S8 will be released very soon. We definitely will wait for the next flagship if not for the Note 7. Now, we’re stuck in between, as we couldn’t get a phone as good as Note 7, but at the same time we would very much like to wait for your next flagship phone.

Service Recovery

We’re not impressed at all with SME service recovery, offering a RM 300 cash for those who choose to replace the Note 7 with the Galaxy S7 Edge. We could easily purchase the phone at the same price or lower online.

We’re surprised that SME does nothing to retain the loyal customers, the early adopters. We would like to receive some form of compensation, just like those offered in other countries. However, we do understand that SME will incur additional cost out of pocket. We don’t blame SME. But what we’re more surprised is the lack of effort to try to retain the 8,000 customers who bought the Note 7.

It’s indeed sad that we came to know most will not accept the exchange of the Galaxy S7 Edge, for the very obvious reason, the offer is not attractive at all.

It’s indeed sad that many who have never used an iPhone before, for the very first time, chose to purchase an iPhone 7/7 Plus as a replacement. Many too decided to give other brands, your competitors, a chance.

We can’t seem to understand why would it be so difficult, to offer a more attractive package, to retain all of us. It’s not difficult, after all, we believe the 8,000 customers are all your loyal supporters. Getting us to continue using your phone should not cost you much. We believe that the direct cost of your other flagship products, such as the S7, S7 Edge and Note 5, are much lower. These are the products which you have recovered the large indirect costs incurred, i.e the marketing cost, and additional sales should have higher incremental value and higher margin to you. In fact, we would say most of us would easily be willing to swap to one of these products while waiting for your next flagship product. But again, unfortunately, you’re not doing enough.

We’re unsure if SME or Samsung Global is not sincere enough, or take for granted that your supporters will continue to remain loyal despite you not doing much to retain them.

Before we end this, we would propose a few solutions, which we think is not difficult for SME to fulfill

a) Better offer for replacement phone
SME should offer a much higher and attractive rebates to exchange to the Galaxy S7 Edge, and we strongly believe many will accept

b) Temporary phone
SME can offer us a Galaxy Note 5 or even a mid-range phone to use for the moment, and no refund required. Once your next flagship phone is released (either S8 or the Note replacement), we can swap the mid-range phone with the new flagship. In this way, you can keep the cash, no refund required, and everyone is still guaranteed to stay with Samsung

c) Offer for future phone
SME should seriously consider to have an exclusive offer to the 8,000 customers for your upcoming flagships. It’s only fair that these customers get a better offer, with either a lower purchase price or better free gifts, considering the hassle and stress they have gone through with the Note 7. SME has nothing much to lose, and you gain credits for your thoughtful gesture of goodwill

d) Cash rebate
Lastly, it will be a consolation for everyone if SME would consider compensating a small amount for the hassle, time and money spent on the Note 7.

This post has been edited by msa9696: Oct 14 2016, 09:06 PM
msa9696
post Oct 14 2016, 09:04 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(anthraxxxx @ Oct 14 2016, 08:58 PM)
There's a typo. You mean Galaxy S7 Edge.
QUOTE(metfan @ Oct 14 2016, 09:02 PM)
I thought it's S7E...or am I mistaken?
Sorry think few mistakes on the "S6". Will correct that.
For those with sarcastic comment, hope they will gracefully reject any additional offer, if SME do decide to do something

0.0916sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:46 AM