Samsung Samsung Galaxy Note 7 Official Discussion V9!, Discontinued on 11 October 2016 :(

Sugasugar
post Oct 31 2016, 08:59 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Oct 31 2016, 08:45 PM)
Do update me ya. Thx
I gonna bug them tomorrow again lol
Sure I will update here. Yeahh pls bug them haha..
ebackbone
post Oct 31 2016, 09:01 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(coolguyz98 @ Oct 31 2016, 08:55 PM)
Thanks bro.  Need to root first right?

The last time Samsung pushed an OTA to limit the battery to 60%, I just paused ithe update at 25%. It remained paused after that.  So this time round I'll do the same coz I don't want to root.  I've changed my network to 2G, so that the speed is damn slow. Hopefully I can pause it on time  biggrin.gif
Nope. This method requires no rooting. If you have root, you can do it easily with free apps tongue.gif
fizzx
post Oct 31 2016, 09:02 PM

92 posts

Has anyone received their refund from Gurney Paragon? They said within 5 working days and it's already over the time period given. dry.gif
tomokomiki
post Oct 31 2016, 09:13 PM

324 posts

I live chat Maxis to reconfirm on the deadline (6/11/2016) they set for Note 7 return. Then I live chat Samsung about Maxis's deadline. Samsung live chat representative Azizi said Samsung is unaware of Maxis's announcement and Samsung's deadline set for Note 7 return is 31/12/2016. I asked him, what if I missed Maxis deadline? Shall I submit to Samsung later?
I hope to hold the phone a bit longer, I really can't decide what phone to buy.

coolguyz98
post Oct 31 2016, 09:13 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(ebackbone @ Oct 31 2016, 09:01 PM)
Nope. This method requires no rooting. If you have root, you can do it easily with free apps tongue.gif
Oh....will try later.

I just paused the OTA download at 1% biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

ebackbone
post Oct 31 2016, 09:17 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(coolguyz98 @ Oct 31 2016, 09:13 PM)
Oh....will try later.

I just paused the OTA download at 1%  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
What the crop.. You like playing it fast and loose eh. What telco you're on?
coolguyz98
post Oct 31 2016, 09:20 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(ebackbone @ Oct 31 2016, 09:17 PM)
What the crop.. You like playing it fast and loose eh. What telco you're on?
I'm on Celcom. I manually click update and pause it at 1%...haha...

It's easy to do when you are on 2G biggrin.gif
ebackbone
post Oct 31 2016, 09:21 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(tomokomiki @ Oct 31 2016, 09:13 PM)
I live chat Maxis to reconfirm on the deadline (6/11/2016) they set for Note 7 return. Then I live chat Samsung about Maxis's deadline. Samsung live chat representative Azizi said Samsung is unaware of Maxis's announcement and Samsung's deadline set for Note 7 return is 31/12/2016. I asked him, what if I missed Maxis deadline? Shall I submit to Samsung later?
I hope to hold the phone a bit longer, I really can't decide what phone to buy.
So far the cs from call and the one I went to did not mention exact date but just encourage to hand it in as soon as possible. My understanding from discussing with them and Samsung is that you can just pass maxis supposed deadline no problem just call them up and inform you will process at Samsung cause you're unable to go to maxis. Or that you can come up with reason why you couldn't go maxis earlier. They can't refuse you cause the product is being recalled.
brandonkl
post Oct 31 2016, 09:32 PM

-
579 posts

Is the 60% update being pushed to N7 as we speak?

I disabled the software update per ebackbone instructions and so far no software updates being pushed to my phone.
ebackbone
post Oct 31 2016, 09:38 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(brandonkl @ Oct 31 2016, 09:32 PM)
Is the 60% update being pushed to N7 as we speak?

I disabled the software update per ebackbone instructions and so far no software updates being pushed to my phone.
means that it is working? tongue.gif
RafaBenites
post Oct 31 2016, 09:39 PM

62 posts

This afternoon I went and exchange the N7 to S7E Blue Coral! Must say I really like the this color on the device. Too bad they screw up on the N7, or else sure sure alot of ppl will go for this colour!
brandonkl
post Oct 31 2016, 09:41 PM

-
579 posts

QUOTE(ebackbone @ Oct 31 2016, 09:38 PM)
means that it is working? tongue.gif
Hopefully it is working because I am not sure if the update has been pushed to the N7.
ebackbone
post Oct 31 2016, 09:41 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(coolguyz98 @ Oct 31 2016, 09:20 PM)
I'm on Celcom. I manually click update and pause it at 1%...haha...

It's easy to do when you are on 2G  biggrin.gif
hahaha, share with us your result. by right if you follow the steps and everything, theoretically after applying and restarting the phone, your phone update would not apply cause the service is not able to fully download it.

though i do remember some android manufacturers circumvent by passing the download task to a different service. if so (whereby after applying the tweak to prevent update, restarting but it's still downloading), try go into recovery and clear the cache. CACHE. not anything else.
Vashstam82
post Oct 31 2016, 09:59 PM

45 posts

Can pm me how to bypass the cap s/w update?
ebackbone
post Oct 31 2016, 10:02 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(Vashstam82 @ Oct 31 2016, 09:59 PM)
Can pm me how to bypass the cap s/w update?
aren't you a bit late? mega_shok.gif

PMed nonetheless smile.gif
lowhenghao
post Oct 31 2016, 10:11 PM

204 posts

Tbh I just canceled auto update and didnt connect to Wi-Fi.. just pure data.. and till now haven't update anything (auto) .. last update checked was on 10/10/16..

Like this safe?
ebackbone
post Oct 31 2016, 10:16 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(lowhenghao @ Oct 31 2016, 10:11 PM)
Tbh I just canceled auto update and didnt connect to Wi-Fi..  just pure data.. and till now haven't update anything (auto) .. last update checked was on 10/10/16..

Like this safe?
nope. eventually it will push into your phone.
tomokomiki
post Oct 31 2016, 10:22 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(ebackbone @ Oct 31 2016, 10:16 PM)
How would you know if your phone's battery has been restricted from charging? Does the battery indicator stops at 60%?
lowhenghao
post Oct 31 2016, 10:29 PM

204 posts

QUOTE(ebackbone @ Oct 31 2016, 10:16 PM)
I see.. the last time I halt-ed the update manually and stayed on data.. then the update did not continue until I exchanged the unit.. Here's to hoping I can do the same as well.. Honestly I not sure but I do not think the update will continue on its own on data.. it will be a disaster if someone is not on a data plan and the phone starts to download the considerably huge update by itself, end up the user kena bash by the extra data cost from telco..
TSsengkin95
post Oct 31 2016, 10:46 PM

#trancefamilia
1,492 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Oct 31 2016, 11:53 AM)
sengkin95
Working on it now.

I would like to apologise to everyone in this thread for not updating the front page with the latest news regarding the Note 7, especially the return and refund policies established by SME but I have other priorities to fulfill.

However, I will update the front page on the next thread by 15 November. Till then, keep the conversation going smile.gif

0.0195sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th March 2024 - 12:02 AM