add mid range or full range, which one is better

TSnaveenkalai7
post Oct 11 2016, 03:34 PM, updated 10y ago

75 posts

Hi sifus and fellow ice members, need advise..

currently using morel 2way component.. like to have 3 way setup.. so which one can make it better? adding a 3' midrange or 3' fullrange.. prefer to play semi active 1st b4 go full active cuz it need more $$$..

pls advise and if possible also recommend any brand and price too biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by naveenkalai7: Oct 11 2016, 03:35 PM
6UE5T
post Oct 11 2016, 05:37 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(naveenkalai7 @ Oct 11 2016, 03:34 PM)

currently using morel 2way component.. like to have 3 way setup.. so which one can make it better? adding a 3' midrange or 3' fullrange.. prefer to play semi active 1st b4 go full active cuz it need more $$$..
pls advise and if possible also recommend any brand and price too  biggrin.gif
3' midrange coz that's all the sound you need from it in this case.
Xai-V-iaX
post Oct 17 2016, 10:08 AM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(naveenkalai7 @ Oct 11 2016, 03:34 PM)

pls advise and if possible also recommend any brand and price too  biggrin.gif
What is your end objective in playing 3-Way?

You add a Midrange when you intend to go for a full 3-Way whereas you can opt to add a Full Range if you wanna do 2-Way with more wider range.

Very rarely do you see a 3-way with a Fullrange in place.

Brands are subjective and Prices are even more subjective.

Which model are your MORELs?
TSnaveenkalai7
post Oct 17 2016, 12:43 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(Xai-V-iaX @ Oct 17 2016, 10:08 AM)
What is your end objective in playing 3-Way?

You add a Midrange when you intend to go for a full 3-Way whereas you can opt to add a Full Range if you wanna do 2-Way with more wider range.

Very rarely do you see a 3-way with a Fullrange in place.

Brands are subjective and Prices are even more subjective.

Which model are your MORELs?
actually want to play wider range.. me using entry level morel maximo..
Xai-V-iaX
post Oct 17 2016, 03:00 PM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(naveenkalai7 @ Oct 17 2016, 12:43 PM)
Will be good to upgrade to a higher line 2-Way first before jumping into 3-Way.

There are some 2-Ways that can sound way much better than 3-Ways....
TSnaveenkalai7
post Oct 17 2016, 04:54 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(Xai-V-iaX @ Oct 17 2016, 03:00 PM)
Will be good to upgrade to a higher line 2-Way first before jumping into 3-Way.

There are some 2-Ways that can sound way much better than 3-Ways....
i see.. so would it be good or bad if i add any full range for current setting?

btw, does focal PS 165 FX and/or PSV165 v1 categorised as high end?
Xai-V-iaX
post Oct 17 2016, 11:18 PM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(naveenkalai7 @ Oct 17 2016, 04:54 PM)
i see.. so would it be good or bad if i add any full range for current setting?

btw, does focal PS 165 FX and/or PSV165 v1 categorised as high end?
If you ask me, just maintain as it is.

Both the FOCALs you mentioned are entry mid-end level. High-end category for FOCAL are the Ultima (latest), Utopia Be (my favourite - YES I am biased tongue.gif) & the K2 Power range. The PSV165 is an older model. The PS165VX is newer.

Both can do Bi-Amp with its passives so that's a plus point.

Just my 2 cents - 3 Ways are not necessarily better than 2 Ways. I have heard some 2 Ways that sounds much much better than a 3-Way setup.

bafukie
post Oct 18 2016, 10:31 AM

1,406 posts

QUOTE(naveenkalai7 @ Oct 17 2016, 12:43 PM)
meaning? your two way system is not playing from 20-20000hz?
TSnaveenkalai7
post Oct 18 2016, 10:53 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(Xai-V-iaX @ Oct 17 2016, 11:18 PM)

Both the FOCALs you mentioned are entry mid-end level. High-end category for FOCAL are the Ultima (latest), Utopia Be (my favourite - YES I am biased tongue.gif) & the K2 Power range. The PSV165 is an older model. The PS165VX is newer.

Just my 2 cents - 3 Ways are not necessarily better than 2 Ways. I have heard some 2 Ways that sounds much much better than a 3-Way setup.
thanks for the advise bro thumbsup.gif .. then ill just do survey 1st before made the choice..

QUOTE(bafukie @ Oct 18 2016, 10:31 AM)
meaning? your two way system is not playing from 20-20000hz?
it plays bro but i listen to some 2 way full range setup which sounds better.. so its poisoned me biggrin.gif
bafukie
post Oct 18 2016, 11:54 AM

1,406 posts

So its the tuning rather than the hardware problem
vyonxhin
post Oct 18 2016, 06:25 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(naveenkalai7 @ Oct 18 2016, 10:53 AM)
it plays bro but i listen to some 2 way full range setup which sounds better.. so its poisoned me  biggrin.gif
upstair is correct, tuning more than hardware.

I even audited a camry with original speaker (full tuning) sounds way better than a >rm6k setup with dsp, tuner/installer is whom made your gear works.
triberium
post Oct 18 2016, 06:45 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(bafukie @ Oct 18 2016, 11:54 AM)
So its the tuning rather than the hardware problem
agree with bafukie.. i just stepped into the world of ICE.. the uncle just add 1 entry lvl 2 channel amp + 2 tweeters.. the rest is all tuning.. and poof.. my car like got stage in front.. icon_idea.gif
Xai-V-iaX
post Oct 18 2016, 06:49 PM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(vyonxhin @ Oct 18 2016, 06:25 PM)
upstair is correct, tuning more than hardware.

I even audited a camry with original speaker (full tuning) sounds way better than a >rm6k setup with dsp, tuner/installer is whom made your gear works.
Wow...original speakers tuned to sound better than a 6k setup?

How was it tuned if you don't mind me asking?
vyonxhin
post Oct 18 2016, 07:32 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(Xai-V-iaX @ Oct 18 2016, 06:49 PM)
Wow...original speakers tuned to sound better than a 6k setup?

How was it tuned if you don't mind me asking?
Yeah seriously no shit , I wont believe my words as well if i hadn't experienced that audition , the 6k setup was using alpine hu, audiobank dsp and i think it was flux 2-way speaker with 10" dominations sub, cant recall what amp but i think it likely some branded one lar.

That camry was tuned passively using into a (neverheard brand ) 4ch amp into some customized crossover then into four side original speaker, it have a 12" sub in the boot, sourcing from kenwood ddin.

That audition is purely one-sided whistling.gif .

*Wrote xover into amp

This post has been edited by vyonxhin: Oct 18 2016, 08:19 PM
bafukie
post Oct 18 2016, 10:14 PM

1,406 posts

U think its better juz because the whole system is setup differently. Better? U sure? In what sense? If u can describe in details, yr on the right track. Wider, fuller or better are not descriptive. Try harder.

Yr eyes make contact with the brand first before yr ears even listen. So automatic bias towards high end or famous brands.

Once u get pass the basics and done all the necessary foundation required, the rest r juz basically personal preference.

Let the flame begin lol...
TSnaveenkalai7
post Oct 19 2016, 10:54 AM

75 posts

already done the tuning all bro.. but no matter how much we tuned, the speakers and amp cant perform beyond their limit right..

btw tuning done by uncle Siemen @ KF audio.. using clarion cz703 HU..

Honestly i love my current settings and tuning when listening to 320kbps songs. dont have any flac format and audiophile cd to play. yet still searching for something to make it greater.. after all ICE in a never ending journey..

This post has been edited by naveenkalai7: Oct 19 2016, 10:58 AM
TSnaveenkalai7
post Oct 19 2016, 11:00 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(Xai-V-iaX @ Oct 17 2016, 11:18 PM)

Wish one day could have system like yours bro smile.gif
Xai-V-iaX
post Oct 19 2016, 01:40 PM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(naveenkalai7 @ Oct 19 2016, 11:00 AM)
Wish one day could have system like yours bro  smile.gif
Mine nothing to shout about. Still work in progress....
vyonxhin
post Oct 19 2016, 03:30 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(bafukie @ Oct 18 2016, 10:14 PM)
U think its better juz because the whole system is setup differently. Better? U sure? In what sense? If u can describe in details, yr on the right track. Wider, fuller or better are not descriptive. Try harder.

Yr eyes make contact with the brand first before yr ears even listen. So automatic bias towards high end or famous brands.

Once u get pass the basics and done all the necessary foundation required,  the rest r juz basically personal preference.

Let the flame begin lol...
Waow calm down there. blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif

But if youre saying this to me, I don't mean harm i just wanna share what i experienced, and yes i can tell the details like their staging imaging transparency tonality attack decay bright dull dim etc etc in specific, but I don't even need judge based on those to tell which system sounds "better", so apparent that it became one-sided.

Well for brand I not choosy tho (except highend clarion hu tongue.gif), it makes no sense if cant bring out its potential into how it sounds ,so to me it is installer/tuner who do all the wonders. whistling.gif whistling.gif
bafukie
post Oct 19 2016, 03:34 PM

1,406 posts

QUOTE(naveenkalai7 @ Oct 19 2016, 10:54 AM)
already done the tuning all bro.. but no matter how much we tuned, the speakers and amp cant perform beyond their limit right..

btw tuning done by uncle Siemen @ KF audio.. using clarion cz703 HU..
Honestly i love my current settings and tuning when listening to 320kbps songs.  dont have any flac format and audiophile cd to play. yet still searching for something to make it greater.. after all ICE in a never ending journey..
No offense. U need to find other tuners. Or join ICE kaki kopi session.

0.0211sec    0.78    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:08 AM