Worth to buy Samsung Galaxy Note 5?

TSredapple90
post Oct 10 2016, 02:12 PM, updated 10y ago

32 posts

My friend decided to buy galaxy note 7 at first. But with the recall and explosion thing happening now. She was thinking to buy Note 5 instead.

But note 5 is about 1 year phone already. Is it still worth to buy?
Baconateer
post Oct 10 2016, 02:16 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

if doesnt require s-pen..get s7edge..
Zot
post Oct 10 2016, 02:16 PM

7,934 posts

Was the purpose of buying Note 7 just because it is the latest? If for other basic Note series function, then Note 5 will just fine.
stimix
post Oct 10 2016, 02:18 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Why not? Less risky and easier to check-in on any flights for sure.

Furthermore, note 5 by now is cheaper, & tech upgrade to note 7 is very minimal except probably better camera & higher pricesor speed
nebula87
post Oct 10 2016, 02:18 PM

Fg = mg
1,420 posts

Recommend you s7 or s7edge..
RChance
post Oct 10 2016, 02:24 PM

176 posts

Why not? If you are able to use the S-Pen function, it makes working/studying so much more convenient.

Good battery, stable software, big screen. Plus if you can get a cheaper price, then it works no different than any other phones imo.

Using Samsung Note 5, A7, S7 Edge, iPhone 5s. The only phone which can take drops and knocks like a tank is Note 5. Fell from 3rd floor of a building and still working, just cracked the screen protector.
geforce88
post Oct 10 2016, 02:24 PM

2,841 posts

if he is interested in Note series, then yes get Note 5, now the price is as low as 2099 for SME set, definitely worth it. 1 year old is not that old lah.

otherwise, the alternatives are plenty, ranging from OnePlus 3 to S7.
TSredapple90
post Oct 10 2016, 02:33 PM

32 posts

she would prefer note series if possible as she previously had bad experience with s series. Furthermore, Note 5 is cheaper than S7 edge rite?
psyduck89
post Oct 10 2016, 02:38 PM

New Korean Member
818 posts

note5 almost identical with note 7,

except note 7 come with some new feature that note 5 doesnt have

ie: waterproof, iris scanner...
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Oct 10 2016, 02:48 PM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(redapple90 @ Oct 10 2016, 02:12 PM)
My friend decided to buy galaxy note 7 at first. But with the recall and explosion thing happening now. She was thinking to buy Note 5 instead.

But note 5 is about 1 year phone already. Is it still worth to buy?
Note 5 user here for about a year. Can say very satisfied with the device..... but 3 things you need to know:-

1) It gets quite hot when used constantly for 1+ hour (especially when playing games like Pokemon Go). Get a cover to prevent the heat from burning your palm.

2) Built in battery - while it has a big capacity, you *can't* change the battery should you want a bigger capacity, or you think that the battery has "worn out". For the moment, my Note 5 is still about 80% in terms of battery life, which is good.....

3) No SD Card - says it all really. Have to constantly clean my phone HD so that it runs smoothly and does not lag.
post Oct 10 2016, 08:40 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

I am note 5 user,
wanted to upgrade but notw 7 issues are scary.
but Galaxy S. series dont have pen.
So just stay with note 5, safer play.
earlofclarendon
post Oct 10 2016, 09:31 PM

195 posts

use package disabler pro to disable bloatware then very smooth and stable phone
doraemonkiller
post Oct 11 2016, 12:46 AM

1,128 posts

i still using note 2 sad.gif
MooTikPin
post Oct 11 2016, 01:27 AM

576 posts

QUOTE(psyduck89 @ Oct 10 2016, 02:38 PM)
note5 almost identical with note 7,

except note 7 come with some new feature that note 5 doesnt have

ie: waterproof, iris scanner...
And explosion

Kek
mffa
post Oct 11 2016, 08:30 AM

374 posts

QUOTE(redapple90 @ Oct 10 2016, 02:33 PM)
she would prefer note series if possible as she previously had bad experience with s series. Furthermore, Note 5 is cheaper than S7 edge rite?
yeah..note 5 should be cheaper than s7 edge since it is older model and the facts that it is retail at rm2799 when new as compared to s7 edge at rm3099.

btw, I got my note 5 after a few weeks it been launched in malaysia. and now already 1 year plus getting it.to date, almost no problem using it. still smooth as fucuk. everything works flawlessly, never hang and never miss a shot(double tab home button to on camera really fast yo). just I hope it got a longer battery life.

and please..stay away from note 7. I just read news yesterday, that the replacement phone for note 7 still exploded. if u die die want this year model get iphone 7 or if not, note 5 is more than enough.
irenetansayshi
post Oct 11 2016, 08:54 AM

75 posts

Note 5 tak ada expandable memory might as well get ipong!
TSredapple90
post Oct 11 2016, 10:41 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(mffa @ Oct 11 2016, 08:30 AM)
yeah..note 5 should be cheaper than s7 edge since it is older model and the facts that it is retail at rm2799 when new as compared to s7 edge at rm3099.

btw, I got my note 5 after a few weeks it been launched in malaysia. and now already 1 year plus getting it.to date, almost no problem using it. still smooth as fucuk. everything works flawlessly, never hang and never miss a shot(double tab home button to on camera really fast yo). just I hope it got a longer battery life.

and please..stay away from note 7. I just read news yesterday, that the replacement phone for note 7 still exploded. if u die die want this year model get iphone 7 or if not, note 5 is more than enough.
true also. if the replacement no explosion still ok. since its still exploding, i guess note 5 is better. the new note 7 wont be out so soon it seems
cyh03176
post Oct 11 2016, 10:46 AM

476 posts

been using note 5 since it's release. still happy with it. until today i don't feel any lag. s pen is brilliant. never thought of upgrading to note 7, and i am glad that i didn't.

32gb is more than enough as i have a separate music player for my albums. nowadays, everything is saved to cloud, 32gb is only for apps.
psyduck89
post Oct 11 2016, 01:21 PM

New Korean Member
818 posts

can consider go sg to purchase 64gb..

quite affordable icon_idea.gif

0.0148sec    0.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:45 PM