FAILED ENTREPRENEUR! Come In.., Share your failed ideas and experience.
Le Don
Oct 9 2016, 09:44 PM
I invested in my friend business.
He is a bumi contractor. He got some F&B and other tenders in gov agencies and he needed the money for capital.
Profit can be 60%-80% but payment by gov is always 1-2 months late.
So i have to be patient to receive my share cause need to pay workers and suppliers first. I get the leftover
Le Don
Oct 9 2016, 11:14 PM
QUOTE(Splynncryth @ Oct 9 2016, 11:02 PM) You might want to look into preferential shares or options in regards to per-project basis here. This way, you can continuously get your payment with little profit and re-invest in newer projects with your friends company. Sometimes, company may re-roll the capital for other projects as cash-flow is very critical .... some investors doesn't seem to get anything in return for a very long time while the others currently under it's payroll continue to enjoy the benefit. If the company goes bust, you may feel sorry for him for loosing everything and may put the idea of re-payment aside. But if a preferential-options were given during your initial capital injection, every-time payment were issued to them, you get something back that would reduce your risk and re-assist them in the future. Just my 2cents. Thanks for your input So how do you protect yourself as an investor? (Stamped agreement? Shares?) Regarding my investments, i did some initial capital injections last year. Only middle this year start to get something back cuz he keep getting tenders so cash flow is tight.
Le Don
Oct 9 2016, 11:18 PM
QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Oct 9 2016, 11:06 PM) than u kena con. Bumi contractor with kewangan they will received payment before they start. Payment from where? Maybe u mistaken with construction? This is about FB, Supply, General works..etc SME bank and Tekun also no layan him
Le Don
Oct 9 2016, 11:29 PM
QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Oct 9 2016, 11:22 PM) than he is not class A contractor, just another sub con .... Bumi Contractor with any gov contract, they can easily can advance payment without requesting it  i have one company supplying Malaysia Army, even now, their advance payment still solid. He is not a subcon. But not those big construction/supply contractors that got CIDB cert. Just a small company that get small tenders here and there. If i am not mistaken, advance payment is for those large supply project. Like pay 30% before installing and commissioning a factory equipment. This post has been edited by Le Don: Oct 9 2016, 11:31 PM
Le Don
Oct 9 2016, 11:46 PM
QUOTE(Splynncryth @ Oct 9 2016, 11:39 PM) Stamped Although late stamped document may have penalties applied to it, but at least it will be proof that is acceptable in the court. But normally, we have a lawyer which overlook all transactions. It's normally around RM400 to RM800 per agreement to have them involved, which facilitates preparations, documents, stamping, etc... It makes your life easier if anything goes wrong. Ok thanks U ever have disputes with those that u have invested in till u need to go to the court? (How much will lawyer charge to handle dispute?) So far the projects i have invested is like 10k project 1, 20k project 2...etc. If the sum is more than 100k, i will involve the lawyers This post has been edited by Le Don: Oct 9 2016, 11:49 PM