Books every Guitarists should have, A list of it
TSBlueSilver
Feb 2 2007, 09:37 AM, updated 19y ago
What are the books that you think a guitarist should have?
1. The Principles of Correct Practice for Guitar 2. Guitar for dummies 3. Hanon Exercises 4. Pumping Nylon 5. Speed Mechanics for Lead Guitar 6. Heavy Metal Rhythm Guitar vol. 1 & 2 7. Heavy Metal Lead Guitar vol. 1
This post has been edited by BlueSilver: Feb 7 2007, 01:31 PM
TSBlueSilver
Feb 2 2007, 01:02 PM
wah nice nice, i will try to find it in borders tomorrow  Added on February 2, 2007, 1:03 pmQUOTE(ReeveX.com @ Feb 2 2007, 10:46 AM) "The Principles of Correct Practice for Guitar" very useful guide...  is this by Jamie Andreas? Added on February 2, 2007, 1:05 pmQUOTE(echobrainproject @ Feb 2 2007, 11:58 AM) i've got this handbook for jazz musicians thats really good (I STILL CANT PLAY JAZZ). apart from covering theory, the main reason why i would recommend it is that it has alot of good advices on practicing, how to create interesting improvs, how to play in a band(especially we guitarist who always solo and no one realises our bassist..hahahaha), values(yes, even values we musicians should have), etc etc. i think ive given led zep a copy of this book. what is the name for this jazz handbook? This post has been edited by BlueSilver: Feb 2 2007, 01:05 PM
TSBlueSilver
Feb 2 2007, 05:07 PM
QUOTE(Banzai_san @ Feb 2 2007, 01:34 PM) That's the one Im thinking of getting. However, I doubt Borders will have any BTW, since you plan to go to Borders tomorrow, would you be kind enough to look for Troy Stetina's books especially Speed Mechanics. Thanks blue sure thing. i'll get back to you ya.  Added on February 2, 2007, 5:08 pmQUOTE(echobrainproject @ Feb 2 2007, 03:43 PM) whoopie... This post has been edited by BlueSilver: Feb 2 2007, 05:08 PM
TSBlueSilver
Feb 2 2007, 05:45 PM
QUOTE(stefanong @ Feb 2 2007, 05:41 PM) 1. A good chord book. 2. Hanon Finger Exercises. (its a classic piano exercise book but i practise the left or right hand parts...very very good) You're set. Hanon Finger Exercises is a piano book and u use it to practise on the guitar ah? wah... i think i would have to write down all the notes before i can start A good chord book means any good chord book or is it a book title?
TSBlueSilver
Feb 2 2007, 11:47 PM
QUOTE(ReeveX.com @ Feb 2 2007, 06:14 PM) erm...i dunno really know how to explain but really a useful guide to help u aware of ur mistake and how to correct it...basically is something like that... btw...i dun think borders will have this book....i juz went there this wednesday i'll just try my luck ya. Hopefully i'll find it there. If not, i might find something else interesting?
TSBlueSilver
Feb 3 2007, 12:00 AM
hehe.. i'll let you know what i get after coming back from borders ya
TSBlueSilver
Feb 3 2007, 12:04 AM
can no problem at all  after photostat i mail it to you la
TSBlueSilver
Feb 3 2007, 12:24 AM
yeah i think kinokuniya will be a better choice. It's at KLCC. I'm going to the Penang borders oh so i can't go to kinokuniya. I think borders is my best choice already.
TSBlueSilver
Feb 3 2007, 12:33 AM
i hope so too and thanks reevex  Added on February 3, 2007, 9:46 pmI went to Borders today but didn't find any suitable books.  *sigh* This post has been edited by BlueSilver: Feb 3 2007, 09:46 PM
TSBlueSilver
Feb 7 2007, 01:32 PM
i actually saw the "Speed Mechanics for Lead Guitar" in borders. Aiseh... i should have bought it. Now i would have to drive all the way to Penang again.  I'll try to hunt for it during my kl trip la. Hopefully i'll find it.
TSBlueSilver
Feb 11 2007, 07:38 PM
QUOTE(Banzai_san @ Feb 11 2007, 04:01 PM) Speed MACHINE ??? you mean Speed MECHANICS... Have to wait for Rene to answer as she's the person that saw it in Borders Penang. But Amazon.com lists for USD 14.16 new. eek...  i forgot to see the price oh
TSBlueSilver
Feb 11 2007, 08:25 PM
QUOTE(-YS- @ Feb 11 2007, 07:53 PM) haha...so cute la u..everytime if the book i interested i surely will see how much one.. aih... i didn't know that book was one of the list when i was there.
TSBlueSilver
Feb 11 2007, 08:38 PM
QUOTE(Banzai_san @ Feb 11 2007, 08:36 PM) I have the perfect pitch & relative pitch Combo CDs. I dont use books so does not qualify for this thread I guess.  aiks.. don't say that ma.  Don't use books still can share an opinion here.
TSBlueSilver
Feb 12 2007, 02:42 PM
wah do u remember how much was it? you ordered it online?
TSBlueSilver
Feb 12 2007, 04:50 PM
QUOTE(Banzai_san @ Feb 12 2007, 02:57 PM) IIRC, I paid USD 289/- + international shipping USD 18/- I chosed their 3 month easy (installment) payment plan. That was when they were having a special deal. Now its USD 388/- That's really no joke ya. Hole in my pocket is getting bigger and bigger.