Wii Adaptor burned/Wii burned, lol silly me...
TSgaijin_otoko
Feb 1 2007, 11:16 PM, updated 19y ago

hi guys!desperately need help here! and fast!
got my wii us version last night.
forget bout the voltage differences (aka no stepdown converter)
when i plug the wii to the socket and turn it on "Pop"
and it wont turn on anymore. My bet is that the adaptor burn out but could it be that the wii itself burned out too? (worst case scenario)
any ideas what happened? if i need to just replace the adaptor is there any shop near shah alam/kl?
help and suggestions appreciated! and fast! and thanks!
kabal82
Feb 1 2007, 11:33 PM
the biggest possibility i might say is ur Wii is burned as well...
TSgaijin_otoko
Feb 1 2007, 11:36 PM

ouch!
seriously?
any possibilities that just the adaptor got zapped but not the Wii?
used2bcow
Feb 1 2007, 11:41 PM

Will never truly know until u give it a try with a new adaptor. Good Luck.
okgun
Feb 2 2007, 12:57 AM

I think the wii also burn just like last time my friend's dreamcast.However, I think it is just minor problem so no need to worry to much.Just send it to the shop where you bought.
busternuck
Feb 2 2007, 01:04 AM
In the case of my Gamecube, only the power adapter konked. So there is still hope. Finding another power adapter however is no easy task even for the Gamecube back then.
marauderz
Feb 2 2007, 01:37 AM
The Cube and Wii is different from the Dreamcast, the Dreamcast's AC/DC adapter is built in, the cube and wii's ones are outside.
If you're really lucky, the 240V should have fried the conversion circuits before it could reach your Wii.
Djinn had a supply of 240V Wii Adapters when I was there on Saturday you might want to check with him.
DjiNn
Feb 2 2007, 02:02 AM
if you can just bring your wii and will do some testing see your units is still ok or not
sayming
Feb 2 2007, 03:15 AM
QUOTE(gaijin_otoko @ Feb 1 2007, 11:16 PM) hi guys!desperately need help here! and fast! got my wii us version last night. forget bout the voltage differences (aka no stepdown converter) when i plug the wii to the socket and turn it on "Pop" and it wont turn on anymore. My bet is that the adaptor burn out but could it be that the wii itself burned out too? (worst case scenario) any ideas what happened? if i need to just replace the adaptor is there any shop near shah alam/kl? help and suggestions appreciated! and fast! and thanks! Okay how the heck can you forget about the voltage differences? Aren't the shop you got the Wii from supposed to remind you about it at least?  Good luck getting a new adapter and enjoying ya wii  Hope everything's alright This post has been edited by sayming: Feb 2 2007, 03:16 AM
lj0000
Feb 2 2007, 03:25 AM
i thought the wii adaptor is multi-voltage?? take a look at the label on the power brick.
if u r lucky, its standard voltages and u can buy one off the shelf at pasar road.
anyhow i am sure u can get a after market power brick soon.
calvin
Feb 2 2007, 09:11 AM
one over-excited wii owner turned traumatised
phelix
Feb 2 2007, 09:31 AM
Oh.. too bad.... good luck to you buddy~
rx330
Feb 2 2007, 10:07 AM
oh my, hope everything is fine one wii owner in spore also did the same thing, lucky not fried, just change the voltage thingy in the wii itself
KoYuKii
Feb 2 2007, 11:17 AM
nvm lar...CNY coming soon, sure got angpau and buy a new 1 lor...
rx330
Feb 2 2007, 11:34 AM
CNY cum only i gip ppl angpow, nobody gip me liao
zio
Feb 2 2007, 12:44 PM
Happened to my GameCube, only the adaptor got burned. So, your Wii might still be safe.
Jst bring it to the shop and test.
TSgaijin_otoko
Feb 2 2007, 09:25 PM

thanks y'all!
help appreciated
firstknight
Feb 3 2007, 01:46 AM
well.... it is kinda strange that the shop seller tell you or sell to you the adapter together... really bad seller...
TSgaijin_otoko
Feb 3 2007, 06:19 PM

well in the end of the day, djinn n the trip switch inside the Wii's original adaptor saved my @$$...luckily my Wii is saved from the blazing fire of TNB electic supply.
thnx djinn! and y'all!
hafez13
Feb 3 2007, 06:52 PM
no problem..[although i dint do anythin  ] This post has been edited by hafez13: Feb 3 2007, 06:52 PM
astridante
Oct 13 2008, 11:59 PM
Hello, I bought my wii (US) in Indonesia and used it there with no problems whatsoever (without using a stepdown from 220->110). Then I moved to Spore where Ive been using my Wii for 2 months without a glitch (note:also not using a stepdown knowing Indonesia & Spore have the same voltage). But just a few hours ago, I just found out my wii was DEAD. I couldnt start her up. Then I tried plug-unplug numerous times when I heard a *pop* from my adapter..! Im going 2 a friends house 2morrow 2 borrow his wii adapter 2 check my situation out..
In the mean time, If my adapter is fried.. Is there a way to fix/change the fuse ( i dont have a linehead screw so I cant open up the adapter)? How much is a brand new/ 3rd party adapter?
Please please help out a friend in need.. Thanks!
This post has been edited by astridante: Oct 14 2008, 12:00 AM
bukanmain
Oct 16 2008, 11:38 PM