Samsung Samsung Galaxy Note 7 Official Discussion V8!, Discontinued on 11 October 2016 :(

jrrsim
post Oct 6 2016, 11:53 PM

Armchair Expert #007
628 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Oct 6 2016, 10:35 PM)
finally i realized what is the culprit of battery drain. wipe the cache, battery seems improving by alot, and temp run cooler as well. recommended to everyone who got their phone, to wipe their cache beforehand. prior to that, phone is tend to get hotter easier too. now it seems that i managed to tame this beast

tested with numerous of battery savings options such as disable bloatware via package disabler pro, not so much, pretty much limiting the capacity of the phone, and then using greenify with excessive dose mode, really a road warrior but big trade off with no instant notification.

currently, everything enabled with just mid power saving mode, only changes that i tick is reduce brightness to 80%, and now battery is 56% ish, with 3h 20m SOT with Waze 27m 30s, Gaming (Clash Royale 9m 4s, Clash of Clans, Sky Force Reloaded 1h 9m 40s, Pirate King 11m 28s), Internet browsing + LYN roughly 20mins). Im quite satisfied.
which cache did u wipe?
jrrsim
post Oct 7 2016, 12:14 AM

Armchair Expert #007
628 posts

QUOTE(Max2006 @ Oct 6 2016, 11:59 PM)
It's in recovery mode. Go to wipe cache partition.
thanks! would this affect anything?
jrrsim
post Oct 9 2016, 09:26 PM

Armchair Expert #007
628 posts

Guys,

my opinion is post news good or bad.
But if you decide to do that, kindly verify the facts and ensure the news is from a reputable and well known tech site.

Additionally, please also check that the news you are posting is actually new (just happened) and isn't posted 2 pages back, otherwise, you're just freaking annoying and cluttering the pages with junk (anything other than the first reference becomes junk).

Don't just post because you found an explosion story and then go, yeah yeah.. let's go laugh at note7 users, then look for this thread and post without even checking if you're the 10th person posting about the same news even if it's from a different tech site.. Example, the southwest flight incident, i think i saw the same link a few times and multiple links from various tech sites which contains the same story paraphrased or even copy pasted. Thanks but no thanks, I've read it once, I don't need to read it a thousand times.

and dear saints, stfu. we don't need you imposing your belief and expecting the rest of us to follow.

Annoyed note7 forumer.
jrrsim
post Oct 9 2016, 09:32 PM

Armchair Expert #007
628 posts

Now onto feedback.. battery life on my phone today has been the best!

After 12 hours and I'm down to 45% from 100% with nearly 4 hours of screen on time.

Thanks to those that introduced greenify and recovery mode cache wipe, it helps a lot.
for the forumer that had the same greenify issue as me (manual hibernation required), after the recovery mode cache wipe, clicking the greenify hibernation button will hibernate apps without manual intervention albeit 1 by 1.

Battery temp 30-35 celcius during normal usage unless gaming etc..

[add on] battery temp in office (airconditioned) is around 25-30 celcius

This post has been edited by jrrsim: Oct 9 2016, 09:39 PM
jrrsim
post Oct 9 2016, 09:41 PM

Armchair Expert #007
628 posts

QUOTE(eetony @ Oct 9 2016, 09:39 PM)
Yes, battery life is by far the best I have use. Unplug 100% at 2am, gaming 2hrs 20mins with SOT 5hrs 30mins and left 20% now.
this sounds like better battery life than mine! i didn't game much today.. or it would be much worse.
jrrsim
post Oct 10 2016, 12:01 PM

Armchair Expert #007
628 posts

ppl will ask me am i not worried or is it gonna explode etc..

my standard answer is usually, "as of now, SEA has no reported boom cases yet, so if it happens to me, it shall be the first, i can be an overnight celeb".

they end up having nothing to say and just nod their heads.

Come on guys, be positive. But if you're having sleepless nights, as mentioned earlier by another forumer, refund option is available.

But truthfully, as this phone has not been commercially available in Msia yet, and even grandpas know about this, i doubt there is any user so ulu they dunno the risk la. If they are truly afraid, they would have refunded or sold it off already. It's already over a month. So I implore keyboard saints to go do good elsewhere instead of asking people to not use their note7

jrrsim
post Oct 10 2016, 12:08 PM

Armchair Expert #007
628 posts

QUOTE(keny1st @ Oct 10 2016, 12:04 PM)
im very confidence to note 7 what i having now. its a very perfect phone at the moment.

but if they call for recollect back, i have no idea if i want to give back or not..
me neither, but i doubt this time will be a global recall. They will surely investigate and if they can find the actual root cause / culprit, only the affected batches will be recalled.

The initial global recall was to appease everyone and show they are willing to man up, i think it was actually unnecessary as most of the phones aren't affected.

so, let's just hang on tight, take precautions, hope our phones don't explode (except for overnight sensation wannabes), and wait for regulators / Samsung to come up with their findings. I would definitely prefer to hang on to this phone sans explosions.
jrrsim
post Oct 10 2016, 12:28 PM

Armchair Expert #007
628 posts

QUOTE(TyreExpert @ Oct 10 2016, 12:21 PM)
I think the problem is they not even really sure the root cause of it and then all these explosion news heated up so they need to have immediate action on it to show they're paying attention and thus the initial global recall.

Wonder until now they're able to identify the ultimate root cause
yeah, maybe they haven't identified, or they identified the wrong one.

HOWEVER, imagine they have already identified and know what the problem is, obviously if I was in their position, I might not announce anything this time. That would seem rash. I would fly to affected manufacturer to identify process, discuss with all relevant parties and regulators, get the plan properly, identify what needs to be done, get my productions underway, implement the proper guidelines to all manufacturers, dissipate the SOP to all regional distributors, ensure all local telcos know what needs to be done, discuss with Korean government how to ensure there is minimal fallout on branding and national pride, realign future plans for phone production, identify scapegoats and people to fire/resign etc etc.

As you can see, these would all take time, months even, provided they have identified the mother root cause.
jrrsim
post Oct 11 2016, 10:58 AM

Armchair Expert #007
628 posts

I'm gonna wait for the outcome of Samsung's investigation, they are trying to protect themselves and their users as the risk should be confirmed, however, until they come up with a decision, note7 is not officially dead yet.
jrrsim
post Oct 11 2016, 11:00 AM

Armchair Expert #007
628 posts

QUOTE(Wind82 @ Oct 11 2016, 10:58 AM)
Haih.. how I wish they manage to fix it somehow..

Been using S3 all these year. Just when I upgrade to Note 7, shit happens. Talking bout bad luck!
agreed, been using note2 all these years even though friends around me have upgraded, some even twice. Thought I have the perfect phone in hand this year and shit happens.

It's sooooo hard to give it up.
jrrsim
post Oct 11 2016, 12:59 PM

Armchair Expert #007
628 posts

anyone using easyhome for Samsung?

feel like the app is always hibernated even tho i set it to not be optimised and to not monitor it's battery usage..

as long as i click on the app it starts working again.. dunnit to stop and start it.. anyone face same issue?

every few hour need to go to app.. haih..
jrrsim
post Oct 11 2016, 06:03 PM

Armchair Expert #007
628 posts

QUOTE(leehoongs @ Oct 11 2016, 05:48 PM)
QUOTE(jojo_g2 @ Oct 11 2016, 05:56 PM)
aiyo, please check like 10post before you, if nothing of value to add, dunnit post anything also ok. summore different website but actually copy paste nia... summore got "developing" copied.

jrrsim
post Oct 12 2016, 09:21 AM

Armchair Expert #007
628 posts

this was supposed to last me another 3-4 years and it seemed to be a winner with a flair for combustion.. argh
jrrsim
post Oct 12 2016, 09:26 AM

Armchair Expert #007
628 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Oct 12 2016, 09:07 AM)
unlikely... if anything, they'd wanna make sure s8 is a hit to regain confidence... they may not bump to 6GB RAM or sth... but might still keep specs standard. things like IRIS scanner, etc... can expect to be in the s8... unless IRIS scanner is the cause of the fires <-- just example la... but that's something new that wasn't in earlier phones.
i seriously doubt recouping the losses (cutting costs, increasing price) would be the first thing on their minds. That sounds like a sure way to go downhill. What they need to do restart with a bang (pun unintended and hopefully not literally), wow reviewers and users to ensure they will not avoid it, and regain confidence in their products. Most probably with a good bargain.

If they start counting the digits, I seriously doubt they would be able to survive at the top, maybe relegated to blackberry/nokia level.
jrrsim
post Oct 12 2016, 03:19 PM

Armchair Expert #007
628 posts

QUOTE(i am number 2 @ Oct 12 2016, 03:14 PM)
Did Samsung request or force you to buy those accessories for the Note 7? NO.
Are those accessories compulsory or mandatory for the Note 7 to work / function? NO.
Are the accessories you bought defective? NO

So like Irenic mentioned above, the users chose to buy those accessories. So why does Samsung need compensate you on the unnecessary things that you buy extra for the phone?
Is this your problem? NO
Does this users experience affect you in any way? NO
Do you lose money due to this users actions? NO gua unless u are SME stockholder

So just STFU. You can discuss but please don't impose your saintly beliefs on others. They have a right to voice out their frustrations and concerns. It is everyone's right to fight for what they want, doesn't mean they will get it but if they willing to fight for it, good for them and everyone involved.

jrrsim
post Oct 12 2016, 03:29 PM

Armchair Expert #007
628 posts

Truthfully, if i was the TS, i would just close this thread so only owners can discuss since it doesn't bother non-owners anymore. No one cares about non-owners opinions now, and non-owners will never be owners so following this thread is just *popcorn time* for them, sometimes chucking fire and oil in for fun.

Now is discussion about what to do and what options are there.

Max2006 can continue posting news since he religiously follows this thread and seldom posts redundant news, anyone else should just STFU or GTFO.

This post has been edited by jrrsim: Oct 12 2016, 03:29 PM
jrrsim
post Oct 12 2016, 03:36 PM

Armchair Expert #007
628 posts

some people cannot tahan when they are judged but like to act as saints, hopefully we can kick them all out and have our discussions like adults albeit malaysian style..
jrrsim
post Oct 12 2016, 03:39 PM

Armchair Expert #007
628 posts

Customers can choose to buy one of its other models at 10,000 baht for a Galaxy S7, Galaxy S7 Edge or Galaxy Note 5, and get a set of headphones free.

so they get refund and pay RM1k for an s7edge????? I mau, can last me til note8 then!
jrrsim
post Oct 13 2016, 09:40 AM

Armchair Expert #007
628 posts

I personally would like to have an s7 (+screen protector and casing) as interim before free upgrade to note7 replacement. That would be the optimal choice.
If they can identify and fix the note7 problem I don't mind getting the replacement unit or my current unit back.

This post has been edited by jrrsim: Oct 13 2016, 09:41 AM
jrrsim
post Oct 13 2016, 09:50 AM

Armchair Expert #007
628 posts

QUOTE(leehoongs @ Oct 13 2016, 09:43 AM)
why not s7 edge? will there be any lifting of the screen protector like the note 7? ><
yep, from what i heard worse problems of lifting SP, but overall i don't see much improvement of s7e over s7, and it is more prone to cracks and damage. this is an interim phone pun, i prefer they provide sp and casing for me to jaga the phone before returning to them when i can get a n7 replacement.

0.0785sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:27 PM