126 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Samsung Samsung Galaxy Note 7 Official Discussion V8!, Discontinued on 11 October 2016 :(

RicoT
post Oct 7 2016, 12:41 AM

200 posts

QUOTE(viknela @ Oct 7 2016, 12:19 AM)
I don't know but after close monitoring with my old faulty unit I had heating issue randomly occurring via the soc itself not the battery and my personal theory was that the soc or the cooling has a flaw and the heat from the chip might cause the general flaw in battery design to blow or start smoking.. I normally perform a hard reset everyone it starts crossing 70 celcius and it will be fine soon after..
My pre-replacement unit loves to hang, boot loop and overheats for no reason. There is once it hanged when doing the green battery sign update, it was the hottest it ever been, then I cooled it down with an ice pack. After a day of use, I switched it off and cannot be turned on anymore. According to service centre, the motherboard was cooked. mega_shok.gif

This post has been edited by RicoT: Oct 7 2016, 12:43 AM
XeactorZ
post Oct 7 2016, 12:57 AM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,608 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Oct 6 2016, 10:03 PM)
If they sell the new batch "safe" Note 7 at half the price, I will be willing to take the risk and get one for use.  But will leave it at home if flying overseas though.  innocent.gif

Thought of getting the Note 7 to replace my aging Note 3 but somehow the safety issue is still out there.  shakehead.gif  The leaked Injustice version is damn nice.
if sell at half price everybody go grab already laugh.gif
RicoT
post Oct 7 2016, 01:34 AM

200 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Oct 7 2016, 12:57 AM)
if sell at half price everybody go grab already laugh.gif
If Samsung sells Note 7 at half the price with disclaimer and no warranty, no one in their sane mind will buy it (RM1,500 can buy many other reliable phones), Note 7 uncontrollable overheating kills the motherboard of my pre-replacement Note 7 and many battery explosion issues, it is just not worth it even at quarter the price now. I rather have Samsung mandatory buy back all Note 7 and salvage whatever parts they can and make better Note 8, they got 1 extra year to get Note 8 right or go bust.
vez
post Oct 7 2016, 01:37 AM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(RicoT @ Oct 7 2016, 01:34 AM)
If Samsung sells Note 7 at half the price with disclaimer and no warranty, no one in their sane mind will buy it (RM1,500 can buy many other reliable phones), Note 7 uncontrollable overheating kills the motherboard of my pre-replacement Note 7 and many battery explosion issues, it is just not worth it even at quarter the price now. I rather have Samsung mandatory buy back all Note 7 and salvage whatever parts they can and make better Note 8, they got 1 extra year to get Note 8 right or go bust.
no warranty different story biggrin.gif dont think samsung will ever take risk... if still have issue, they will recall...
but my replacement set for note 7 so far ok, pray the news is not really.... hopefully.... another call up is just... might as well refund d... wait next note
SyathibiyMegat
post Oct 7 2016, 02:20 AM

Linguistics
2,634 posts

khainiz94
post Oct 7 2016, 08:07 AM

2,856 posts

Finally, the battery temp seems okay.
But I love the new replacement so much. The battery life on this phone is the best compared to my other previous phone.
I got 18 hours of battery life but still have 19% left on my phone. Unplugged 7.30 am till 1.30 am avg. SOT 4hrs 31 mins. Mostly on 4G data Digi. Only a few hours on WiFi.
Forget to take screenshot. Will monitor again today.

This phone is the best battery life I have ever had. Even better than my old Note5. So no regrets buying this phone.

This post has been edited by khainiz94: Oct 7 2016, 08:08 AM
welcometoreality
post Oct 7 2016, 08:41 AM

QUOTE(Max2006 @ Oct 7 2016, 12:59 AM)
It's in recovery mode. Go to wipe cache partition.
Hi Bro, can you please show how to go the wipe cache partition?
mydragoon
post Oct 7 2016, 08:58 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(lllllx3 @ Oct 6 2016, 04:34 PM)
please update me if you got any answer.. haha..

i really hate to do factory reset again =.=
Samsung said they have not heard anyone else complain about this. partly coz i guess not many ppl would look at that anyway...

they just asked to try the following:
Engineer has advised to switch on the device in safe mode and monitor is the issue resolved.
In case if issue resolved by entering safe mode, initial suspect it is caused by 3rd party applications.
* To switch to safe mode, turn off the device. By holding volume down key and power on the device until device is booted successfully into the main menu. All installed apps will stop working in this mode.
"Safe mode" indication will be displayed at bottom left corner of the device.

Please send to nearest service centre for further inspection in case if issue is not resolved in that case.

considering i cannot pull up this wifi stats again unless I root my phone, i'm just going to leave it as it is... i dun wanna have to bring it back to SC or reset my phone. i'm already using it as my daily driver.

QUOTE(welcometoreality @ Oct 6 2016, 05:52 PM)
May I know how to check this time?
it is easier to check with NEW phone when you have not many apps installed. that way, the WIFI will end up being on of the top battery use list. to access this list, go to SETTINGS --> DEVICE MAINTENANCE --> BATTERY --> BATTERY USAGE.

just wondering... anyone got a really fresh out the box unit can help to test? on new phone, the WIFI should appear on this list. just click and see how long it's been running.

mine had shown 44 days, which is puzzling considering i've also done factory reset.

QUOTE(NatalieRath @ Oct 6 2016, 06:54 PM)
I really liked the pure black phone.
dun worry, you're not missing out on much. when i went for the black on, i thought it would be really black and that the front and the screen would blend in nicely... unfortunately, that is not the case. the top and bottom part of the phone isn't really black. more like (as batman puts it) dark, dark gray.

QUOTE(shockk @ Oct 6 2016, 08:38 PM)
I don't necessarily need another travel charger or USB cable or box for that matter.
for me... some keep as spares. who knows... if someone (well deserving) from this forum lost their accessories, i might just send to them for free. just like how currently i'm offering the free Glass SP for free, if anyone wants it la... hahaha... bangsar area. self collect la... dun waste extra $$$ for postage.

QUOTE(RicoT @ Oct 6 2016, 08:42 PM)
SPen I know can try to write like chopstick, but sim-card tray?
i heard SIM tray can break quite easily... so, for those who take out tray often, might be good to actually have spare. smile.gif

eternity4av
post Oct 7 2016, 08:58 AM

♥ ♥ ♥ taeyeon
2,270 posts

QUOTE(khainiz94 @ Oct 7 2016, 08:07 AM)
Finally, the battery temp seems okay.
But I love the new replacement so much. The battery life on this phone is the best compared to my other previous phone.
I got 18 hours of battery life but still have 19% left on my phone. Unplugged 7.30 am till 1.30 am avg. SOT 4hrs 31 mins. Mostly on 4G data Digi. Only a few hours on WiFi.
Forget to take screenshot. Will monitor again today.

This phone is the best battery life I have ever had. Even better than my old Note5. So no regrets buying this phone.
yeah, i got roughly 12h+ standby time with SOT of 4h 21mins, with 35% battery left.
mydragoon
post Oct 7 2016, 09:00 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Oct 6 2016, 10:35 PM)
finally i realized what is the culprit of battery drain. wipe the cache, battery seems improving by alot, and temp run cooler as well. recommended to everyone who got their phone, to wipe their cache beforehand. prior to that, phone is tend to get hotter easier too. now it seems that i managed to tame this beast

tested with numerous of battery savings options such as disable bloatware via package disabler pro, not so much, pretty much limiting the capacity of the phone, and then using greenify with excessive dose mode, really a road warrior but big trade off with no instant notification.

currently, everything enabled with just mid power saving mode, only changes that i tick is reduce brightness to 80%, and now battery is 56% ish, with 3h 20m SOT with Waze 27m 30s, Gaming (Clash Royale 9m 4s, Clash of Clans, Sky Force Reloaded 1h 9m 40s, Pirate King 11m 28s), Internet browsing + LYN roughly 20mins). Im quite satisfied.
wipe the cache... as in? got steps?

never mind... just saw others posts later on... instructions are there...

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Oct 7 2016, 09:01 AM
mydragoon
post Oct 7 2016, 09:04 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(welcometoreality @ Oct 7 2016, 08:41 AM)
METHOD 1 - Enter Recovery Mode using Hardware Buttons on Samsung Galaxy Note 7
Step 1 – Turn OFF your phone.
Step 2 – Now press and hold the following buttons for a few seconds, all at the same time: Power + Volume Up + Home.
Step 3 – After a few seconds, you should see the Recovery Mode screen on your Samsung Galaxy Note 7.

Method 2 – Enter Recovery Mode using ADB on Windows
Step 1 – Make sure USB drivers / ADB drivers for Galaxy Note 7 have been installed and ADB is configured on your computer.
Step 2 – Connect your Galaxy Note 7 to your PC with a USB cable and install ADB drivers (if needed).
Step 3 – Navigate to android-sdk-windows\platform-tools directory and open Command Prompt (Shift + Right-click anywhere in the folder > Open Command Prompt).
Step 4 – Type in the following command and press Enter.
adb reboot recovery
Step 5 – Your Galaxy Note 7 will turn OFF and then boot into the Recovery Mode. Navigate up and down using the volume keys and select with the Power button.

my advice... stick to method 1.

and wipe the correct thing!!! very important. else... when restart phone, and if you wiped wrong thing... you get factory reset... smile.gif
makky
post Oct 7 2016, 09:04 AM

314 posts

Can't believe samsung cannot slove the issue until now , i guess not only the battery but the soc also cause heat to build up and short the battery.
Max2006
post Oct 7 2016, 09:07 AM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(welcometoreality @ Oct 7 2016, 08:41 AM)
Switch off the phone. Press and hold the volume up button, power button and home button simultaneously, hold until the phone vibrate and switch on and Samsung logo shows up. And then wait for few seconds. The phone will go into recovery mode. In there, you can choose wipe cache partition. After wiping, then reboot the system.
leewh23
post Oct 7 2016, 09:22 AM

689 posts

araree, Spigen & Nillkin... all black color tongue.gif

Spigen

Nillkin

araree
leewh23
post Oct 7 2016, 09:23 AM

689 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Oct 7 2016, 09:04 AM)
METHOD 1 - Enter Recovery Mode using Hardware Buttons on Samsung Galaxy Note 7
Step 1 – Turn OFF your phone.
Step 2 – Now press and hold the following buttons for a few seconds, all at the same time: Power + Volume Up + Home.
Step 3 – After a few seconds, you should see the Recovery Mode screen on your Samsung Galaxy Note 7.

Method 2 – Enter Recovery Mode using ADB on Windows
Step 1 – Make sure USB drivers / ADB drivers for Galaxy Note 7 have been installed and ADB is configured on your computer.
Step 2 – Connect your Galaxy Note 7 to your PC with a USB cable and install ADB drivers (if needed).
Step 3 – Navigate to android-sdk-windows\platform-tools directory and open Command Prompt (Shift + Right-click anywhere in the folder > Open Command Prompt).
Step 4 – Type in the following command and press Enter.
adb reboot recovery
Step 5 – Your Galaxy Note 7 will turn OFF and then boot into the Recovery Mode. Navigate up and down using the volume keys and select with the Power button.

my advice... stick to method 1.

and wipe the correct thing!!! very important. else... when restart phone, and if you wiped wrong thing... you get factory reset... smile.gif
yup method 1 is the easiest way.. rclxms.gif
jerryhean
post Oct 7 2016, 09:39 AM

~Cool~
1,747 posts

Anyone using the phone without any sp?
yuhhaur
post Oct 7 2016, 09:54 AM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

QUOTE(jerryhean @ Oct 7 2016, 09:39 AM)
Without SP atm because can't find the RM39 Ori SP. But using a wallet type of casing.
eternity4av
post Oct 7 2016, 10:07 AM

♥ ♥ ♥ taeyeon
2,270 posts

yes I'm with transparent tpu case only rm29.90 made from baseus. haha
abarai
post Oct 7 2016, 10:20 AM

140 posts

i was using the pre-recalled unit for about 3 weeks with screen protector, even no casing. really love the feel of it..so slim and smooth feeling, nicely contoured. and using the spen was great...it just glides along the screen smoothly.

just before handing back, i checked and couldn't see any scratches. but i must say i didnt check very thoroughly, just scan at an angle under some lights. i didn't particularly baby it or stress it during this period, just trying to use it as normally as i do. i do make sure the pants pocket where i keep the phone doesnt contain anything else though.
jacky91
post Oct 7 2016, 10:26 AM

DJ
1,780 posts

does anyone have a good app that can control the sound profile? as in when switched to mute, it will turn off all the volume (including media volume)?

last time using CyanogenMod, got such thing

126 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0322sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:41 AM