PC in Car, do any of you have it?
jacksonloh0
Aug 13 2007, 08:28 AM
I also put in one last week. An AMD into my Avanza. With Geek My Avanza on it. I will put it post here once i got my phone back. For a teaser, i run WinXP on USB removeable drive to prevent my OS break down if i am offroading. It got GPS, WiFi and voice recognition. IMHO, i think touch screen is not very practical since my tempreture in Malaysia is considered 'extreme' lately. :-> I use a 230watt psu and an inverter. Now, i try finding a M2ATX DC-DC PSU in Malaysia This post has been edited by jacksonloh0: Aug 13 2007, 08:35 AM
jacksonloh0
Aug 14 2007, 07:46 PM
Hi coldfusionpower, how much? Interested.  Added on August 14, 2007, 7:51 pmI saw car in Discovery Channel about futurecar, one that is speeding on its own via computerised system, look a lot like some in KITT. I miss that show, but i will freak out if a car talk back at me. Imagine this, speeding down road at 100+ and suddenly car say "Oi boss, too fast man, put signal man, stick on one lane man" and worst of all, "Your driving sucks man". Backseater This post has been edited by jacksonloh0: Aug 14 2007, 07:51 PM
jacksonloh0
Aug 15 2007, 11:13 AM
Yeah, i know how you feel bro.  Mine give out lady voice but my wife say it sound like pontianak sound So, i had it change to robotic sound. I also scared some of my passenger. Here how, Me: Computer, what's the time? Kawan: Wha? Who do u talking ... Computer: It's 5 pm, master. Kawan: Ahhhhh! Me: Originally i use Ultra Hal but i change because it sensitive to background noise, suddenly talking nonsense! Now, i use eSpeaking's Voice and Speech Recognition Software interface with in-Car Terminal. You?
jacksonloh0
Aug 16 2007, 05:49 PM
I used Bruno once but after it R.I.P. from MP3Car forum, i change to few other and now using iCT free version. Sweet mother of j35u5!!! Knight is back again. First Transformer now KITT. I better used the poster as desktop. Ha ha don't want to miss that. OK guys. If i put a PC inside a wooden box without any enclosure made of steel to protect from electrowave, is it harmful? Dun wanna fry my little 'soldier' he he he.
jacksonloh0
Aug 19 2007, 01:48 PM
I have a acrylic case once beneath my passenger seat. Glow at night and attract too many mosquito and insect.  So, i take a extra drawer and mod here and there; end result is seating inside my Avanza. Freestyler, better McGyver this one bro, a PC in car is totally geek one. Learn a lot from cabaran, today this tommorow that and then one day your car become a mobile office/home/entertainment. A site worth mention is MP3car.com and ahemm http://forum.audiopce.com/
jacksonloh0
Aug 20 2007, 09:23 AM
jacksonloh0
Aug 21 2007, 10:18 AM
Kedai 100% Discount Store. Lots of this here in my hometown. RM1 per piece. Buy many discount also. I originally going to put Geek My Ride but after thinking "Why waste Avanza wording so i mix and match to become Geek My Avanza"  More geekish.
jacksonloh0
Aug 23 2007, 07:21 PM
OK, i can help you buy. Plus postage and if the stock in my area avalaible. PM me if you want.
jacksonloh0
Aug 25 2007, 09:08 AM
Wah la we. No money oh. A car with fully intergrated computer to run is 1) Vunerable to virus. 2) Vunerable to crashes. 3) Need upgrade from time to time. Imagine going to workshop and ask about an upgrade of OS. Or news flashing by saying three hundred car strand on highway because the car's OS suddenly have imcompatible driver with the car. Muahahaha. For duo screen, i use scan converter. I got mine from Ebay Singapore. RM198 including postage. This is the newer version http://www.compusa.com/products/product_in...t_code=50331301 Mine can only scan 640x480. Sorry i can't take a picture bcoz it is inside the bowel of my car and too lazy to pull it out. It got 1 monitor input and several output to tv analogue, second monitor output and s-video, all at once. I connect all of it and virtual desktop so monitor 1 view maps, monitor 2 and 3 view my MP3 and video. This post has been edited by jacksonloh0: Aug 25 2007, 09:25 AM
jacksonloh0
Aug 28 2007, 04:23 PM
Touchscreen using USB input maybe can. Haven't tried coz I got 1 only.
M2ATX still on the horizon. Currently putting UPS to survive the engine cranking. No lui. Wait till kena ToTo, wait I don't play ToTo, hehehe.
jacksonloh0
Sep 9 2007, 11:01 AM
Yeah thats why I put TS for my secondary monitor in my house and use normal LCD for carputer. Input via voice, much more geek and sophisticated at the same time.
jacksonloh0
Jul 27 2008, 08:12 AM
Wow, so many post here that I missed. For airplane sound, I did the 12 point ground wire and voltage stabilizer for my Avanza. Then I also put a capacitor at the battery input terminal for M2ATX. I know its overkill but that did solved my jet problem.