Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

Non-law degree graduate to be a lawyer

views

TSgdgd
post Sep 27 2016, 12:39 PM, updated 8y ago

2 posts

I'm a non-law degree graduate but recently I would like to change my career direction to be a lawyer. I'm wondering is there any Uni/ Institute that offer course like GDL (Graduate Diploma in Law) in Malaysia? Is this recognized in Malaysia? Or I should get another degree in law by doing it part-time? Can anyone with similar experiences or anyone working in the legal field give me some advice?
cyh03176
post Sep 27 2016, 12:46 PM

Casual
476 posts

QUOTE(gdgd @ Sep 27 2016, 12:39 PM)
I'm a non-law degree graduate but recently I would like to change my career direction to be a lawyer. I'm wondering is there any Uni/ Institute that offer course like GDL (Graduate Diploma in Law)  in Malaysia? Is this recognized in Malaysia? Or I should get another degree in law by doing it part-time? Can anyone with similar experiences or anyone working in the legal field give me some advice?
GDL is only offered in the UK and you will have to take BPTC in the UK too. CLP does not accept GDL.

My ex-classmaate in BPTC was a graduate in HR degree then he took GDL in Sunderland and BPTC in northumbria. Now he is a practising lawyer in KL.

This post has been edited by cyh03176: Sep 27 2016, 12:47 PM
knwong
post Sep 27 2016, 01:00 PM

Look at all my stars!!
2,951 posts

There are many types of lawyer. If you are from engineering background, try patent attorney
izwanz
post Sep 27 2016, 03:43 PM

On my way
564 posts

It depends on what type of lawyer that you aspire to be.

Under Malaysian law, a person has to be a qualified person under the Legal Profession Act 1976. You can be an advocate and solicitor upon completing a Bachelor of Laws from recognised institution under the act or being called to any of the bars in the UK.